Data Smart by
Data Science gets thrown around in the press like it's magic. Major retailers are predicting everything from when their customers are pregnant to when they want a new pair of Chuck Taylors. It's a brave new world where seemingly meaningless data can be transformed into valuable insight to drive smart business decisions. But how does one exactly do data science? Do you have to hire one of these priests of the dark arts, the "data scientist," to extract this gold from your data? Nope. Data science is little more than using straight-forward steps to process raw data into actionable insight. And in Data Smart, author and data scientist John Foreman will show you how that's done within the familiar environment of a spreadsheet. Why a spreadsheet? It's comfortable! You get to look at the data every step of the way, building confidence as you learn the tricks of the trade. Plus, spreadsheets are a vendor-neutral place to learn data science without the hype. But don't let the Excel sheets fool you. This is a book for those serious about learning the analytic techniques, the math and the magic, behind big data. Each chapter will cover a different technique in a spreadsheet so you can follow along: Mathematical optimization, including non-linear programming and genetic algorithms Clustering via k-means, spherical k-means, and graph modularity Data mining in graphs, such as outlier detection Supervised AI through logistic regression, ensemble models, and bag-of-words models Forecasting, seasonal adjustments, and prediction intervals through monte carlo simulation Moving from spreadsheets into the R programming language You get your hands dirty as you work alongside John through each technique. But never fear, the topics are readily applicable and the author laces humor throughout. You'll even learn what a dead squirrel has to do with optimization modeling, which you no doubt are dying to know.
Mining of Massive Data Sets by
Written by leading authorities in database and Web technologies, this book is essential reading for students and practitioners alike. The popularity of the Web and Internet commerce provides many extremely large datasets from which information can be gleaned by data mining. This book focuses on practical algorithms that have been used to solve key problems in data mining and can be applied successfully to even the largest datasets. It begins with a discussion of the MapReduce framework, an important tool for parallelizing algorithms automatically. The authors explain the tricks of locality-sensitive hashing and stream-processing algorithms for mining data that arrives too fast for exhaustive processing. Other chapters cover the PageRank idea and related tricks for organizing the Web, the problems of finding frequent itemsets, and clustering. This third edition includes new and extended coverage on decision trees, deep learning, and mining social-network graphs.
Data Mining: Concepts and Techniques by
Data Mining: Concepts and Techniques provides the concepts and techniques in processing gathered data or information, which will be used in various applications. Specifically, it explains data mining and the tools used in discovering knowledge from the collected data. This book is referred as the knowledge discovery from data (KDD). It focuses on the feasibility, usefulness, effectiveness, and scalability of techniques of large data sets. After describing data mining, this edition explains the methods of knowing, preprocessing, processing, and warehousing data. It then presents information about data warehouses, online analytical processing (OLAP), and data cube technology. Then, the methods involved in mining frequent patterns, associations, and correlations for large data sets are described. The book details the methods for data classification and introduces the concepts and methods for data clustering. The remaining chapters discuss the outlier detection and the trends, applications, and research frontiers in data mining. This book is intended for Computer Science students, application developers, business professionals, and researchers who seek information on data mining. Presents dozens of algorithms and implementation examples, all in pseudo-code and suitable for use in real-world, large-scale data mining projects Addresses advanced topics such as mining object-relational databases, spatial databases, multimedia databases, time-series databases, text databases, the World Wide Web, and applications in several fields Provides a comprehensive, practical look at the concepts and techniques you need to get the most out of your data
American Journal of Data Mining and Knowledge
Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery
International Journal of Data Mining & Knowledge Management Process
International Journal of Data Mining, Modelling and Management
International Statistical Review
Journal of Data Mining & Digital Humanities
Statistical Analysis and Data Mining
Data Analysis and Data Mining by
An introduction to statistical data mining, Data Analysis and Data Mining is both textbook and professional resource. Assuming only a basic knowledge of statistical reasoning, it presents core concepts in data mining and exploratory statistical models to students and professional statisticians-both those working in communications and those working in a technological or scientific capacity-who have a limited knowledge of data mining.This book presents key statistical concepts by way of case studies, giving readers the benefit of learning from real problems and real data. Aided by a diverse range of statistical methods and techniques, readers will move from simple problems to complex problems. Through these case studies, authors Adelchi Azzalini and Bruno Scarpa explain exactly how statistical methods work; rather than relying on the "push the button" philosophy, they demonstrate how to use statistical tools to find the best solution to any given problem.Case studies feature current topics highly relevant to data mining, such web page traffic; the segmentation of customers; selection of customers for direct mail commercial campaigns; fraud detection; and measurements of customer satisfaction. Appropriate for both advanced undergraduate and graduate students, this much-needed book will fill a gap between higher level books, which emphasize technical explanations, and lower level books, which assume no prior knowledge and do not explain the methodology behind the statistical operations.
Big Data, Data Mining, and Machine Learning by
With big data analytics comes big insights into profitability Big data is big business. But having the data and the computational power to process it isn't nearly enough to produce meaningful results. Big Data, Data Mining, and Machine Learning: Value Creation for Business Leaders and Practitioners is a complete resource for technology and marketing executives looking to cut through the hype and produce real results that hit the bottom line. Providing an engaging, thorough overview of the current state of big data analytics and the growing trend toward high performance computing architectures, the book is a detail-driven look into how big data analytics can be leveraged to foster positive change and drive efficiency. With continued exponential growth in data and ever more competitive markets, businesses must adapt quickly to gain every competitive advantage available. Big data analytics can serve as the linchpin for initiatives that drive business, but only if the underlying technology and analysis is fully understood and appreciated by engaged stakeholders. This book provides a view into the topic that executives, managers, and practitioners require, and includes: A complete overview of big data and its notable characteristics Details on high performance computing architectures for analytics, massively parallel processing (MPP), and in-memory databases Comprehensive coverage of data mining, text analytics, and machine learning algorithms A discussion of explanatory and predictive modeling, and how they can be applied to decision-making processes Big Data, Data Mining, and Machine Learning provides technology and marketing executives with the complete resource that has been notably absent from the veritable libraries of published books on the topic. Take control of your organization's big data analytics to produce real results with a resource that is comprehensive in scope and light on hyperbole.
Stochastics by
This textbook, now in its second revised and extended edition, presents the fundamental ideas and results of both probability theory and statistics. It comprises the material of a one-year course, which is addressed to students of mathematics and to scientists with an interest in the mathematical side of stochastics. The stochastic concepts, models and methods are motivated by examples and then developed and analysed systematically. Some measure theory is included, but this is done at an elementary level that is in accordance with the introductory character of the book. A large number of problems, now in part with solutions, offer applications and supplements to the text.
Discovering Knowledge in Data by
The field of data mining lies at the confluence of predictive analytics, statistical analysis, and business intelligence. Due to the ever-increasing complexity and size of data sets and the wide range of applications in computer science, business, and health care, the process of discovering knowledge in data is more relevant than ever before. This book provides the tools needed to thrive in today's big data world. The author demonstrates how to leverage a company's existing databases to increase profits and market share, and carefully explains the most current data science methods and techniques. The reader will "learn data mining by doing data mining". By adding chapters on data modelling preparation, imputation of missing data, and multivariate statistical analysis, Discovering Knowledge in Data, Second Edition remains the eminent reference on data mining. The second edition of a highly praised, successful reference on data mining, with thorough coverage of big data applications, predictive analytics, and statistical analysis. Includes new chapters on Multivariate Statistics, Preparing to Model the Data, and Imputation of Missing Data, and an Appendix on Data Summarization and Visualization Offers extensive coverage of the R statistical programming language Contains 280 end-of-chapter exercises Includes a companion website for university instructors who adopt the book
Data Mining Methods for the Content Analyst by
With continuous advancements and an increase in user popularity, data mining technologies serve as an invaluable resource for researchers across a wide range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. In this comprehensive guide, author and research scientist Kalev Leetaru introduces the approaches, strategies, and methodologies of current data mining techniques, offering insights for new and experienced users alike. Designed as an instructive reference to computer-based analysis approaches, each chapter of this resource explains a set of core concepts and analytical data mining strategies, along with detailed examples and steps relating to current data mining practices. Every technique is considered with regard to context, theory of operation and methodological concerns, and focuses on the capabilities and strengths relating to these technologies. In addressing critical methodologies and approaches to automated analytical techniques, this work provides an essential overview to a broad innovative field.
Temporal Data Mining by
Temporal data mining deals with the harvesting of useful information from temporal data. New initiatives in health care and business organizations have increased the importance of temporal information in data today.From basic data mining concepts to state-of-the-art advances, Temporal Data Mining covers the theory of this subject as well as its app
Statistical Data Analytics by
Statistical Data Analytics Statistical Data Analytics Foundations for Data Mining, Informatics, and Knowledge Discovery A comprehensive introduction to statistical methods for data mining and knowledge discovery Applications of data mining and 'big data' increasingly take center stage in our modern, knowledge-driven society, supported by advances in computing power, automated data acquisition, social media development and interactive, linkable internet software. This book presents a coherent, technical introduction to modern statistical learning and analytics, starting from the core foundations of statistics and probability. It includes an overview of probability and statistical distributions, basics of data manipulation and visualization, and the central components of standard statistical inferences. The majority of the text extends beyond these introductory topics, however, to supervised learning in linear regression, generalized linear models, and classification analytics. Finally, unsupervised learning via dimension reduction, cluster analysis, and market basket analysis are introduced. Extensive examples using actual data (with sample R programming code) are provided, illustrating diverse informatic sources in genomics, biomedicine, ecological remote sensing, astronomy, socioeconomics, marketing, advertising and finance, among many others. Statistical Data Analytics: Focuses on methods critically used in data mining and statistical informatics. Coherently describes the methods at an introductory level, with extensions to selected intermediate and advanced techniques. Provides informative, technical details for the highlighted methods. Employs the open-source R language as the computational vehicle - along with its burgeoning collection of online packages - to illustrate many of the analyses contained in the book. Concludes each chapter with a range of interesting and challenging homework exercises using actual data from a variety of informatic application areas. This book will appeal as a classroom or training text to intermediate and advanced undergraduates, and to beginning graduate students, with sufficient background in calculus and matrix algebra. It will also serve as a source-book on the foundations of statistical informatics and data analytics to practitioners who regularly apply statistical learning to their modern data.
Data Mining by
Data Mining: A Tutorial-Based Primer, Second Edition provides a comprehensive introduction to data mining with a focus on model building and testing, as well as on interpreting and validating results. The text guides students to understand how data mining can be employed to solve real problems and recognize whether a data mining solution is a feasible alternative for a specific problem. Fundamental data mining strategies, techniques, and evaluation methods are presented and implemented with the help of two well-known software tools. Several new topics have been added to the second edition including an introduction to Big Data and data analytics, ROC curves, Pareto lift charts, methods for handling large-sized, streaming and imbalanced data, support vector machines, and extended coverage of textual data mining. The second edition contains tutorials for attribute selection, dealing with imbalanced data, outlier analysis, time series analysis, mining textual data, and more. The text provides in-depth coverage of RapidMiner Studio and Weka's Explorer interface. Both software tools are used for stepping students through the tutorials depicting the knowledge discovery process. This allows the reader maximum flexibility for their hands-on data mining experience.
Using Statistics by
IF YOU'RE ENCOUNTERING STATISTICS FOR THE FIRST TIME, AND WANT A READABLE, SUPPORTIVE INTRODUCTION, THEN THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. There are plenty of excellent stats books in the world, but very few of them are entertaining reading. One result is that many students are deterred by stats. But this book is different. Written in an informal style, it guides the reader gently through the field from the simplest descriptive statistics to multidimensional approaches. It's written in an accessible way, with few calculations and fewer equations, for readers from a broad set of academic disciplines ranging from archaeology to zoology. There are numerous illustrative examples that guide the reader through: How to answer various types of research question How to use different forms of analysis The strengths and weaknesses of particular methods Methods that may be useful but that don't usually appear in statistics books In this way, the book's emphasis is on understanding how statistics can be used to help answer research questions, rather than on the minute details of particular statistical tests. Using Statistics is key reading for students who are looking for help with quantitative projects, but would like a qualitative introduction that takes them gently through the process.
Data Mining for Business Analytics by
Data Mining for Business Analytics: Concepts, Techniques, and Applications in XLMiner®, Third Edition presents an applied approach to data mining and predictive analytics with clear exposition, hands-on exercises, and real-life case studies. Readers will work with all of the standard data mining methods using the Microsoft® Office Excel® add-in XLMiner® to develop predictive models and learn how to obtain business value from Big Data. Featuring updated topical coverage on text mining, social network analysis, collaborative filtering, ensemble methods, uplift modeling and more, the Third Edition also includes: Real-world examples to build a theoretical and practical understanding of key data mining methods End-of-chapter exercises that help readers better understand the presented material Data-rich case studies to illustrate various applications of data mining techniques Completely new chapters on social network analysis and text mining A companion site with additional data sets, instructors material that include solutions to exercises and case studies, and Microsoft PowerPoint® slides https://www.dataminingbook.com Free 140-day license to use XLMiner for Education software Data Mining for Business Analytics: Concepts, Techniques, and Applications in XLMiner®, Third Edition is an ideal textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses as well as professional programs on data mining, predictive modeling, and Big Data analytics. The new edition is also a unique reference for analysts, researchers, and practitioners working with predictive analytics in the fields of business, finance, marketing, computer science, and information technology. Praise for the Second Edition "...full of vivid and thought-provoking anecdotes... needs to be read by anyone with a serious interest in research and marketing."- Research Magazine "Shmueli et al. have done a wonderful job in presenting the field of data mining - a welcome addition to the literature." - ComputingReviews.com "Excellent choice for business analysts...The book is a perfect fit for its intended audience." - Keith McCormick, Consultant and Author of SPSS Statistics For Dummies, Third Edition and SPSS Statistics for Data Analysis and Visualization Galit Shmueli, PhD, is Distinguished Professor at National Tsing Hua University's Institute of Service Science. She has designed and instructed data mining courses since 2004 at University of Maryland, Statistics.com, The Indian School of Business, and National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan. Professor Shmueli is known for her research and teaching in business analytics, with a focus on statistical and data mining methods in information systems and healthcare. She has authored over 70 journal articles, books, textbooks and book chapters. Peter C. Bruce is President and Founder of the Institute for Statistics Education at www.statistics.com. He has written multiple journal articles and is the developer of Resampling Stats software. He is the author of Introductory Statistics and Analytics: A Resampling Perspective, also published by Wiley. Nitin R. Patel, PhD, is Chairman and cofounder of Cytel, Inc., based in Cambridge, Massachusetts. A Fellow of the American Statistical Association, Dr. Patel has also served as a Visiting Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and at Harvard University. He is a Fellow of the Computer Society of India and was a professor at the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad for 15 years.