Deep Learning by
An introduction to a broad range of topics in deep learning, covering mathematical and conceptual background, deep learning techniques used in industry, and research perspectives. "Written by three experts in the field, Deep Learning is the only comprehensive book on the subject." --Elon Musk, cochair of OpenAI; cofounder and CEO of Tesla and SpaceX Deep learning is a form of machine learning that enables computers to learn from experience and understand the world in terms of a hierarchy of concepts. Because the computer gathers knowledge from experience, there is no need for a human computer operator to formally specify all the knowledge that the computer needs. The hierarchy of concepts allows the computer to learn complicated concepts by building them out of simpler ones; a graph of these hierarchies would be many layers deep. This book introduces a broad range of topics in deep learning. The text offers mathematical and conceptual background, covering relevant concepts in linear algebra, probability theory and information theory, numerical computation, and machine learning. It describes deep learning techniques used by practitioners in industry, including deep feedforward networks, regularization, optimization algorithms, convolutional networks, sequence modeling, and practical methodology; and it surveys such applications as natural language processing, speech recognition, computer vision, online recommendation systems, bioinformatics, and videogames. Finally, the book offers research perspectives, covering such theoretical topics as linear factor models, autoencoders, representation learning, structured probabilistic models, Monte Carlo methods, the partition function, approximate inference, and deep generative models. Deep Learning can be used by undergraduate or graduate students planning careers in either industry or research, and by software engineers who want to begin using deep learning in their products or platforms. A website offers supplementary material for both readers and instructors.
Hands-on Machine Learning with Scikit-Learn, Keras, and TensorFlow by
Through a series of recent breakthroughs, deep learning has boosted the entire field of machine learning. Now, even programmers who know close to nothing about this technology can use simple, efficient tools to implement programs capable of learning from data. The updated edition of this best-selling book uses concrete examples, minimal theory, and two production-ready Python frameworks-Scikit-Learn and TensorFlow 2-to help you gain an intuitive understanding of the concepts and tools for building intelligent systems. Practitioners will learn a range of techniques that they can quickly put to use on the job. Part 1 employs Scikit-Learn to introduce fundamental machine learning tasks, such as simple linear regression. Part 2, which has been significantly updated, employs Keras and TensorFlow 2 to guide the reader through more advanced machine learning methods using deep neural networks. With exercises in each chapter to help you apply what you've learned, all you need is programming experience to get started. NEW FOR THE SECOND EDITION:Updated all code to TensorFlow 2Introduced the high-level Keras APINew and expanded coverage including TensorFlow's Data API, Eager Execution, Estimators API, deploying on Google Cloud ML, handling time series, embeddings and more With Early Release ebooks, you get books in their earliest form-the author's raw and unedited content as he or she writes-so you can take advantage of these technologies long before the official release of these titles. You'll also receive updates when significant changes are made, new chapters are available, and the final ebook bundle is released.
Data Mining by
Data Mining: Concepts and Techniques, Fourth Edition introduces concepts, principles, and methods for mining patterns, knowledge, and models from various kinds of data for diverse applications. Specifically, it delves into the processes for uncovering patterns and knowledge from massive collections of data, known as knowledge discovery from data, or KDD. It focuses on the feasibility, usefulness, effectiveness, and scalability of data mining techniques for large data sets. After an introduction to the concept of data mining, the authors explain the methods for preprocessing, characterizing, and warehousing data. They then partition the data mining methods into several major tasks, introducing concepts and methods for mining frequent patterns, associations, and correlations for large data sets; data classificcation and model construction; cluster analysis; and outlier detection. Concepts and methods for deep learning are systematically introduced as one chapter. Finally, the book covers the trends, applications, and research frontiers in data mining.
Introduction to Machine Learning, Fourth Edition by
A substantially revised fourth edition of a comprehensive textbook, including new coverage of recent advances in deep learning and neural networks. The goal of machine learning is to program computers to use example data or past experience to solve a given problem. Machine learning underlies such exciting new technologies as self-driving cars, speech recognition, and translation applications. This substantially revised fourth edition of a comprehensive, widely used machine learning textbook offers new coverage of recent advances in the field in both theory and practice, including developments in deep learning and neural networks. The book covers a broad array of topics not usually included in introductory machine learning texts, including supervised learning, Bayesian decision theory, parametric methods, semiparametric methods, nonparametric methods, multivariate analysis, hidden Markov models, reinforcement learning, kernel machines, graphical models, Bayesian estimation, and statistical testing. The fourth edition offers a new chapter on deep learning that discusses training, regularizing, and structuring deep neural networks such as convolutional and generative adversarial networks; new material in the chapter on reinforcement learning that covers the use of deep networks, the policy gradient methods, and deep reinforcement learning; new material in the chapter on multilayer perceptrons on autoencoders and the word2vec network; and discussion of a popular method of dimensionality reduction, t-SNE. New appendixes offer background material on linear algebra and optimization. End-of-chapter exercises help readers to apply concepts learned. Introduction to Machine Learning can be used in courses for advanced undergraduate and graduate students and as a reference for professionals.
The Hundred-page Machine Learning Book by 
Deep Learning with Python, Second Edition by
Unlock the groundbreaking advances of deep learning with this extensively revised edition of the bestselling original. Learn directly from the creator of Keras and master practical Python deep learning techniques that are easy to apply in the real world. In Deep Learning with Python, Second Edition you will learn: Deep learning from first principles Image classification & image segmentation Timeseries forecasting Text classification and machine translation Text generation, neural style transfer, and image generation Deep Learning with Python has taught thousands of readers how to put the full capabilities of deep learning into action. This extensively revised second edition introduces deep learning using Python and Keras, and is loaded with insights for both novice and experienced ML practitioners. You'll learn practical techniques that are easy to apply in the real world, and important theory for perfecting neural networks. Purchase of the print book includes a free eBook in PDF, Kindle, and ePub formats from Manning Publications. About the technology Recent innovations in deep learning unlock exciting new software capabilities like automated language translation, image recognition, and more. Deep learning is becoming essential knowledge for every software developer, and modern tools like Keras and TensorFlow put it within your reach, even if you have no background in mathematics or data science. About the book Deep Learning with Python, Second Edition introduces the field of deep learning using Python and the powerful Keras library. In this new edition, Keras creator François Chollet offers insights for both novice and experienced machine learning practitioners. As you move through this book, you'll build your understanding through intuitive explanations, crisp illustrations, and clear examples. You'll pick up the skills to start developing deep-learning applications. What's inside Deep learning from first principles Image classification and image segmentation Time series forecasting Text classification and machine translation Text generation, neural style transfer, and image generation About the reader For readers with intermediate Python skills. No previous experience with Keras, TensorFlow, or machine learning is required. About the author François Chollet is a software engineer at Google and creator of the Keras deep-learning library. Table of Contents 1 What is deep learning? 2 The mathematical building blocks of neural networks 3 Introduction to Keras and TensorFlow 4 Getting started with neural networks: Classification and regression 5 Fundamentals of machine learning 6 The universal workflow of machine learning 7 Working with Keras: A deep dive 8 Introduction to deep learning for computer vision 9 Advanced deep learning for computer vision 10 Deep learning for timeseries 11 Deep learning for text 12 Generative deep learning 13 Best practices for the real world 14 Conclusions
Introduction to Machine Learning with Python: A Guide for Data Scientists by
Machine learning has become an integral part of many commercial applications and research projects, but this field is not exclusive to large companies with extensive research teams. If you use Python, even as a beginner, this book will teach you practical ways to build your own machine learning solutions. With all the data available today, machine learning applications are limited only by your imagination. You'll learn the steps necessary to create a successful machine-learning application with Python and the scikit-learn library. Authors Andreas Müller and Sarah Guido focus on the practical aspects of using machine learning algorithms, rather than the math behind them. Familiarity with the NumPy and matplotlib libraries will help you get even more from this book. With this book, you'll learn: Fundamental concepts and applications of machine learning ; Advantages and shortcomings of widely used machine learning algorithms ; How to represent data processed by machine learning, including which data aspects to focus on ; Advanced methods for model evaluation and parameter tuning ; The concept of pipelines for chaining models and encapsulating your workflow ; Methods for working with text data, including text-specific processing techniques ; Suggestions for improving your machine learning and data science skills.
Interpretable Machine Learning by
This book is about making machine learning models and their decisions interpretable. After exploring the concepts of interpretability, you will learn about simple, interpretable models such as decision trees, decision rules and linear regression. Later chapters focus on general model-agnostic methods for interpreting black box models like feature importance and accumulated local effects and explaining individual predictions with Shapley values and LIME. All interpretation methods are explained in depth and discussed critically. How do they work under the hood? What are their strengths and weaknesses? How can their outputs be interpreted? This book will enable you to select and correctly apply the interpretation method that is most suitable for your machine learning project.
Machine Learning by
A comprehensive introduction to machine learning that uses probabilistic models and inference as a unifying approach. Today's Web-enabled deluge of electronic data calls for automated methods of data analysis. Machine learning provides these, developing methods that can automatically detect patterns in data and then use the uncovered patterns to predict future data. This textbook offers a comprehensive and self-contained introduction to the field of machine learning, based on a unified, probabilistic approach. The coverage combines breadth and depth, offering necessary background material on such topics as probability, optimization, and linear algebra as well as discussion of recent developments in the field, including conditional random fields, L1 regularization, and deep learning. The book is written in an informal, accessible style, complete with pseudo-code for the most important algorithms. All topics are copiously illustrated with color images and worked examples drawn from such application domains as biology, text processing, computer vision, and robotics. Rather than providing a cookbook of different heuristic methods, the book stresses a principled model-based approach, often using the language of graphical models to specify models in a concise and intuitive way. Almost all the models described have been implemented in a MATLAB software package--PMTK (probabilistic modeling toolkit)--that is freely available online. The book is suitable for upper-level undergraduates with an introductory-level college math background and beginning graduate students.
Reinforcement Learning, Second Edition by
The significantly expanded and updated new edition of a widely used text on reinforcement learning, one of the most active research areas in artificial intelligence. Reinforcement learning, one of the most active research areas in artificial intelligence, is a computational approach to learning whereby an agent tries to maximize the total amount of reward it receives while interacting with a complex, uncertain environment. In Reinforcement Learning, Richard Sutton and Andrew Barto provide a clear and simple account of the field's key ideas and algorithms. This second edition has been significantly expanded and updated, presenting new topics and updating coverage of other topics. Like the first edition, this second edition focuses on core online learning algorithms, with the more mathematical material set off in shaded boxes. Part I covers as much of reinforcement learning as possible without going beyond the tabular case for which exact solutions can be found. Many algorithms presented in this part are new to the second edition, including UCB, Expected Sarsa, and Double Learning. Part II extends these ideas to function approximation, with new sections on such topics as artificial neural networks and the Fourier basis, and offers expanded treatment of off-policy learning and policy-gradient methods. Part III has new chapters on reinforcement learning's relationships to psychology and neuroscience, as well as an updated case-studies chapter including AlphaGo and AlphaGo Zero, Atari game playing, and IBM Watson's wagering strategy. The final chapter discusses the future societal impacts of reinforcement learning.
