Ethics and Professionalism by
John Kultgen explores the ways morality and professional ideals are connected. In assessing the moral impact of professionalism in our society, he examines both the structure and organization of occupations and the ideals and ideology associated with professions. Differing from standard treatments of professional ethics, Ethics and Professionalism recognizes that it is the practices within the professions that determine whether rules and ideals are used as masks for self-interest or for genuinely moral purposes.
Pandora's Box by
Computing technology is constantly evolving and changing,developing and consolidating its position as a vital component ofour lives. It no longer plays a minor part in society ? it isembedded in, and affects, all aspects of life, from education tohealthcare to war. Dealing with the implications of this is a majorchallenge, and one that can impact upon us, both personally andprofessionally. As a consequence, it is vital that all in thecomputing industry make wise decisions regarding their conduct.
Using case studies and discussion topics drawn from entertainingreal world examples, Pandora?s Box examines thebackground of a wide range of vital contemporary issues,encouraging readers to examine the social, legal and ethicalchallenges they will face in their own careers.
Written in an engaging style and packed with internationalexamples, this book addresses topics which have come to theforefront of public consciousness in recent years, such as onlinecrime, piracy and peer to peer file sharing. Comprehensive coverageis provided of digital entertainment, censorship and privacyissues, presenting a rich source of context in which to considerethical matters.
Suitable for students on computer science degree programmes, aswell as those taking IT related modules on other courses whichconsider the impact of technology on 21st centuryliving, Pandora?s Box is an essential read and aunique and timely textbook.
Professional Issues in Information Technology by
Relevant to all sizes of organisations, this book addresses the social, legal, financial, organisational and ethical issues faced by IT professionals. It is designed to accompany the BCS HEQ 'Diploma in IT' core module: Professional Issues in Information Systems Practice. This new edition takes into account the social and legal implications of the substantial changes to legislation and technology over recent years, for example cloud computing, the Digital Economy Act and the Equality Act.
Talking Business by
Internal communication is a growing field with the number of specialists increasing worldwide. In spite of this, and vast increases in spending on communication, research shows that organizations are finding it difficult to raise the number of employees who feel well informed. Now, more than ever, internal communication does not just concern communication managers. In today's lean organizations line managers are taking on more and more of the burden of employee communication and managers of remote offices have to be their own communication managers. 'Talking Business: making communication work' addresses the key issues in communication within organizations, supported by case studies taken from experience of working with global businesses. It provides a coherent theory of business communication and shows how a radical difference to communication practice and business performance can be made. The authors employ an interactive structure throughout with signposts to link related cases and chapters.
Skills for Success by
Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today's employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Part 1 prompts students to think about what 'success' means to them and to think more deeply about what matters to them, what inspires them, and what will help them to achieve their long-term ambitions. This section also helps students to better manage their time, energies and resources so that they can achieve the kind of success they want. Part 2 shows students how to refine their people and task management skills, enabling them to become the effective communicators and problem-solvers that today's employers want. Part 3 develops students' creative and reflective thinking, thereby strengthening students' academic and professional abilities. Part 4 helps readers to reflect on what employers really want from job applicants and explains how they can take concrete action to improve their job prospects. Chapters contain guidance on how to put forward a strong application, how to make the best use of placements, and how to keep records so that students feel more in control during the application process. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. Whether you're just starting at college or university, or about to leave a postgraduate programme, Skills for Success will help you to think creatively and constructively about personal, academic and career goals.New to this Edition:- Contains increased coverage of different styles and models of leadership, and managing and leading teams- Includes more material on engaging with cultural difference- Provides students with guidance on looking after their mental health and wellbeing, to help reduce stress around planning for life after university- Features more insights and case studies from employersAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/skills-for-success. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed.This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.New to this Edition:- Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments- New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays- More emphasis on reflective learning- Extended guidance on how to balance study with work- More use of visuals to summarise key learning pointsAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/the-study-skills-handbook-5e. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.