Pandora's Box by
Computing technology is constantly evolving and changing, developing and consolidating its position as a vital component of our lives. It no longer plays a minor part in society - it is embedded in, and affects, all aspects of life, from education to healthcare to war. Dealing with the implications of this is a major challenge, and one that can impact upon us, both personally and professionally. As a consequence, it is vital that all in the computing industry make wise decisions regarding their conduct. Using case studies and discussion topics drawn from entertaining real world examples, Pandora's Box examines the background of a wide range of vital contemporary issues, encouraging readers to examine the social, legal and ethical challenges they will face in their own careers. Written in an engaging style and packed with international examples, this book addresses topics which have come to the forefront of public consciousness in recent years, such as online crime, piracy and peer to peer file sharing. Comprehensive coverage is provided of digital entertainment, censorship and privacy issues, presenting a rich source of context in which to consider ethical matters. Suitable for students on computer science degree programmes, as well as those taking IT related modules on other courses which consider the impact of technology on 21st century living, Pandora's Box is an essential read and a unique and timely textbook.
Professional Issues in IT by
Relevant to all sizes of organisation, this book addresses the social, legal, financial, organisational and ethical issues faced by IT professionals, in alignment with the BCS HEQ 'Diploma in IT' core module: Professional Issues in Information Systems Practice. This new edition takes into account the social and legal implications of the changes to legislation and technology over recent years, including the GDPR and Data Protection Act, with comprehensive updates across the book in line with the latest syllabus.
Researching Information Systems and Computing by
Written specifically for information systems (IS) and computing students and providing everything they need to know about executing a research project, this best-selling textbook introduces key quantitative and qualitative research methods, makes sense of underlying philosophies, and helps readers navigate and assess existing academic papers.Packed with examples from the IS and computing disciplines, definitions, evaluation guides and further reading suggestions, this fully updated second edition of Research Information Systems and Computing supports students of all levels in bridging the gap between theory and practice.
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers by 
Planning and Implementing Your Final Year Project - With Success! by
Based on an approach which has been tried and tested on over 500 projects, this text provides computing and information students with the tools they need to successfully complete a final year research project. It offers a simple step-by-step guide to the key processes involved: developing your project proposal; developing the problem description; following objectives; presenting and analysing your data; drawing conclusions; presenting and defending your work; and preparing the final version of your report. The work is intended for students but also contains information for supervisors and examiners, including guidelines on how to review a final year project.
The Research Project by
Now in its fifth edition, this guide to project work continues to be an indispensable resource for all students undertaking research. Guiding the reader right through from preliminary stages to completion, The Research Project: How to write it sets out in clear and concise terms the main tasks involved in doing a research project, covering: * choosing a topic * using the library effectively * taking notes * shaping and composing the project * providing footnotes, documentation and a bibliography * avoiding common pitfalls. Fully updated throughout, this new edition features a chapter on making the most out of the Internet, from knowing where to start, to assessing the quality of the material found there. Other features include a model example of a well researched, clearly written paper with notes and bibliography and a chapter on getting published in a learned journal for more advanced researchers. Whether starting out or experienced in research, The Research Project: How to write it is an essential tool for success.
Research Methods in Education by
This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
Project Research in Information Systems : a Student's Guide by 
Doing a Successful Research Project by
This straightforward, student-friendly guide contains all the practical advice for successfully undertaking a research project, leading students through all the stages of the research process. The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook supports students in conducting their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from. Describing processes, tools and strategies in a simple, succinct way, it supports the reader carefully through the planning and design stages, to implementation, analysis and completion. Doing a Successful Research Project is suitable for an interdisciplinary audience all over the world. It is aimed at undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking a research project or dissertation across the social sciences, applied social sciences, education, health and business studies. It can also be used as essential or complimentary reading on modules on qualitative and quantitative research and research design.< New to this Edition: - Enhanced coverage of essential topics, including research ethics, the literature review and online methodologies - Increased coverage on quantitative methods - New up-to-date examples of real-life research studies - Broadened scope to encourage appeal to a wide range of academic disciplines
Introduction to Research Methods 5th Edition by
Introduction to Research Methods contains everything from developing an initial idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: *Choose your research methods *Choose your participants *Prepare a research proposal *Construct questionnaires *Conduct interviews and focus groups *Analyse your data *Report your findings *Be an ethical researcher
Statistical Methods for Organizational Research by
This clearly written textbook clarifies the concepts underpinning descriptive and inferential statistics in organizational research. Acting as much more than a theoretical reference tool, step-by-step it guides readers through the various key stages of successful data analysis. Covering everything from introductory descriptive statistics to advanced inferential techniques such as ANOVA, multiple and logistic regression and factor analysis, this is one of the most comprehensive textbooks available. Using examples directly relevant to organizational research it includes practical advice on such topics as the size of samples required in research studies, using and interpreting SPSS, and writing up results. In helping readers to develop a sound understanding of statistical methods, rather than focusing on complex formulas and computations, this outstanding textbook is as appropriate for those who wish to refresh their knowledge as those new to the subject area.
Experimental Design by
This book is a concise and innovative book that gives a complete presentation of the design and analysis of experiments in approximately one half the space of competing books. With only the modest prerequisite of a basic (non-calculus) statistics course, this text is appropriate for the widest possible audience. Two procedures are generally used to analyze experimental design data--analysis of variance (ANOVA) and regression analysis. Because ANOVA is more intuitive, this book devotes most of its first three chapters to showing how to use ANOVA to analyze balanced (equal sample size) experimental design data. The text first discusses regression analysis at the end of Chapter 2, where regression is used to analyze data that cannot be analyzed by ANOVA: unbalanced (unequal sample size) data from two-way factorials and data from incomplete block designs. Regression is then used again in Chapter 4 to analyze data resulting from two-level fractional factorial and block confounding experiments.
Research methods for business students by 