Skills for success : personal development and employability by
Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today's employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Part 1 prompts students to think about what 'success' means to them and to think more deeply about what matters to them, what inspires them, and what will help them to achieve their long-term ambitions. This section also helps students to better manage their time, energies and resources so that they can achieve the kind of success they want. Part 2 shows students how to refine their people and task management skills, enabling them to become the effective communicators and problem-solvers that today's employers want. Part 3 develops students' creative and reflective thinking, thereby strengthening students' academic and professional abilities. Part 4 helps readers to reflect on what employers really want from job applicants and explains how they can take concrete action to improve their job prospects. Chapters contain guidance on how to put forward a strong application, how to make the best use of placements, and how to keep records so that students feel more in control during the application process. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. Whether you're just starting at college or university, or about to leave a postgraduate programme, Skills for Success will help you to think creatively and constructively about personal, academic and career goals.New to this Edition:- Contains increased coverage of different styles and models of leadership, and managing and leading teams- Includes more material on engaging with cultural difference- Provides students with guidance on looking after their mental health and wellbeing, to help reduce stress around planning for life after university- Features more insights and case studies from employersAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/skills-for-success. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Confidentiality and Record Keeping in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
This indispensible text is your students′ first point of reference when faced with a situation or dilemma of a legal nature regarding record keeping or confidentiality issues. Reflecting changes in policy and law and developments in practice since its last publication in 2008, this new edition has been expanded into 14 new and thoroughly revised chapters. New content includes: - The latest Data Protection Act guidance including data protection implications when working with technology and for online therapy - Greater content on sharing information, including sharing information in supervision, training, research, audit and, crucially, across professions - Expanded content on mental capacity with separate chapters for children and vulnerable adults - A new chapter on pre-trial therapy with adults and children, including Special Measures, Crown Prosecution Service guidance and victim support - A new chapter on practice dilemmas, providing advice and encouraging further discussion and reflection- The role of supervision and of the supervisor Using reflective questions, sample dilemmas and case scenarios throughout, the authors illustrate how to practically address the difficult confidentiality and record keeping issues that therapists regularly face. Current legal guidelines and frameworks are interspersed throughout the book which, along with revised disclosure checklists and links to useful organisations and contacts, ensure trainee and practising therapists are well versed in current best-practice.
Essential law for counsellors and psychotherapists by
This third book in the authoritative BACP Legal Resources for Counsellors and Psychotherapists series provides a user-friendly guide to the law for all those practising and training in the counselling profession. Barbara Mitchels and Tim Bond make legal issues relevant and bring them alive for the practitioner. Packed with practical examples, this book covers essential areas of law for practitioners including - professional ethics and standards - negligence - contracts and premises - employment and insurance - dealing with legal claims - professional diligence. Other features include a glossary, tables and flowcharts as well as a comprehensive index of resources and organisations for additional information and guidance. This readable book helps practice managers, counsellors and psychotherapists to recognise, understand and address legal issues that may arise in their practice, and assists them in finding any additional resources they may need. Demystifying the law, this book is an authoritative guide for therapists, including those working in private practice, as well as being important reading for all those studying counselling, psychotherapy or clinical psychology.
Supervision questions and answers for counsellors and therapists by
Supervision is a prerequisite for all counsellors, and for most psychotherapists, yet until recently it has been assumed that any experienced counsellor or therapist could become a supervisor without any special expertise. But the experience of those in supervision is sometimes of inadequate or even unhelpful work by their supervisors. At the same time supervision is receiving considerable attention as a discipline in its own right, with an expanding literature on the dynamics of the supervisory couple (or the supervisory triad, since the client is a central if absent presence); more attention is also being paid to the technical skills required of the supervisor. This book addresses those issues both from the perspective of the supervisee and the supervisor, suggesting what supervisees might expect from good supervision, as well as offering guidance to supervisors on how best to use to the full the opportunities offered by a therapeutic situation which has some similarities, but also some radical differences from counselling and therapy itself.
BACP Ethical Framework for the Counselling Professions. Revised Edition July 2016. Lutterworth: BACP