Women's Health and Social Change by 
Health Promotion in Midwifery by
Health Promotion in Midwifery explores the principles of health promotion within the practical context of midwifery. It clearly outlines and discusses the midwife's role in health promotion, linking theory and practice. The third edition of this evidence-based text covers essential topics such as breastfeeding, smoking, mental health, behaviour change and sexual health promotion and includes new chapters on healthy eating in pregnancy, pelvic floor health during the childbearing years and violence against women. All the chapters are updated and some are completely rewritten to reflect recent changes and developments in midwifery practice. Text boxes make the text accessible and user-friendly, and case studies and summaries put the material in practical context. Additional readings encourage readers to further research and reflection on their own practice. This textbook is essential reading for midwives and health visitors in education and practice.
Sociology for Midwives by
The study of sociology is now an essential part of all midwifery training, but it can often seem removed from the reality of midwifery practice. Midwives often ask: what is sociology? Why do I need sociology to be a midwife? How can sociology help improve my clinical practice? This major new textbook answers these important questions and shows how sociology can inform the practice of midwifery in the twenty-first century. It provides a comprehensive, jargon-free introduction to sociology for midwifery students with no prior knowledge of the subject, as well as practising midwives with experience of dealing with sociological issues in their daily work. Although the book assumes little or no previous knowledge of sociology it provides enough depth to meet the needs of those with some background in the field. At every stage the links between sociology and everyday practice are emphasised and explained, using a wealth of case studies and examples. The book provides: Clearly defined learning aims and objectives Structured activities and questions for discussion A glossary of key sociological concepts Annotated suggestions for further reading The editors and contributors have considerable experience teaching sociology at diploma, undergraduate and postgraduate levels to students from many different disciplines. This book will be an indispensable teaching aid within midwifery education, and other relevant health and social care disciplines.
Squaring the Circle by
Squaring the Circle is a cutting-edge and comprehensive collection of the latest research and debate on normal childbirth. Based on a salutogenic approach - focusing on factors that support human health and well-being, rather than on factors that cause disease - it helps our understanding of what works and why it works, as well as helping health practitioners turn this knowledge into best practice. Written by world-renowned experts in their field, and edited by Soo Downe and Sheena Byrom, the editors of the acclaimed The Roar Behind the Silence, Squaring the Circle includes an examination of a range of associated evidence in areas as diverse as architecture for optimal birth environments, the impact of birth events on neonatal DNA methylation and the microbiome, the current knowledge base around oxytocin production in labour, and the role of emotion in the workplace. Case studies of successful change from around the world - from service users, activists and maternity care staff - provide inspiration for innovation while hints and tips help to make such change happen.
Sexual Health by
Sexual health is a prominent public health issue and nurses are often the first point of contact for people wanting treatment for, or advice about, sexual health. This practical guide for newly qualified student nurses and pre-registration nursing students is based around the RCN's core sexual health competencies and outlines the skills needed to deliver optimum care for clients. Sexual Health explores a range of issues, including sexually transmitted infections, teenage pregnancy, contraception, abortion, legal and ethical issues, sexual assault and rape, and the role of the nurse in sexual health. Together with epidemiology, facts and figures the book also includes scenarios which nurses can relate to in their practice. Key Features: * In the Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses series * Concise, practial guide for newly qualified nurses * Each chapter provides further resources and useful websites * Focuses on key skills and knowledge acquired by nurses
Handbook of Family Planning and Reproductive Healthcare by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. Entirely revised and updated and with a foreword by John Guillebaud, this is the much anticipated new edition of an invaluable, practical guide which has become an established reference for all those working in reproductive health. As in the previous edition, all forms of contraceptives are covered in detail, with guidance on prescribing, possible complications and advantages/disadvantages. The book continues to provide evidence-based clinical guidance for family-planning providers. This fifth edition is a complete update on developments in the field, integrating the new contraceptives, strategies and guidelines within family planning and reproductive healthcare. Five new chapters New chapter authors from North America and Australia New chapter on service provision issues including services for diverse groups such as ethnic minorities, lesbian and bisexuals, learning disabilities etc. Progestogen-only methods now covered in three new chapters on individual methods: progestogen-only pill, injectables and implants Evidence-based guidance from UK Faculty of Family Planning included in the chapters on contraceptive methods Chapter on screening expanded to include issues relating to chlamydia, to reflect changes in management in this area
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by
This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. 　 Now in its third edition, Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it's facing. Other topics include: Health, illness and religious beliefs; Mental health and culture; Women's and men's health in a multicultural society; Caring for the elderly; Death and bereavement. 　 Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice; Fully updated with guidelines for practice and education.
The Midwife-Mother Relationship by
The foundation between midwife and mother is the foundation upon which maternity care depends. Covering completely new topics areas, the new edition of this ground-breaking text brings together classic and current research to establish key tenets for maternity care within hospital and home. This ground-breaking essential text reaffirms the fragility and the power of the relationship between midwife and mother and remains the definitive guide to the complex area of midwife-mother relations. New to this Edition: - Fully revised and expanded to reflect key developments in midwifery philosophy over the past decade, applying a theoretical approach to emerging concepts such as emotional labour and midwifery partnership - Covers completely new topics areas, including the effects of emotional labour, poverty and health policy - Combines new works from the previous edition with new chapters on innovative midwifery practice - Brings together classic and current research to establish key tenets for maternity care within hospital and home
The health gap : the challenge of an unequal world by 
Nurturing Natures by
This new edition of the bestselling text, Nurturing Natures, provides an indispensable synthesis of the latest scientific knowledge about children's emotional development. Integrating a wealth of both up-to-date and classical research from areas such as attachment theory, neuroscience developmental psychology and cross-cultural studies, it weaves these into an accessible enjoyable text which always keeps in mind children recognisable to academics, practitioners and parents.　 It unpacks the most significant influences on the developing child, including the family and social context. It looks at key developmental stages from life in the womb to the pre-school years and right up until adolescence, covering important topics such as genes and environment, trauma, neglect or resilience. It also examines how children develop language, play and memory and, new to this edition, moral and prosocial capacities. Issues of nature and nurture are addressed and the effects of different kinds of early experiences are unpicked, creating a coherent and balanced view of the developing child in context.　　 Nurturing Natures is written by an experienced child therapist who has used a wide array of research from different disciplines to create a highly readable and scientifically trustworthy text. This book should be essential reading for childcare students, for teachers, social workers, health visitors, early years practitioners and those training or working in child counselling, psychiatry and mental health. Full of fascinating findings, it provides answers to many of the questions people really want to ask about the human journey from conception into adulthood. .
Parent Education for the Critical 1000 Days by
As research in neuroscience increasingly points to the unparalleled influence of the first 1000 days of life from conception to two years of age in determining the baby's life trajectory, the need for high-quality early parenting education delivered by knowledgeable and dedicated professionals becomes ever more apparent. This book describes the global aims of early parenting education. It identifies the key areas that research suggests are important: building a relationship with the unborn and newborn baby; preparing for labour and birth; supporting parents' mental health; protecting the couple relationship across the transition to parenthood; and education for special groups such as same-sex couples, women with fear of birth, prisoners, military wives and parents from black and minority ethnic backgrounds. All practitioners providing early parenting programmes - midwives, health visitors, family link workers, children's centre staff and voluntary sector teachers - will gain new ideas for their practice in this book. Students taking midwifery and early childhood courses will find much to support their studies. Ultimately, the book provides inspiration for all those who are committed to the role of parenting education in reducing social inequalities.
Midwifery and Public Health by
An up-to-date discussion of community and public health care in relation to midwifery practice, using real life scenarios in a range of hot topic areas. Explores the role the midwife can play in providing and improving public health Reflects current policy on public health issues Clear focus on practice and implementation of public health initiatives The first book to integrate public health with midwifery
Health inequalities : critical perspectives by
This edited volume provides wide-ranging analyses and reviews of the UK's experiences of health inequalities research and policy to date, and reflects on the lessons that have been learnt from these experiences, both within the UK and internationally.
Foundations for Health Promotion by
The fourth edition of Foundations for Health Promotion continues to offer a wealth of information in a friendly, easy-to-read format. This edition has been comprehensively updated and includes a new feature of learning activities with indicative answers to help students and practitioners to reflect on their practice. 'Pull out' boxes of case studies and examples help the reader to identify the evidence base for health promotion and illustrate the range of health promotion practice. Divided into four parts, the book first explains the theoretical concepts of health, health education and health promotion and the ethical and political aspects of practice. The second part explores strategies to promote health and some of the dilemmas that they pose. The third part explores how a range of different settings, such as hospitals and schools, can be oriented towards positive health and well-being. The fourth part focuses on the implementation of health promotion interventions and is designed to help practitioners to reflect on their practice by examining what drives their choice of strategy. Foundations for Health Promotion, Fourth Edition will be ideal for a range of disciplines including health service professionals in primary and acute settings, those working in local and municipal authorities to promote health and wellbeing, health educators and trainers. Comprehensive updating and expansion to reflect recent research findings and major organizational and policy changes Clear structure and signposting for ease of reading and study Wide choice of examples and illustrative case studies reflect the needs of a variety of professional groups in health services, local and municipal services and education Ineractive learning activities with indicative answers help readers consolidate their learning Comprehensively updated and expanded to reflect major organizational and policy changes Interactive learning activities with indicative answers at the end of each chapter 'Pull out' boxes illustrate recent research findings and case studies of practice
