Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Preparation for Practice reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Foundations for Paramedic Practice. 2nd edn. by "The contents should resonate with all paramedic students as they develop their practice experience, try to make sense of their clinical activity and deal with the ambiguity that is daily paramedic work when responding to emergency calls. Additionally, this excellent book provides a framework for paramedic students as they start to consider their capability in important areas such as communication, managing situations and people, learning from experience and decision making." Andy Freeman-May, Senior Lecturer, Paramedic Emergency Care, Oxford Brookes University, UK "An essential text for new student paramedics discovering their professional identity and working towards registration and also for registered paramedic practitioners as part of their life long learning and continued professional development ... Having an understanding of the subject matter within this book is of paramount importance for the paramedic practitioner of the future." Paul Bates, Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK "This book covers areas of emergency care vital to the role of a paramedic, which are traditionally under-taught and often complex to understand. Blaber simplifies legal, ethical and moral issues faced by front line paramedics and also helps students to write constructive academic essays for those all important university assignments. A fantastic, well written book, which is well presented and full of useful references." Ruth Lambert, Paramedic "This enjoyable book is written in a language and a format which is easy to read and follow. The bitesized chapters feature a comprehensive reference list, enabling further research, and 'stop and think' examples which encourage you to consider your own knowledge and experiences whilst reflecting on how theory fits with practice. The additional sections on Vulnerable Adults and End of Life Care are also invaluable. A must for both student and experienced paramedics." Emma Redwood, Paramedic This popular undergraduate level book introduces the main theoretical subjects studied in higher education paramedic courses. The second edition links ways of working to appropriate theory and reflects the current curriculum guidance from paramedic professional bodies. The book covers a wide variety of academic subjects, including those not traditionally taught in ambulance 'in-house' training, such as psychology and sociology. This expanded edition includes three new chapters on Specialist development roles for the paramedic, Care of vulnerable adults and End of life care. The book also covers: Ethics and law for the paramedic Reflective practice and communication Professional issues, including clinical audit and governance and anti-discriminatory practice Psychological perspectives on health and ill health Safeguarding children Sociological perspective on health and ill health and social policy Managing change, decision making and leadership theory Foundations for Paramedic Practice, 2nd Edition is a core text for student paramedics and a valuable resource for students of the allied health professions. Written by a team of experts from across the UK, the book includes numerous links to practice, illuminating case studies and examples to encourage you to 'stop and think' and reflect upon your practice experience. Contributors: Amanda Blaber, Vince Clarke, Alison Cork, Steve Cowland, John Donaghy, Rachael Donohoe, Bob Fellows, Ann French, Graham Harris, Mary Larkin, Linda Nelson, Marion Richardson, Paul Street and Jackie Whitnell.
Call Number: 610.737069 BLA
Publication Date: 2012
Principles of Palliative and End of Life Care for Paramedics by Paramedics are often the first port of call for those requiring emergency medical attention and, as such, they frequently encounter patients who are receiving palliative or end of life care. But as professionals whose training focuses on how to save a life, how can they best deal with patients who are approaching the end of theirs? In this situation, paramedics often need to make the difficult decision as to whether it is appropriate to transfer their patient to hospital, a decision which can have a significant impact not only on the patient and their family, but also on the paramedic themselves. This means that it is vital for paramedics to have an understanding of palliative and end of life care. This book provides a comprehensive guide to the philosophy, ethics, symptom control, emergencies and psychosocial aspects that underpin palliative and end of life care in paramedic practice. Chapters are written by paramedics and specialists in palliative and end of life care, who have decades of experience in providing care for patients in the community. Clinical chapters feature paramedic case study scenarios, aimed at allowing the reader to think about applying theory to practice. This is the first book aimed solely at supporting paramedics in their role caring for palliative and end of life patients.Contents:1. Death & Dying in Society2. Defining Palliative Care3. Palliative Care Emergencies4. Symptom Control in Palliative Care5. Enhanced Communication6. Care of the Dying Patient in the Last Days of Life7. Ethics8. Resilience in Paramedic Practice9. The Paramedic as a Palliative Care Specialist
Call Number: 616.029 BLA
Publication Date: 2020-04-03
Skills for Success. 3rd edn. by Skills for Success helps you to develop abilities wanted by today's employers while you're at university or college, such as: * effective self-management and self-awareness * team-working skills * emotional intelligence * a reflective practitioner approach * problem-solving and task management * creative thinking skills. This third edition has been thoroughly updated to give the best advice for planning your career in today's job market. It retains its unique, personalised approach, helping you to get the best out of your education. New to this edition: * a brand new chapter on what employers are looking for * a new introduction, with advice on how to take charge of your life, education and career * additional guidance on career planning and strategies to help you get the job you want. Whether you're just starting at college or university, or about to leave a postgraduate programme, Skills for Success will help you to think creatively and constructively about personal, academic and career goals.
Call Number: 650.1 COT + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Human Factors in Paramedic Practice by Human factors is a scientific discipline which is used to understand the interacting elements and design of a complex system, aimed at improving system performance and optimising human well-being. This book brings together a range of specialist authors to explore some of the key concepts of human factors related to the field of paramedic practice. The system elements of paramedic practice can include the patient, the paramedic and their colleagues, the environment, the equipment, the tasks, and the processes and procedures of the organisation. The relationships between these components are explored in detail through chapters which cover `human error', systems thinking, human-centred design, interaction with the patient, non-technical skills of individuals and teams, well-being of the paramedic, safety culture and learning from events.This helpful and informative guide provides frontline paramedics and ambulance clinicians with practical advice and knowledge of human factors that will be helpful in supporting safe and effective practice for all involved. It will also be of interest to pre-hospital care professionals who are involved in education, learning from events, procurement and influencing safety culture. Above all, it shows how an understanding and application of human factors principles can enhance system performance and well-being, and ultimately lead to safer patient care.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020-10-27
Understanding Health Policy. 2nd edn. by Understanding Health Policy explores the processes and institutions that create health policies in the United Kingdom. Rob Baggott asks what health policies should do, examining where decision-making power lies and what changes could be made to improve the process overall. He considers the impact of decentralization in the United Kingdom and the role of European and international institutions in policy creation and adoption. Fully updated, this second edition features new case studies to illustrate how policy has evolved and developed in recent years under New Labour and coalition governments. Although designed with the needs of students and tutors in mind, this accessible textbook will also appeal to policy makers and health practitioners.
Call Number: 362.1 BAG
Publication Date: 2015
Essential Study Skills. 4th edn. by Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy hereDo you want to do better at university? Packed with study tips and handy activities, Essential Study Skills is a proven guide that shows you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university - whatever level you′re at. Whether you are going to university straight from school, a mature student, or an overseas student studying in the UK for the first time, you′ll find out how to: Sail through those tricky first weeks Get the most out of lectures by understanding how you learn Learn techniques for academic writing and research Stay cool and cope with stress Pass exams with flying colours Plan your career after graduation. Don′t miss in this edition... Even more tips and advice on learning methods, online learning and developing job skills - ensuring success throughout your course Additional case studies and student tips to help you apply the skills you need A companion website packed with toolkits and resources, to help you study smarter. 'An outstanding book which enables learners to actively identify, reflect and develop their 'skills' to enable them to succeed as life-long learners. The authors present the 'how to' alongside the 'what' of study skills to enable continuous personal development, in an accessible style.' - Di Turgoose, Senior Lecturer, Member of the Association for Learning and Development in Higher Education SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Call Number: STSK 371.30281 BUR
Publication Date: 2016
Decision Making in Paramedic Practice by In this book, Andy Collen offers a wealth of knowledge about the importance of decision making in healthcare practice to reduce clinical risk and improve outcomes for patients. The text explores the role of the modern paramedic and of the paramedic as a critical thinker. It offers a unique perspective on clinical decision making, highlighting important aspects such as the balance between intuition and experience as well as professional issues. Each chapter includes: * Case studies, scenarios and real life examples* Practice tips and checklists* The latest theory, evidence and research* Discussion of ethical considerations, keeping the correct balance of confidence and competence and how to deal with dilemmas in practice.It will be essential reading for paramedic students and all ambulance clinicians undertaking continuing professional development.
Call Number: 616.025 COL + eBook
Publication Date: 2017-11-21