The SAGE Handbook of Special Education by Florian, L.The second edition of The SAGE Handbook of Special Education provides a comprehensive overview of special education, offering a wide range of views on key issues from all over the world. The contributors bring together up-to-date theory, research and innovations in practice, with an emphasis on future directions for the role of special education in a global context of inclusion. This brand new edition features: " New chapters on families, interagency collaboration and issues of lifelong learning " The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities " Policy reform proposals " Equity and social justice in education " The impact of new thinking on assessment " Issues and developments in classification " The preparation and qualifications that teachers need The Handbook′s breadth, clarity and academic rigour will make it essential reading for researchers and postgraduate students, and also for practitioners, teachers, school managers and administrators.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Changing Face of Special Educational Needs by Ekins, A.Fully revised with the requirements of the 2014 new SEN Code of Practice, this second edition of The Changing Face of Special Educational Needs shows teachers, SENCOs and students in teacher training how to respond to the rapidly changing context of special education. This highly practical and accessible text unlocks the often confusing field of special education provision in schools today by: Summarising and clarifying new policy directions as they emerge, in light of the new SEN Code of Practice Suggesting clear, practical activities to bring the theory to life, helping practitioners to review and reflect upon their work; Encouraging critical reflection about existing systems within the school context, considering whether these will remain appropriate and ¿fit for purpose¿; Giving opportunities for teachers, SENCOs and senior leaders to contextualise the new changes in terms of the implications for practice in their own school. Including a new chapter on Using Technologies to Support the Development of Inclusive Practices, this text is packed with activities, case studies and points for reflection. It will help the teacher, SENCO, senior leader or advisor to make sense of the rapid pace of change of policy and terminology related to SEN and supports readers in a positive way, emphasising the exciting opportunities that these changes will provide for developing new, innovative and creative working practices. This book will also be essential reading for all SENCOs completing the National Award for SEN Coordination.
Call Number: 371.90941 EKI + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Meeting Special Educational Needs in Primary Classrooms by Briggs, S.There are greater numbers of children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) now attending mainstream schools. This fully updated and revised edition of Meeting Special Educational Needs in Primary Classrooms is written by an experienced teacher, adviser and SEN consultant and explains the challenges that these children face. This is a practical book full of guidance for teachers and teaching assistants who support children with SEND in mainstream primary classrooms. Now fully updated to include the requirements of the 2014 Children and Families Act and SEND Code of Practice, this book: contains photocopiable resources and templates promotes successful communication between teachers, parents and students covers all aspects of teaching children with SEND, including planning, teaching and learning. With practical guidance on how to make the curriculum more accessible for children with SEND, this book will help teachers and TAs work together to support pupils with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities more effectively.
Call Number: 371.90472 BRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Rita Cheminais' Handbook for SENCOs by Cheminais, R.Do you have responsibility for your school′s special educational needs (SEN) provision? Are you currently undertaking the National award for SENCOs? By breaking down the detailed information into manageable chunks, this book sets out the responsibilities of the SENCO and helps you make sure you are meeting the government requirements of the most recent reforms to SEN provision and regulations. Helping you lead and manage SEN provision this book covers: New SEN legislations and policy (the new SEND Code of Practice) Planning and deploying the SEN budget Working in partnership with young people, parents and other professionals How to deal with the new paperwork requirements Building capacity among staff and self-evaluating the quality of your settings provision Meeting the latest OFSTED requirements, in relation to SEND Suitable for SENCOs and anyone responsible for SEN provision in their setting it is an invaluable guide those working with children from Birth to 19.About Rita CheminaisRita has over thirty years experience in the field of education working as a teacher, SENCO, OFSTED Inspector, General, Senior and Principal Adviser for SEN & Inclusion, education consultant, author and keynote speaker on SEN.
Call Number: 371.9 CHE
Publication Date: 2014
Personalised Learning for Young People with Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties by Colley, A.Challenging the notion that young people with profound and multiple learning difficulties (PMLD) should be taught in a linear, target-driven way, this book presents an innovative model for creating learning opportunities to suit the needs and abilities of each individual student. Focusing on students with PMLD aged 14 and over, and addressing their unique needs as they progress towards adult life, the author explains how to create a truly personalised programme for each individual that recognises their right to autonomy whilst also acknowledging their learning difficulties. Practical strategies for dealing with common areas of difficulty such as communication and behaviour are included, and the book contains useful solutions to practical considerations such as timetabling, staffing, assessments and target-setting, and adapting the physical and sensory environment for students with PMLD. A final section looks at opportunities for students with PMLD post-secondary education. Realistic and accessible, this book is essential reading for teachers, teaching assistants and others involved in educating young people with PMLD.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Inclusion Is Dead by Imray, P. ; Colley, A.Inclusion is Dead is a provocative polemic against the widely held notion that inclusion for all children and young people with SEN is both possible and desirable. For those with severe learning difficulties (SLD) and profound and multiple learning difficulties (PMLD), the authors argue, it is neither. Imray and Colley assert that the dominance of inclusion has meant that there has been no serious attempt to look at the educational difficulties faced by learners with PMLD and SLD. As a vision of egalitarianism and equality for all, they say, inclusion is dead. The authors controversially believe that unless education changes, it will remain as a disabling institution that does the exact opposite of its intention. The book presents the argument that theorists of inclusion have failed to provide practical solutions on how inclusion can be achieved when SLD and PMLD learners are involved, as well as discussing the drawbacks of the 'inclusion for all argument'. With up-to-date references throughout, Inclusion is Dead will be an insightful read for teachers and SENCO trainers, as well as postgraduates and undergraduates studying courses on politics, philosophy and society.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Teaching Children and Young People with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities by Martin-Denham, S.All teachers are expected to have a clear understanding of the needs of all pupils and be able to use and evaluate distinctive teaching approaches to engage and support their entire class. But how do you actually teach and work with young people in an inclusive way?This book is your ultimate guide with chapters on: Your first day in a specialist provision Teaching, Planning and Assessment Working in partnership As well as material on specific conditions which covers all areas of exceptionality. This book gives you the knowledge and practical advice you really need to help you teach children from 0-25 with special educational needs and disabilities.
Call Number: 371.90941 MAR
Publication Date: 2015
Planning an Appropriate Curriculum in the Early Years by Rodger, R.Now its third edition, Planning an Appropriate Curriculum in the Early Years offers a comprehensive guide for early years practitioners and students on how to plan and implement a suitable curriculum for the children in an Early Years setting. It examines the key roles and responsibilities of practitioners working in early years settings and those with responsibility for leading and managing provision for EYFS in primary schools. Fully and completely revised and updated in line with the review of the Early Years Foundation Stage and the latest research evidence, this book covers all aspects of the curriculum including: The areas of learning and development; Assessment procedures and record keeping; Leadership and management in the early years; The role played by parents and carers in children¿s learning and development; Planning for child initiated learning and adult-led activities. With case studies of good practice and questions for reflective practice and group work, this fully updated best seller will be welcomed by students and practitioners looking to provide high quality and effective learning experiences for the under fives.
Call Number: 372.21 ROD
Publication Date: 2012
The Therapeutic Powers of Play by Schaefer, C. E. ; Drewes, A. A.While current research shows that play therapy is an effective means of treatment, it doesn't explain why it helps or how to utilize play therapy to bring about positive change. In this revision and expansion of a classic play therapy book, editors Charles Schaefer and Athena Drewes, two renowned experts and pioneers in the field, share the nuts and bolts of how play therapy can foster treatment gains in children and adolescents. This pioneering book provides a unique understanding of the process of play therapy by highlighting the therapeutic forces contained within it and offers practical guidance for mental health professionals who are looking to incorporate play into their practice as well as for certified play therapists looking for a refreshing and up-to-date guide.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Additional Educational Needs by Soan, S. (Editor)Teaching a class of learners with many different additional educational needs can be challenging to the extreme. Based on the latest national legislation and the importance of achieving 'inclusive communities' within schools, this book provides succinct and practical information on working with children with a full range of additional educational needs. This book: covers unfamiliar areas beyond the typical SEN spectrum - such as gifted and talented, bilingual learners and supporting children in care appropriate for every key stage and educational setting includes case studies, discussion questions and key issues to help develop reflective practice Makes close links with the Higher Level Teaching Assistant (HLTA) standards. Accessible and user-friendly, this book will be essential reading for all students of education - including teaching assistants, trainee teachers and newly qualified teachers - on a range of learning support courses (Foundation Degree, BA QTS and PGCE).
Call Number: 371.9046 SOA
Publication Date: 2004
A Beginning Teacher's Guide to Special Educational Needs by Wearmouth, J."This is a refreshing and comprehensive book providing an excellent introduction to theory and practice in SEN. It will be much in demand and appreciated by all teachers who are attempting to tackle the issues and questions that can accompany the desire to meet the learning needs of all children." Dr. Gavin Reid, Educational Consultant, Red Rose School, UK; Centre for Child Evaluation and Teaching, Kuwait; REACH Learning Center, Canada. As a trainee or newly qualified teacher, being faced with students labelled as having 'special educational needs' can be a daunting prospect. The whole area of SEN and 'inclusion' is often shrouded with uncertainty about what it means, either in theory or in practice, and what it entails. This guide addresses these issues in a straightforward, supportive and practical way, focusing on the needs of the beginning teacher. Using case studies, activities and resources, it will equip you with the skills and knowledge to support groups of pupils with SEN in different settings and phases. Key features include: Vignettes to illustrate the kinds of challenges you are likely to face in ensuring that all students can learn effectively in their classrooms Clarification of the legal responsibilities of all teachers in relation to special needs provision An overview of the four broad areas of need outlined in the Special Educational Needs Code of Practice (DfES, 2001), including strategies appropriate to each A discussion of assessment and planning, including student, peer and family views Focus on difficulties in the area of numeracy and literacy, including effective intervention strategies Coverage of behavioural issues and effective resolution strategies An insight into the uses of ICT to support students' learning and achievement Sources of further specialist advice and support A Beginning Teacher's Guide to Special Educational Needs provides essential support and guidance for student teachers during and beyond their teaching training.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Special Educational Needs and Disability: the Basics by Wearmouth, J.Special Educational Needs and Disability: The Basics has been fully updated in light of the 2014 Children and Families Act in England and now also includes a focus and discussion of legislation across the whole UK. Providing an engaging and complete overview, it examines the fundamental principles of the subject from policy to practice. This book covers the historical development of special provision and key legislation, policy-making, the identification and assessment of young people¿s special or additional learning and behaviour needs, and ways to address barriers to learning associated with various kinds of difficulty. Essential revisions to this second edition include: discussion of the implications of the 2014 Special Educational Needs and Disability Code of Practice: 0 to 25 years for Heads, governors, SENCos, staff, students and families in schools in England, a focus on the law relating to special or additional support needs in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, and its implications, an update on statutory assessment requirements and advice on compiling them, including the new Education Health and Care Plans in England. This book is an ideal starting point for all those with questions about what constitutes special educational needs and disability and how individuals can be supported in practice. It is essential reading for policy-makers, trainees, teachers and all those working with young people who experience difficulties and their families.
Call Number: 371.90941 WEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Inclusive and Adaptive Teaching by Westwood, P.What does it actually meanto teach an inclusive mixed-ability class? From the author of the classic teacher text Commonsense Methods for Children with Special Needsthis new book from Peter Westwood fully acknowledges what is feasible and useful to teachers in today's inclusive classroom. This insightful teaching resource promotes a fully inclusive approach to teaching the common curriculum to all, while acknowledging differences among learners in relation to intelligence, gender, socioeconomic background, cultural background, language skills and disabilities. Drawing on the underlying principles of inclusive education, and on curriculum and learning theories, Westwood discusses in detail the challenge of diversity in the classroom. The author presents in practical terms an adaptive approach to teaching that can respond, when necessary, to differences among students. Accessible chapters in this book present: sound pedagogical practice linked with adapting curriculum content; helpful teaching methods; a range of resource materials; useful assessment procedures; support for learning. The writer draws appropriately on international research and current learning theories to support this approach, whilst each chapter contains an up-to-date list of online and print resources easily available to teachers who wish to pursue topics in greater depth. This book will be of interest to both practising and trainee teachers and teaching assistants, as well as school principals, school counsellors and educational psychologists.
Call Number: 371.9 WES
Publication Date: 2013
Special Educational Needs, 2nd ed. by Norwich, B. ; Warnock, M. ; Terzi, L.Special Educational Needs: A New Look by Mary Warnock was initially published by the Philosophy of Education Society of Great Britain in 2005. In this new edition, Warnock has updated her argument, Brahm Norwich has contributed a counter-argument and Lorella Terzi has provided an introduction and afterword, drawing the two debates together.The issues debated in this new edition of Special Educational Needs: A New Look include:The statement of special educational needThe concept of inclusionSpecial Educational Needs: A New Look raises issues which will be of interest to all involved in special education and inclusion, including teachers, policy makers and educationalists.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Emotional Well-Being for Children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities by Bailey, G.This practical guide details the strategies that practitioners can use in their setting to build better outcomes for children with Special Educational Needs (SEN) and disabilities. A clear rationale is outlined that highlights how many factors outside of the child's control can be addressed to minimise the risk of longer term mental health problems and social exclusion. Case studies, points for practice and questions for reflection are used to explore the principles around working with children with a range of disabilities including: - ADHD - Dyslexia - Visual Impairment - Autism Written by an experienced teacher and educational psychologist, this text carefully considers the existing evidence base surrounding emotional well-being and positive psychology before outlining the practical implications for the classroom. This book will guide practitioners in implementing strategies to pro-actively promote emotional well-being for children with SEND in their settings. Dr. Gail Bailey is a Child Psychology Consultant based in West Wales.
Call Number: 371.9019 BAI
Publication Date: 2012
Play for Children with Special Needs by Macintyre, CThere are many more children with learning differences and difficulties in our schools today. Their needs are varied and complex and professionals must find appropriate ways to enhance their learning. The value of play is endorsed in policy initiatives including The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum, so professionals can be reassured that 'more time to play' is in line with the latest thinking. Christine Macintyre emphasises the importance of creating an environment where children become confident, independent learners, increasingly able to use their imaginations, care for others and to take safe risks. This fully revised edition of Play for Children with Special Needsincludes new research findings and explains their implications for practice. This book then enables those supporting children to: understand the benefits of play and how to adapt different scenarios to support children who do not find it easy to play observe children as they play so that any difficulties can be identified early analyse different play areas so that the different kinds of learning (intellectual, creative, motor, social and emotional) are appreciated. Play for Children with Special Needs, 2ndeditionenables practitioners to appreciate the contribution that play makes to the education of all children, whether they have special needs or not. It is for parents, teachers, teaching assistants and nursery professionals as well as those who care for children at home.
Call Number: 362.78 MAC
Publication Date: 2009
How the Special Needs Brain Learns by Sousa, D.A. (Editor)'This is a well-written and practical guide for parents and practitioners working with children with additional needs, providing a comprehensive overview of the field and rooted in a desire to facilitate effective support and to enable children to fulfill their potential' - SEN Magazine Since the publication of the first edition, there have been major developments in our understanding of how the human brain develops and functions. New technologies, such as transcranial magnetic stimulation, have emerged to investigate cerebral processes. Researchers in genetics have found new links to physical, psychological, and learning disorders. The discovery of mirror neurons may explain why certain learning problems arise and yield clues as to how they can be treated. All of the chapters in this second edition have undergone major revisions to include these developments and the findings of new studies. In addition, the author has: #65533; Expanded and updated the chapters on attention disorders and autism spectrum disorders, illustrating the increased interest in these conditions #65533; Revised the chapters on reading disabilities and emotional and behavioral disorders to reflect new research discoveries and treatments #65533; Recast the final chapter to include a practical framework for identifying, accommodating, and motivating students with learning difficulties #65533; Included references to more than 230 new scientific studies for those who wish to read the original research #65533; Eliminated the chapter on sleep disorders because they do not identify a special learning need Researchers and clinicians have made considerable progress in recent years understanding the genetic and environmental triggers that result in learning problems in children and adolescents. Nonetheless, arriving at a specific diagnosis can be tricky. Teachers and parents often cannot tell the difference between a normally rambunctious child and one who may have a developmental disorder. The information here will provide educators and parents with some of the strategies they need to help their students and children lead happy and successful lives.
Call Number: 370.1523 SOU
Publication Date: 2006
Strategies to Promote Inclusive Practice by Tilstone, C. (Editor); Rose, R. (Editor)This book considers current issues in the development of policies to promote inclusive education for pupils with special educational needs. By examining issues from the perspective of individual pupils, schools, and local education authorities, it raises critical commentary on the ways forward for a co-ordinated approach to inclusion. Strategies to Promote Inclusive Practicedraws upon the experience and expertise of teachers, policy makers, and researchers, who explore the many factors which need to be addressed in the development of a more inclusive education system. The authors explore the link between theoretical perspectives and the production of policy, as well as the potential for translating this into good classroom practice. They provide examples of approaches which have proved successful in enabling pupils to become better equipped to address the needs of a wide range of pupils. In considering the impact of recent policy, legislation, and research, the authors suggest that several models of inclusion may be necessary in order to become an inclusive education system. This book will be of interest to students, teachers, policy makers, and researchers, who are concerned to advance the debate on inclusion towards a more pragmatic approach to providing for all pupils with special needs. It is a companion text to Promoting Inclusive Practiceedited by Christine Tilstone, Lani Florian and Richard Rose (RoutledgeFalmer, 1998), which was the joint winner of the 1999 TES/NASEN Academic Book Award.