Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interior Design: a critical introduction by The practice of interior design has become ever more specialized as new technologies have expanded how designers can use light, space, color, and decoration. At the same time, the study of the interior -- private, public and corporate -- has become a complex field. Interior design is now a rich and sophisticated discipline which draws on many others: psychology, cultural theory, philosophy, gender studies, anthropology, and history, as well as design history, architecture, arts and crafts, furniture, and fashion. Interior Design presents a critical introduction to contemporary theory and practice. The book highlights the key concepts behind the study of interiors in order to present an inter-disciplinary overview of the subject. Always aware that design is a practical discipline, the book is illustrated throughout with examples and detailed case studies of interior design practice.
Call Number: 747.3 EDW
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
Metric Handbook: planning and design data. 4th edn. (Printc opy) by * Significantly updated in reference to the latest construction standards and new building types. * Sustainable design integrated into chapters. * Over 100,000 copies sold to successive generations of architects and designers - this book belongs on every design office desk and drawing board. The Metric Handbook is the major handbook of planning and design data for architects and architecture students. Covering basic design data for all the major building types it is the ideal starting point for any project. For each building type, the book gives the basic design requirements and all the principal dimensional data, and succinct guidance on how to use the information and what regulations the designer needs to be aware of. As well as buildings the Metric Handbook deals with broader aspects of design such as materials, acoustics and lighting, and general design data on human dimensions and space requirements. The Metric Handbook really is the unique reference for solving everyday planning problems.
Call Number: 720.284 LIT
Publication Date: 2012-04-18
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
These journals are available online via the A-Z list of online journals
Creative review - from 01/01/1997 to present
Interior design - from 01/01/1996 to 31/03/2013
Journal of interior design - from 1997 to present
Interior design (0020-5508)
from 01/01/1996 to 31/05/2010 in ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest), Arts & Humanities Full Text (ProQuest), Career and Technical Education (ProQuest), ProQuest Central and ProQuest Research Library
from 01/01/1998 to 31/03/2013 in Art Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Architectural Drafting for Interior Designers. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Beginning interior designers can learn how to graphically communicate their ideas with a resource that is designed specifically for them. While traditional drafting books focus on architectural and engineering readers, Architectural Drafting for Interior Designers, Second Edition, eliminates irrelevant coverage and incorporates material and examples that are meaningful to today's interior designers. This book also addresses the specific needs of beginning interior designers by focusing on topics needed before AutoCAD is even introduced, such as how to draw a floor plan, how to use it to create an interior elevation, and how to understand the relationship between 2D and 3D drawings. Updated to include a new chapter on integrating software with hand drawings, and with content thematically reorganized, this edition is more comprehensive and intuitive than ever. The only book that is written to the standards of the National Council for Interior Design Qualifications (NCIDQ) and interior design trade associations like the National Kitchen and Bath Association (NKBA), this will provide readers with a strong, standards-based foundation in interior design.
Call Number: 720.284 CLI
Publication Date: 2014-07-10
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to Zwinger and written in a clear and concise style, this authoritative dictionary covers architectural history in detail, from ancient times to the present day. It also includes concise biographies of hundreds of architects from history (excludingliving persons), from Sir Francis Bacon and Imhotep to Liang Ssu-ch'eng and Francis Inigo Thomas. The text is complemented by over 260 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical building features, making it easy forreaders to identify particular period styles. This third edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture has been extensively revised and expanded, with over 900 new entries including hundreds of definitions of garden and landscape terms such as Baroque garden, floral clock, hortus conclusus, and Zen garden-design. Each entry is followed by amini-bibliography, with suggestions for further reading. The full bibliography to the first edition (previously only available online) has also been fully updated and expanded, and incorporated into this new edition.This is an essential work of reference for anyone with an interest in architectural and garden history. With clear descriptions providing in-depth analysis, it is invaluable for students, professional architects, art historians, and anyone interested in architecture and garden design, and provides afascinating wealth of information for the general reader.
Call Number: 720.03 STE
Publication Date: 2015-05-19
Interior Design and Identity. (Print copy) by This fascinating collection provides a chronologically arranged set of case studies looking at how interior design has constantly redefined itself as a manifestation of culture, from the eighteenth-century to the present day. The book looks at the amateur activities of female "home makers" in search of creative outlets and married couples seeking to modernise their homes as well as the contributions of early professional (female) "interior decorators", and later, (male) "interior designers". It also considers the moreanonymous role of commercial enterprises, such as hairdressing salons, ocean-going liners or modern offices as well as public institutions, such as hospitals or naval training establishments. Interior design and identity examines interior design in relation to the changing identities of its practitioners, its inhabitants and of the furnishings, focussing on the ways in which cultural values came to be embedded in the spaces which people inhabited and made their own. Issues relating tointeriority, gender, and the relationship of the public sphere are also considered opening up a new level of design historical enquiry.
Call Number: 747.3 SPA
Publication Date: 2004-08-26
Shaping Interior Space. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Shaping Interior Space, 3rd Edition, emphasizes the experiential contributions of interior design. Intended for all design students, the author covers strategies for creating interior environments that work as a total system to enhance the experience of the user. The book is organized into three parts, a background part introduces ways of designing for experience and reviews some important design principles and strategies. Part Two focuses on the three experiential goals that form the backbone of the book, order, enrichment, and expression. These serve as overall umbrellas that capture the many dimensions of users' experiences in the built environment. Part Three is devoted to design process. The process is broken up into understanding, ideation, and development and covers many tasks performed during the early and intermediate stages of design.
Call Number: 729 REN
Publication Date: 2014-09-11
Star Interior Designers: contemporary icons of interior design and decoration. (Print copy) by An expansive collection of world-renowned interior designers in one volume. Guided by a clear conceptual direction, designers approach a room armed with aspects of various disciplines, including architecture, environmental psychology and decoration, and they apply a refined eye to the use of color, texture, lighting and furnishings. Using prestigious and stylistic vision, this book gives you not only an around-the-world tour to the best interior design projects but also it is an inspiring reference that gives you alternative advice. Each project is accompanied by a color palette that will inspire you to re-imagine each project in brilliant color. This book is an illustrated collection of the work of the world's most talented interior design practitioners. Guided by a clear conceptual direction, each designer approaches a room armed with aspects of various disciplines, including architecture, environmental psychology and decoration, and they apply a refined eye to the use of colour, texture, lighting and furnishings. Using prestigious and stylistic vision, this book gives you not only an around-the-world tour to the best interior design projects but also offers you an inspiring reference that gives you alternative ideas and viewpoints. Each project is accompanied by a colour palette that will inspire you to re-imagine each project in brilliant colour. The result is an invaluable resource for interior designers, architects and students alike.
Call Number: 747 SER
Publication Date: 2011-09-27