Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Work for Money, Design for Love: answers to most frequently asked questions about starting and running a successful design business. (Print copy) by Unlike other dry business books, this refreshing, straightforward guide from Logo Design Love author and international designer David Airey answers the questions all designers have when first starting out on their own. In fact, the book was inspired by the many questions David receives every day from the more than 600,000 designers who visit his three blogs (Logo Design Love, Identity Designed, and DavidAirey.com) each month. How do I find new clients? How much should I charge for my design work? When should I say no to a client? How do I handle difficult clients? What should I be sure to include in my contracts? David's readers-a passionate and vocal group-regularly ask him these questions and many more on how to launch and run their own design careers. With this book, David finally answers their pressing questions with anecdotes, case studies, and sound advice garnered from his own experience as well as those of such well-known designers as Ivan Chermayeff, Jerry Kuyper, Maggie Macnab, Eric Karjaluoto, and Von Glitschka. Designers just starting out on their own will find this book invaluable in succeeding in today's hyper-networked, global economy.
Call Number: 658.022 AIR
Publication Date: 2012-11-12
The Business of Design: balancing creativity and profitability. (E-book) by For thirty years, consultant Keith Granet has enjoyed helping design professionals turn their passion into profit. In his new book,The Business of Design: Balancing Creativity and Profitability, Granet debunks the myth that business sense and creative talent are mutually exclusive.The Business of Design: Balancing Creativity and Profitability provides all of the necessary tools to create and run a thriving design business - from billing and human resources to branding and project management to marketing and licensing- in one easy-to-use guide. Inspired by Granet's own course on running a successful design practice as well as his experience guiding over four hundred design firms,The Business of Design is organized into six clear chapters interwoven with stories, the author's own experiences and life lessons.The Business of Design guides the reader through the steps of creating a successful firm, from the initial foundation of a design practice, to financial management, marketing and public relations, human resources, and project management. The last chapter, on product development, explores the growing trend in the design profession to develop products and bring them to the marketplace, allowing designers to share their voice with a larger audience.The Business of Design includes a foreword by M. Arthur Gensler and interviews with individual architects and designers who have made their mark on the profession, including Michael Graves, John Merrill, A. Eugene Kohn, Victoria Hagan, and Richard Meier. These esteemed architects and designers share the benefits of their experience as well as their own take on the business of design. A vibrant and enticing look at the business side of design practice, this graphically beautiful book is neither dry nor intimidating. "Think it's impossible to make a business using your creativity? Think again! Keith Granet shows you how to make your design business a success. This book is a must-read for every designer."-Jonathan Adler "The Business of Design is the essential guide about the design business. It's filled with invaluable information that covers all aspects of this often complicated and challenging business. Keith's straightforward, no-nonsense approach to finding success makes this a must-read for established designers or anyone just starting out. I've made this mandatory reading for everyone at Thom Filicia Incorporated!" - Thom Filicia "Down to earth , common sense advice drawn from good old fashioned experience, Keith Granet gives the industry what it has been waiting for, THE book on just that. Concise, clearly written, this is NO textbook boilerplate. Trust me, you will underline. . . and feel good about what you do know and aspire to all the rest. READ ON. You will be referring to it often." - Charlotte Moss "Architecture may be an art, but it's also a service profession. To become a good architect requires a passionate dedication to the creative design process. To become a successful one means also understanding that it's a business, a unique one perhaps, but still a business. Keith Granet'sThe Business of Design will help get you there faster, creative talent intact." - Marc Appleton
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2011-08-24
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to your subject guide.
The following journals may be available online via the A-Z list of online journals
Architects' journal (London)
Architectural theory review
The Art of Network Architecture. (Print copy) by The Art of Network Architecture Business-Driven Design The business-centered, business-driven guide to architecting and evolving networks The Art of Network Architecture is the first book that places business needs and capabilities at the center of the process of architecting and evolving networks. Two leading enterprise network architects help you craft solutions that are fully aligned with business strategy, smoothly accommodate change, and maximize future flexibility. Russ White and Denise Donohue guide network designers in asking and answering the crucial questions that lead to elegant, high-value solutions. Carefully blending business and technical concerns, they show how to optimize all network interactions involving flow, time, and people. The authors review important links between business requirements and network design, helping you capture the information you need to design effectively. They introduce today's most useful models and frameworks, fully addressing modularity, resilience, security, and management. Next, they drill down into network structure and topology, covering virtualization, overlays, modern routing choices, and highly complex network environments. In the final section, the authors integrate all these ideas to consider four realistic design challenges: user mobility, cloud services, Software Defined Networking (SDN), and today's radically new data center environments. * Understand how your choices of technologies and design paradigms will impact your business * Customize designs to improve workflows, support BYOD, and ensure business continuity * Use modularity, simplicity, and network management to prepare for rapid change * Build resilience by addressing human factors and redundancy * Design for security, hardening networks without making them brittle * Minimize network management pain, and maximize gain * Compare topologies and their tradeoffs * Consider the implications of network virtualization, and walk through an MPLS-based L3VPN example * Choose routing protocols in the context of business and IT requirements * Maximize mobility via ILNP, LISP, Mobile IP, host routing, MANET, and/or DDNS * Learn about the challenges of removing and changing services hosted in cloud environments * Understand the opportunities and risks presented by SDNs * Effectively design data center control planes and topologies
Call Number: 004.6 WHI
Publication Date: 2014-04-04
Principles and Practice of Marketing 3rd edn. (Print copy) by When you think of marketing you may think of the adverts that pop up at the side of your screen or the billboards you see when you're out - all those moments in the day when somebody is trying to grab your attention and sell you something! Marketing is about advertising and communications in part, but it's also about many other things which all aim to create value for customers, from product research and innovation to after-care service and maintaining relationships. It's a rich and fascinating area of management waiting to be explored - so welcome to Marketing!nbsp; Jim Blythe's Principles and Practice of Marketingnbsp;will ease you into the complexities of Marketing to help you achieve success in your studies and get the best grade. It provides plenty of engaging real-life examples, including brands you know such as Netflix and PayPal - marketing is not just about products, but services too. Marketing changes as the world changes, and this textbook is here to help, keeping you up to speed on key topics such as digital technologies, globalization and being green.nbsp; The companion websitenbsp;offers a wealth of resources for both students and lecturers andnbsp;is available atnbsp;www.sagepub.co.uk/blythe3e. Annbsp;electronic inspection copy is also available for instructors.
Call Number: 658.8 BLY
Publication Date: 2013-12-20
The Interior Design Productivity Toolbox: checklists and best practices to manage your workflow. (Print copy) by Get organized and streamline your workflow with this A-Z accountability system. Design is only part of an interior designer's job-you're also responsible for scheduling client meetings, conducting design surveys, creating drawings and specs, and overseeing installation. Multiply by the number of projects on your plate, and you have a recipe for overwhelming disorganization. The Interior Design Productivity Toolbox helps you juggle multiple projects with ease, with a comprehensive self-management system tailored to the needs of interior designers and decorators. Features include: Detailed checklists that highlight weak spots and warn against common pitfalls Covers residential design, contract design, specifications, and renovations Best practices for meetings, design surveys, drawings, specifications, and renovations Customizable online checklists for tracking every phase of your project Exclusive online budgeting tool for tracking product costs and associated expenses to share with your team and your clients If you need to get organized and get back to work, you need The Interior Design Productivity Toolbox.
Call Number: 747.3 HAR
Publication Date: 2014-08-04
The Interior Design Business Handbook: a completed guide to profitability. 5th edn. (Print copy) by Thousands of interior design professionals have come to rely on The Interior Design Business Handbook for comprehensive, accessible coverage of the essential procedures, tools, and techniques necessary to manage a successful interior design business. The Fifth Edition of this essential resource has been revised to address the latest trends and changes in the field, with new and updated material on business size and structure, building a brand, client development, social networking and Internet marketing, finances, purchasing, technology and software programs, and other key areas. Complete with more than 75 sample forms and letters, this Fifth Edition is a one-stop resource for all aspects of establishing and running an interior design business--from choosing a location and managing day-to-day operations to growing a business and putting it up for sale. All of the techniques and procedures in the book are rooted in real-world experience and are used daily in successful design firms throughout the United States. Filled with valuable information for solo practices and small firms as well as larger businesses, this book is an indispensable resource for seasoned professionals as well as interior designers who are at the start of their career.
Call Number: 747.3 KNA
Publication Date: 2012-09-11
Interior Design in Practice: case studies of successful business models. (Print copy) by Written by a former ASID national president and an eco-structure magazine editor, Interior Design in Practice: Case Studies of Successful Business Models provides a concise collection of real-world case studies of the business of interior design practice with lessons for everyone from the sole practitioner to large firms. Interior Design in Practice provides the vital business education an interior designer needs. It describes in detail how to plan and launch an interior design business, and how to grow that business towards success. As a companion to Mary Knackstedt s Interior Design Business Handbook as well as Christine Piotrowski s Professional Practice for Interior Designers, this book is ideal for professionals in interior design.
Call Number: 747.068 WEE
Publication Date: 2013-11-11
Professional Practice for Interior Designers. (Print copy) by This updated edition of the most comprehensive business guide for designers covers the interior design profession in a clear and well-organized style. From establishing a practice to managing a project, the reader progresses through all aspects of the business, whether in a small or large firm. The new edition includes additional information on ethics, as well as a companion website containing sample forms and other resources. This book is recommended by the NCIDQ as preparation for their professional registration examination.
Call Number: 747.3 PIO
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
How to Start and Operate Your Own Design Firm: a guide for interior designers. (Print copy) by Want to make it big on Broadway--as a techie? Or how about working in smaller regional theater? Careers in Technical Theater explains more than twenty different careers from the perspective of successful theater artists. Included are specialties that have been around for decades, as well as those still emerging in the field. Concise information is provided on job duties, estimated earnings, recommended training, examples of career paths, and the insights are given of working pros in management, scenery, audio/visual, costumes, video and projection, engineering, and theatrical systems. There's even a detailed appendix on finding on-the-job training as an intern, apprentice, or paid worker. For anyone interested in a behind-the-scenes life in the theater,Careers in Technical Theater is a priceless resource. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Call Number: 747.3 RUB
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
The Business of Interior Design. (Print copy) by A successful decorator and a productivity expert, Vita Vygovska brought together 10 design industry experts to share their knowledge and expertise on how to market your design business. Fast and easy to read, this book is an in-depth and comprehensive marketing tutorial, teaching all the strategies that designers need to know (and none that they don't) to propel their businesses forward. It is perfect for interior designers, decorators, window treatment professionals, workrooms, stagers, re-designers, organizers and vendors servicing the trade. In the book, you'll learn: Why giving away your "secrets' gets you clients 3 tested time-saver shortcuts to harness the power of social media How to capture your competition's leads without them even knowing it The biggest mistakes designers are making online, and how to avoid them How to create simple but powerful programs by thinking "outside of the box" Time-test and proven appointment generators How to create winning relationships with magazine and newspaper writers so that you become their main resource The main secret of effective marketing - and it's not what you think Featuring (in alphabetical order): Steven Bursten ? Margo DeGange ? Kelly Galea ? Melissa Galt Anna Jacoby ? Margi Kyle ? Mary Larsen ? Terri Maurer David Sheperd ? Nika Stewart ? Terri Taylor ? Vita Vygovska"
Call Number: 747 VYG
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
The Interior Designer's Guide to Pricing, Estimating, and Budgeting. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This second edition is updated throughout and includes additional material on time management and numerous interviews with leading designers. Empowered by the step-by-step guidance in this book, interior designers will be able to establish prices and budgets that make their clients happy and their businesses profitable. Written by a designer and veteran expert on pricing, estimating, and budgeting systems, the book provides practical guidelines on how to value the cost of designing commercial or residential interiors, from the designer's creative input to the pricing of decorating products and procedures. The book shows how to determine a profitable and fair hourly rate, balance the client's budget with his or her wishes and needs, negotiate prices with suppliers and contractors, write realistic estimates and clear proposals, manage budgets for projects of all sizes and types, and position the firm's brand in relation to its practices. Interviews with experienced interior designers, case studies, and sidebars highlight professional pitfalls and how to master them, from daily crisis management and self-organization to finding the perfect office manager.
Call Number: 747.0681 WIL
Publication Date: 2010-07-27