Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Informing Design by Informing Design suggests a pedagogy in which design decision making is informed by more than speculative hunches, preferences, and intuition. In this collection of contributed chapters, leaders in both design practice and education share their expertise in such specialty areas as corporate, retail, and learning environments; healthcare; and hospitality. Introductory chapters teach students to distinguish among information gathering, programming, and research; apply the findings of others; and conduct their own investigations. Other chapters illustrate how informed design decisions were applied to various building types.
Call Number: 729 DIC
Publication Date: 2009-02-27
The State of the Interior Design Profession. (Print copy) by The State of the Interior Design Profession provides an informed view of the interior design profession as it stands, challenging students and inspiring them to consider their role and responsibility in developing the profession's future. Martin and Guerin have identified 12 issues integral to the future development of the interior design profession. Renowned and emerging interior design thinkers (authors), who represent complementary and conflicting viewpoints on the same issue, have written their opinions (essays) in response to each issue. Their experiences are diverse; they have contributed to practice, industry, publication, research, education, engagement, and service-and many to several of these. Their responses reflect the currency of their opinions, thoughts, and research on the issue.
Call Number: 729
Publication Date: 2010-03-02
Cite Them Right: the essential referencing guide. 11th edn. (Print copy) by This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
Call Number: 808.027 PEA
Publication Date: 2019
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to your subject guide.
Interior Design Materials and Specifications. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This complete guide to the selection of materials for interiors has been updated to reflect recent industry changes and contemporary awareness of topics. Written from the viewpoint of the working designer, Interior Design Materials and Specifications, 3rd Edition, describes each material's characteristics and teaches students how to evaluate, select, and specify materials, taking into account factors including code compliance, building standards, sustainability guidelines, human needs, and bidding processes. Students will learn how to communicate with suppliers and vendors to achieve the results they envision and how to avoid some of the pitfalls common to material selection and specification. Interior Design Materials and Specifications STUDIO-an online tool for more effective study! #65533; Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips #65533; Review concepts with flashcards of essential vocabulary PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501321764.
Call Number: 747
Publication Date: 2017-02-09
The Dissertation Journey: a practical and comprehensive guide to planning, writing, and defending your dissertation. 3rd edn. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by How to reach the pinnacle of academic achievementThe dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, social, and psychological obstacles along the way, you need a knowledgeable guide and the right tools. This comprehensive how-to guide to developing and writing a quality dissertation provides: Expanded and updated coverage of crucial topics such as conducting a literature review, dissertation support groups, and harnessing technology to conduct research Progress tracking tools, sample forms, resource lists, and other user-friendly elements Thoroughly updated and revised chapters with the most current need-to-know information
Call Number: 808.02 ROB
Publication Date: 2018
Surviving Your Dissertation: a comprehensive guide to content and process. 4th edn. (Print copy) by In the fully updated Fourth Edition of their best-selling guide, Surviving Your Dissertation, Kjell Erik Rudestam and Rae R. Newton answer questions concerning every stage of the dissertation process, including selecting a suitable topic, conducting a literature review, developing a research question, understanding the role of theory, selecting an appropriate methodology and research design, analyzing data, and interpreting and presenting results. In addition, this must-have guide covers topics that other dissertation guides often miss, such as the many types of quantitative and qualitative research models available, the principles of good scholarly writing, how to work with committees, how to meet IRB and ethical standards, and how to overcome task and emotional blocks. With plenty of current examples, the new edition features an expanded discussion of online research, data collection and analysis, and the use of data archives, as well as expanded coverage of qualitative methods and added information on mixed methods.
Call Number: 808.02 RUD
Publication Date: 2014
Visual Culture in the Built Environment: a global perspective. (Print copy) by Visual Culture in the Built Environment: A Global Perspective provides an integrated survey of global interior environments and architecture, explaining significant design styles and movements from the mid-19th century to the present day. In addition to learning the characteristics and designers of a particular style or movement, students will learn how and why interior environments and architecture develop, including the impact of cultural and political events. In reflecting the emerging field of Visual Culture studies, this textbook expands upon traditional approaches to studying the history of interior environments and architecture by presenting content within the global interdisciplinary context of the arts, politics, technology, business, and economics.
Call Number: 747.09 WIN
Publication Date: 2010-02-22