Reflective Practice: writing and professional development 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Ethics: inventing righ and wrong. (Print copy) by
An insight into moral skepticism of the 20th century. The author argues that our every-day moral codes are an 'error theory' based on the presumption of moral facts which, he persuasively argues, don't exist. His refutation of such facts is based on their metaphysical 'queerness' and the observation of cultural relativity.
Capitalism as if the world matters. (Print copy) by
When first published, Capitalism as if the World Matters, by one of the leading 'eco-warriors' of our time, shocked a generation of both environmentalists and business people. Jonathon Porritt brushed aside their artificial battle lines with a powerful argument that the only way to save the world from environmental catastrophe is to embrace a new type of capitalism, and to do it quickly. In this substantially revised and updated edition, Porritt extends his powerful and controversial argument by providing fresh evidence and suggesting new actions. New content includes in-depth coverage of the USA, with case studies examining the role of huge American corporations such as Wal-Mart and General Electric, plus a close look at China and the global impact this economic giant may have in the twenty-first century. This is a must-read for everyone who has a stake in the future of the world, from business executives to environmental activists, from community leaders to the politicians with their hands on the levers of power. Published with Forum for the Future
Hot topic: how to tackle global warming and still keep the lights on. (Print copy) by 
Sustainable Design for Interior Environments. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Sustainable Design for Interior Environments, 2nd Edition, builds on the first edition's premise that the interior design profession has a social and moral responsibility to protect the health, safety, and welfare of people and the environment. The text equips professors, students, and practitioners to design sustainable interiors by addressing LEED certification, environmental concerns, ecosystems, ethics, values, worldviews, and the ways in which science and technology can be used to address environmental challenges. Through content, organization, and pedagogical features, the book integrates complex sustainability topics directly into the design process, thereby enabling readers to apply the concepts of sustainability with the same ease as they do the elements and principles of design.
Sustainable Building Systems and Construction for Designers. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Sustainable Building Systems and Construction for Designers, Second Edition, continues to be the best resource for viewing building construction and its systems through the lens of sustainability. As a practicing architect and an interior designer, author Lisa M. Tucker covers all systems including structural, mechanical, electrical and lighting, plumbing, and interior building systems as they relate to sustainability and interior design. The technical knowledge and vocabulary presented in the text allows interior designers, architects, engineers, and contractors to communicate effectively with each other while collaborating on projects. This new edition -- produced in an easier-to-use format - contains the latest information on LEED, ADA, Net Zero construction, and sustainable construction practices.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to your subject guide.
Reflective learning in practice. (Print copy) by
This book gathers together details of seventeen case studies of learning in practice, after having set the issue of reflective learning in a theoretical context. The cases are drawn from a wide range of situations and discuss both apparent successes and failures. The cases are used as a basis to develop general findings. These general findings are expressed as themes and questions so that, as readers come across new circumstances, they are not limited by prescriptive recipes. Instead they are empowered by having both an open and focused approach: open because the starting point is questions rather than answers, and focused because the questions direct attention to factors that have been found to be influential for effective, reflective learning. The crucial factor is the ability of managers and others to extract quality learning from experience. Reflective Learning in Practice develops an approach that will help this to happen.
Reflective Learning in Practice. (E-book) by
This book gathers together details of seventeen case studies of learning in practice, after having set the issue of reflective learning in a theoretical context. The cases are drawn from a wide range of situations and discuss both apparent successes and failures. The cases are used as a basis to develop general findings. These general findings are expressed as themes and questions so that, as readers come across new circumstances, they are not limited by prescriptive recipes. Instead they are empowered by having both an open and focused approach: open because the starting point is questions rather than answers, and focused because the questions direct attention to factors that have been found to be influential for effective, reflective learning. The crucial factor is the ability of managers and others to extract quality learning from experience. Reflective Learning in Practice develops an approach that will help this to happen.
Business Ethics: managing corporate citizenship and sustainability inthe age of globalization. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
The fourth edition of Business Ethics explores throughout the text, in the context of business ethics, the three major challenges that businesses face when making ethical decisions:#65533; Globalization#65533; Sustainability#65533; Corporate citizenship. Crane and Matten provides a truly global approach with a strong European perspective as well as examples from emerging economies and all around the world.The text's accessible style and easy-to-follow narrative ensure it is engaging for students new to the subject. The text features excellent case studies and unique pedagogical features that show how theory relates to real-life practice, including Ethics on Screen, Ethics Online and Ethics in Action. It also focuses on skills, such as key decision-making skills, through in-text features including Skill Checks, Think Theory boxes and Key Concept boxes. New to this editionExtended coverage of SMEs and social enterprise, world religions and business ethics, whistleblowing, personal decision-making and feminist ethicsUpdated cases, examples, and vignettes throughout featuring recent cases that have raised complex ethical issues including the News International phone-hacking scandal, the ethical challenges presented by social media, and changes to banking regulations to avert another financial crisisExtended coverage of Asian, Arabian, Latin American, and African perspectives on the ethical debates and dilemmas faced by businesses in their regionsNew in-text features highlight the business skills covered in each chapterEnhanced resources on the website including, for students, related video links for each chapter, a careers advice section, all EoS have been updated to feature a new recent film, to help engage students with business ethics through the very latest cultural coverage, and, for lecturers, a test bank of multiple choice questions
Prosperity Without Growth. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
What can prosperity possibly mean in a world of environmental and social limits? The publication of Prosperity without Growth was a landmark in the sustainability debate. Tim Jackson¿s piercing challenge to conventional economics openly questioned the most highly prized goal of politicians and economists alike: the continued pursuit of exponential economic growth. Its findings provoked controversy, inspired debate and led to a new wave of research building on its arguments and conclusions. This substantially revised and re-written edition updates those arguments and considerably expands upon them. Jackson demonstrates that building a ¿post-growth¿ economy is a precise, definable and meaningful task. Starting from clear first principles, he sets out the dimensions of that task: the nature of enterprise; the quality of our working lives; the structure of investment; and the role of the money supply. He shows how the economy of tomorrow may be transformed in ways that protect employment, facilitate social investment, reduce inequality and deliver both ecological and financial stability. Seven years after it was first published, Prosperity without Growth is no longer a radical narrative whispered by a marginal fringe, but an essential vision of social progress in a post-crisis world. Fulfilling that vision is simply the most urgent task of our times.
The Alphabet and the Algorithm. (Print copy) by
Digital technologies have changed architecture--the way it is taught, practiced, managed, and regulated. But if the digital has created a "paradigm shift" for architecture, which paradigm is shifting? In The Alphabet and the Algorithm, Mario Carpo points to one key practice of modernity: the making of identical copies. Carpo highlights two examples of identicality crucial to the shaping of architectural modernity: in the fifteenth century, Leon Battista Alberti's invention of architectural design, according to which a building is an identical copy of the architect's design; and, in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the mass production of identical copies from mechanical master models, matrixes, imprints, or molds. The modern power of the identical, Carpo argues, came to an end with the rise of digital technologies. Everything digital is variable. In architecture, this means the end of notational limitations, of mechanical standardization, and of the Albertian, authorial way of building by design. Charting the rise and fall of the paradigm of identicality, Carpo compares new forms of postindustrial digital craftsmanship to hand-making and the cultures and technologies of variations that existed before the coming of machine-made, identical copies. Carpo reviews the unfolding of digitally based design and construction from the early 1990s to the present, and suggests a new agenda for architecture in an age of variable objects and of generic and participatory authorship.
Corporate governance and accountability 4th edn (Print copy) by 
The Economics of Climate Change (Print copy) by
There is now clear scientific evidence that emissions from economic activity, particularly the burning of fossil fuels for energy, are causing changes to the Earths climate. A sound understanding of the economics of climate change is needed in order to underpin an effective global response to this challenge. The Stern Review is an independent, rigourous and comprehensive analysis of the economic aspects of this crucial issue. It has been conducted by Sir Nicholas Stern, Head of the UK Government Economic Service, and a former Chief Economist of the World Bank. The Economics of Climate Change will be invaluable for all students of the economics and policy implications of climate change, and economists, scientists and policy makers involved in all aspects of climate change.
The following journals may be available online via the A-Z list of online journals
Architecture_media_politics_society (2012 to present)
Sustainable cities and society (01/02/2011 to present)
Sustainable construction & design (2011 to present)
Sustainable development (01/02/1999 to 31/07/2005)
Sustainable energy technologies and assessments – Architects' Journal (London) (Numbers 0003-8466)
From 24/06/2004 to 01/07/2009 in Arts & Humanities Full Text (ProQuest), Career and Technical Education (ProQuest) and ProQuest Central
From 12/07/2007 to present in Art Full Text (EBSCOhost)
From 12/08/2010 to present in Arts & Humanities Full Text (ProQuest), Career and Technical Education (ProQuest) and ProQuest Central
