Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Furniture Design and Construction for the Interior Designer. (Print copy) by Furniture Design and Construction for the Interior Designer satisfies the need in the interior design field for a source that teaches the aesthetic as well as the construction of residential furniture. Beginning chapters cover the design process as it relates to furniture design, basic materials, hardware, joinery, and finishes. Because interior designers organize and create livable spaces, later chapters are organized room by room, showing how pieces are constructed for a particular space. Understanding the basic construction of furniture greatly increases the success of the design. Interior designers should be confident in their design work as well as have an understanding of what is involved with the construction of their pieces, and that is what Natale and this book guide them toward.
Call Number: 749 NAT
Publication Date: 2009-02-06
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to your subject guide.
The following journals may be available online via the A-Z list of online journals
Architects' Journal (London)
Architectural Theory Review
Journal of Interior Design
Lighting design & application
Furniture for Interior Design. (Print copy) by This comprehensive, practical guide explores how contemporary furniture is used within interior design to define a space, create division and enclosure, and alter or redefine circulation. Initial chapters illustrate the different contexts in which furniture is used, from the office and domestic interiors to retail and exhibition space; look at types of furniture, whether off-the-shelf or bespoke; and explore the new vogue for recycling and vintage. Later chapters examine both traditional materials such as wood and the more unusual such as stone and glass, while also explaining new methods of manufacture - such as Computer Numerical Controlled and Selected Laser Sintering. The final chapter looks at how a design is developed, the site surveyed, prototypes made, and specifications and schedules drawn up. Furniture for Interior Design is a detailed, highly illustrated guide to specifying and placing existing manufactured furniture, but also shows the reader how to design, detail, and commission batch-produced furniture or one-off, site-specific pieces.
Call Number: 749 BOO
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
1000 Lights. (Print copy) by Light up your life: Luminary design of the 20th century Designed to be a companion to our classic title 1000 Chairs, this edition contains an awesome selection of over 1,000 lights. Presented chronologically by decade are the 20th century's most interesting electric lights, from Tiffany's beautiful leaded-glass shades to completely outrageous designs from the late 1960s and 1970s to the latest high-tech LED lamps. All major styles are represented here--Arts & Crafts, Art Nouveau, Art Deco, Modern Movement, De Stijl, Postwar, Pop, Radical, Post-Modern, and Contemporary--in 640 pages of truly illuminated works. This definitive reference work is a must-have for collectors and design fans. About the Series: Bibliotheca Universalis -- Compact cultural companions celebrating the eclectic TASCHEN universe at an unbeatable, democratic price! Since we started our work as cultural archaeologists in 1980, the name TASCHEN has become synonymous with accessible, open-minded publishing. Bibliotheca Universalis brings together nearly 100 of our all-time favorite titles in a neat new format so you can curate your own affordable library of art, anthropology, and aphrodisia. Bookworm's delight -- never bore, always excite! Text in English, French, and German
Call Number: 749.63 FIE
Publication Date: 2013-11-15
Encyclopedia of Curtains. (Print copy) by Second edition, totally revised, rewritten and expanded1500 photographs and diagrams, including hundreds of new imagesCurrent and traditional curtain-making techniques explained in step-by-step detailAuthoritative soft-furnishing textbook, written by leading experts in their field with more than 20 years experienceSince it was released in 1996, the Encyclopaedia of Curtains has been an essential resource for curtain-makers around the world. Now, Merrick & Day have revisited their original publication and comprehensively revised it to present this second edition. They have included hundreds of new descriptive photographs and diagrams, and greatly expanding the technical step-by-step curtain-making details.They have reviewed the techniques and sewing skills described and adapted and updated them to keep in tune with the changing demands of furnishing fashion.Everything described in this second edition has been tried in their professional workroom: this is an opportunity to access their hard-earned knowledge gathered over more than twenty years and adapt it to individual situations so that time-saving shortcuts and professional techniques can be utilized to create beautiful window treatments.
Call Number: 645.3
Publication Date: 2017-09-28
Illuminate: contemporary craft lighting. (Print copy) by The expressive potential of light captures the imagination of makers and designers from all sorts of disciplines. Based on interviews with more than forty global makers, this long-overdue review of the state of contemporary craft lighting explores the inspirations and methods of the best artists working in the area today. The book surveys practitioners who work with diverse materials, from textiles and ceramics to metal and glass, and is lavishly illustrated with photographs of their work. Written by maker and designer Hannah Nunn, Illuminate is a must-read revelation for artists practicing in the field, interior designers and stylists, and curious craft makers fascinated by the endless possibilities of lighting.
Call Number: 747.92 NUN
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors. 4th edn. (Print copy) by Devoted entirely to textiles for interiors, Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors, 4th Edition, focuses on the most current fiber and fabric information including new fiber technology and nanofibers, the role of the interior designer in selecting textiles, and the environmental impact of textiles. The book includes in-depth coverage of household and institutional textiles, in addition to commercial and residential textiles for upholstered furniture, windows, walls, and floor coverings. Full-color line drawings and photographs illustrate fibers, yarns, fabrics, manufacturing equipment, coloring, finishings, and end products. Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors provides students with all of the technical information, aesthetic fundamentals, and practical knowledge they need to select textiles for every type of residential and commercial interior.
Call Number: 747.5 WIL
Publication Date: 2014-09-25
21st Century Lighting Design. (Print copy) by Lights fascinate. From functionality to style, the design of lighting is an area of design that is in a constant state of flux, with technologies allowing designers to now create lighting that can now manipulate and play with form, establishing the discipline to hold a place very much at the forefront of interior design and architecture. The book maps trends in lighting design over the last decade, featuring over 100 designs from domestic, commercial and architectural settings. This beautifully-designed and lavishly-illustrated volume features designs from a vast array of designers and agencies from influential figures including Ross Lovegrove, Ingo Maurer, Philippe Starck, Ron Arad and Tom Dixon to newly-emerging designers. As well as showcasing the most innovative and aesthetically bold work in the field, Alyn Griffiths' carefully curated survey also provides a strong critical framework for understanding lighting design from the perspectives of sustainability, technology, form and structure. With full colour imagery and insightful commentary this is the ultimate guide to the diverse world of contemporary lighting design.
Call Number: 729.28 GRI
Publication Date: 2014-06-19
Designing with Light: the art, science and practice of architectural lighting design. (Print copy) by A comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of lighting design Designing With Light: The Art, Science, and Practice of Architectural Lighting Design is a comprehensive introduction to the intelligent use of lighting to define and enhance a space. The book explores all aspects of the process, including aesthetics, technology, and practicalities, in a clear, concise manner designed to provide the reader with a full working knowledge of lighting design. Color illustrations throughout demonstrate the real-world effects of the concepts presented, and the companion website offers video animations and exercises to better illuminate the art and science of lighting. The book addresses the considerations that should be a part of any designer's process, and provides thorough guidance on meeting the various demands with smarter design. Lighting is an essential element of interior design, and despite its ubiquity, is difficult to truly master. A designer with a fundamental and conceptual understanding of light is empowered to create simple, typical spaces, or work intelligently with lighting consultants on more complex projects. Designing With Light contains special discussions on color, light, and health, as well as the latest information on energy efficient lighting, control systems, and other technologies. Topics include: Physics, psychology, and perception of light Current and future lighting technology Communication, documentation, and the design process Sustainability, daylighting, and energy efficiency The book also contains an entire chapter on building and energy codes, as well as practical guidance on photometrics and calculations. Lighting can make or break an otherwise well-designed space, so designers need the background to be able to think intelligently about illumination factors during all stages of the process. With comprehensive coverage and thorough explanation, Designing With Light is a complete resource for students and professionals alike.
Call Number: 729.28 LIV
Publication Date: 2014-09-15