Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
These journals may be available online via the A-Z list of online journals
Architectural Histories - from 2013 to present
Architectural History - from 01/01/1958 to 31/01/2011
Directory of Open Access Journals (from 2013 to present)
Architectural History (0066-622X)
JSTOR Arts & Sciences III (From 01/01/1958 to 31/01/2011)
Modern Architecture. (Print copy) by This new account of international modernism explores the complex motivations behind this revolutionary movement and assesses its triumphs and failures. The work of the main architects of the movement such as Frank Lloyd Wright, Adolf Loos, Le Corbusier, and Mies van der Rohe is re-examinedshedding new light on their roles as acknowledged masters.Alan Colquhoun explores the evolution of the movement fron Art Nouveau in the 1890s to the megastructures of the 1960s, revealing the often contradictory demands of form, function, social engagement, modernity and tradition.
Call Number: 724.6 COL
Publication Date: 2002-07-18
A History of Design from the Victorian Era to the Present. (Print copy) by An abundantly illustrated overview of modern design across continents and cultures, highlighting key movements and design traditions. A unique cross-disciplinary survey of design history, A History of Design from the Victorian Era to the Present offers a concise overview of the modern milestones of architecture, interior design, graphic design, product design, and photography from the Crystal Palace of 1851 to the iPhone at the turn of the twenty-first century. This abundantly illustrated volume traces modern design across continents and cultures, highlighting the key movements and design traditions that have shaped the world around us. From the whirlwind of innovation that gripped Victorian England at the dawn of the Industrial Revolution, the book details design's rich evolution through more than a century and a half, including Art Nouveau's breathtaking ornament, the ?new vision? of the Bauhaus, the rise of the International Style, and postmodernism and contemporary currents in the graphic arts and landscape architecture. Major design figures are framed against a background of evolving aesthetic idioms. Especially attuned to how technological innovations catalyzed daringly conceived skyscrapers, bridges, and cantilever chairs, the authors also chart the impact of technical advances in the disciplines of industrial design, typography, and photographic portraiture. This new edition of a classic text first published in 1970 expands coverage to include developments in design over the last forty years, with emphasis on its global reach, the impact of the digital revolution, and new trends in sustainable design that will shape the century to come.
Call Number: 745.4 FER
Publication Date: 2011-07-11
Banister Fletcher's a History of Architecture. 20th edn. (Print copy) by The 20th edition of Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture is the first major work of history to include an overview of the architectural achievements of the 20th Century. Banister Fletcher has been the standard one volume architectural history for over 100 years and continues to give a concise and factual account of world architecture from the earliest times. In this twentieth and centenary edition, edited by Dan Cruickshank with three consultant editors and fourteen new contributors, chapters have been recast and expanded and a third of the text is new. * There are new chapters on the twentieth-century architecture of the Middle East (including Israel), South-east Asia, Hong Kong, Japan and Korea, the Indian subcontinent, Russia and the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe and Latin America. * The chapter on traditional architecture of India has been rewritten and the section on traditional Chinese architecture has been expanded, both with new specially commissioned drawings * The architecture of the Americas before 1900 has been enlarged to include, for the first time, detailed coverage of Latin America and the Caribbean * The book's scope has been widened to include more architecture from outside Europe * The bibliography has been expanded into a separate section and is a key source of information on every period of world architecture * The coverage of the 20th century architecture of North America has been divided into two chapters to allow fuller coverage of contemporary works * 20th century architecture of Western Europe has been radically recast * For the first time the architecture of the twentieth century is considered as a whole and assessed in an historical perspective * Coverage has been extended to include buildings completed during the last ten years * The coverage of Islamic architecture has been increased and re-organised to form a self contained section This unique reference book places buildings in their social, cultural and historical settings to describe the main patterns of architectural development, from Prehistoric to the International Style. Again in the words of Sir Banister Fletcher, this book shows that 'Architecture ... provides a key to the habits, thoughts and aspirations of the people, and without a knowledge of this art the history of any period lacks that human interest with which it should be invested.'
Call Number: 720.9 FLE
Publication Date: 1996-09-11
The National Gallery Companion Guide. (Print copy) by This beautifully illustrated and updated National Gallery Companion Guide introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world. Erika Langmuir offers enlightening commentary on more than 200 of the finest works--by painters including Piero della Francesca, Titian, Rembrandt, Rubens, Vel#65533;zquez, Ingres, and Degas--from the National Gallery’s collection, along with masterpieces by less familiar artists. With this book, readers can trace the history of European painting from the thirteenth to the twentieth centuries; develop an eye for style, technique, imagery, and genre; and learn to appreciate the talents of artists in a variety of artistic and cultural contexts. The book takes into account the latest scholarship from the National Gallery and includes discussions of the museum’s newest high-profile acquisitions.
Call Number: 759 LAN
Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Designing the Modern Interior: from the Victorians to today. (Print copy) by Designing the Modern Interior reveals how the design of the inside spaces of our homes and public buildings is shaped by and shapes our modern culture. The modern interior has often been narrowly defined by the minimalist work of elite, reforming architects. But a shared modernising impulse, expressed in interior design, extends at least as far back as the Victorians and reaches to our own time. And this spirit of modernisation manifested itself in interiors, designed both by professionals and by amateurs, which did not necessarily look modern and often even aimed to imitate the past. Designing the Modern Interior presents a new history of the interior from the late 19th to the 21st century. Particular characteristics are consistent across this period: a progressive attitude towards technology; a hyper-consciousness of what it is to live in the present and the future; an overt relationship with the mass media, mass consumption and the marketplace; an emphasis on individualism, interiority and the 'self'; the construction of identities determined by gender, class, race, sexuality and nationhood; and the experiences of urban and suburban life.
Call Number: 747.3 SPA
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
Architecture from prehistory to postmodernity. 2nd rev edn. (Print copy) by Moving back and forth between the long view of historical trends and close-ups on major works and crucial architectural themes, this lavishly-illustrated survey explains specific qualities of periods in depth and the complex illuminating differences between them in social, intellectual, and aesthetic terms.
Call Number: 720.9 HYM
Publication Date: 2002-12-26
Georgian London. (Print copy) by In this classic of English architectural history (first published more than half a century ago), John Summerson provides a perceptive and highly readable account of a major building period in the history of London. Encompassing the architecture of the capital from the Great Fire of 1666 through the city’s early nineteenth-century expansion, the book remains an indispensable guide to the genesis and development of Georgian London. Summerson examines the way in which building was conditioned by social, economic, and financial circumstances and discusses some of Britain’s most important buildings and their architects. While Summerson’s text is essentially unchanged in this edition, it has been corrected in the light of new research, expanded to include a few significant buildings that were originally overlooked, and enhanced with new illustrations. The Appendix of surviving Georgian buildings has also been carefully updated.
Call Number: 720.942 SUM
Publication Date: 2003-06-10
Reveal interior design as a reflection of who we are. (Print copy) by Harriet Anstruther is a leading interior designer whose work has featured in theNew York Times'sT Magazine amongst many others. This, her first book, showcases her projects and inspirations and provides an insight into her fundamental interest in the psychology of interior design.
Call Number: 747.3 ANS
Publication Date: 2015-01-13