Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Metric Handbook: planning and design data. 4th edn. (Printc opy) by * Significantly updated in reference to the latest construction standards and new building types. * Sustainable design integrated into chapters. * Over 100,000 copies sold to successive generations of architects and designers - this book belongs on every design office desk and drawing board. The Metric Handbook is the major handbook of planning and design data for architects and architecture students. Covering basic design data for all the major building types it is the ideal starting point for any project. For each building type, the book gives the basic design requirements and all the principal dimensional data, and succinct guidance on how to use the information and what regulations the designer needs to be aware of. As well as buildings the Metric Handbook deals with broader aspects of design such as materials, acoustics and lighting, and general design data on human dimensions and space requirements. The Metric Handbook really is the unique reference for solving everyday planning problems.
Call Number: 720.284 LIT
Publication Date: 2012-04-18
The Handbook of Interior Architecture and Design. (Print copy) by The Handbook of Interior Architecture and Design offers a compelling collection of original essays that seek to examine the shifting role of interior architecture and interior design, and their importance and meaning within the contemporary world. Interior architecture and interior design are disciplines that span a complexity of ideas, ranging from human behaviour and anthropology to history and the technology of the future. Approaches to designing the interior are in a constant state of flux, reflecting and adapting to the changing systems of history, culture and politics. It is this process that allows interior design to be used as evidence for identifying patterns of consumption, gender, identity and social issues. The Handbook of Interior Architecture and Design provides a pioneering overview of the ideas and arrangements within the two disciplines that make them such important platforms from which to study the way humans interact with the space around them. Covering a wide range of thought and research, the book enables the reader to investigate fully the changing face of interior architecture and interior design, while offering questions about their future trajectory.
Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Interior Design and Identity. (Print copy) by This fascinating collection provides a chronologically arranged set of case studies looking at how interior design has constantly redefined itself as a manifestation of culture, from the eighteenth-century to the present day. The book looks at the amateur activities of female "home makers" in search of creative outlets and married couples seeking to modernise their homes as well as the contributions of early professional (female) "interior decorators", and later, (male) "interior designers". It also considers the moreanonymous role of commercial enterprises, such as hairdressing salons, ocean-going liners or modern offices as well as public institutions, such as hospitals or naval training establishments. Interior design and identity examines interior design in relation to the changing identities of its practitioners, its inhabitants and of the furnishings, focussing on the ways in which cultural values came to be embedded in the spaces which people inhabited and made their own. Issues relating tointeriority, gender, and the relationship of the public sphere are also considered opening up a new level of design historical enquiry.
Call Number: 747.3 SPA
Publication Date: 2004-08-26
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to your subject guide.
Thinking Inside the Box: a reader for the 21st century. (Print copy) by A collection of essays from prominent thinkers in the field of interiors, topics touched upon in this collection ranges from cushions, curtains, and feminism; the relationship between the interior and the enclave in the contemporary age of terror; the regulation of the profession of interiors; and the representation of the interior on the written page and in history. With various debates on the identity, the profession, and the regulation of interior design; essays on the relationship between theory and practice in interiors; and case studies from, and reflections upon, the education of the interior designer, this collection of writings is essential reading for anyone with an interest in interior design.
Call Number: 747.01 HOL
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Bachelors of a Different Sort: queer aesthetics, material cuture and the modern interior in Britain. (Print copy) by The bachelor has long held an ambivalent, uncomfortable and even at times an unfriendly position in society. This book carefully considers the complicated relationships between the modern queer bachelor and interior design, material culture and aesthetics in Britain between 1885 and 1957.These bachelors of a different sort created spaces that were centres of community, creativity and companionship, since long forgotten. The seven deadly sins of the modern bachelor (queerness, idolatry, askesis, decadence, the decorative, glamour, artifice) as the author has identified them, comprise a contested site freighted with contradiction and reveal in their respective ways the distinctly queer twinning of shame andresistance. All the bachelors whose aesthetic lives comprise this book were men of the creative arts, whether as writers, collectors, playwrights, actors, designers, antiquarians, sculptors, painters, photographers and/or illustrators. The first book to explore queer sexualities and the modern interior beyond the urban bias of most scholarship, this book tackles a wide range of significant analyses of some of the period's best-known figures whose city and country interiors have largely gone unnoticed and unanalysed. As a result itpays close attention to particular homes and domestic interiors of Lord Ronald Gower, Alfred Taylor, Oscar Wilde, Charles Shannon and Charles Ricketts, Edward Perry Warren and John Marshall, Sir Cedric Morris and Arthur Lett-Haines, Noel Coward and Cecil Beaton. Richly illustrated and written in alively and accessible manner, Bachelors of a different sort is at once theoretically ambitious and rich in its use of archival and various historical sources.
Publication Date: 2015-12-22
Star Interior Designers: contemporary icons of interior design and decoration. (Print copy) by An expansive collection of world-renowned interior designers in one volume. Guided by a clear conceptual direction, designers approach a room armed with aspects of various disciplines, including architecture, environmental psychology and decoration, and they apply a refined eye to the use of color, texture, lighting and furnishings. Using prestigious and stylistic vision, this book gives you not only an around-the-world tour to the best interior design projects but also it is an inspiring reference that gives you alternative advice. Each project is accompanied by a color palette that will inspire you to re-imagine each project in brilliant color. This book is an illustrated collection of the work of the world's most talented interior design practitioners. Guided by a clear conceptual direction, each designer approaches a room armed with aspects of various disciplines, including architecture, environmental psychology and decoration, and they apply a refined eye to the use of colour, texture, lighting and furnishings. Using prestigious and stylistic vision, this book gives you not only an around-the-world tour to the best interior design projects but also offers you an inspiring reference that gives you alternative ideas and viewpoints. Each project is accompanied by a colour palette that will inspire you to re-imagine each project in brilliant colour. The result is an invaluable resource for interior designers, architects and students alike.
Call Number: 747 SER
Publication Date: 2011-09-27
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Interior Design. (Print copy) by With over 700 illustrations visually aligned with concise definitions of alphabetized entries, Dictionary of Interior Design, 3rd Edition, consolidates historic and modern terminology that all interior designers should know for both the residential and commercial sides of industry. New and revised definitions focus on key areas including technology, business practices, green design, universal design, and the global marketplace as well as historic furniture, stylistic features and periods. Appendices include an expanded appendix of designers and architects listing more women and international figures from the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, an updated appendix of professional organizations and associations, tables, and a new appendix of graphic standards. Fully updated by a practicing interior designer and architect with extensive industry knowledge, this expansive dictionary is an essential reference for students and design professionals.
Publication Date: 2014-01-02
Color Planning for Interiors: an integrated approach to color in designed spaces. (Print copy) by One of the hallmarks of a successful designer is the ability to incorporate color into his or her projects and presentations. The culmination of years of research, this evidence-based approach to designing with color presents multiple color planning criteria for creating innovative color solutions in interior design. Beginning with a detailed description of the multiple facets of color that accomplished designers take into consideration, the book explores color planning through the perspective of creative problem-solving. Complementing theory and research, the book draws real-world examples from interior design projects involving noted colorists and designers. From the fundamental principles of color theory to applications of the design process, designers will find insight on all aspects of designing interiors with color.
Publication Date: 2009-03-23
Color Planning for Interiors: an integrated approach to color in designed spaces. (E-book) by One of the hallmarks of a successful designer is the ability to incorporate color into his or her projects and presentations. The culmination of years of research, this evidence-based approach to designing with color presents multiple color planning criteria for creating innovative color solutions in interior design. Beginning with a detailed description of the multiple facets of color that accomplished designers take into consideration, the book explores color planning through the perspective of creative problem-solving. Complementing theory and research, the book draws real-world examples from interior design projects involving noted colorists and designers. From the fundamental principles of color theory to applications of the design process, designers will find insight on all aspects of designing interiors with color.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2009-03-23