Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to your subject guide.
The Designer's Guide to Doing Research: applying knowledge to inform design. (Print copy) by An essential introduction to applying research for busy architects and designers The competitive design market and the need to create enduring value place high demands on architects and designers to expand their knowledge base to be able to digest and utilize multiple sources of information. Expected by their clients to be well versed on all aspects of a project, time-constrained architects and designers need quick responses in the face of daily challenges. As a result, these professionals must--more than ever--rely on, and apply, readily accessible information culled from sound research to gain a competitive advantage. The Designer's Guide to Doing Research serves as an introductory guide on the general concepts and processes that define "good" research. Organized logically with the practical tools necessary to obtain research for all facets of the designer's workflow, this book offers: Material written in an accessible format specifically for practitioners Reliable content by experienced authors--a noted environmental psychologist and an interior design educator who is also a practitioner and writer Tools for planning, executing, and utilizing research presented in an easy-to-follow format along with case studies, sources, and applications Written for all practices and people concerned with the built environment, from architects and interior designers to facility managers, landscape architects, and urban planners, this book serves as an invaluable starting point for gathering and implementing research effectively.
Call Number: 745.2 AUG
Publication Date: 2012-01-18
How to Research.4th edn. (Print copy). by "I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
Call Number: 300.72 BLA
Publication Date: 2010
How to Research. 4th edn. (E-book) by How to Research is a clear and accessible guide to the business of doing a research project. It systematically takes the reader through from the planning to the writing up and finishing off.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2010
A Student's Guide to Methodology. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by The Third Edition of this hugely popular text provides students with straightforward principles and frameworks for understanding methodology. Peter Clough and Cathy Nutbrown are adept at making methodology meaningful for beginners and more advanced readers alike. Their book clearly demonstrates how methodology impacts upon every stage of the research process, and gives readers all of the tools that they need to understand it. New to this edition are the following: - new boxes and guidance on research ethics in every chapter - more international examples and perspectives - up to date coverage of online research methods - more examples from real students - a new companion website, featuring Powerpoint slides for lecturers The authors take an applied approach and every chapter contains a variety of practical examples from real research. Readers are encouraged to reflect on their own practice at every step, meaning that the book remains extremely relevant throughout. It will be invaluable for all students who are doing a dissertation or taking a research methods module in education, the social sciences, business and health.
Call Number: 300.72 CLO
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Research-Inspired Design by This textbook/workbook prepares interior design students for understanding how to change their professional practice from a project-based activity to a knowledge-based activity. Robinson and Parman address the different forms of quantitative and qualitative information, the different sources of materials (especially in the age of the Internet), and how to differentiate these sources and types of information. Instructors will find the text a vital research aid for the student to develop analytical skills and help them transform these scientific models into unique and innovative processes for their design projects.
Call Number: 747 ROB
Publication Date: 2009-11-12
Evidence-Based Design for Interior Designers. (Print copy) by A design solution is only as good as the quality of its research. Evidence-based design is an approach in which qualitative and quantitative research inform decisions. Evidence-Based Design for Interior Designers examines how designers conduct research into commercial and residential spaces and use this research to achieve optimal design solutions.
Call Number: 747.3 NUS
Publication Date: 2009-07-30
Creative Research: the theory and practice of research for the creative industires. (E-book) by In creative contexts, a visual approach to research is often more appropriate, but this must be underpinned with systematic and rigorous techniques.Creative Research assesses how academic research methodologies must be adapted to suit the creative disciplines and industries and offers a guide to the process of undertaking a research project in this context.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Study Skills Handbook. 5th edn. (Print copy) by This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Call Number: 371.3081 COT
Publication Date: 2019
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design. 4th edn. by In the Fourth Edition of this bestselling book, John W Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography and case study - putting them side by side, so that we can see the differences. The authors relate research designs to each of the traditions of enquiry. They compare theoretical frameworks and ways to employ standards of quality, as well as strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative and verifying results. New in this edition: Updated materials on each tradition More on interpretive frameworks and ethics More visual depictions of the five approaches Two new topical articles in Chapter 5, reproduced in full in the appendices.
Call Number: 300.72 CRE
Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Introduction to Research Methods 5th edn. (Printc copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by Introduction to Research Methods contains everything from developing an initial idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: *Choose your research methods *Choose your participants *Prepare a research proposal *Construct questionnaires *Conduct interviews and focus groups *Analyse your data *Report your findings *Be an ethical researcher
Call Number: CURRENTLY ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2019
Design Research: methods and perspectives. (Print copy) by The tools of design research, writes Brenda Laurel, will allow designers "to claim and direct the power of their profession." Often neglected in the various curricula of design schools, the new models of design research described in this book help designers to investigate people, form, and process in ways that can make their work more potent and more delightful. "At the very least," Peter Lunenfeld writes in the preface, "design research saves us from reinventing the wheel. At its best, a lively research methodology can reinvigorate the passion that so often fades after designers join the profession." The goal of the book is to introduce designers to the many research tools that can be used to inform design as well as to ideas about how and when to deploy them effectively. The chapter authors come from diverse institutions and enterprises, including Stanford University, MIT, Intel, Maxis, Studio Anybody, Sweden's HUMlab, and Big Blue Dot. Each has something to say about how designers make themselves better at what they do through research, and illustrates it with real world examples -- case studies, anecdotes, and images. Topics of this multi-voice conversation include qualitative and quantitative methods, performance ethnography and design improvisation, trend research, cultural diversity, formal and structural research practice, tactical discussions of design research process, and case studies drawn from areas as unique as computer games, museum information systems, and movies. Interspersed throughout the book are one-page "demos," snapshots of the design research experience. Design Research charts the paths from research methods to research findings to design principles to design results and demonstrates the transformation of theory into a richly satisfying and more reliably successful practice.
Call Number: 745.2072 LAU
Publication Date: 2003-10-24
Design Research: investigation for successful creative solutions. (Print copy) by Design Research shows readers how to choose the best method of research in order to save time and get the right results.The book makes readers aware of all the different research methods, as well as how to carry out the most appropriate research for their graphic design projects. All stages of the research process are considered in a dynamic and entertaining style, covering audience, context, trends, sources, documentation, dissemination and more. Students and designers can benefit from this text by learning fresh ways to analyse information obtained by data gathering, and how best to test and prove decisions. The resulting, well-rounded solutions will be informed, innovative, and aesthetically fitting for the brief.
Call Number: 741.6 LEO
Publication Date: 2012-08-09