Business Events by
The dynamic and fast-expanding business events sector plays a vital role in the professional lives of hundreds of millions of people worldwide by providing settings in which they can meet for the purposes of negotiation, deliberation, motivation, the dissemination of knowledge, and the celebration of their greatest career-related achievements. This book provides a sound practical and theoretical context for the study of this subject by covering, in depth, all categories of business-related events including corporate meetings, association conferences, political events, incentive travel, exhibitions, corporate hospitality, awards ceremonies and SMERF (social, military, educational, religious and fraternal) gatherings. This new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect recent developments in business events, including: Five new chapters on business events destination marketing, knowledge, sustainability, ethics and technology New 'It's my job' voice boxes offering practical insights from people employed in the business events industry A wide range of new case studies illustrating business events throughout the world, including emerging business events destinations such as Russia and the Middle East Written in an accessible yet analytical manner, Business Events is essential reading for all students of events, tourism and hospitality management.
Event Planning and Management by
Learn how to plan, deliver and evaluate successful events with this clear and comprehensive textbook which explores the latest developments in this challenging and fast-paced environment.Written by authors with extensive industry experience of working on a wide spectrum of events, this is an essential step-by-step resource for students and the next generation of event planners. Offering a well-rounded approach which introduces key models and theories as well as practical real-life insights throughout, Event Planning and Management offers a structured formula for all types of events, from their initial planning to final evaluation.Without assuming prior subject knowledge or experience, this fully updated third edition of Event Planning and Management provides a renewed focus on virtual and hybrid events, which is lacking from many other texts. Featuring real-world examples including The 2022 Commonwealth Games, Expo 2020 Dubai and The American Heart Association (AHA) conferences, accompanying online resources include lecture slides, activities, self-test questions and web links. This is an indispensable resource for students studying events-related modules, as well as early-stage practitioners and aspiring events managers.
Events Management by
Taking an explicit international approach to the subject, Events Management combines theory and practice to address the challenges and opportunities of working in a global world to help prepare students for the realities of the events management sector. Written by a high profile international team of editors and contributors, the text features cases spanning Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia and North America, and covers key topics and issues such as fundraising, sponsorship, globalization and sustainability. It also aims to bolster student employability through the inclusion of features such as practical asides and case studies to give students a window into the real life of a practitioner. Brand new to the third edition: - An in-depth examination of the implications of Covid-19 for international events, including sponsorship arrangements, risk management and future job prospects for events management graduates - Two brand new chapters covering developments in digital marketing and accessible events management - Case studies featuring India, Australia, Peru, Europe, UK and USA and covering events such as music festivals, Holi, Mardi Gras as well as mega events such as the Olympics - Updated theory about the critical global issues affecting events and the main drivers of change in the industry - A companion website featuring links to interactive learning resources, an Instructors manual for lecturers, events-related videos for fun additional educational viewing, and author-selected SAGE journal articles for advanced learning. Suitable for courses in Events Management and International Events Management.
Event Management for the Tourism and Hospitality Industries by
Event Management for the Tourism and Hospitality Industries provides a theoretical and practical approach to teach students of Tourism and Hospitality the basics of planning, managing and evaluating all types of events. Chapters cover skills such as visitor segmentation, product analysis, developing a budget, promotion and after-event assessment. Special emphasis is placed on critical issues now facing event managers such as environmental sustainability and awareness of cultural diversity, technology and community engagement. The reader will learn the necessity of connecting events with the community heritage and culture to provide the local, personalized experienced desired by visitors. Each chapter covers a unique step in the planning process and corresponds to a section of a detailed event plan outline found at the end of the book that can be submitted as a semester-long assignment. Making use of international case studies in every chapter, this book provides real-world examples to contextualize the information given. This will be essential reading for all Tourism and Hospitality students with an interest in Events Management and Design, and for practitioners employed in tour companies, cruise ships, destination management organizations and cultural festivals.
Events Marketing Management by
This textbook provides students with an essential introduction to the theoretical underpinnings and practicalities of managing the marketing of events. In order to market events effectively, it is vital to consider marketing of events from the organiser's perspective and to link it to that of the consumers attending events. As such, this is the first book on the topic which reflects the unique characteristics of marketing in the Events industry by exploring both sides of the marketing coin - the supply and the demand - in the specific context of events. The book takes the reader from core marketing mix principles to exploring the event marketing landscape to consumer experience and involvement with event marketing and finally strategies and tactics employed to manage the marketing activities related to events. The use of technology, importance of sponsorship and PR are also considered. International case studies are integrated throughout to show practical realities of marketing and managing events and a range of useful learning aids are incorporated to aid navigation throughout the book, spur critical thinking and further students' knowledge. This accessible and comprehensive account of Events Marketing and Management is essential reading for all students and future managers.
Marketing Destinations and Venues for Conferences, Conventions and Business Events by
Marketing Destinations and Venues for Conferences, Conventions and Business Events introduces students to key areas of marketing and promotion that are essential if destinations are to compete successfully in the rapidly expanding global business event sector. It achieves this by looking at issues surrounding business event marketing, strategic planning, destination and venue selling strategies and future challenges. The 2nd Edition has also been updated to include: New content on: destination marketing organisations' and venues' use of technology, use and impact of social media, sponsorship and partnership issues, economic changes as well as their responses to demand for sustainable meetings locations Updated and new case studies on growth areas and emerging markets e.g. Middle East, Asia, Eastern Europe/Russia, Africa and South America, but also to include material on mature markets, destinations and venue operators A genuinely international focus in terms of content and examples New review and discussion questions and, where appropriate, learning outcomes New online resource package for students and lecturers including: weblinks, power point slides and project questions (coming soon). Accessible, global and informative, this is essential reading for all future business event and conference managers.
Event management : for tourism, cultural, business and sporting events by 
Event Stakeholders by
This new text and reference focuses on stakeholder theory applied to event management and goes beyond traditional approaches by treating event management as an applied field. The book goes further than the economic impacts of events, and looks with a new perspective at issues such as-* The relationships between stakeholders and the consequences that such relationships create* An approach strongly rooted in management and the commonly-recognized management functions of planning, organizing, staffing, directing and controlling* Introducing throughout the relevant theory and showing how theory is being used in the events sectorThe book uses a wide range of relevant examples and case studies that will be relatable to the real world. Online resources will also be included, such as annotated bibliographies, lists of further readings and periodicals, and relevant websites. It will be an essential introduction for all events students and practitionersThe Events Management Theory and Methods Series examines the extent to which mainstream theory is being employed to develop event-specific theory, and to influence the very core practices of event management and event tourism. Each compact volume contains overviews of mainstream management theories and methods, examples from the events literature, case studies, and guidance on all aspects of planned-event management. They introduce the theory, show how it is being used in the events sector through a literature review, incorporate examples and case studies written by researchers and/or practitioners, and contain methods that can be used effectively in the real world. Series editor: Donald Getz.With online resource material, this mix-and-match collection is ideal for lecturers who need theoretical foundations and case studies for their classes, by students in need of reference works, by professionals wanting increased understanding alongside practical methods, and by agencies or associations that want their members and stakeholders to have access to a library of valuable resources.
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
Consult your subject guide for recommended websites.
Events management : an introduction by 
Events Management by
Events Management is the must-have introductory text providing a complete A-Z of the principles and practices of planning, managing and staging events. The book: introduces the concepts of event planning and management presents the study of events management within an academic environment discusses the key components for staging an event, covering the whole process from creation to evaluation examines the events industry within its broader business context, covering impacts and event tourism provides an effective guide for producers of events contains learning objectives and review questions to consolidate learning. Each chapter features a real-life case study to illustrate key concepts and place theory in a practical context, as well as preparing students to tackle any challenges they may face in managing events. Examples include the Beijing Olympic Games, Google Zeitgeist Conference, International Confex, Edinburgh International Festival, Ideal Home Show and Glastonbury Festival. Carefully constructed to maximise learning, the text provides the reader with: a systematic guide to organizing successful events, examining areas such as staging, logistics, marketing, human resource management, control and budgeting, risk management, impacts, evaluation and reporting fully revised and updated content including new chapters on sustainable development and events, perspectives on events, and expanded content on marketing, legal issues, risk and health and safety management a companion website for lecturers and students which includes PowerPoint slides, extra case studies and multiple choice questions to aid both teaching and learning.
Events Management by
Events Management provides an introductory overview of the fundamentals in managing events from conception to delivery, highlighting both the theoretical and operational aspects, to prepare students for a career in events management and hospitality. Now in its Third Edition, the authors have included new chapters on Crowd Control and Crowd Dynamic; Expos, Conferences and Conventions; Brand Co-creation and Social Media, and have added new content on contemporary trends like the environmental and social impact of large scale events such as the Olympics. International case studies covering all manner of events are used throughout and include: · The impact of the London 2012 and Rio 2016 Olympic Games · Van Gogh Augmented Reality in Nuenen · Sands EXPO and Convention Center, Las Vegas · Glastonbury Music Festival · Lame Horse Night Club, Russia · The Leeds Caribbean Festival Suitable for Events Management students at Undergraduate and Postgraduate level.
Event Management and Sustainability by
Sustainable management is an important consideration for businesses and organisations. By looking at mega events, sports events, conferences and festivals, this book uses best practice case studies to illustrate sustainable management issues and practical considerations that managers need to apply.
Conferences and Conventions by
Fully revised and updated to reflect current trends and emerging topics, the fourth edition of Conferences and Conventions: A Global Industry provides an expert-led, comprehensive introduction to, and overview of, the key elements of the global conference, convention and meetings industry. This book examines the conference industry's origins, structure and future development, as well as its economic, social and environmental impacts. It provides an in-depth analysis of the strategies, practices, knowledge and skills required to organise memorable conferences and similar business events, with detailed descriptions of all the planning and operational processes. Following an international approach, this edition features additional sections on the increase in technological advancements and opportunities, as well as the rise of virtual and hybrid events in a post-pandemic era. Written in an accessible and engaging style, the book includes integrated case studies to highlight current issues and demonstrate theory in practice. Structured logically with useful features throughout to aid learning and understanding, this book is an invaluable resource to students following events management, hospitality and tourism courses, as well as for event planners and practitioners already working in the conference industry.
Events Project Management by
This book provides events management students with an accessible and essential introduction to project management. Written by both academics and industry experts, Events Project Management offers a unique blend of theory and practice to encourage and contextualise project management requirements within events settings. Key questions include: What is project management? How does it connect to events management? What is effective project management within the events sector? How does academic theory connect to practice? The book is coherently structured into 12 chapters covering crucial event management topics such as stakeholders, supply chain management, project management tools and techniques, and financial and legal issues. Guides, templates, case study examples, industry tips and activity tasks are integrated in the text and online to show practice and aid knowledge. Written in an engaging style, this text offers the reader a thorough understanding of how to successfully project manage an event from the creative idea to the concrete product. It is essential reading for all events management students.
Sustainable Customer Experience Design by
Experiences are an important part of our lives and increasingly represent a crucial topic to address for businesses and professionals. This book focuses on designing, staging and managing experiences within the context of the events, tourism and hospitality industries. It also illustrates current and future developments in these industries and wider society, with an emphasis on sustainable development. The book offers an innovative approach for successfully creating experiences for (potential) customers that is based on combining insights and methods from the world of design and the social sciences. Moreover, it shows how the experience economy and sustainable development both reinforce one another and create challenges that businesses and professionals can address through this approach. Critical thinking questions, practical examples and international case studies are integrated throughout the text. Combining a design science and a social sciences perspective in one inclusive hands-on approach to designing, staging and managing experiences, this is essential reading for all students of Events, Tourism and Hospitality Management, but also related fields.
Risk and Hazard Management for Festivals and Events by
Events of all types are produced every day for all manner of purposes, attracting all sorts of people. To provide a safe and secure setting in which people gather is imperative. Event risk and hazard management must be fully integrated into all event plans and throughout the event management process. Hazard management is the planning process required for the effective management of potential adverse incidents and areas of uncertainty. It involves intensive, detailed planning and cooperation to apply control systems to minimise hazards associated with venues, outdoor sites, work procedures, facilities, equipment and crowds of spectators. It involves planning for emergencies and security, and compliance with legal constraints and requirements. Risk and Hazard Management for Festivals and Events provides students with a comprehensive, fully integrated planning and management mechanism that can be applied to events of all types and size. The Event Safety Management System provides guidelines and processes for proactive methods to identify, assess and control hazardous conditions and practices. The system incorporates design of festival venues and sites, and unites the operational functions of crowd control, communications, security, terrorism prevention processes and emergency response protocols.　　　　 Explanation of the causes of crowd disasters and studies into crowd behaviour are supported with international case studies. Written in an accessible, practical way, this book is essential reading for all events students and event managers.