Tourism Information Technology by
The third edition of Tourism Information Technology provides a contemporary update on the complexities of using information technology in the tourism industry. It examines IT applications in all sectors including airlines, travel intermediaries, accommodation, food service, destinations, attractions, events and entertainment. Fully updated throughout and organised around the stages of the visitor journey, the book reviews how tourists are using technologies to support decision-making before their trip, during their travels and at the destination. The book: - Provides comprehensive and up to date coverage of all key topics in tourism information technologies. - Covers new areas, such as augmented and virtual reality, robotics, smart destinations, disruptive innovation and the collaborative economy, crowd-sourcing for sustainability, online reputation management and big data. - Incorporates a wealth of pedagogic features to aid student learning, including key models and concepts, research and industry insights, case studies, key terms, discussion questions, and links to useful websites. Accompanied by online resources, this book provides a comprehensive and learning-focused text for students of tourism and related subjects.
Events Management: 87 key models for event, venue and experience (EVE) managers by
This book is the essential text for all Events Management students. It is constructed around the authors' 6E's Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Management Framework. It contains 87 key models (within the 6E's Framework) that all Events Management students will need to be successful in their studies, setting them up for a fantastic career in the fast-growing events industry. It broadens the definition of Events Managers, which the authors - in the new events paradigm - reframe as Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Managers. Finally, it is authored by academics (Chris Edger and Richard Oddy) who, between them, have nearly fifty years' experience operating, teaching and writing within the leisure/events domain.
Strategic Management for Tourism, Hospitality and Events by
Strategic Management for Tourism, Hospitality and Events is the must-have text for students approaching this subject for the first time. It introduces students to fundamental strategic management principles in a Tourism, Hospitality and Events context and brings theory to life by integrating a host of industry-based case studies and examples throughout. Among the new features and topics included in this edition are: Extended coverage to Hospitality and Events to reflect the increasing need and importance of a combined sector approach to strategy New international Tourism, Hospitality and Events case studies from both SME#65533;s and large-scale businesses are integrated throughout to show applications of strategic management theory, such as objectives, products and markets and strategic implementation. Longer combined sector case studies are also included at the end of the book for seminar work. New content on emerging strategic issues affecting the tourism ,hospitality and events industries, such as innovation, employment, culture and sustainability Web Support for tutors and students providing explanation and guidelines for instructors on how to use the textbook and case studies, additional exercises, case studies and video links for students. This book is written in an accessible and engaging style and structured logically with useful features throughout to aid students#65533; learning and understanding. This book is an essential resource to Tourism, Hospitality and Events students.
Consumer behaviour in tourism Fourth edition. by
"Now fully revised and updated, the fourth edition of this bestselling text provides students with a vital understanding of the nature of tourism and contemporary tourist behaviour. It also shows them how this knowledge can be used to manage and market tourism effectively in a variety of sectors of tourism including: tour operations, hospitality, visitor attractions, transport, retail travel, cruising and airlines. This fourth edition has been updated to include: New material on the impact of CT developments in tourism including social media, AR and VR, the links between climate change, sustainability and tourist behaviour, the impact of crises and natural disasters on tourism and the cruise industry Thirty brand new international case studies about topical issues such as: Airbnb, travel blogs, overtourism, COVID-19, the flight-shaming movement, wellness tourism, hunting and tourism, terrorism, dark tourism, the solo traveller, volunteer tourism, second home ownership, music festivals, pilgrimage tourism, film and tv induced tourism, and tourism in Antarctica New online resources including Power Point slides and a case archive Each chapter features conclusions, discussion points, essay questions and exercises to help tutors direct student-centred learning and allow the reader to check their understanding of what they have read. This book is an invaluable resource for students studying tourism"--
The Experience Economy by
In 1999, Joseph Pine and James Gilmore offered this idea to readers as a new way to think about connecting with customers and securing their loyalty. As a result, their book The Experience Economy is now a classic, embraced by readers and companies worldwide and read in more than a dozen languages. And though the world has changed in many ways since then, the way to a customer's heart has not. In fact, the idea of staging experiences to leave a memorable--and lucrative--impression is now more relevant than ever. With an ongoing torrent of brands attacking consumers from all sides, how do you make yours stand out? Welcome to the new Experience Economy. With this fully updated edition of the book, Pine and Gilmore make an even stronger case that experience is the missing link between a company and its potential audience. It offers new rich examples--including the U.S. Army, Heineken Experience, Autostadt, Vinopolis, American Girl Place, and others--to show fresh approaches to scripting and staging compelling experiences, while staying true to the very real economic conditions of the day.
The Sixth Sense by
This book helps managers move beyond the idea that the future of business will resemble the past and allows them to use scenarios to imagine multiple perspectives. The concepts of organizational realities, experience, and beliefs are explored to encourage and embrace change in business organizations for a successful future.
Contemporary Tourism by
The study of tourism and indeed the tourism industry is changing constantly. Now in its third edition, Contemporary Tourism: an international approach presents a new and refreshing approach to the study of tourism, considering issues such as economic, financial and environmental crisis, destination marketing, governance issues, the tourist experience and product development. In particular, it highlights the ongoing threats and opportunities faced by the tourism industry today, and discusses the related security, service and risk management strategies, illustrating the potential implications for the patterns and flow of tourism in the future. Divided into five sections, each chapter has a thorough learning structure including chapter objectives, examples, discussion points, self review questions, checklists and case studies. URL links are heavily present throughout the text so that users of both hard and electronic formats can have direct links to up to date, authoritative and annotated sources of information. Cases are both thematic and destination-based and always international. They are used to emphasise the relationship between general principles and the practice of tourism looking at areas such as business and special interest tourism and the role of technology. The five sections cover: Contemporary Tourism Systems; The Contemporary Tourist; The Contemporary Tourist Destination; The Contemporary Tourism Industry; and Tourism Futures. New to this edition:* URL links throughout the text, so that readers have access to up to date sources of information. * Brand new and updated case studies and examination of key current issues including the role of service-dominant logic in tourism businesses; tourism servicescapes; governance; impacts and environmental change; tourism and urban regeneration; the tourism value chain; tourism and crisis; researching social media; crowd-sourced strategies; the millennial tourist generation and green growth and sustainable tourism.* Substantial support for both students and teachers, both within the text itself and via web-based student and instructor resources.
Tourism and Leisure Research Methods by
This practical guide for undergraduate and HND/C students of Leisure and Tourism provides the tools to recognise and produce good research. It delivers a highly readable demonstration of the methods needed to achieve impressive qualitative and quantitative research. It will enable readers to successfully evaluate their own tourism and leisure research and the research of others. The book focuses on the key concepts of reliability, validity and representativeness. Extensive examples throughout the book highlight the techniques and theory described, and provide the inspiration for readers to generate ideas for new research projects. The book is directly focused on tourism and leisure examples. A step-by-step guide takes students through the use of SPSS for Windows and an SPSS data file is included; end of chapter exercises test student understanding of the material; and numerous suggestions for further research activity direct the reader to additional sources.
Strategic Management and Organisational Dynamics by 
The Rise and Fall of Strategic Planning by 
Research methods in tourism, hospitality & events management by Corporate Strategy for Tourism by
Addressing questions of corporate strategy in tourism, this text guides the reader through the areas of strategic analysis, strategic options, strategic choice and strategic implementation. Examples and illustrative theories of corporate strategy are included.
Strategy for Tourism by
An internationally focused text which explains strategic management, analysis and implementation specifically in the tourism industry. Fully revised and updated, this second edition covers strategic management in a variety of tourism contexts.
Tomorrow's Tourist by
By 2030, China will be the world's largest tourism destination, holidays in Outer Space will be the ultimate luxury experience, extreme Swedish ironing will be an Olympic Sport, embedded technologies will be the norm in future tourists and skiing in the Alps will be no more. These are some of the changes that will occur between now and 2030 that will change world tourism. Tomorrows Tourist: Scenarios & Trendsenables readers to imagine what a future tourist might be, where they will go and what they will do. This is the most comprehensive analysis of how world tourism is changing and what it means for destinations. Each chapter consists of a scenario about a future tourist, which is then is backed up with evidence and trends plus a number of assumptions about the future. The book is accompanied by its own website at http://www.tomorrowstourist.com which is owned and regularly updated by the author.
Scenarios by
Scenario planning allows companies to move away from linear thinking and better understand external change. Eight years (and 30,000 copies) after publication Scenarios is still acknowledged as the definitive work in the field. Now, Kees van der Heijden brings his bestseller up to date, following up on his original case studies and adding significant new material. The Second Edition changes focus slightly by providing more in-depth analysis and application of the concept of the 'strategic conversation'. While maintaining the underlying rigour of the first edition, van der Heijden revisits the text to make it far more practical and accessible, and in doing so gives you the tools you need to set out and negotiate a successful future course for your organization in the face of significant uncertainty.
2050 - Tomorrow's Tourism by
In 2050, it is predicted that 4.7bn or nearly 50% of the world's population will take an international holiday. But can humankind meet that forecast given the issues of ageing populations, peak oil, the global financial crisis and climate change? This book constructs scenarios from Shanghai to Edinburgh, Seoul to California encompassing complex topics such as human trafficking, conferences, transport, food tourism or technological innovation. This is a blue skies thinking book about the future of tourism and a thought-provoking analytical commentary.
