Tourism: Principles and Practice by 
A Practical Guide to Managing Tourist Experiences by
This book provides students with a concise and practical guide that presents key understandings of the tourist experience and provides strategic guidance on how to develop an impactful and memorable experience. Chapters follow the path of the tourist journey, firstly exploring consumer behaviour, the decision-making process and the tourist's need for escape, and providing insights into the strategic implications of consumer behaviour and the concept of immersion in tourism. Subsequent chapters look at the impact of experiences; consider trends in tourism experience such as wellness, sustainability, authenticity and fantasy; and provide experience design models. The final chapter offers a unique ten-step approach to designing impactful and memorable tourist experiences. Highly practical and engaging, this book is packed full of case studies and examples, from forest bathing in Finland to truffle hunting in Italy, as well as tools and exercises to guide the design process. This book offers students a full understanding of how the experience is lived from the tourist perspective, how tourism providers can manage that process and how to develop successful experimental marketing interventions. This is essential reading for all tourism students and future tourism managers.
Consumer behaviour in tourism by
"Now fully revised and updated, the fourth edition of this bestselling text provides students with a vital understanding of the nature of tourism and contemporary tourist behaviour. It also shows them how this knowledge can be used to manage and market tourism effectively in a variety of sectors of tourism including: tour operations, hospitality, visitor attractions, transport, retail travel, cruising and airlines. This fourth edition has been updated to include: New material on the impact of CT developments in tourism including social media, AR and VR, the links between climate change, sustainability and tourist behaviour, the impact of crises and natural disasters on tourism and the cruise industry Thirty brand new international case studies about topical issues such as: Airbnb, travel blogs, overtourism, COVID-19, the flight-shaming movement, wellness tourism, hunting and tourism, terrorism, dark tourism, the solo traveller, volunteer tourism, second home ownership, music festivals, pilgrimage tourism, film and tv induced tourism, and tourism in Antarctica New online resources including Power Point slides and a case archive Each chapter features conclusions, discussion points, essay questions and exercises to help tutors direct student-centred learning and allow the reader to check their understanding of what they have read. This book is an invaluable resource for students studying tourism"--
Marketing and managing tourism destinations by 
Tourism Management by
One of the leading texts in the field, Tourism Management is the ideal introduction to the fundamentals of tourism as you study for a degree, diploma or single module in the subject with a global focus. It is written in an engaging style that assumes no prior knowledge of tourism and builds up your understanding as you progress through this wide-ranging global review of the principles of managing tourism. It traces the evolution and future development of tourism and the challenges facing tourism managers in this fast-growing sector of the world economy. This book is highly illustrated with diagrams and colour images, and contains short case studies of contemporary themes of interest, as well as new data, statistics, weblinks to key reports and industry studies. This 6th edition has been revised and updated to include: new content on: sports, festivals and event tourism, including the impact of the Olympic Games, social media impacts on tourism and the growth of medical tourism contemporary issues affecting businesses, such as disruptive technology, the rise of Airbnb, the impact of terrorism on destination instability and safety, and the potential effect of BREXIT updated case studies on BRIC markets and an enhanced focus on Asia as well as emerging markets such as the Middle East and South America enhanced sustainable development coverage highlighting the challenge of climate change and future tourism growth, including new debates such as Last Chance Tourism and overtourism a transport section with more international perspectives from China and South America and globalized transport operators, and a case study on using taxation to limit air travel behaviour an updated companion website with: additional case studies, quizzes, PPTs, further reading, web reading and video links. ng the impact of the Olympic Games, social media impacts on tourism and the growth of medical tourism contemporary issues affecting businesses, such as disruptive technology, the rise of Airbnb, the impact of terrorism on destination instability and safety, and the potential effect of BREXIT updated case studies on BRIC markets and an enhanced focus on Asia as well as emerging markets such as the Middle East and South America enhanced sustainable development coverage highlighting the challenge of climate change and future tourism growth, including new debates such as Last Chance Tourism and overtourism a transport section with more international perspectives from China and South America and globalized transport operators, and a case study on using taxation to limit air travel behaviour an updated companion website with: additional case studies, quizzes, PPTs, further reading, web reading and video links. mp;lt;P> an updated companion website with: additional case studies, quizzes, PPTs, further reading, web reading and video links.
Tourism : a modern synthesis by
Tourism can be a challenging subject for students because it is both dynamic and susceptible to economic turbulence and shifts in trends. Tourism: A Modern Synthesis is an essential textbook for tourism students seeking a clear and comprehensive introduction to their studies that addresses these challenges. The authors apply a business approach to the subject, reflecting developments in the teaching and content of university courses, and the text covers both key principles and contemporary themes and issues at a global scale. Among the new features and topics included in this fifth edition are: New and fully updated case studies to reflect current trends and emerging markets including Africa and Asia. Up-to-date content on disruptive technologies such as Airbnb, low-cost airlines, the e-travel revolution and future developments. Current debates in sustainable tourism including the anti-tourism movement, plastic use and the Sustainable Development Goals. New content on evolving topics such as future employment, human resource management in tourism and generational marketing. Fully updated statistics and data. A brand-new Companion Website including an instructor's manual, supplementary case studies, weblinks, multiple choice questions and PowerPoint slides. This is the ideal guide to tourism for students across all levels, serving as a point of reference throughout a programme of study.
Reputation and Image Recovery for the Tourism Industry by
Crises and disasters that directly impact tourism can have extensive reputational implications for the organisations and destinations involved. It is critical that DMOs and CEOs communicate the right message in such circumstances to reassure the public that they have their best interests at heart. Often this is not done well. Every crisis and disaster is different, and knowledge is required to understand how different crises and disasters, whether they be at a destination or an organisational level, affect members of the public. Such insight will provide managers with a clearer understanding of the most effective messaging and communication strategies post event. 'Reputation and Image Recovery for the Tourism Industry' uses real life cases studies to contextualise the relevant theories on tourism, marketing and communication, and unpacks examples of best practice to illustrate how carefully managed response strategies can ensure the organisation's future survival. Packed with international case studies, and with contributions from experts, this edited book is divided into three sections that cover: * Natural Disasters: including cyclones/hurricanes; flooding; earthquakes, volcanos and tsunamis; bush/forest fires and other severe natural events. * Man Made Crises and Organisational Crises: including specific case studies that focus on how destinations restore their reputation following a random act of crime or terror; managing the threat of terrorism- a destination image perspective; managing destination image in the midst of political turmoil and reputation recovery for destinations with long term image issues. * Organisational Crises in the Tourism and Hospitality Industry: including reputation recovery for various tourism organisations including airlines, hotels and theme parks; managing the media in times of organisational crises; best practice public relations strategies for tourism organisations and the role of social media in organisational reputation recovery. Essential reading for students, researchers and industry managers, and the 'go to' text for those wishing to learn about specific strategies and best practice techniques proven to assist with the reputational management of destinations and organisations affected by crises and disasters.
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
Consult your subject guide for recommended websites.
Experiential Consumption and Marketing in Tourism Within a Cross-Cultural Context by
Culture is the entangling web of symbols, sounds, rituals, rites and practices by which we become persons and by which we can grow. Culture is often the reason for travel, and both bargain and barrier in its consumption. Underpinned by globalization, tourism is both enabling and threatening culture and its practices, as business commodifies authentic differences. This book includes contributions that analyze and critique initiations to culture, and reports on the facilitation, celebration and sharing of culture through tourism and how each is manifested in tourism marketing theory, policy and practice. It contains case examples of the opportunities, best practices, aims, pitfalls and mistakes of those tourism businesses which have culture as their core experience as well as cases of where different tourists are engaged in exploring and learning about other cultures. In addition, the book contains chapters on the below themes of interest where culture has contributed strongly to their outcomes: the roles of tourists, locals and communities, events, business practices in facilitating and sharing culture, relationship marketing, experiential marketing, cross-border marketing, product differentiation and market segmentation, shopping experiences, storytelling and visual narrative analysis.Part of the Advances in Tourism Marketing series - a series of cutting-edge research-informed edited books that introduce the reader to a range of contemporary marketing phenomena in the domain of travel and tourism.
Service Encounters in Tourism, Events and Hospitality by
This book offers insights into the demands made on staff in service encounters in tourism, events and hospitality roles. Using data from research completed in these industries, it hinges upon storied incidents offered by workers about which the reader can reflect and apply theoretical knowledge. A key feature of this volume is that it focuses on staff perspectives and perceptions of service encounters and delivery rather than on customer or management perspectives. This will provide students, lecturers, management and customers with fresh and clear understandings of the demands made on staff, but also the perspectives from which the demands are seen. The chapters clarify to students how to apply academic knowledge within customer service contexts and include learning objectives, questions and summaries.
The Business of Tourism by
Tourism as an industry is constantly evolving. Trends and attitudes are susceptible to changes in what people look for in a holiday, which can change within different economic contexts; generational shifts; the political landscape; and most recently, the Covid-19 global pandemic. This popular and comprehensive textbook helps students to not only understand these changes but study them with a critical mindset and historical perspective, desirable for success in assessments. The text also continues to retain its focus on 'business' and the operational aspects of tourism, making it especially useful for students considering a career and/or short term placement in the tourism industry. This 12th edition of The Business of Tourism includes updates to take in changes to the tourism industry and consumption behaviours as a result of: Brexit (the UK's decision to leave the European Union) the pandemic and its impacts on nature; the operation of attractions; event tourism; hotel chains; transport; and governmental support Sustainability and the reduction of the negative impacts caused by tourism Chris Holloway was a former Professor of Tourism Management at the University of the West of England. Claire Humphreys is a former Head of Department and Principal Lecturer at the University of Westminster.
COVID-19 and Travel by
The year 2020 will be a defining moment in the history of the tourism and hospitality industry worldwide. The arrival of the novel coronavirus, COVID-19 dealt the industry a vicious blow. It is forecast that due to this pandemic, the number of international tourist arrivals will fall by at least 60-80% in 2020, putting millions of jobs at risk. The industry will recover, but travel will never be the same again.COVID-19 and Travel: impacts, responses and outcomes examines how this crisis unfolded and its devasting impacts on the travel, tourism and hospitality industries. Packed with international case studies, it takes the reader from the very outset of the crisis, how the industry reacted and its message to the market, through to its impacts and a possible future. It examines issues such as:* Why the COVID-19 outbreak and travel were inextricably linked;* How the different sectors of the industry adapted to the crisis;* Crisis communication strategies employed by organizations in response to the crisis;* How travellers were impacted by the crisis;* The social, economic and environmental impacts of the pandemic;* The future of travel after COVID-19.The book has a thorough user-friendly pedagogic structure and is accompanied by a website which contains an instructor's guide that includes chapter questions and model answers, a test bank, PowerPoint slides for each chapter, and short videos to accompany the cases. The impacts of this pandemic change daily, and the crisis is still fluid. To this end, the book will be updated regularly with online articles that can be found on the book's website at: www.goodfellowpublishers.com/COVID19Must have reading for all tourism students, educators, and practitioners all over the world and the 'go to' text on the subject of COVID-19 and its impact on travel.
Event Management: for tourism, cultural, business and sporting events by 
Tourism Management by
Planning and implementing successful tourism programs require in depth predictions of tourist behavior. However, the actions of tourists are not always based upon conscious thinking and decision-making and therefore more realistic and practical management strategies are needed. Tourism Managementprovides an in-depth coverage of sense making, planning, implementing, evaluating and administering tourism marketing and management programs. Recent advances in tourism theory and research on causal history and ecological systems are used to discuss how leisure and tourism occurs. This book offers useful descriptions, tools and examples of tourism management decision-making.
Sustainable Tourism in Island Destinations by