Understanding Mathematics for Young Children by
Having a deep understanding of the mathematical ideas and concepts taught in the classroom is vital as a nursery or primary school teacher. In order for children to get to grips with these concepts, trainee teachers need to be aware of how they come to interpret and understand them. Now in its 5th edition, this essential book helps trainee teachers develop their own knowledge of key mathematical ideas and concepts for the nursery and primary classroom. Now focusing specifically on ages 3-7, it also supports trainees with several age-appropriate classroom activities. As well as updates to further reading suggestions and research focuses, this revised edition includes new content on: Mastery in learning mathematics Simple fractions Roman numerals Money as a form of measurement
Mathematics in Early Years Education by
This third edition of the best-selling Mathematics in Nursery Educationprovides an accessible introduction to the teaching of mathematics in the early years. Covering all areas of mathematics learning - number and counting, calculation, pattern, shape, measures and data handling - it summarises the research findings and underlying key concepts and explains how adults can help children to learn through practical experiences, discussion and more direct intervention. This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate the latest research and thinking in this area and includes: why mathematics is important as a way of making sense of the world how attitudes to mathematics can influence teaching and learning how children learn mathematics new material on sorting, matching and handling data ideas for observation and questioning to assess children's understanding examples of planned activities suggestions for language development assessment criteria. This textbook is ideal for those training to be teachers through an undergraduate or PGCE route, those training for Early Years Professional Status and those studying early childhood on foundation or honours degrees as well as parents looking to explore how their young children learn mathematics. This will be an essential text for any Early Years practitioner looking to make mathematics interesting, exciting and engaging in their classroom.
Big Ideas in Primary Mathematics by
Lightbulb moments for you and your pupils This book explores the 'big ideas' in maths to help trainee teachers confidently teach the curriculum in a way that engages children and focuses on understanding, rather than memory, for those lightbulb moments. Covering the major concepts in simple terms, whilst carefully linking to the National Curriculum, it shows how they can be used to enable learning and support mathematical mastery. A focus on explaining misconceptions and errors will strengthen trainees and teachers own mathematical subject knowledge, while also giving them the confidence to deepen their understanding of the children they teach. Key topics include: Problem-solving, reasoning and developing fluency in maths Place value and counting systems Measuring money, time and weight Geometry, and understanding space and shape Fractions and statistics for the primary classroom This is essential reading for anyone studying primary mathematics on initial teacher education courses, including undergraduate (BEd, BA with QTS) and postgraduate (PGCE, PGDE, School Direct, SCITT) routes, and also NQTs. Robert Newell is a tutor in primary education at the UCL Institute of Education, London.
Yes, but Why? Teaching for Understanding in Mathematics by
Getting the right answers in maths is only half the problem. Understanding why what you're doing works is the part that often stumps students and teachers alike. Does maths feels like a collection of random rules and steps that somehow lead you to an answer? Don't worry you're not alone. Ask yourself: why do we have odd and even numbers? Why do two negative numbers multiply to make a positive? Why do fraction operations work? What is cosine and where does it come from? Yes, but why? answers all of your questions, and sheds light on the hidden connections between everything in mathematics at school. Maths makes sense. It always has, but until now maybe no-one ever showed you. A must-read for those training to teach primary or secondary mathematics via university-based (PGCE, BEd, BA w/QTS) or school-based (School Direct, SCITT, Teach First) routes and current teachers wishing to deepen their mathematical understanding.FIND OUT MORE ABOUT THE AUTHOR BEHIND THE BOOK WITH OUR SPECIAL FEATURE:60 Seconds with Ed Southall
Handbook of the Study of Play by
The Handbook of the Study of Play brings together in two volumes thinkers whose diverse interests at the leading edge of scholarship and practice define the current field. Because play is an activity that humans have shared across time, place, and culture and in their personal developmental timelines and because this behavior stretches deep into the evolutionary past no single discipline can lay claim to exclusive rights to study the subject. Thus this handbook features the thinking of evolutionary psychologists; ethologists and biologists; neuroscientists; developmental psychologists; psychotherapists and play therapists; historians; sociologists and anthropologists; cultural psychologists; philosophers; theorists of music, performance, and dance; specialists in learning and language acquisition; and playground designers. Together, but out of their varied understandings, the incisive contributions to The Handbook take on vital questions of educational policy, of literacy, of fitness, of the role of play in brain development, of spontaneity and pleasure, of well-being and happiness, of fairness, and of the fuller realization of the self. These volumes also comprise an intellectual history, retrospective looks at the great thinkers who have made possible the modern study of play."
Good Practice in the Early Years by 
Influencing Early Childhood Education by
Thinking about early childhood education will offer an academic and critical approach to the wealth of theories that underpin elements of current practice in early childhood care and education. It will focus on analyzing the rise and interconnectedness of theories of learning and development. It will range from key nineteenth century movements to progressive ideas of the twentieth century, encompassing psychoanalytic theories, deconstructing theories and constructivism and behaviourism.
Play = Learning by
Why is it that the best and brightest of our children are arriving at college too burned out to profit from the smorgasbord of intellectual delights that they are offered? Why is it that some preschools and kindergartens have a majority of children struggling to master cognitive tasks thatare inappropriate for their age? Why is playtime often considered to be time unproductively spent? In Play=Learning, top experts in child development and learning contend that the answers to these questions stem from a single source: in the rush to create a generation of Einsteins, our culture has forgotten about the importance of play for children's development. Presenting a powerful argumentabout the pervasive and long-term effects of play, Singer, Golinkoff, and Hirsh-Pasek urge researchers and practitioners to reconsider the ways play facilitates development across domains. Over forty years of developmental research indicates that play has enormous benefits to offer children, notthe least of which is physical activity in this era of obesity and hypertension. Play provides children with the opportunity to maximize their attention spans, learn to get along with peers, cultivate their creativity, work through their emotions, and gain the academic skills that are thefoundation for later learning. Using a variety of methods and studying a wide range of populations, the contributors to this volume demonstrate the powerful effects of play in the intellectual, social, and emotional spheres. Play=Learning will be an important resource for students and researchers in developmental psychology. Its research-based policy recommendations will be valuable to teachers, counselors, and school psychologists in their quest to reintroduce play and joyful learning into our school rooms and livingrooms.
The New Early Years Foundation Stage by 
Mathematics in Early Years Education by
This fourth edition of the bestselling Mathematics in Early Years Educationprovides an accessible introduction to the teaching of mathematics in the early years. Covering all areas of mathematics - number and counting, calculation, pattern, shape, measures and data handling - it provides a wide range of practical activities and guidance on how to support young children's mathematical development. There is also guidance on managing the transition to KS1 and a strong emphasis throughout on creating home links and working in partnership with parents. This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate the latest research and thinking in this area and includes: why mathematics is important as a way of making sense of the world how attitudes to mathematics can influence teaching and learning how children learn mathematics and what they are capable of learning how technology can support maths teaching maths phobia and the impact society has on maths teaching material on sorting, matching and handling data the importance of educating about finance in today's world ideas for observation and questioning to assess children's understanding examples of planned activities suggestions for language development assessment criteria. This textbook is ideal for those training to be teachers through an undergraduate or PGCE route, those training for Early Years Professional Status and those studying early childhood on foundation or honours degrees, as well as parents looking to explore how their young children learn mathematics. This will be an essential text for any early years practitioner looking to make mathematics interesting, exciting and engaging in their classroom. r language development assessment criteria. This textbook is ideal for those training to be teachers through an undergraduate or PGCE route, those training for Early Years Professional Status and those studying early childhood on foundation or honours degrees, as well as parents looking to explore how their young children learn mathematics. This will be an essential text for any early years practitioner looking to make mathematics interesting, exciting and engaging in their classroom.
The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools by
The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools provides essential information for all concerned with primary school education about all aspects of teaching science. It pays particular attention to inquiry-based teaching and learning because of the more general educational benefits that follow from using this approach. These benefits are often expressed in terms of developing general scientific literacy and fostering the ability to learn and the motivation to continue learning. This book also aims to help teachers focus on the 'big' or powerful ideas of science rather than teaching a series of unrelated facts. This leads children to an understanding of the nature, and limitations, of scientific activity. This fully expanded and updated edition explores: The compelling reasons for starting science in the primary school. Within-school planning in the context of less prescriptive national requirements. The value of having in mind the 'big ideas' of science. The opportunities for children to learn through greater access to the internet and social networking. The expanding sources of materials and guidance now available to teachers on-line. Greater attention to school and teacher self-evaluation as a means of improving provision for children's learning. The importance for both teachers and learners of reflecting on the process and content of their activities. Other key aspects of teaching, such as:- questioning, the importance of discussion and dialogue, the formative and summative roles of assessment and strategies for helping children to develop understanding, skills, positive attitudes and enjoyment of science, are preserved. So also is the learner-centred approach with an emphasis on children learning to take some responsibility for their activities. This book is essential reading for all primary school teachers and those on primary education courses.
Play at the Center of the Curriculum by
The leading text in the field, Play at the Center of the Curriculum seamlessly combines the features of a text on play and development with the features of an early childhood curriculum text to present a comprehensive, cogent rationale for placing play at the center of a balanced curriculum. Ideal for those who want to engage children in a developmental zone where children and teachers are learning from and with each other, the authors put play at the center of a balanced curriculum that includes spontaneous, guided, and directed play as well as teacher planned instruction. They describe how knowledgeable teachers use a wide repertoire of strategies to orchestrate the flow from spontaneous play to guided play, to more subject oriented instruction, and back to play. This thoroughly updated Sixth Edition interweaves anecdotes of children's play, theories of play and development, empirical evidence from research, and practical instructional strategies to give students a clear look at play and the curriculum.