Nurturing Creativity in the Classroom by
As interest in creativity explodes, it has become more complicated to decide how to best nurture creativity in our schools. There are the controversial Common Core Standards in many states. Meanwhile, the classroom has become increasingly digital; it is easier to access information, communicate ideas, and learn from people across the world. Many countries now include cultivating creativity as a national educational policy recommendation, yet there is still debate over best practices. Indeed, many well-intentioned educators may institute programs that may not reach the desired outcome. The notion that schools 'kill creativity' has become a widespread social meme. We view such beliefs as both hyperbolic and problematic: they allow us to recognize there is a problem but not solve it. In this book, a wide array of international experts addresses these issues, discussing theories and research that focus on how to nurture creativity in K-12 and college-level classrooms.
The Crucible of Language by
From the barbed, childish taunt on the school playground, to the eloquent sophistry of a lawyer prising open a legal loophole in a court of law, meaning arises each time we use language to communicate with one another. How we use language - to convey ideas, make requests, ask a favour, and express anger, love or dismay - is of the utmost importance; indeed, linguistic meaning can be a matter of life and death. In The Crucible of Language, Vyvyan Evans explains what we know, and what we do, when we communicate using language; he shows how linguistic meaning arises, where it comes from, and the way language enables us to convey the meanings that can move us to tears, bore us to death, or make us dizzy with delight. Meaning is, he argues, one of the final frontiers in the mapping of the human mind.
Thinking with Feeling by
Are emotions good or bad for thinking and learning? Have you ever wondered why a good lesson of one year falls flat in another? Why do students behave the way they do? Teachers are expected to foster productive thought yet the neglect of emotion in the classroom, in favour of intellect, means teaching and learning is often not as effective as it might be. "Thinking with Feeling "explores what we mean by productive thought, its interrelationship with mood and emotions, how teachers can manage that interaction to improve teaching and learning, and what teacher trainers could do about it. Synthesising the most important international research in the field, it" "offers a framework for productive, purposeful thought - deduction, understanding, creative thinking, wise thinking, and critical thinking - and explains how mood and emotion can support and also impede learning. It considers the effect of the interplay of emotion and intellect on classroom behaviour, on students public performance and performance in tests, and how emotional labour can affect the teacher. Illustrated with examples from practice, this challenging, thoughtful study offers education professionals a basis for understanding the interaction of emotions and cognition and making it a successful partnership in order to improve teaching and learning. "
Creativity for a New Curriculum - 5-11 by
Ths title provides a meaningful account of what creativity really means in the context of children's learning in the primary school, and describes in practical terms what teachers can do to foster it.
Developing Thinking and Understanding in Young Children by
Developing Thinking and Understanding in Young Children presents a comprehensive and accessible overview of contemporary theory and research about young children's developing thinking and understanding. Throughout this second edition, the ideas and theories presented are enlivened by transcripts of children's activities and conversations taken from practice and contemporary research, helping readers to make links between theory, research and practice. Each chapter also includes ideas for further reading and suggested activities. Aimed at all those interested in how young children develop through their thoughts and actions, Sue Robson explores: theories of cognitive development the social, emotional and cultural contexts of children's thinking children's conceptual development visual thinking approaches to supporting the development of young children's thinking and understanding latest developments in brain science and young children the central roles of play and language in young children's developing thinking. Including a new chapter on young children's musical thinking, expanded sections on self regulation, metacognition and creative thinking and the use of video to observe and describe young children's thinking, this book will be an essential read for all students undertaking Early Childhood, Primary PGCE and EYPS courses. Those studying for a Foundation degree in Early Years and Childcare will also find this book to be of interest.
Creativity: theories and themes: research, development and practice 2nd edn. by
An integrative introduction to the theories and themes in research on creativity, the second edition of Creativity is both a reference work and text for courses in this burgeoning area of research. The book begins with a discussion of the theories of creativity (Person, Product, Process, Place), the general question of whether creativity is influenced by nature or nurture, what research has indicated of the personality and style of creative individuals from a personality analysis standpoint, and how social context affects creativity. This wide-ranging work then proceeds to coverage of issues such as gender differences, whether creativity can be enhanced, if creativity is related to poor mental or physical health, and much more. The book contains boxes covering special interest items, including one-page biographies of famous creative individuals, and activities for a group or individual to test or encourage creativity, as well as references to Internet sites relating to creativity. Includes all major theories and perspectives on creativity Consolidates recent research into a single source Includes key terms defined and text boxes with interesting related material Single authored for clarity and consistency of presentation
Creativity in Primary Education 3rd edn. by
"An alien spaceship crash landed in my playground today" For one primary school in England, this was not an ordinary day. It was a fabulous day of inspiration, writing, drawing, discovering and learning for the pupils, the staff and the parents. But the best thing of all? The only truly out of the ordinary thing was the alien spaceship. So how do you make creativity a more everyday part of primary teaching? Teachers and trainees agree that creativity is a fabulous thing. But to get creative approaches into everyday teaching, you need to tackle the question - what is creativity? This book explores this question in an accessible and practical way. It helps trainees to do more than 'know it when they see it', by helping them to understand the separate and very diverse elements of creativity. The third edition of this popular text retains key material, but it has been updated and revised to include two new chapters on the creative curriculum, along with links throughout to the Standards and the new National Curriculum. This book will help you enhance your teaching so you and the children in your class can be: fellow explorers, adventurous discoverers and spontaneous investigators!
Developing Creativity in the Primary School by
This book suggests ways to develop the creativity of teachers, groups and individuals using theories and practical examples.
Creativity and Critical Thinking by
What do we mean by creativity? What is the link between creativity and critical thinking? How can creativity and critical thinking be incorporated into classroom practice and what are the benefits for students? Creativity and critical thinking are central to effective teaching and learning and have a significant impact on students attainment, engagement, attendance and behaviour. This book draws on recent research and policy to provide teachers with a clear framework for understanding creativity and critical thinking and practically demonstrates how they can be incorporated into classroom practice. Bringing together an expert team of contributors with a wide-range of experience of bringing creative approaches into the classroom the book includes: an analysis of the issues associated with creativity and critical thinking clear guidance on how schools can develop dynamic thinking and creative learning strategies and use them with all learners advice on using external agencies to bring the creative perspective into schools case studies alongside examples of current activities and practice in schools links to resources and organisations who can offer support. Providing clear guidance on the underpinning theory and policy and drawing upon current initiatives in schools, this book is essential reading for trainee and practising teachers that want to provide the best possible learning experience for their students."
Physical Education in Schools by
At a time when PE has become a compulsory part of the National Curriculum, this book focuses on the role of PE and sport in schools. This edition includes sections on the National Curriculum, vocational education, GNVQ and GCSE.
Complexity Thinking in Physical Education by
In the past two decades, complexity thinking has emerged as an important theoretical response to the limitations of orthodox ways of understanding educational phenomena. Complexity provides ways of understanding that embrace uncertainty, non-linearity and the inevitable 'messiness' that is inherent in educational settings, paying attention to the ways in which the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. This is the first book to focus on complexity thinking in the context of physical education, enabling fresh ways of thinking about research, teaching, curriculum and learning. Written by a team of leading international physical education scholars, the book highlights how the considerable theoretical promise of complexity can be reflected in the actual policies, pedagogies and practices of physical education (PE). It encourages teachers, educators and researchers to embrace notions of learning that are more organic and emergent, to allow the inherent complexity of pedagogical work in PE to be examined more broadly and inclusively. In doing so, Complexity Thinking in Physical Education makes a major contribution to our understanding of pedagogy, curriculum design and development, human movement and educational practice.
Health and Well-Being in Early Childhood by
The health and well-being of children is integral to learning and development but what does it actually mean in practice? This textbook draws on contemporary research on the brain and mind to provide an up-to-date overview of the central aspects of young children's health and well-being - a key component of the revised EYFS curriculum. Critically engaging with a range of current debates, coverage includes early influences, such as relationships, attachment (attachment theory) and nutrition the role of the brain in health and well-being the enabling environment other issues affecting child development To support students with further reading, reflective and critical thinking it employs: case studies pointers for practice mindful moments discussion questions references to extra readings web links This current, critical and comprehensive course text will provide a solid foundation for students and practitioners on a wide range of early childhood courses, and empower them to support and nurture young children's health and well-being.
The Systems Model of Creativity by
This first volume of the Collected Works of Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi represents his work on Art and Creativity. Starting with his seminal 1964 study on creativity up to his 2010 publication in Newsweek, the volume spans over four decades of research and writing and clearly shows Csikszentmihalyi's own development as an academic, psychologist, researcher and person. Unconventional and unorthodox in his approach, Csikszentmihalyi chose the topic of creativity as a field of study believing it would help him be a better psychologist and advance his understanding of how to live a better life. The chapters in this volume trace the history of the study of creativity back to the days of Guilford and research on IQ and Jacob Getzels' work on creativity and intelligence. Firmly grounded in that history, yet extending it in new directions, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi started his life-long study on artistic creativity. His first extensive study at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago enabled him to observe, test and interview fine art students drawing in a studio. The study formed the very basis of all his work on the subject and has resulted in several articles, represented in this volume, on such creativity-related concepts as problem solving versus problem finding, the personality of the artist, the influence of the social context, creativity as a social construction, developmental issues and flow. The main contribution to the topic of creativity and also the main concept explored in this volume, is the Systems Model of Creativity. Seven chapters in this volume discuss the development of this conceptual model and theory.
An Introduction to Primary Physical Education by
Physical Education is a core component of the primary school curriculum. The primary years are perhaps the most significant period for motor development in children, a time during which basic movement competencies are developed and which offers the first opportunity for embedding physical activity as part of a healthy lifestyle. This is the first comprehensive introduction to the teaching of PE in the primary school to be written exclusively by primary PE specialists, with primary school teaching experience. The book highlights the importance of PE in the primary curriculum and the key issues facing primary teachers today, such as inclusion, training needs and the development of creativity. Central to the book are core chapters that examine each functional area common to many primary PE syllabi - including games, dance, gymnastics, athletics and outdoor learning - and give clear, practical guidance on how to teach each topic. Rooted throughout in sound theory and the latest evidence and research, this book is essential reading for all students, trainee teachers and qualified teachers looking to understand and develop their professional practice in primary Physical Education.
Teaching Physical Education Creatively by
Teaching Physical Education Creatively provides knowledge and understanding in order to engage creatively with the primary Physical Education curriculum for both trainee teachers and qualified teachers. It is full of ideas for developing the teaching of dance, games, gymnastics and outdoor and adventurous activities in an innovative and engaging manner. With an emphasis on developing creative teaching processes by building from children's curiosity, imagination and need to explore and move, it forges clear links between research and practice, and offers suggestions for developing exciting, engaging new approaches to teaching physical education. Key topics explored include: Physical Competence and Physical Literacy Creative ways to develop the teaching of dance, games, gymnastics and outdoor and adventurous activities Developing understanding of space, speed and dynamics Creative lesson planning Inclusive approaches and aspects of differentiation Teaching Physical Education Creatively presents the theory and background necessary to develop a comprehensive understanding of creative teaching and children's learning.　 Packed with practical guidance and inspiration for lively, enjoyable physical education, it is an invaluable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in initial teacher training, practicing teachers, and undergraduate students of physical education.
Teaching Early Years Foundation Stage by
The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) came into force in September 2008 and established a framework for providing learning, development and care for children from birth to five. This book examines the EYFS within the context of Achieving QTS and is a core text for primary trainees covering this stage of children's learning. It links the principles and commitments of the EYFS with the new standards for QTS while covering all required content. The book examines the continuous nature of learning from birth to five, the inter-relatedness between care, learning and development, and the importance of sensitive transitions.
Teaching Integrated Arts in the Primary School by
First Published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Approaches to Creativity by
This book offers an accessible introduction and a comprehensive guide to a range of ideas on creativity in education. The book provides an overview of the major theories related to creativity and explores the implications for policy and practice. The popular topic of creativity has given rise to a large number of theoretical positions, sometimes contradictory or contested. This book clarifies and organises these approaches so that teachers understand where particular pedagogical and curricular practices originate and can develop them coherently. Topics covered include: Creativity in a social context Creativity and technology Creativity and curriculum planning Assessment and creativity Group creativity Managing creativity Tools of creativity The creative learner Creativity and cognition Creativity as expression Approaches to Creativity is an invaluable resource for those who wish to reflect on creativity and explore and engage in the modern discourse of education. It will be of value in teacher education, postgraduate studies, curriculum design and administration. "I'm thrilled to see a book aimed at helping teachers deepen their understanding of creativity and, at the same time, offering practical insights for how teachers might nurture creativity in their everyday curriculum." Professor Ronald A. Beghetto, Associate Dean and Associate Professor of Education, University of Oregon, USA "At a time when many books designed to help us rethink big issues distract by their priestly tone and their pretensions to having found a solution, this is refreshingly clear, new and open." Professor John Onians, Emeritus Professor of World Art History, University of East Anglia, England "It is a rare book which manages to combine deep scholarship with readability. This one achieves that goal while also being timely and relevant. It should be read by all busy teachers who are concerned to apply research about creativity into their teaching practice." Professor John Panter, Ex-Head of Academic Staff Development, University of Wollagong, Australia "This excellent overview of creativity is consistent with what the social and behavioral sciences tells us about creativity but is an easy read and perhaps more than anything else is enormously practical. Approaches to Creativity is, in short, accessible yet grounded in science. It presents both the broad context for creativity as a part of human effectiveness, as well as the nuts-and-bolts fine points that will allow everyone to learn something about themselves and about fulfilling creative potentials." Mark A. Runco, PhD Torrance Professor, Creative Studies & Gifted Education Editor, Creativity Research Journal "As an educationalist and policy-maker, I am pleased to recommend this comprehensive and exciting book which clearly outlines international developments in creativity education, including in particular, the Russian contribution to the field." Professor Nadezhda Shaidenko, Deputy Chair of the Education Committee of the Duma of the Russian Federation "This book takes the complexity of creativity research and breaks it down into readable and interesting prose. Teachers - and everyone else - will enjoy and learn from this valuable contribution." Professor J.C.Kaufman, Professor of Psychology, California State University, USA "If it is possible to pin down the lightning flash of creativity then this book is the best attempt I have read so far." Mark Patrick Hederman, OSB Abbot of Glenstal Abbey, Murroe, Co. Limerick, Ireland
Creativity in Schools by
Creativity in schools is changing, with greater emphasis being placed on creative skills across the curriculum than ever before. This shift has thrown up some challenging questions which this book tackles head-on in order to better understand the implications of this change and the effects on pedagogy and policy. The questions raised include: What is creative learning? How does it relate to creative teaching? How do we organize the curriculum to nurture creativity? What pedagogical strategies support creativity? How is creative learning different to effective learning? What responsibilities do schools have for stimulating creativity in relation to society, ethics and the wider environment? Laying out the key concepts in the current debate on creativity and placing them in a broader context based on practice, policy and research, this volume sets the agenda for future discussion and suggests practical ways to encourage pupils creative development in a new and more thoughtful way."
Supporting Creativity and Imagination in the Early Years by
The aim of this book is to use real life examples of young children's development and their growing competence to show the richness of their creativity and imagination. Duffy also discusses ways of planning and assessing children's progress. This second edition has been updated throughout.
How Children Develop Social Understanding by
This book provides a critical review of research into how children come to understand the social world, an area often known as children′s "theories of mind". Takes an integrated approach to the development of children′s social understanding Brings out the connections between mental state understanding and children′s understanding of language, social skills, morality and emotions.<br /> Sets research within a historical and theoretical context Contributes unique insights and perspectives, particularly in its discussions of Piaget and Vygotsky, and in its Wittgensteinian focus on the role of language.
Unlocking Creativity by
Showing how creativity can be developed across the curriculum, this book offers advice on how to develop children's capacity for creative thinking and achievement and use creativity to increase levels of motivation and self-esteem. Combining the latest research with practical ideas and tasks, this multidimensional book is a must for teachers, students, and educators who wish to know more about creativity in teaching and learning.
Thinking and Learning Through Drawing by
'The text is clear and accessible and gives a fascinating overview of how drawing can help children to learn and understand the thinking of others...It is highly recommended for all students and practitioners interested in understanding more about how children express their ideas and theories about the world' - Early Years Update 'This book is an invaluable resource for anyone who recognises the potential of 'drawing' as an essential element for developing thinking and learning in the Primary Classroom...and a 'must read' for those who are sceptical!....This is a fascinating read that invokes a variety of feelings including a sense of wonder and curiosity about the many facets of drawing, which leaves you with a thirst to try out more and explore ways of releasing the untapped potential of 'drawing' in your own classroom' - thinkingclassroom.co.uk Children use drawing as a means through which they create, develop, communicate and record their thoughts and ideas. Whether it's to play, or to express feelings and meaning, drawing enables them to learn about the world, explore their imaginations, and to invent and present new ideas. With an extensive background in teaching and researching children's uses of drawing, Gill Hope describes the ways in which multiple forms of drawing are used by Primary school children. She explains why it should be actively promoted as a means of supporting thinking and learning across a wide range of subject areas, and provides practical support for teachers. Demonstrating the importance of drawing, and combining a thematic approach with practical guidance, this informative and enjoyable book: - widens teachers' understanding of the multiple uses of drawing; - shows how children can be guided to use it to support thinking and learning; - explores the range of applications in which drawing can be used across all areas of the curriculum; - looks to the future and at the ever increasing importance of graphic literacy. Providing a fresh insight into the uses of drawing as a powerful tool which supports children's thinking and learning, this book will be of interest to everyone involved in the development of children's capabilities, including teachers, student teachers and teaching assistants.
Creative Learning in the Primary School by
Creative Learning in the Primary School uses ethnographic research to consider the main features of creative teaching and learning within the context of contemporary policy reforms. In particular, the authors are interested in the clash between two oppositional discourses - creativity and performativity - and how they are resolved in creative teacher practice. The book complements previous work by these authors on creative teaching by giving more consideration to creative learning. The first section of the book explores the nature of creative teaching and learning by examining four key features: relevance, control, ownership and innovation. The authors devote a chapter to each of these aspects, outlining their properties and illustrating them with a wide range of examples, mainly from recent practice in primary schools. The second section presents some instructive examples of schools promoting creative learning, and how creative primary schools have responded to the policy reforms of recent years. The chapters focus specifically on: how pupils act as a powerful resource for creative learning for each other and for their teachers; how teachers have appropriated the reforms to enhance their creativity; and how one school has moved over a period of ten years from heavy constraint to high creativity. The blend of analysis, case-study material and implications for practice will make this book attractive to primary teachers, school managers, policy makers, teacher educators and researchers.
Creative Thinking and Arts-Based Learning by
Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0133400107. In Creative Thinking and Arts-Based Learning: Preschool Through Fourth Grade, 6/eJoan Packer Isenberg and Mary Renck Jalongo show future and current early childhood educators how to integrate children's creativity, play, and the arts into their curriculum in a way that fosters learning and growth and meets accountability measures, by emphasizing the use of technology to enhance creativity and the arts, with myriad suggestions to differentiate instruction and make adaptations for diverse learners across the art forms. Organized into four main parts, the text covers the foundations of creative thought; examines children's play, games, and inventions; addresses the subject areas that are traditionally associated with the creative arts; delves into the teacher's role-supporting creative expression and play, assessing creative processes and products, and working with diverse families and communities; and discusses effective design and use of environments, materials, and resources. Unique boxed pedagogical features make the text more practical, readable, and helpful to the early childhood educator. Written for prospective and practicing early childhood educators who are expected to teach in accordance with an increasing number of state, local, and national benchmarks, this proven and adaptable text will best prepare the early childhood educator for creative thinking in the classroom and beyond. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone or with a loose-leaf version of the text for 40-65% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
The Cambridge Handbook of Creativity by
The Cambridge Handbook of Creativity is a comprehensive scholarly handbook on creativity from the most respected psychologists, researchers and educators. This handbook serves both as a thorough introduction to the field of creativity and as an invaluable reference and current source of important information. It covers such diverse topics as the brain, education, business, and world cultures. The first section, 'Basic Concepts', is designed to introduce readers to both the history of and key concepts in the field of creativity. The next section, 'Diverse Perspectives of Creativity', contains chapters on the many ways of approaching creativity. Several of these approaches, such as the functional, evolutionary, and neuroscientific approaches, have been invented or greatly reconceptualized in the last decade. The third section, 'Contemporary Debates', highlights ongoing topics that still inspire discussion. Finally, the editors summarize and discuss important concepts from the book and look to what lies ahead.
Desirable Literacies by
What are the ways in which young children learn to communicate? Collating their extensive experience of language and literacy in the early years, the contributors explore key aspects of this topic, linking practical ideas for early years settings and classrooms to relevant theory and research. This second edition is updated to take into account important developments in research, policy and practice, and now covers the 0-8 age range. It also addresses developments in new media and the impact this has upon literacy in young children, and offers chapters on new areas which have emerged in recent years, such as multimodality, media literacy, creative arts and literacy. Explored in the book are: - the relationship between play and literacy; - the role environmental print has in early literacy development; - the language and literacy development of young bilinguals; - ideas, suggestions and justifications for the use of poetry; - a two-year research project, funded by Creative Partnerships; and - key issues relating to family literacy.
Creative Development in the Early Years Foundation Stage by
The Practical Guidance in the Early Years Foundation Stageseries will assist practitioners in the smooth and successful implementation of the Early Years Foundation Stage. Each book gives clear and detailed explanations of each aspect of Learning and Development and encourages readers to consider each area within its broadest context to expand and develop their own knowledge and good practice. Practical ideas and activities for all age groups are offered along with a wealth of expertise of how elements from the practice guidance can be implemented within all early years settings. The books include suggestions for the innovative use of everyday ressources, popular books and stories. The clear and practical information in this book will help practitioners in supporting and developing the natural curiosity of children, helping them explore and express their own ideas through a variety of activities including music art and dance. The author explores the balance between the necessary freedoms of choice that creativity requires and the control which thoughtful practitioners must exert and offers ideas for building children's imaginations through play.
Developing Thinking; Developing Learning by
Offers a comprehensive introduction to thinking skills in education and provides guidance on how teachers can support cognitive development in their classrooms. This book discusses how thinking programmes, learning activities and teachers' pedagogy in the classroom can fundamentally affect the nature of pupils' thinking.
Children's Drawing and Writing by
Children's everyday drawing and writing are paradoxical: charmingly engaging, yet seemingly unremarkable in their ordinariness. This book takes a very close look at what passes by largely unnoticed at home and in school: copying, texts fleetingly present then gone, a picture drawn after the valued work of writing has been completed. Examining features of children's text making that are commonly disregarded because of their very ordinariness, or dismissed as mistakes because they are flawed or lacking, the book examines features such as shading, arrangement and forms of shorthand, and uncovers an intensity of effort in the making of meaning. In decisively shifting the focus away from insufficiency to what children can do and to the 'work' they invest in the texts they make, the lens taken here reveals resourcefulness and purposiveness. The unremarkable turns out to be remarkable. This has the most profound implications for what takes place at school, and beyond.
Art and Human Development by
This interdisciplinary volume explores art, its development, and its role in the construction of knowledge. Presenting theory and research on artistic development as a cultural and creative endeavor, contributors examine the origins of human art during the Paleolithic cultural revolution, as part of a modern cultural transformation, in the growth of a creative artist, and in developing children. Target chapters expressing the disciplinary perspectives of psychology, archaeology, communications, education, and the performing arts are followed by commentaries from internationally acclaimed scholars of human development. Part 1 explores how cultures harness and exploit the arts to give expression to values, social practices, and traditions. This section traces the emergence of new art forms that arose during social unrest, including the symbolization of spiritual beliefs expressed on the walls of Paleolithic caves, and the racial identity and cultural values expressed in the media of the hip-hop generation. Part 2 examines the journeys of a composer and a group of students to highlight the process of becoming an artist and the role education plays in its development. The book concludes with a focus on the development of aesthetic appreciation and artistic activity in childhood and adolescence, including, for example, how a child's developing theory of mind affects appreciation for the arts, and how developing empathy and emotional regulation contribute to the cognitive and affective underpinnings of acting in adolescence. As a whole contributors explore the developmental, sociocultural, and evolutionary processes that make the creation and experience of art possible. Intended for researchers and advanced students in both human development and the arts, this book will also serve as a textbook for advanced courses on psychology and the arts and/or special topics courses in cognitive and/or human development.
Early Years Foundations by
With so many challenges facing early years professionals, there are continual dilemmas arising between doing what one knows is essentially ‘right’ for birth-to-five-year-olds from all backgrounds and conforming to the demands made by government and policy makers. This exciting and original book supports practitioners in thinking through their roles to meet some of the many issues they encounter. Using the new Early Years Foundation Stage principles as its framework, the contributors support early years professionals in dealing with issues and challenges in a sensitive and professional manner, with particular emphasis upon the need for practitioners to personalise the requirements for each child in their care and to reflect closely upon their own and children’s experiences. The writers are all experienced and avid early years advocates. Their topics include: the changing landscape of early childhood, culture, identity and diversity, supporting playful learning, outdoor learning, documenting children’s experiences, developing independence in learning, the meaning of being creative, play and mark-making in maths, and literacy. Each section is introduced with some background research and information to provide evidence and guidance upon which practitioners can make their own decisions. Individual chapters include questions for reflection, points for discussion and suggestions for additional reading. Early Years Foundations: Meeting the Challenge is essential reading for the full range of practitioners working and playing with birth-to-five-year-olds. Contributors: Deborah Albon, Pat Broadhead, Liz Brooker, Naima Browne, Elizabeth Carruthers, Tricia David, Dan Davies, Jackie Eyles, Hilary Fabian, Rose Griffiths, Alan Howe, Paulette Luff, Rod Parker-Rees, Theodora Papatheodorou, Emmie Short, David Whitebread, Marian Whitehead and Maulfry Worthington.
The Excellence of Play by
Play as a successful learning and teaching experience remains key to early education. The new edition of this popular book continues to clearly illustrate key play theories in practice. It has been comprehensively revised to include the latest research and practice in the field. Key features include: Contributions from leading experts in the field who are passionate about the excellence of play Helpful features in every chapter including practical examples, boxed chapter summaries, cameos and end of chapter questions References and further reading The new edition includes: A new Foreword by Wendy Scott, President of TACTYC 10 new chapters that reflect the latest thinking in play and early years curriculum practice This book is essential reading for everyone working or training to work in the early years. Contributors Angela Anning, Pat Broadhead, Tina Bruce, Tricia David, Dan Davies, Bernadette Duffy, Aline Wendy Dunlop, Hilary Fabian, Jan Georgeson, Kathy Goouch, Rose Griffiths, Justine Howard, Alan Howe, Helen Jameson, Neil Kitson, Sara Knight, Janet Moyles, Theodora Papatheodorou, Rod Parker-Rees, Jane Payler, Linda Pound, Sacha Powell, Wendy Scott, David Whitebread, Marian Whitehead
Language, Literacy, and Cognitive Development by
Language, Literacy, and Cognitive Developmentaddresses the impact of language and literacy on cognitive development. Top researchers examine the cognitive significance of the growth in children's ability to express themselves symbolically, whether that involves communicating linguistically, mathematically, logically, or through some other symbol system expressed in speech, gesture, notations, or some other means. The book contributes to refining and answering questions regarding the nature, origin, and development of symbolic communication in all its forms, and their consequences for the cognitive development of the younger child at home and the older child at school.
Language and Creativity by
Language and Creativity explores the creativity inherent in everyday spoken language. Creativity in language has conventionally been regarded as the preserve of institutionalised discourses such as canonical literature and the discourse of advertising. In Language and Creativity Ronald Carter analyses naturally-occurring spoken language to reveal that ordinary people in everyday speech contexts demonstrate creative capacities for sensitivity to their contexts. Illustrated with examples, and integrating current theory in both language and literature studies, the book underlines the importance of the creative choice, automaticity and repetition which is involved in informal communication.
Language and Culture by
This state-of-the-art exploration of language, culture, and identity is orchestrated through prominent scholars' and teachers' narratives, each weaving together three elements: a personal account based on one or more memorable or critical incidents that occurred in the course of learning or using a second or foreign language; an interpretation of the incidents highlighting their impact in terms of culture, identity, and language; the connections between the experiences and observations of the author and existing literature on language, culture and identity. What makes this book stand out is the way in which authors meld traditional 'academic' approaches to inquiry with their own personalized voices. This opens a window on different ways of viewing and doing research in Applied Linguistics and TESOL. What gives the book its power is the compelling nature of the narratives themselves. Telling stories is a fundamental way of representing and making sense of the human condition. These stories unpack, in an accessible but rigorous fashion, complex socio-cultural constructs of culture, identity, the self and other, and reflexivity, and offer a way into these constructs for teachers, teachers in preparation and neophyte researchers. Contributors from around the world give the book broad and international appeal.
Cognitive and Language Development in Children by
This is one of a series of four books that forms part of the Open University course on child development. The series provides a detailed and thorough introduction to the central concepts, theories, issues and research evidence in developmental psychology.<br /> <br /> Cognitive and Language Development in Children gives an up-to-date and accessible account of how thinking and language develop during childhood. The book is innovative in its approach: it starts by considering cognition and language in infants and continues to weave together these two areas in subsequent chapters that cover aspects of their development through childhood. The chapters have been prepared by leading researchers and theorists in collaboration with members of the Open University course team. Building on the themes in The Foundations of Child Development, a previous book within the series, the editors provide a fully up-to-date, broad and engaging overview of the field, ranging from modern understandings of brain architecture and function to the social and cultural contexts of learning.<br /> <br /> The chapters have many features to assist and facilitate understanding, including defined learning outcomes, research summaries, activities, readings, definitions of key terms and section summaries.
The Bilingual Mind by
If languages influence the way we think, do bilinguals think differently in their respective languages? And if languages do not affect thought, why do bilinguals often perceive such influence? For many years these questions remained unanswered because the research on language and thought had focused solely on the monolingual mind. Bilinguals were either excluded from this research as 'unusual' or 'messy' subjects, or treated as representative speakers of their first languages. Only recently did bi- and multilinguals become research participants in their own right. Pavlenko considers the socio-political circumstances that led to the monolingual status quo and shows how the invisibility of bilingual participants compromised the validity and reliability of findings in the study of language and cognition. She then shifts attention to the bilingual turn in the field and examines its contributions to the understanding of the human mind.
Culture and Psychological Development by
From infancy through to school age and beyond, most children are in constant contact with an array of social influences. Home life, education, community and the media all have some part to play in a child's development. In this absorbing book, the authors discuss the ways such diverse cultural settings impact on behaviour and how children are shaped by the world around them. They examine development from both a cultural and cross-cultural perspective, drawing on case studies, to illuminate theoretical insights. Students of both developmental and cultural psychology will find this to be the perfect starting point from which to investigate this fascinating topic further.
Teaching for Understanding by
First published in 2012. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Creativity; theory, history, practice by
Creativity: Theory, History, Practice offers important new perspectives on creativity in the light of contemporary critical theory and cultural history. Innovative in approach as well as argument, the book crosses disciplinary boundaries and builds new bridges between the critical and the creative. It is organised in four parts: Why creativity now? offers much-needed alternatives to both the Romantic stereotype of the creator as individual genius and the tendency of the modern creative industries to treat everything as a commodity defining creativity, creating definitions traces the changing meaning of 'create' from religious ideas of divine creation from nothing to advertising notions of concept creation. It also examines the complex history and extraordinary versatility of terms such as imagination, invention, inspiration and originality dreation as myth, story, metaphor begins with modern re-tellings of early African, American and Australian creation myths andnbsp;- picking up Biblical and evolutionary accounts along the waynbsp;- works round to scientific visions of the Big Bang, bubble universes and cosmic soup creative practices, cultural processes is a critical anthology of materials, chosen to promote fresh thinking about everything from changing constructions of 'literature' and 'design' to artificial intelligence and genetic engineering. Rob Pope takes significant steps forward in the process of rethinking a vexed yet vital concept, all the while encouraging and equipping readers to continue the process in their own creative or 're-creative' ways. Creativity: Theory, History, Practice is invaluable for anyone with a live interest in exploring what creativity has been, is currently, and yet may be.
The Cultural Nature of Human Development by
Three-year-old Kwara'ae children in Oceania act as caregivers of their younger siblings, but in the UK, it is an offense to leave a child under age 14 ears without adult supervision. In the Efe community in Zaire, infants routinely use machetes with safety and some skill, although U.S. middle-class adults often do not trust young children with knives. What explains these marked differences in the capabilities of these children? Until recently, traditional understandings of human development held that a child's development is universal and that children have characteristics and skills that develop independently of cultural processes. Barbara Rogoff argues, however, that human development must be understood as a cultural process, not simply a biological or psychological one. Individuals develop as members of a community, and their development can only be fully understood by examining the practices and circumstances of their communities.
Explaining Creativity by
Explaining Creativity is an accessible introduction to the latest scientific research on creativity. In the last 50 yearss, psychologists, anthropologists, and sociologists have increasingly studied creativity, and we now know more about creativity that at any point in history. Explaining Creativity considers not only arts like painting and writing, but also science, stage performance, and business innovation. Until about a decade ago, creativity researchers tended to focus on highly valued activities like fine art painting and Nobel prize winning science. Sawyer brings this research up to date by including movies, music videos, cartoons, videogames, hypertext fiction, and computer technology. For example, this is the first book on creativity to include studies of performance and improvisation. Sawyer draws on the latest research findings to show the importance of collaboration and context in all of these creative activities. Today's science of creativity is interdisciplinary; in addition to psychological studies of creativity, Explaining Creativity includes research by anthropologists on creativity in non-Western cultures, and research by sociologists about the situations, contexts, and networks of creative activity. Explaining Creativity brings these approaches together within the sociocultural approach to creativity pioneered by Howard Becker, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi and Howard Gardner. The sociocultural approach moves beyond the individual to consider the social and cultural contexts of creativity, emphasizing the role of collaboration and context in the creative process.
Creativity in the Classroom by
The fourth edition of this well-known text continues the mission of its predecessors to help teachers link creativity research and theory to the everyday activities of classroom teaching. Part I (chs 1-5) includes information on models and theories of creativity, characteristics of creative people, and talent development. Part II (chapters 6-10) includes strategies explicitly designed to teach creative thinking, to weave creative thinking into content area instruction, and to organize basic classroom activities (grouping, lesson planning, assessment, motivation and classroom organization) in ways that support students creativity. Changes in this Edition: Improved Organization -- This edition has been reorganized from 8 to 10 chapters allowing the presentation of theoretical material in clearer, more manageable chunks. New Material In addition to general updating, there are more examples involving middle and secondary school teaching, more examples linking creativity to technology, new information on the misdiagnosis of creative students as ADHD, and more material on cross-cultural concepts of creativity, collaborative creativity, and linking creativity to state standards. Pedagogy & Design Chapter-opening vignettes, within-chapter reflection questions and activities, sample lesson ideas from real teachers, and end-of-chapter journaling activities help readers adapt content to their own teaching situations. Also, a larger trim makes the layout more open and appealing and a single end-of-book reference section makes referencing easier. Targeted specifically to educators (but useful to others), this book is suitable for any course that deals wholly or partly with creativity in teaching, teaching the gifted and talented, or teaching thinking and problem solving. Such courses are variously found in departments of special education, early childhood education, curriculum and instruction, or educational psychology."
Understanding Creativity in Early Childhood by
Do you want to understand young children's development in greater depth? Would you like to see how they view the world around them, and what they think the future might look like? Creativity in early childhood is an area of fascination for all those working with young children, and this book investigates why children create, and what their creations mean. Chapters describe the processes and depict the outcomes of meaning-making, and of making room for children's voices through the open-ended activity of drawing. Issues examined include: - the increasingly popular use of multi-modal texts; - links between creativity and literacy; - the importance of art in early childhood; - concrete examples of children's meaning-making, from the author's research. We see how non-verbal and verbal communication is used to convey meaning, and how children's voices emerge; the important role imagination and narrative play in the early and continuing development of children is emphasized throughout the book. Ideal for students of early childhood, and for anyone working with young children, this book is a revelatory guide to the mind of the young child.
