The Early Years Reflective Practice Handbook by 
Early Childhood Education by
Suitable for a wide range of Early Years and Childcare qualifications, this new edition of Tina Bruce's classic text will help build students' practical skills by drawing on the history of Early Years and the most recent educational theories. Now in its 5th edition, this trusted resource written by experienced and respected childcare author Tina Bruce has been updated to include the most recent theories and research, including new studies on language acquisition, attachment theory and self-regulation. Early Childhood Education 5th Edition is the perfect textbook for a wide range of Early Years and Childcare qualifications including BA Hons in Early Years Education and Early Childhood Studies, PGCEs and Foundation Degrees. - Gives a detailed overview of education principles in early childhood, all outlined in Tina Bruce's clear writing style. - Uses case studies to help learners understand how theories apply in real-world settings. - Supported by highly illustrative photographs showing the key aspects of practice
Introduction to Education Studies by 
The Critical Years by
During the last ten years our understanding of early child development, from conception through to 5, has greatly increased. This includes our understanding of neuro science and brain development, the ability to modify fetal development in the womb and the move away from the traditional debate of nature versus nurture to nature via nurture. It is vitally important that childcare social workers are fully aware of these issues if we are to intervene successfully to support children in need and children that need protecting. This book introduces the new science while affirming many of the older theories. By linking theories of child development with the law, policy and guidelines, it provides students with a source that will enhance their learning, but also has meaning in day-to-day practice.
Child Development by
Your clear visual guide to all stages of a child's development, for Levels 2 and 3 Early Years and Child Care students. Whether you are a Level 2 or Level 3 child care student studying CACHE Child Care and Education, Children and Young People's Workforce (CYPW), aBTECs in Children's Play, Learning and Development, oraa professional looking to refresh your knowledge, this will be your quick visual handbook for all stages of children's development. Child Development: aAn Illustrated Handbook auses stunning photography and video to give you a clear visual reference for each stage of a child's development. Including free video that can be accessed through your smartphone or on aawebsite, ait will provide you with a clear roadmap of a child's development.; Make sure you are meeting the latest EYFS standards withalinks and guidance throughout.; Understand how theory links to how a child develops, with clear links throughout the text as well as aain aasummary of theory at the end of the book.; Inclusion principlesahighlighted ataevery development stage so you can use them in placements. If you are carrying out an observation and assessment, completing an assignment, or prefer to learn in a visual style, this book will be your invaluable handbook."
Building Positive Relationships with Parents of Young Children by
Positive relationships between practitioners and parents are essential for young children's wellbeing, but achieving this can be difficult if there is not enough understanding about how relationships work when one person (the practitioner or teacher) has to play the professional role. Strong communication skills are fundamental to this relationship and to building a sense of community between home and nursery or school. This new book explores how practitioners can build warm, friendly and caring relationships with parents. It clearly explains the dynamics of a conversation, the theory behind how relationships are formed or destroyed and provides practical strategies to put this knowledge into practice. Grounded in the theories of attachment, transactional analysis and solution focused therapy this book will help you to: Increase your level of self awareness Improve your listening skills Understand 'how' to communicate with different parent 'types' Learn how to conduct an individual parent interview Develop professional care giving skills Full of practical examples and strategies, this text will be welcomed by early years practitioners and students who wish to develop the skills and confidence they need to effectively communicate with the parents of the children they care for.
The Student Practitioner in Early Childhood Studies by
The Student Practitioner in Early Childhood Studies: An essential guide to working with children provides accessible support and guidance for Early Childhood Studies students in higher education who may have little, if any, experience of relating to young children in the Early Years Foundation Stage and Key Stage One. With useful chapter summaries, activities and reflection points to help readers track their academic journey, this text draws on the experiences of students on the degree programme for the benefit of students new to practice. It will: prepare students for the challenges of practice provide a synthesis of academic knowledge and practice skills develop students' critically reflective thinking and understanding relational pedagogy and the needs of young children provide the emerging student practitioner in higher education with knowledge, skills, understanding and confidence to relate effectively with young children and adults in settings Fully supporting students' practice experience and development of their critical thinking, this helpful book synthesises theory and practice in an applied and critical manner. The authors cover a range of themes including critical reflection, relational pedagogy, confidence building, communication skills, personal and professional development and employability alongside academic writing and research skills. This textbook is essential reading for students on all Early Childhood degree programmes.
Child Observation for Early Childhood by
This is a key text for all those studying for degrees and foundation degrees in early childhood, early years and related disciplines and for Early Years Teacher candidates. It enables students to appreciate and understand the central role of observation for understanding, planning for and educating early years children. This new Third Edition has been updated in line with recent policy and legislation changes and includes: a new first chapter to help students to understand the context of early childhood in England and elsewhere an exploration of the essential elements of child observation that are important across the world new international case studies a research chapter that has been re-written to improve its accessibility to students more case studies throughout to link theory to practice.
Developing Reflective Practice in the Early Years by 
The Role of the Adult in Early Years Settings by 
Leadership in Early Childhood by 
The Reflective Early Years Practitioner by 
Observing Young Children by
This fully revised second edition of Observing, Assessing and Planning for Children in the Early Yearsprovides a detailed analysis of what is meant by the observation of young learners and why this is so vital to early years practitioners and students. In this accessible and insightful text, Sandra Smidt examines the various theories of how young children develop and learn, which have been put forward by thinkers and writers across time and place so the reader has a genuinely global view of early childhood. She then highlights how important it is for practitioners in schools, nurseries and settings to think carefully about what they have seen and heard in light of what they, as adults, already know about the children and their learning. Also included in this text is a helpful 'Try Your Hand' section where readers are invited to make their own judgements about what they have read, as well as a section on observing and assessing not only the nursery-aged children but also babies and toddlers.
Risk, Challenge and Adventure in the Early Years by 
Teaching and Learning in the Early Years by 
Key Persons in the Early Years by
Key Persons in the Early Yearsaims to explain what a Key Person is, the theory behind the approach and the practicalities of implementation. Practical in its approach and containing case studies as examples of reflective practice, this second edition details the role of the Key Person across all ages in the early years. This new edition has been fully updated in line with the EYFS and features a new chapter on the Key Person approach with 3-5 year olds. The book offers guidance on: making the Key Person approach work in your setting with realistic strategies; the benefits of this approach for children's well being, for their learning and to ensure equal chances for all children; potential challenges and problems and how to overcome them drawing on accounts from practitioners of their journey in implementing this approach. This book will be an essential text for practitioners and students who wish to fully understand the Key Person role and how it can benefit children, parents and their setting.
Treasure Baskets and Beyond by 
Reflective Practice in the Early Years by 
Good Practice in the Early Years by 
Reconceptualizing Leadership in the Early Years by 
Supporting Early Mathematical Development by 
Understanding Transitions in the Early Years by 
A Practical Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage by 
Themes and debates in early childhood by 
Mathematics in Early Years Education by 
Safeguarding Babies and Young Children by 
Early Childhood Studies by Please note: Be aware of the validity of websites. Non-academic websites will not be recognised/acknowledged as valid in assessment submissions.
