Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Introduction to Professional Values for Mental Health Nurses reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Principles of Biomedical Ethics by Building on the best-selling tradition of previous editions, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, provides a highly original, practical, and insightful guide to morality in the health professions. Acclaimed authors Tom L. Beauchamp and James F. Childress thoroughly develop and advocate for four principles that lie at the core of moral reasoning in health care: respect for autonomy, nonmaleficence, beneficence, and justice. Drawing from contemporary research--and integrating detailed case studies and vivid real-life examples and scenarios--they demonstrate how these prima facie principles can be expanded to apply to various conflicts and dilemmas, from how to deliver bad news to whether or not to withhold or withdraw life-sustaining treatments. Illuminating both theory and method throughout, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, considers what constitutes moral character and addresses the problem of moral status: what rights are due to people and animals, and when. It also examines the professional-patient relationship, surveys major philosophical theories--including utilitarianism, Kantianism, rights theory, and virtue theory--and describes methods of moral justification in bioethics. Ideal for courses in biomedical ethics, bioethics, and health care ethics, the text is enhanced by hundreds of annotated citations and a substantial introduction that clarifies key terms and concepts. NEW TO THE SEVENTH EDITION Ch. 1: A clarified and more concise treatment of the common morality and its distinction from both particular moralities and the broad descriptive use of the term "morality" Ch. 3: New sections on degrees of moral status and the moral significance of moral status Ch. 4: A revised section on the therapeutic use of placebos and expanded coverage of theories of autonomy and information-processing issues Ch. 5: New material on historical problems of underprotection and recent problems of overprotection in human subjects research Ch. 6: A new section on expanded access and continued access in research and a relocated and integrated discussion of surrogate decision making for incompetent patients Ch. 7: A distinction between traditional theories of justice and more recent theories like capabilities and well-being Ch. 8: A new section on clinical ethics and research ethics Ch. 9: A whole new section on virtue theory, which expands the account from Ch. 2 of the previous edition, and on rights theory Ch. 10: An extended and more in-depth discussion of the authors' theory of method and justification in bioethics A new Companion Website at www.oup.com/us/beauchamp featuring suggestions for effectively using the book in the classroom, possible syllabi and examination questions, additional readings, useful exercises, and cases for discussion
Call Number: eBook + 174.2 BEA
Publication Date: 2012
Understanding Ethics for Nursing Students by From the start of their nursing program, it is essential that nursing students understand the significance of ethics and how it will impact the decisions they make on a daily basis. Understanding Ethics for Nursing Students explains ethical ideas, theories, and concepts in simple to understand terms and focuses on day-to-day nursing situations that apply principles to practice. The book challenges the reader to consider their own values and where ethics fits into who they are and how they behave, and carefully unlocks this fascinating and important subject.
Call Number: 174.2 ELL
Publication Date: 2017
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
Call Number: 610.73072 ELL
Publication Date: 2018
Foundations of Nursing Practice 4th edn. by This is the key text for introductory level nursing, covering all the core areas. Practical and great value, it is comprehensive and also contains new chapters on cutting edge topics. Alongside an all-new companion website, this is an outstanding edition for CFP study from a tried and trusted team.
Call Number: eBook + 610.73 HOG
Publication Date: 2011
Nursing Practice by The second edition of the successful and definitive nursing textbook, Nursing Practice is designed to support the student throughout the entire nursing degree. Structured around the latest Nursing and Midwifery Council Code of Conduct, it explores a range of clinical and professional issues that the student will need to know, in one complete and accessible volume. Thoroughly updated and with full-colour, high quality illustrations throughout, this new edition features an additional chapter on the principles of supporting families and carers in practice, advice on revalidation, as well as a number of learning features and activities to help consolidate learning. Nursing Practice provides invaluable information to enable not just student nurses, but also those who are qualified and members of the extended nursing family, to develop a deeper understanding of their patients' needs and to ensure that they are practicing safely and effectively.
Call Number: eBook + 610.73 PEA
Publication Date: 2018
Fundamentals of Professional Practice for Nursing by The guidelines and skills required to become a nurse are always changing and it can be difficult to stay up-to-date with the current standards. This book has been specifically designed to address the main skills you need to meet NMC requirements. Becoming a Nurse will demystify what you need to know while preparing you to meet NMC standards and become a confident, practising professional. The book introduces the many subjects outside the biological which are none the less essential for both pre-registration and practising nurses. This new edition has been thoroughly updated throughout, and includes four new chapters on psychosocial concepts for nursing; sociological concepts for nursing; spiritual care; and preceptorship and transition. Like the previous edition the book also covers: Law, ethics and policy Management and leadership Communication, interpersonal skills and interprofessional working Evidence based practice Medicines management Public health and professional development Each chapter is packed full of case studies, discussion question and further readings to encourage critical thinking and reflection. It is an excellent resource to prepare you for your programme or to refresh your knowledge of NMC standards.
Call Number: eBook + 610.73 SEL
Publication Date: 2016
Psychiatric Ethics 4th edn. by Ethical issues are pivotal to the practice of psychiatry. Anyone involved in psychiatric practice and mental healthcare has to be aware of the range of ethical issues relevant to their profession. An increased professional commitment to accountability, in parallel with a growing "consumer" movement has paved the way for a creative engagement with the ethical movement.The bestselling Psychiatric Ethics has carved out a niche for itself as the major comprehensive text and core reference in the field, covering a range of complex ethical dilemmas which face clinicians and researchers in their everyday practice. This new edition takes a fresh look at recent trends and developments at the interface between ethics and psychiatric practice.Coming ten years after the third edition, the editors have observed several emerging aspects of psychiatric practice requiring coverage, as a result, 5 new chapters have been added, including cutting edge and controversial topics - such as neuroethics, trauma/PTSD, and the relationship between psychiatry and the pharmaceutical industry. All other chapters have been fully revised and updated. The book will continue to be essential reading for psychiatrists, psychologists, other mental health professionals, and bioethicists, as well as of interest to policy makers, managers and lawyers.
Call Number: 174.2 BLO
Publication Date: 2009
Legal Aspects of Nursing by Bridgit Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is the definitive guide to the essential law that nurses and healthcare professionals need to know. Written in an engaging style, the book shows the application of the law to everyday nursing situations showing the relevance and importance of legal considerations to nursing practice. The book covers the legal system and legal issues relating to medicine in general, before examining more specific areas, such as children and the elderly.
Call Number: eBook + 344.041 DIM
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
The Study Skills Toolkit for Students with Dyslexia by Packed with advice, checklists and templates this book will help you improve your study skills throughout your time at university. Written in a straightforward, no nonsense style the guidance given in this book can be broken down into manageable chunks allowing you to work at your own pace. Issues covered include: " Procrastination " Planning your assignment " Understanding your assignment question " Researching your assignment " Writing your assignment " Referencing your assignment " Managing your own well-being. Drawing on years of experience running study skills workshops, Monica Gribben has written this book to be as accessible as possible for students with dyslexia as they work through the many challenges that studying at university will present. Features and materials include: " Helpful Hints " Timetable cards " Assignment checklists " Frequently Asked Questions " Exercises to help students develop study skills strategies Downloadable electronic resources are available online to increase the accessibility of the materials provided. This book is the perfect guide for any student with dyslexia studying in higher education. Monica Gribben is a private dyslexia consultant and Dyslexia Adviser at Edinburgh Napier University.
Call Number: eBook + 371.9144 GRI
Publication Date: 2012
Interpersonal Relationships by Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts. UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications. UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication. UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing. UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis. Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills. Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship - all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery. NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
Call Number: eBook + 610.730699 ARN
Publication Date: 2020
Compassion, Caring and Communication by Compassion and caring are at the very heart of nursing ¿ possibly that¿s why you were attracted to the nursing profession in the first place. But what does compassionate caring really mean in nursing practice? Compassion, Caring and Communication: Skills for Nursing Practice is a practical book that guides you through the complex dimensions of caring. It considers the ways in which you connect with patients, families and co-workers, and the long-lasting impact of emotions and feelings. Using real-life narratives, case studies and reflection activities, the authors demonstrate how you can develop and maintain the empathy and communication skills you need to create effective, compassionate and caring partnerships. New to the second edition: Comprehensively updated throughout to reflect and highlight current professional pressures and public concerns around nursing practice. Includes a broader range of relevant case studies, discussions and scenarios to engage students and qualified nurses at all levels. Contains new content about the impacts of recent government reports and policies on nursing care, developing an awareness of contemporary issues and debates. The BOND caring framework has been revised and updated alongside new ¿caring indicators¿, to support the development of compassionate caring skills. All references have been updated using the latest sources and evidence-based studies.
Call Number: eBook + 610.730699 BAU
Publication Date: 2013
Psychiatric Nursing by Psychiatric nursing is fraught with more ethical dilemmas than any other area of nursing practice. Ethical dilemmas arise on a day-to-day, if not moment-to-moment basis. The need to confront, appreciate and attempt to resolve these dilemmas represents a major challenge for the practitioner, the educationalist and the researcher. This edited text discusses a range of ethical issues that affect psychiatric nurses. The authors emphasise the direct experience of ethical dilemmas and also provide support from theory and research. Each chapter is prefaced by an introduction to reflect the editors' view of the particular issues involved. This book will appeal to a wide cross-section of nurses and those who educate and manage them. The real-life scenarios which accompany each chapter will bring ethics to life for every reader.
Call Number: 174.29689 BAR
Publication Date: 1997
Critical Reflection in Practice by The terms 'critical reflection' and 'reflective practice' are at the heart of modern healthcare. But what do they really mean? Building on its ground-breaking predecessor, entitled Critical Reflection for Nursing and the Helping Professions, this heavily revised second edition analyses and explores reflection. It presents a structured method that will enable you to both challenge and develop your own practice. This book is the essential guide to critical reflection for all students, academics and practitioners.
Call Number: eBook + 610.7301 ROL
Publication Date: 2011