How to do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing by
From writing a review question to writing up a review, this practical book presents a useful workbook companion for students undertaking their first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement.
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Nursing Research by
This book answers all your students′ questions on the nursing research process. Restructured to follow their progress from being a novice nurse researcher to an experienced one, it gives them the knowledge to understand evidence-based practice and critical appraisal and to succeed in their own projects. Key features of the book are: Updated practical coverage of key methods such as conducting a survey and a section on the Research Excellence Framework International research examples in action Reflective exercises A companion website including access to journal articles and flashcards. It is essential reading for nursing undergraduates, postgraduates and all new researchers.
Handbook of Service User Involvement in Mental Health Research by
Service user involvement in mental health research poses specific challenges for both researchers and service users. The book describes the relevant background and principles underlying the concept of service user involvement in mental health research, providing relevant practical advice on how to engage with service users and how to build and maintain research collaboration on a professional level. It highlights common practical problems in service user involvement, based on experience from various countries with different social policies and suggests ways to avoid pitfalls and common difficulties. The book helps researchers decide which level of service user involvement will be adequate for their research activities and what will be feasible in view of the practicalities involved. It is also ideal for service users who are interested in becoming involved in research, providing relevant background information on the possibilities of involvement in professional research.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by
This best-selling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review for students in all areas of health and social care. It is vital reading for all those doing their undergraduate dissertation or any study which involves doing a literature review.
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance by
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance is perfect for nursing and healthcare students, as well as newly qualified practitioners and anyone looking for a refresher or introduction to research. Covering a broad range of topics gathered under key sections, this essential book combines informative diagrams and images to provide memorable information for students on one page, and accessible, clearly written text on the facing page. It includes information on a range of quantitative and qualitative research methods, the process of gaining ethical permission, conducting research with special groups including children, and successfully conducting reviews of the literature. Key features include: Clear and informative full colour illustrations throughout An emphasis on need-to-know research information for busy students and healthcare staff A wide range of research methods, currently used in modern healthcare research An impressive line-up of specialist and well-known experts in the field of health and nursing research This book provides quick access to the principles and reality of research and its implementation within the education and practice environment. It is essential reading for anyone in health service education and service settings with limited time who need to draw on research evidence.
Qualitative Methods for Health Research by
Packed with practical advice and research quick tips, this book is the perfect companion to your health research project. It not only explains the theory of qualitative health research so you can interpret the studies of others, but also showcases how to approach, start, maintain, and disseminate your own research. It will help you: Understand the role of the researcher Develop an effective research proposal Seek ethical approval Conduct interviews, observational studies, mixed methods, and web-based designs Use secondary and digital sources Code, manage, and analyse data Write up your results Whether you are studying public health, sports medicine, occupational therapy, nursing, midwifery, or another health discipline, the authors will be your surrogate supervisors and guide you through evaluating or undertaking any type of health research.
Searching Skills Toolkit by
Searching Skills Toolkit is an expert guide to help you find the clinical evidence you need more easily and effectively. Clearly presented with useful tips and advice, flow charts, diagrams and real-life clinical scenarios, it shows the best methods for finding quality evidence. From deciding where to start, to building a search strategy, refining results and critical appraisal, it is a step-by-step guide to the process of finding healthcare evidence, and is designed for use by all health and social care professionals. This second edition has been expanded with new chapters on searching for sources to support evidence-based management decision making and how to better enable your patients to make informed choices. It has also been fully updated to include new web sources, open source reference management software, and new training resources and exercises. Searching Skills Toolkit is an ideal reference for doctors, nurses, allied health professionals, managers and decision makers, researchers and students.
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by
If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
Using Research in Practice by
Latest research findings can provide an evidence base for health care practice which ultimately improves outcomes for patients. With so much published research out there, how do you find, evaluate and use the most relevant studies to shape your own health care practice? This friendly book walks you through the key stages of locating, selecting and evaluating research findings in health care. Offering an engaging, practice-based approach to an often daunting task, the book: - Explores how to appraise and apply data drawn from a range of quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods studies - Demonstrates how research findings can influence decision-making and can improve your own practice, as well as that of your team - Uses stimulating practice scenarios and worked examples to provide a transferrable blueprint for evidence based practice Drawing on the author's extensive research and teaching experience within the field of practice development, Using Research in Practice is an essential text for any health care student or practitioner seeking to evaluate and develop their own evidence base.
Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice Skills by
To deliver safe and effective patient care student nurses need to find, critique, and use evidence in every day nursing decisions and academic work, Consequently they need a new textbook that goes further than simply explaining research methods. Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Skills has beendeveloped as a one stop shop for research theory and evidence based practice skills for all aspects of the pre-registration nursing course - in both the classroom and on clinical placement.Taking a logical approach, the authors introduce the role of evidence based practice in nursing before explaining how research is produced and how students can find, read and critique it in order to make informed care decisions. Theory is applied to both academic and clinical work so readers caneasily see how to weigh up the evidence before applying it to a nursing decision. Useful for the entire undergraduate course, the content is mapped against the skills required of registered nurses and includes practical advice for completing final year academic assignments.Written in an easy to read, student friendly manner the authors have brought together trustworthy and reliable advice in a way that's easy to dip into any time you need it- from writing an assignment, devising a nursing plan, documenting your placement learning outcomes, or finding advice ondisseminating evidence for practice. This book has been truly designed to help student nurses become evidence based practitioners and to develop their nursing practice.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Nursing Evidence -Based Practice Skills features:* Practical tools such as checklists and notes to help students to really put the theory into practice* Web links to authoritative sources of research will quickly direct students to the best evidence* Hyperlinked bibliographies mean readers can easily access the referenced articles in the book* Audio interviews will put the subject in to context* Our interactive glossary will help newcomers to the subject to understand the language of research
The Research Process in Nursing by
Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
Nursing Research by
Find out why this book is a student favorite! Providing a solid foundation in nursing research and evidence-based practice, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 10th Edition offers balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand approach. This edition features new content on trending topics, including the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN), as well as improved usability, user-friendly learning aids, and full-text research articles to help you better understand how to apply research to everyday clinical practice. Balanced coverage explores the nursing research process and the EBP process, as well as qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. User-friendly writing style and engaging learning aids throughout the text include full-text research examples, Helpful Hints, EBP Tips, IPE Highlights, Research Vignettes, Clinical Judgment Challenges, Critical Appraisal Criteria, and more! Innovative format integrates examples from current, high-quality, relevant full-text research articles. "All-star" team of contributors is a widely respected collection of experts in nursing research and EBP. NEW and UPDATED! Full-text research articles, including a population health study and a quality improvement study, serve as foundational examples throughout the text and Research Vignettes illustrate the types of high-quality research and evidence-based practice (EBP) projects that are driving advances in nursing practice. NEW! Content on trending topics includes: Precision science and tailored healthcare based on evidence Big data Secondary analysis Data collection using social media and technology Focus groups Descriptive qualitative methods Genetics, genomics, and "omics" Social determinants of health and population health Healthy People 2030 The new U.S. Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health The NIH funding roadmap IPEC Core Competencies The opioid crisis HPV NEW! Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) content introduces the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model and includes Clinical Judgment Challenges in each chapter to help prepare students for the NGN. NEW! Expanded coverage of the latest developments in the field includes: Content on research methods (scoping, rapid realist, etc.) and guidelines (evidence- versus expert-based) other than meta-analysis. Content on mixed-methods research that reflects the growing emphasis on mixed research methodologies. Content on quality improvement (including the National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators [NDNQI], magnet status, and the Triple Aim) that addresses the growing importance of evidence-based quality improvement initiatives in clinical settings. NEW! Improved usability, with more illustrations, larger table type, increased use of bulleted text, enhanced readability, italicized in-text research examples for greater visibility, and better-aligned learning outcomes and chapter-ending key points make it easier for students to locate, understand, and retain information.
Nursing Research by
Learning about research can be a daunting task. This best-selling core text book offers a comprehensive introduction to important research concepts, processes and issues. The author guides readers who are new to research but also introduces new debates and perspectives to those with some experience wanting to develop their skills further.This popular book equips students with the information and skills they need to read, comprehend and critique research. Whether an undergraduate taking an introductory research module, a postgraduate nursing student embarking on a project, or an experienced practitioner wanting to sharpen your skills, Parahoo's accessible writing style will ensure readers are able to utilise research throughout their study and in everyday practice.New to this Edition:- Three new chapters on qualitative methods, introducing grounded theory, phenomenology and ethnography- Updated narrative and research examples to ensure content and application is relevant
Essentials of Nursing Research by 
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's The McGuffey Longevity Award In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry. Learn more about John W. Creswell's qualitative research and mixed methods research titles as well as his 2017 spring/summer mixed methods research workshops! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Qualitative Methods for Health Research by
Packed with practical advice and research quick tips, this book is the perfect companion to your health research project. It not only explains the theory of qualitative health research so you can interpret the studies of others, but also showcases how to approach, start, maintain, and disseminate your own research. It will help you: Understand the role of the researcher Develop an effective research proposal Seek ethical approval Conduct interviews, observational studies, mixed methods, and web-based designs Use secondary and digital sources Code, manage, and analyse data Write up your results Whether you are studying public health, sports medicine, occupational therapy, nursing, midwifery, or another health discipline, the authors will be your surrogate supervisors and guide you through evaluating or undertaking any type of health research.