Leadership and Management in Healthcare by
The Third Edition of this best-selling text supports readers on their journey from emerging registered healthcare professional to competent care manager. Action points, case studies, and strong practice guidelines enable readers to understand how leadership and management theory applies to the care delivered in a wide range of care settings. Leadership and Management in Healthcare is essential for nursing, health, and social care students taking modules on leadership, management, and transition to practice in their final year, as well as for newly qualified professionals or those seeking to refresh their skills.
Interprofessional Working in Health and Social Care by
There will always be a need for professionals to work collaboratively if they are to provide the highest standard of care. Interprofessional working encourages practitioners to understand the roles of other professionals and to learn from each other, as well as from service users and carers, to ensure the full benefit of this collaboration is realised. It is an essential element of both education and practice for today's professionals. Interprofessional Working in Health and Social Care discusses the rationale, skills and conditions required for interprofessional working. In addition, it provides an overview of the roles and perspectives of different health professionals across a broad range of expertise: education, housing, medicine, midwifery, nursing, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, police, probation, radiography, social work and youth work. The second edition: - Offers a broad variety of case studies from a range of fi elds and settings - Includes a new chapter dedicated to interprofessional working with service users and carers - Looks forward, offering brand new content on new and emerging roles such as specialist paramedics and approved mental health practitioners This book is a valuable tool for students and practitioners across the health and social care discipline, employing engaging case studies and reflective activities to support learning about interprofessional and interagency collaboration. Erratum: please note the term 'Approved Mental Health Practitioner' has been used in error, instead of 'Approved Mental Health Professional'. This will be corrected as soon as possible on the next reprint and the e-book version has been corrected.
Essentials of nursing leadership and management by
Transition from student to professional with confidence."Stepping out of the classroom and into professional nursing practice can be stressful. This handy guide will build your confidence and prepare you to meet the challenges you'll face as a new staff nurse in today's dynamic health-care environment. You'll explore your future responsibilities as a leader and a manager and the workplace issues and trends that you'll encounter in practice.
Workplace Mental Health Manual for Nurse Managers by
This text provides a comprehensive overview, if not thesis, of the contributing factors to workplace stress and how to revisit them] and our own mental health. How can nurses and health care workplaces expect to offer health and healing when such basic foundational human dynamics of mental health are not addressed? This work opens the door to both the dynamics and the deep dimensions of the root issues facing humanity and our places of work and play." √>= Jean Watson, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN (From the Foreword) This is a wonderful addition to leadership and management personnel and a good resource for any nurse. Too often nurses hide these issues and we need to make others aware of what can occur and take steps to bring these conditions out in the open. It is definitely a worthwhile addition to any nursing library... Weighted Numerical Score: 100 - 5 Stars " -- Doody's Book Reviews Today's health care landscape has brought many changes, challenges, and even turmoil to the workplace; stressors that can threaten the mental health of even the most stalwart and resilient of nurses. Targeting the complex set of stressors found in health care work environments, this unique, practical resource describes the impact of bullying, harassment, addictions, violence, and other triggers and the resulting adverse physiological and behavioral responses in these facilities. It presents evidence-based strategies to help health care professionals cope with unhealthy work environments. The book describes the characteristics of health care work environments that promote stress at personal and organizational levels, and their impact on the mental health of individuals working in them. It offers insight into individual and group dynamics and the role of the health care institution, workplace management, and individual employee in fostering both healthy and unhealthy work environments. The book investigates a variety of situations that can erode mental health among coworkers and offers evidence-based improvement strategies for creating healthier, more respectful workplace environments. Case studies; specific program development initiatives; and examples of personal, professional, and organizational approaches to ameliorate adverse behaviors are included. Readers of this book will be well armed to cope with any unprofessional, disrespectful behavior on the part of their professional colleagues. It will be useful in undergraduate and graduate nursing programs and health care leadership and management courses, and as a quick reference for all health care professionals dealing with mental health problems in the workplace. Key Features: Presents proven strategies for improving mental health in all health care work environments Discusses theory and philosophical underpinnings for mental health in the workplace, including good business sense Provides case studies and precedent-setting examples Explores policy implications and program development initiatives that can be used to improve workplace environments Addresses legal and ethical obligations for facilitating workplace mental health
Workplace Mental Health Manual for Nurse Managers by
"This text provides a comprehensive overview, if not thesis, of the contributing factors to workplace stress and how to revisit them] and our own mental health. How can nurses and health care workplaces expect to offer health and healing when such basic foundational human dynamics of mental health are not addressed? This work opens the door to both the dynamics and the deep dimensions of the root issues facing humanity and our places of work and play." o Jean Watson, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN (From the Foreword) "This is a wonderful addition to leadership and management personnel and a good resource for any nurse. Too often nurses hide these issues and we need to make others aware of what can occur and take steps to bring these conditions out in the open. It is definitely a worthwhile addition to any nursing library... Weighted Numerical Score: 100 - 5 Stars " -- Doody's Book Reviews Todayis health care landscape has brought many changes, challenges, and even turmoil to the workplace; stressors that can threaten the mental health of even the most stalwart and resilient of nurses. Targeting the complex set of stressors found in health care work environments, this unique, practical resource describes the impact of bullying, harassment, addictions, violence, and other triggers and the resulting adverse physiological and behavioral responses in these facilities. It presents evidence-based strategies to help health care professionals cope with unhealthy work environments. The book describes the characteristics of health care work environments that promote stress at personal and organizational levels, and their impact on the mental health of individuals working in them. It offers insight into individual and group dynamics and the role of the health care institution, workplace management, and individual employee in fostering both healthy and unhealthy work environments. The book investigates a variety of situations that can erode mental health among coworkers and offers evidence-based improvement strategies for creating healthier, more respectful workplace environments. Case studies; specific program development initiatives; and examples of personal, professional, and organizational approaches to ameliorate adverse behaviors are included. Readers of this book will be well armed to cope with any unprofessional, disrespectful behavior on the part of their professional colleagues. It will be useful in undergraduate and graduate nursing programs and health care leadership and management courses, and as a quick reference for all health care professionals dealing with mental health problems in the workplace. Key Features: Presents proven strategies for improving mental health in all health care work environments Discusses theory and philosophical underpinnings for mental health in the workplace, including good business sense Provides case studies and precedent-setting examples Explores policy implications and program development initiatives that can be used to improve workplace environments Addresses legal and ethical obligations for facilitating workplace mental health
Organizational Culture and Leadership by
The book that defined the field, updated and expanded for today's organizations Organizational Culture and Leadership is the classic reference for managers and students seeking a deeper understanding of the inter-relationship of organizational culture dynamics and leadership. Author Edgar Schein is the 'father' of organizational culture, world-renowned for his expertise and research in the field; in this book, he analyzes and illustrates through cases the abstract concept of culture and shows its importance to the management of organizational change. This new fifth edition shows how culture has become a popular concept leading to a wide variety of research and implementation by various organizations and expands the focus on the role of national cultures in influencing culture dynamics, including some practical concepts for how to deal with international differences. Special emphasis is given to how the role of leadership varies with the age of the organization from founding, through mid-life to old age as the cultural issues vary at each stage. How culture change is managed at each stage and in different types of organizations is emphasized as a central concern of leader behavior.. This landmark book is considered the defining resource in the field. Drawing on a wide range of research, this fifth edition contains 25 percent new and revised material to provide the most relevant new concepts and perspectives alongside the basic culture model that has helped to define the field. Dig into assumptions and typologies to decipher organizational culture Learn how culture begins, thrives, or dies with leadership Manage cultural change effectively and appropriately Understand the leader's role in managing disparate groups The resurgence of interest in organizational culture has spurred an awakening in research, and new information is continuously coming to light. Outdated practices are being replaced by more effective methods, and the resulting shift affects organizations everywhere. Organizational Culture and Leadership is an essential resource for scholars, consultants and leaders seeking continuous improvement in the face of today's business realities.
Patient Safety Culture by
Researchers, healthcare managers and human factors practitioners who need to know the latest developments within the theory and application of Patient Safety Culture within healthcare should read this book. It brings together contributions from the most prominent researchers and practitioners in the field of PSC and covers the background to work on safety culture, the dominant theories and concepts within PSC, examples of PSC tools, methods of assessment and their application, and details the future challenges facing this area.