Skip to main content

Creating durable links: Creating durable links

How to create stable links to use in your LearnUCS modules

Creating links

Creating durable links to articles and eBooks

If a resource is available electronically it should be linked to rather than adding the content directly to Learn.  This way you are less likely to infringe on copyright or individual license agreements.

This page provides guidance to academic staff who want to create links to Library resources in Learn

For further guidance on using links please contact the Library

Creating links to journal articles (by database)

Creating links to eBooks & eBook chapters

eBooks & eBook chapters

(Dawsonera and Ebook Central)

Creating links to databases

Databases

All the links on our A-Z of databases page are persistent links meaning you can simply copy and paste any you would like to use

  1. From the A-Z list find the database you would like to link to
  2. Right click on the database title/name
  3. Select 'Copy link address'

The technical bit

Off-campus URL creator

When creating links to publications from library databases in most cases copying the URL from the browser's address window will work but you need to ensure that any link you use contains a University of Suffolk proxy. Generally this is found at the beginning of a URL, for example: (https://login.library.ucs.ac.uk/login?url=) but it may also be within the url: (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.login.library.ucs.ac.uk/doi/10.1111/j.1939-1676.2009.0316.x/pdf)

If you find a stable URL from a University of Suffolk-only resource that does not include the required University of Suffolk proxy you can use the URL creator below to make a link

Browser does not support script.



e.g. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1348419



This link is accessible to off-campus computers/users with their University of Suffolk username and password

 

Please ensure the link is working before you add it to Learn University of Suffolk by clicking ‘Visit this URL’ link or copying and pasting the URL into the address bar of your web browser.

Creating links from summon search results

Summon

Everything indexed in Summon has a persistent link so you can simply search Summon, right-click on the result you need, and copy the URL. It will be in the form:

http://ucs.summon.serialssolutions.com/2.0.0/link/0/ followed by a long string of characters