Social Policy in Britain (Print copy) by
In this timely revision of his best-selling introductory textbook, Pete Alcock has been joined by Margaret May to bring you an essential up-to-date guide on social policy. Continuing the accessible approach of the previous editions, Social Policy in Britain explores the major topics of social policy in a clear and digestible way. By breaking down the complexities behind policy developments and their outcomes, it demonstrates the relationship between core areas of policy and the society we live in. Building on the success of previous editions, this book: * incorporates the latest policy changes, research evidence and debates in the field * includes coverage of devolved policy making in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland * offers a clearly structured guide for study that is packed with engaging learning features. Written by two authorities in the field, this is the leading textbook on social policy for students studying at all levels.
Social Policy in Britain (E-book) by
In this fourth edition of the best-selling core introductory textbook, Pete Alcock and Margaret May provide an essential up-to-date guide on social policy. Continuing with the unbeaten narrative style and accessible approach of the previous editions, the authors explore the major topics of social policy in a clear and digestible way. By breaking down the complexities behind policy developments and their outcomes, it demonstrates the relationship between core areas of policy and the society we live in. Engaging, accessible and comprehensive, this is the ideal book for introductory courses on Social Policy and the perfect companion for practitioners who need to keep up to date and informed about the latest developments in the field.
The Student's Companion to Social Policy. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This fully updated and expanded edition of the bestselling Student's Companion to Social Policy charts the latest developments, research, challenges, and controversies in the field in a concise, authoritative format. Provides students with the analytical base from which to investigate and evaluate key concepts, perspectives, policies, and outcomes at national and international levels Features a new section on devolution and social policy in the UK; enhanced discussion of international and comparative issues; and new coverage of 'nudge'-based policies, austerity politics, sustainable welfare, working age conditionality, social movements, policy learning and transfer, and social policy in the BRIC countries Offers essential information for anyone studying social policy, from undergraduates on introductory courses to those pursuing postgraduate or professional programmes Accompanied by updated online resources to support independent learning and skill development with chapter overviews, study questions, guides to key sources and career opportunities, a key term glossary, and more Written by a team of experts working at the forefront of social policy
The Student's Companion to Social Policy. 5th edn. (Online) by
This fully updated and expanded edition of the bestselling Student's Companion to Social Policy charts the latest developments, research, challenges, and controversies in the field in a concise, authoritative format. Provides students with the analytical base from which to investigate and evaluate key concepts, perspectives, policies, and outcomes at national and international levels Features a new section on devolution and social policy in the UK; enhanced discussion of international and comparative issues; and new coverage of 'nudge'-based policies, austerity politics, sustainable welfare, working age conditionality, social movements, policy learning and transfer, and social policy in the BRIC countries Offers essential information for anyone studying social policy, from undergraduates on introductory courses to those pursuing postgraduate or professional programmes Accompanied by updated online resources to support independent learning and skill development with chapter overviews, study questions, guides to key sources and career opportunities, a key term glossary, and more Written by a team of experts working at the forefront of social policy
Social Policy: an introduction. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
What are social policies? How are social policies created and implemented? Why do certain policies exist? The fourth edition of this highly respected textbook provides a clear andengaging introduction to social policy. The book has been thoroughly updated to include: Changes in social policy introduced by the Coalition government Incorporation of an international perspective throughout, as well as anew chapter: The global social policy environment Updated pedagogy to stimulate thought and learning Comprehensive glossary Social Policy is essential reading for students beginning or building on theirstudy of social policy or welfare. The wide-ranging coverage of topics meansthat the book holds broad appeal for a number of subject areas includinghealth, social policy, criminology, education, social work and sociology. "This textbook has always been a useful teaching resource because it combines substantial and engaging analysis with ''stand alone'' extracts. The new edition adds a chapter on global social policy, updates on the Coalition Government and guides to what is in the book. The added activities are well thought out and can be adapted or expanded to suit the needs of particular students." Hedley Bashforth, Teaching Fellow in Social Policy, University of Bath, UK "Social Policy: An Introduction, now in its fourth edition and eleventh year, will remain a core social policy text on reading lists across the country due to its well written and comprehensive nature. Completely revised, it has been updated and extended to reflect contemporary developments in social policy, including the policy implications of the Coalition Government, and now includes a chapter on global social policy environments reflecting the continued internationalisation of social policy debates. Updated pedagogical features, which include activities for the reader, learning outcomes at the start of each chapter and detailed case studies throughout, enhance this thought-provoking and stimulating text." Dr Liam Foster, University of Sheffield, UK "This book provides, as it states, an introduction to the field and does so by adopting a highly attractive pedagogic style that evidences, at every turn, a sensitivity to the approaches to learning of contemporary students. Although it is tailored to meet the needs of primarily first year specialist students, it is equally suitable for those on other programmes who are taking an option in social policy. Because the book anticipates theoretical issues and debates and students will confront as they progress to a more advanced level, it will also retain value as be a longer-term reference resource. I will certainly be citing it on a second year core course I teach. It is immediately clear that a great deal of thought has been invested into designing this book. What Blakemore and Warwick-Booth have produced is a clearly laid out and well-structured analysis of impressive breadth that is a readily accessible learning instrument both for student and teacher. Importantly, it provides numerous opportunities to experiment with new ways of approaching the teaching of the subject. Each chapter sets out clearly expressed learning outcomes with a fair balance of theoretical and empirical concerns. Visual displays in box material, graphs and flow charts provides a most effective means for absorbing the large amount of ground covered. There is good incorporation of statistical material and up to date policy developments. Students are also encouraged to exploit useful links to internet and other media sites. Particularly attractive from a teaching point of view are the range of tasks set for the students which are aimed clearly at rapid capacity building. Chapters end by listing the key terms and concepts addressed to aid revision of material. This is repeated in the glossary at the end of the book. Most of the materials are derived from the British context, but there is also a secondary focus on EU member states and beyond, as well as a good chapter on global social policy." Steen Mangen, Department of Social Policy, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK
Parental Rights and Responsibilities: analysying social policy and lived experiences. by
This timely book examines parental rights to 'welfare state support' and parental responsibilities for child welfare in relation to recent social policy agendas pursued by the Labour government in the UK in the context of child well-being research, state welfare analysis and sociological research about parental perspectives and the multiple contexts of parenting and childhood. It calls for notions of parental rights and responsibilities which are more responsive to the diversity of parental perspectives and parenting contexts. The book is valuable reading for students, researchers and practitioners in social policy and child and family services.
Parental Rights and Responsibilities for child, family and social well-being. (E-book) by
This timely book examines parental rights to 'welfare state support' and parental responsibilities for child welfare in relation to recent social policy agendas pursued by the Labour government in the UK in the context of child well-being research, state welfare analysis and sociological research about parental perspectives and the multiple contexts of parenting and childhood. It calls for notions of parental rights and responsibilities which are more responsive to the diversity of parental perspectives and parenting contexts. The book is valuable reading for students, researchers and practitioners in social policy and child and family services.
An Introduction to Social Policy. (Print copy). by
An Introduction to Social Policy explores essential welfare topics, themes and issues for students studying social policy or related disciplines such as sociology, social work, or nursing and social care. - Part One examines key concepts including welfare, social justice, diversity and health and well-being. - Part Two explores policy issues in relation to key stages of the lifecourse. - Part Three takes a comparative perspective, discussing the international issues and supranational bodies that impact on British and European social policy today. The concise chapters define the key terms and outline the central debates, giving students a fundamental foundation for their degree. Chapter overviews and summaries guide readers through the book, and questions for reflection conclude each chapter to test readers' knowledge. This book is essential reading for all students of social policy and the social sciences, as well as those taking joint honours programmes in social work, sociology, criminology, politics and social care. Peter Dwyer is Professor of Social Policy at the University of Salford. Sandra Shaw is Senior Lecturer in Social Policy at the University of Salford.
An introduction to social policy (E-book) by 
Understanding Early Years Policy. 4th edn. by
Previously known as Baldock: Understanding Early Years Policy is in its Fourth Edition. This best-selling textbook continues to provide fully updated coverage of all the latest developments in early years policy such as the revised Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), SEND Code of Practice 0-25 years and the Children and Families Act 2014. Exploring how policy is made, implemented, analysed and developed over time this book presents a complete overview of early years policy and an evaluation of its ongoing impact on practice. This Fourth Edition has been significantly updated to include: Full coverage of the 2010-2015 UK Coalition Government. A comprehensive timeline of Early Years policy Guidance on how to research policy for yourself More international case studies, now including the US and Scandinavia. New material on how to manage policy changes as a practitioner An expandedfocus of the devolved countries within the UK This text is an essential read for early years students at all levels, and early years practitioners.
Child Welfare and Social Policy: an essential reader. (Print copy) by
This book provides an essential one-stop introduction to the key concepts, issues, policies and practices affecting child welfare, with particular emphasis on the changing nature of the relationship between child welfare and social policy. No other book brings together such a wide selection of material to form an attractive and indispensable teaching and learning resource. Child welfare and social policy provides readers with an historical overview of child welfare in England and Wales; high quality contributions from leading authorities in the field; discursive introductions to each section that set individual chapters in the broader context of childhood studies and case study material to bring discussions to life.Key topics covered include morality and child welfare; relations between law, medicine, social work, social theory and child welfare; children's rights and democratic citizenship and children as raw material for 'social investment'.Child welfare and social policy is invaluable reading for students and academics in social policy, sociology, education and social work. It is also a useful resource for health and social work professionals wishing to follow current debates in theory and practice.
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Journals/Periodicals
Childhood
Children and Society
Children’s Geographies
Journal of Social Policy
The SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Policy (E-book) by 
Children, Childhood and English Society, 1880-1990 (Print copy) by
This book is intended to be a guide to the burgeoning literature on the history of childhood. Harry Hendrick reviews the most important debates and the main findings of a number of historians on a range of topics including the changing social constructions of childhood, child-parent relations, social policy, schooling, leisure and the thesis that modern childhood is 'disappearing'. The intention of this concise study is to provide readers with a reliable account of the evolution of some of the most important developments in adult-child relations during the last one hundred years. The author draws his material not only from historians but also from sociologists, anthropologists, psychologists and children's rights activists. Thus he successfully shows how much of our 'modern' understanding of childhood and of children results from both an historical and a social scientific understanding.
Beyond Every Child Matters by
The United Kingdom's Conservative/Liberal Democrat coalition government 2010#65533;15 was responsible for some of the most radical changes to education policy for decades. Beyond Every Child Matters provides a critical overview of developments in education and social welfare policy in the years following the 2010 general election. It explores the conceptual background of a #65533;Big Society#65533; used to frame Coalition policy and shows how the underlying spectre of neoliberalism both creates issues for policy attention and undermines ensuing policy solutions. This book charts those changes which have impacted upon education and schooling in England and Wales and is divided into two parts. Part I analyses Conservative philosophical thought and policy discussions that underpin the social, welfare and education policies introduced under the Conservative-led coalition government of 2010#65533;15 and the subsequent Conservative administration since 2015. Part II looks at these policies in detail and concludes with a discussion of possible alternative policy approaches. Set against a backdrop of unprecedented economic crisis and austerity, Beyond Every Child Matters will be of interest to students of education and welfare policy, academics and researchers.
Early childhood studies: a multidisciplinary and holistic introduction. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Early Childhood Studies. 3rd edn. (E-book) by
A new edition of the ground-breaking, popular and well-respected textbook that supports the study of early childhood from an holistic and multi-disciplinary perspective. The book uniquely balances the need for professionals and students to understand theory, research and policy in relation to young children's lives, giving you the ability to take an in-depth and analytical approach to understanding key early childhood issues and concepts based on children's rights. - Takes a multi-disciplinary approach to Early Childhood Studies, including sociology, health, psychology, genetics and social work. - Fully up-to-date with legislation, policy and research development. - Includes guidance on the skills required to successfully study early childhood at degree level. - Provides suggestions for further reading to extend the reader's knowledge and understanding of key topics. The book draws on practical examples to promote a deeper and critical discussion about working with young children and their families and particularly the ways in which early years professionals must embrace partnership working and collaboration.
The Evolution of the British Welfare State : a history of social policy since the industrial revolution. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
An established introductory textbook that provides students with a full overview of British social policy and social ideas since the late eighteenth century. Derek Fraser's authoritative account is the essential starting point for anyone learning about how and why Britain created the first Welfare State, and its development into the twenty-first century. This is an ideal core text for dedicated modules on the History of British Social Policy or the British Welfare State - or a supplementary text for broader modules on Modern British History or British Political History - which may be offered at all levels of an undergraduate History, Politics or Sociology degree. In addition it is a crucial resource for students who may be studying the history of the British Welfare State for the first time as part of a taught postgraduate degree in British History, Politics or Social Policy.
Children, Welfare and the State by
`A good foundation for those intent on further research' - ChildRight `It is intelligent, lively, clear, and well written' - Professor Hugh Cunningham, University of Kent at Canterbury `This is an excellent source book which is up-to-date and covers key debates on childhood in an accessible way' - Professor Andy Furlong, University of Glasgow In recent years there has been a growing interest in the study of `children' and `childhood' within the social sciences. Children, Welfare and the State provides readers with a comprehensive critical introduction to modern childhood studies. In addition to engaging with the broad theoretical debates within the `new' sociology of childhood and developmental psychology the book: - Explores key questions in relation to researching childhood, children's agency and social constructionist perspectives; - Traces historical and contemporary developments in social policy responses to children and childhood; - Examines the primary sites of state intervention in regulating and shaping children's lives. - Re-states the primary significance of social class and other structural divisions in understanding children's experiences of childhood; - Systematically assesses the impact of inequality and poverty on children and childhood. Children, Welfare and the State has been tailored to appeal to those studying children and childhood within social policy, sociology, psychology, criminology, history, social work and youth and community work courses.
Children, Welfare and the State: a history of social policy since the industrial revolution. 4th edn. (E-book) by
`A good foundation for those intent on further research' - ChildRight `It is intelligent, lively, clear, and well written' - Professor Hugh Cunningham, University of Kent at Canterbury `This is an excellent source book which is up-to-date and covers key debates on childhood in an accessible way' - Professor Andy Furlong, University of Glasgow In recent years there has been a growing interest in the study of `children' and `childhood' within the social sciences. Children, Welfare and the State provides readers with a comprehensive critical introduction to modern childhood studies. In addition to engaging with the broad theoretical debates within the `new' sociology of childhood and developmental psychology the book: - Explores key questions in relation to researching childhood, children's agency and social constructionist perspectives; - Traces historical and contemporary developments in social policy responses to children and childhood; - Examines the primary sites of state intervention in regulating and shaping children's lives. - Re-states the primary significance of social class and other structural divisions in understanding children's experiences of childhood; - Systematically assesses the impact of inequality and poverty on children and childhood. Children, Welfare and the State has been tailored to appeal to those studying children and childhood within social policy, sociology, psychology, criminology, history, social work and youth and community work courses.
Political Philosophy: a beginners' guide for students and politicians. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Politicians invoke grand ideas: social justice, democracy, community, liberty, equality. But what do these ideas really mean? How can politicians across the political spectrum appeal to the same values? This fourth edition of Adam Swift's highly readable introduction to political philosophy answers these important questions, and includes new material on issues such as nationalism, immigration and multiculturalism, as well as updated guides to further reading. This lively and accessible book is ideal for students, but it also brings the insights of the world's leading political philosophers to a wide general audience. Using plenty of examples, it equips readers to think for themselves about the ideas that shape political life. Democracy works best when both politicians and voters move beyond rhetoric to think clearly and carefully about the values and principles that should govern their society. But clear thinking is difficult in an age when established orthodoxies have fallen by the wayside and political debate is becoming increasingly tribal and raucous. Bringing political philosophy out of the ivory tower and within the reach of all, this book provides us with tools to cut through the complexities and penetrate the smokescreens of modern politics. In so doing, it makes a valuable contribution to the democratic process and this new edition will continue to be essential reading for students of political philosophy and theory.