Below is some suggested reading. A full reading list is included in the Dissertation handbook.
Doing Your Early Years Research Project. (Print copy) by
This bestselling guide to undertaking your Early Years research project takes the reader on a practical step-by-step journey. Breaking down each section into accessible and digestible topics, and accompanied by a multitude of practical examples, case studies, research summaries and key points, the author brings this process to life. The updated and revised fourth edition includes: Useful additional resources at the end of each chapter Extended material on the child's voice within research Signposted glossary terms throughout the text Updated website materials for further study From learning how to structure and organise your project, through to the final presentation and written report of your findings, this is the essential guide and companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students throughout their early childhood and social science courses. Guy Roberts-Holmes will be discussing key ideas from Doing Your Early Years Research Project: A Step-by-Step Guide in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
Developing Effective Research Proposals, 3rd edn.. (Print copy) by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy. This is your step-by-step guide to success with your research proposal. The new Third Edition covers every section of the proposal, telling you all you need to know on how to structure it, bring rigor to your methods section, impress your readers, and get your proposal accepted. Developing Effective Research Proposals provides an authoritative and accessible guide for anyone tackling a research proposal. It is perfect for students in education, nursing, health, and across the social sciences.
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Unlike any other book this teaches students how to generate their own ideas and develop them into original research projects. Using examples from all disciplines, it not only teaches students how to plan and research using all the qualitative and quantitative techniques and instruments, but also how to construct arguments and use evidence and language consistently. Throughout it emphasizes that writing is the most difficult form of thinking and dissertations are a test of our ability both to think and write clearly.
Your Undergraduate Dissertation: the essential guide for success. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy here 'This is a refreshing and inspiring book, of equal value to both the anxious and the ambitious student' - Lucinda Becker, Department of English Literature, University of Reading In the second edition of this best-selling guide, Nicholas Walliman provides expert, step-by-step advice on managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. This book takes you through each stage of your dissertation, answering questions including: How do I choose an appropriate topic for my dissertation? How do I write a research proposal? What's a literature review, how do I conduct it and how do I write it up? How can I ensure I'm an ethical researcher? What methods of data collection are appropriate for my research question? Once I have collected my data, what do I do? What's the best structure for my dissertation? Full of examples from real student projects, interdisciplinary case studies and illustrated with cartoons to make you smile along the way, this book will tell you all you need to know to write a brilliant dissertation. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
The Literature Review: a step by step guide for students. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs. This second edition of Diana Ridley's bestselling book provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, using cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice. Ridley outlines practical strategies for conducting a systematic search of the available literature, reading and note taking and writing up your literature review as part of an undergraduate research project, Masters dissertation or PhD thesis. New to this edition are: Examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines A new chapter on conducting systematic reviews Increased guidance on evaluating the quality of online sources and online literature Enhanced guidance in dealing with copyright and permissions issues. Visit the Companion Website for The Literature Review This book also comes with a companion website containing a wide range of examples of successful literature reviews from various academic disciplines. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Dissertations and Project Reports: a step by step guide. (Print copy) by
Faced with your dissertation or major project and need some help getting started? Thinking about how your final project will affect your overall grades? Then read on. Tapping into her tried and tested formula for learning, bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook, Stella Cottrell, takes you step-by-step through the key stages of planning, developing, researching and writing up your dissertation or project report. Whether you are an undergraduate or a postgraduate, this guide: - Offers comprehensive coverage of the major components essential to producing strong dissertations and project reports - Gives unique emphasis to the importance of project management skills - Gets you involved through interactive activities, checklists and engaging student examples Most importantly, it offers the support you need at every stage and will help ensure that the creation of your academic masterpiece is an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
The complete guide to writing your dissertation.: advice, techniques and insights to help you enhance your grades (Print copy) by 
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation : a road map from beginning to end. 4th edn. IPrint copy) by
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation offers comprehensive step-by-step guidance and practical tools for navigating the personal and professional challenges that can arise during the qualitative dissertation journey. Authors Linda Dale Bloomberg and Maria Volpe skillfully blend the conceptual, theoretical, and practical, empowering readers to successfully master both the content and the process of their qualitative dissertations. The Fourth Edition has been thoroughly updated to respond to developments in the field, allowing the book to have wider application for dissertation work within the evolving world of qualitative inquiry. Included in this edition is a new chapter titled "Achieving Alignment Throughout Your Dissertation," a greater focus on how all qualitative traditions can encompass activist research and social justice inquiry, and enhanced coverage on the role of the researcher, emphasizing the importance of reflexivity and approaching research critically.
Social research methods 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Research Design: qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approaches. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Introducing Research Methodology (Print copy) by
Lecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here In the Second Edition of this textbook designed for new researchers, Uwe Flick takes readers through the process of producing a research project. The book gives readers the fundamental data collection and analysis skills that they need for their first project, as well as a good understanding of the research process as a whole. It covers both quantitative and qualitative methods, and contains plenty of real-life examples from the author's own research. The book will help readers to answer questions such as: why do social research in the first place? how do I develop a researchable question? what is a literature review and how do I conduct one? how could I collect and analyze data? what if I want to do my research online? Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Social Research Methodology (Print copy) by
Today's students of social science must understand a variety of research methods. This new edition fully explores the logic of research, whilst aiding a critical understanding of practical, evidence based work. With new chapters, an original framework and updated examples, this book continues to be a primary resource for undergraduates.
Interpreting Qualitative Data: a guide to the principles of qualitative research. 5th edn. (Print copy). by
In this fifth edition of his field-defining text, David Silverman, a true guru of qualitative research, walks the reader through the basics of gathering and analyzing qualitative data. The book offers beginners unrivalled hands-on guidance to help them get the best out of a research methods course or research project. New to the fifth edition: A streamlined structure to aid navigation and guide readers smoothly through the research process. A new chapter on generalizing from case-study research which addresses the perennial issue of 'how many cases do you need?' New material on doing qualitative research online and the ethics of internet research. Additional sections covering organizational documents and documents of everyday life, including blogs and diaries. Many more recent case study examples drawn from a broad range of disciplines including business, education, social work and geography as well as health studies. A new and improved companion website, full of additional resources for students and lecturers. This is the perfect companion for all those new to qualitative research. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Introducing Research Methodology. (Print copy) by
Offering an encyclopedic introduction to research, this book shows students how to think about every stage of their project and equips them with the tools they need to understand different research processes. Packed with examples showing the diversity of research, this third edition provides hands-on guidance to help students: Develop key academic skills like critical thinking, effective writing and building an argument Confidently interpret findings, assess arguments and understand the wider impact of their research Understand the challenges and opportunities involved in working with new types of data like social media and online data Supported by a dynamic new website with downloadable templates, case studies, dos and don'ts videos and more, this practical book prepares students for not just getting to grips with methodological concepts, but being ready to apply them.
Research with Children: perspectives and practices. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
The entirely revised third edition ofResearch with Childrenforms a unique resource book on the methodology of childhood research with a core emphasis on theory driven practices. As in the previous two editions, this edition presents particular standpoints in the field, whilst also reflecting the latest developments in the now well-established interdisciplinary field of childhood studies. A rich collection of contributions from leading researchers across a range of disciplinary backgrounds, research practices and theoretical perspectives discuss central questions of epistemology and methodology, demonstrating the links between theory and practice. This edition includes exciting new chapters on: Internet-based research and contemporary technology, Family based research, Children as researchers, Participatory research in the global context, New directions for childhood research. Both theoretical and practical questions are set out in a well-argued fashion that enables easier navigation through the various complexities of the epistemological and methodological questions arising in contemporary research practices with children. As such, this text will appeal to both the newcomer to childhood studies and to experienced researchers in the field. With fully updated chapters, new material and a revised, clearer structure, this new edition will be a valuable resource for researchers working with children.
Listening to Young Children, Expanded Third Edition (Print copy) by
Viewing children as 'experts in their own lives', the Mosaic approach offers a creative framework for understanding young children's perspectives through talking, walking, making and reviewing material with an adult. This book demonstrates how children's views and experiences can stay in focus in early childhood provision. The multi-method approach brings together digital tools with interviewing and observation to enable adults to review current practice and implement change with children. Combining the authors' successful books Listening to Young Children and Spaces to Play into an expanded and fully updated third edition, this book builds on the authors' original ground-breaking work by commenting on the development and adaptation of the Mosaic approach, along with case studies of the Mosaic approach in action in four countries: England, Denmark, Norway and Australia. Alongside guidance on using and adapting the framework with young children, older children and adults, there is new material on the ethical and methodological issues involved.
Understanding Research in Early Education. (Print copy) by
In this newly revised edition of Understanding Research in Early Education, Margaret Clark demonstrates the continuing relevance of research in the homes of young children and in preschool units. Through rigorous yet understandable language, the text stresses the importance of research, acknowledging how easy it can be, amidst the change and flood of documents on early education and care, to overlook the insights to be gained from past research. The author draws on her own studies, and those of others, to illustrate how to avoid common pitfalls, ask the right questions to inform students' research projects, and critically apply findings in the classroom or nursery. The book is one of the few texts for students to bring research alive, analysing key research to consider its limitations and the extent to which results are relevant to policy and practice. Without requiring any prior expertise in research and research methodologies, the third edition will prove invaluable for undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses in early years' education, and practitioners undertaking continuing professional development. New content includes: fully revised chapters, an updated reference list, and a new chapter discussing current research on baseline assessment.
Doing Research with Children: a practical guide. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
The Third Edition of Doing Research with Children is practical introduction to the process of designing, doing and writing up research with children and young people. At the center is a commitment to engaging with children and young people as active research participants rather than as passive subjects. In this new edition, you'll find up to date information on the fast-changing political and ethical debates around research with children and young people as well as guidance on how to carry out research yourself. Divided into three sections, the new edition covers: The main theories and approaches of research with children and young people Expanded guidance on research ethics Techniques for conduction both qualitative and quantitative research More on analyzing your research A brand new chapter on communicating your research findings This is a must-have guide for students and practitioners who are engaging in research with children and young people. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Doing Ethical Research with Children. (Print copy) by
"Doing Ethical Research with Children is an invaluable resource for all student and practitioner-researchers who wish to honour children as active agents and significant voices in research. The book guides the reader through the processes of ethical research with (not on!) children, positioning the child as competent and capable. It includes practical guidance and examples of research so that issues that may emerge during a research project can be anticipated. My advice is - do not embark on an Early Years research project before reading it!" Lyn Trodd, Chair of the National Sector-Endorsed Foundation Degree in Early Years Network (SEFDEY), University of Hertfordshire, UK "Doing Ethical Research with Children provides an invaluable guide to understanding and managing the ethical implications of research projects with children. The highly accessible format includes useful case-study examples, questions and checklists and the four-phased approach supports the reader to reflect on ethical considerations at every stage of the research process. This book is a welcome and essential resource that positions ethical perspectives at the heart of research activity with children." Shirley Allen, Senior Lecturer Early Childhood Studies, Middlesex University, UK "This is an admirably clear and well-structured book that will be invaluable for anyone serious about research with children. The authors write from long experience, and provide a very helpful 'step by step' guide that is always underpinned by deeply principled, insightful considerations that exemplify good practice and respect for children. The use of real examples along with the authors' questions, invite the reader to reflect on their own thinking and actions, and the extensive checklists and sample documentation provide clear guidance that will be a valuable support for students and their supervisors, researchers, and practitioners alike. I look forward to making good use of this book in my own work and in my work with students of early childhood." Sue Robson, Principal Lecturer, Subject Leader for Early Childhood Studies University of Roehampton, London, UK This book provides a step-by-step guide to approaching your research project and will support you in developing, conducting and disseminating research relating to children and childhood with an ethical imperative. Doing Ethical Research with Children will help you focus and identify many of the key issues surrounding research with children. The book presents an overview of both contemporary and traditional perspectives relating to child related research practices. The authors combine relevant theoretical and practical information, offering a guide to the essential elements for conducting ethical research with children. You are prompted to consider and systematically address these elements, with the help of: Real world 'points to ponder', offering unique insights 'Over to you' reflection activities Case studies considering ethical dilemmas Written specifically as a guide and reflection tool for beginning researchers studying early years and childhood, the book follows the research journey from conceptualisation to dissemination and looks at the unique considerations for research involving children.
Researching with Children and Young People. (Print copy) by
′This text will be of great use to postgraduate researchers in education, social work and nursing, and any practitioner involved in carrying out research with children and young people′ - CPD Update ′[T]here is a sense of newness and innovation about the book, whereby the reader is treated to insight into the life and work of collaborators who wrote each case study....[T]he book is highly accessible for students at graduate and undergraduate level, for example BA (Hons) Early Childhood Studies students′ - ESCalate Researching with Children and Young People covers every stage of the process of doing a research project, from research design and data collection, through to analysis and writing up. The book is divided into three sections, in which the authors cover: - Introducing research and consultation with children and young people - Collecting and analysing data - Whole-project issues. Each chapter includes activities, discussion questions, tips and extended case studies to help the reader to engage with the material and investigate the practical implications. This text will be of great use to postgraduate researchers in education, social work and nursing, and any practitioner involved in carrying out research with children and young people.
Interpreting Interviews. (Print copy) by
Researchers conducting interviews in the social sciences quickly find that there is no single best way to approach their task. This text offers a critique of traditional interviewing practices and provides a framework for thinking about issues such as trustworthiness, identity, and language in a conceptual rather than technical context, allowing you to develop your own reflexive practice.The research interview is in with the brick and mortar of qualitative research, and is one of the routine methods of obtaining knowledge of individuals, groups, and organizations. Through the use of eight original metaphors drawing on trends in language, subject, and discourse, this cutting-edge text will encourage you to question the interpretive nature and theoretical underpinnings not only of your interview method, but of the knowledge which is conveyed through it. This text is essential reading for graduate students of qualitative methods and researchers looking to more clearly conceptualize their interviewing practice and explore its theoretical basis.
Listening to Young Children, Expanded Third Edition (Print copy) by
Viewing children as 'experts in their own lives', the Mosaic approach offers a creative framework for understanding young children's perspectives through talking, walking, making and reviewing material with an adult. This book demonstrates how children's views and experiences can stay in focus in early childhood provision. The multi-method approach brings together digital tools with interviewing and observation to enable adults to review current practice and implement change with children. Combining the authors' successful books Listening to Young Children and Spaces to Play into an expanded and fully updated third edition, this book builds on the authors' original ground-breaking work by commenting on the development and adaptation of the Mosaic approach, along with case studies of the Mosaic approach in action in four countries: England, Denmark, Norway and Australia. Alongside guidance on using and adapting the framework with young children, older children and adults, there is new material on the ethical and methodological issues involved.
A Student's Guide to Methodology. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
The Third Edition of this hugely popular text provides students with straightforward principles and frameworks for understanding methodology. Peter Clough and Cathy Nutbrown are adept at making methodology meaningful for beginners and more advanced readers alike. Their book clearly demonstrates how methodology impacts upon every stage of the research process, and gives readers all of the tools that they need to understand it. New to this edition are the following: - new boxes and guidance on research ethics in every chapter - more international examples and perspectives - up to date coverage of online research methods - more examples from real students - a new companion website, featuring Powerpoint slides for lecturers The authors take an applied approach and every chapter contains a variety of practical examples from real research. Readers are encouraged to reflect on their own practice at every step, meaning that the book remains extremely relevant throughout. It will be invaluable for all students who are doing a dissertation or taking a research methods module in education, the social sciences, business and health.
Focus Group Methodology. (Print copy) by
Focus Group Methodology is an introductory text which leads readers through the entire process of designing a focus group study, from conducting interviews and analyzing data to presenting the findings. Liamputtong presents clear, practical advice in simple terms which will be appropriate for undergraduate and postgraduate students who are undertaking research, making this an ideal starter text for anyone new to focus group research. Like her previous book, Researching the Vulnerable, Liamputtong's latest work pays close attention to research ethics and will also be of great interest to researchers who are working with different social groups - such as older people, children and ethnic groups - and anybody who is engaging in cross-cultural research. Illustrated with case studies and examples throughout this is a perfect introduction to focus group methods for students and new researchers alike.
Researching with Children and Young People. (Print copy) by
′This text will be of great use to postgraduate researchers in education, social work and nursing, and any practitioner involved in carrying out research with children and young people′ - CPD Update ′[T]here is a sense of newness and innovation about the book, whereby the reader is treated to insight into the life and work of collaborators who wrote each case study....[T]he book is highly accessible for students at graduate and undergraduate level, for example BA (Hons) Early Childhood Studies students′ - ESCalate Researching with Children and Young People covers every stage of the process of doing a research project, from research design and data collection, through to analysis and writing up. The book is divided into three sections, in which the authors cover: - Introducing research and consultation with children and young people - Collecting and analysing data - Whole-project issues. Each chapter includes activities, discussion questions, tips and extended case studies to help the reader to engage with the material and investigate the practical implications. This text will be of great use to postgraduate researchers in education, social work and nursing, and any practitioner involved in carrying out research with children and young people.
Researching Children's Experience: methods and approaches. (Print copy) by
`Strongly recommended as it provides a very useful overview of a range of methods, mainly textual, for exploring children's experiences. These accounts are placed well in the broader conceptual frameworks concerning both methodologies and ethical considerations' - Educational Review How should the researcher approach the sensitive subject of the child? What are the ethical issues involved in researching children's experiences? In essays written by a collection of key, international authors, Researching Children's Experience addresses these questions, and examines up-to-date methodological and conceptual approaches to researching children. This book is a practical, comprehensive and interdisciplinary guide for advanced students and researchers, exploring a range of studies, and the theoretical and ethical motivations behind them. The book is divided into three coherent sections: - Conceptual, methodological and ethical issues in researching children's experiences. - Methods for conducting research with children. - The generation and analysis of text. Researching Children's Experience provides examples of how researchers from a variety of social science perspectives have set about carrying out research into children's experience. Useful to students embarking on a research project, and to experienced researchers wishing to explore new methods, Greene and Hogan's book is an essential addition to anyone doing research on children. It will be especially useful to those in developmental psychology, education, nursing and other disciplines interested in studying children's experience.
Researching Children's Experience (E-book) by
`Strongly recommended as it provides a very useful overview of a range of methods, mainly textual, for exploring children's experiences. These accounts are placed well in the broader conceptual frameworks concerning both methodologies and ethical considerations' - Educational Review How should the researcher approach the sensitive subject of the child? What are the ethical issues involved in researching children's experiences? In essays written by a collection of key, international authors, Researching Children's Experience addresses these questions, and examines up-to-date methodological and conceptual approaches to researching children. This book is a practical, comprehensive and interdisciplinary guide for advanced students and researchers, exploring a range of studies, and the theoretical and ethical motivations behind them. The book is divided into three coherent sections: - Conceptual, methodological and ethical issues in researching children's experiences. - Methods for conducting research with children. - The generation and analysis of text. Researching Children's Experience provides examples of how researchers from a variety of social science perspectives have set about carrying out research into children's experience. Useful to students embarking on a research project, and to experienced researchers wishing to explore new methods, Greene and Hogan's book is an essential addition to anyone doing research on children. It will be especially useful to those in developmental psychology, education, nursing and other disciplines interested in studying children's experience.