Food and Health in Early Childhood: an holistic approach. by
The media interest surrounding children, food, and nutrition continues to influence policy and practice in early childhood settings, and food and eating is of fundamental importance to early childhood practice. Food and Health in Early Childhood gives students a comprehensive overview of food and eating, covering all areas of food and nutrition including: Policy development Healthy eating guidelines Promoting healthy eating Multi-professional working Each chapter includes case studies, links to useful websites and further reading and activities, the answers to which feature on the books companion websites along with links to journal articles and relevant websites.
Food and Health in Early Childhood: an holistic approach. (E-book) by
The media interest surrounding children, food, and nutrition continues to influence policy and practice in early childhood settings, and food and eating is of fundamental importance to early childhood practice. Food and Health in Early Childhood gives students a comprehensive overview of food and eating, covering all areas of food and nutrition including: Policy development Healthy eating guidelines Promoting healthy eating Multi-professional working Each chapter includes case studies, links to useful websites and further reading and activities, the answers to which feature on the books companion websites along with links to journal articles and relevant websites.
A Practical Guide to Child Nutrition 3rd Edition. (Print copy) by
This book covers the theoretical and applied aspects of child nutrition. It is written in a clear and concise style and includes activities and assignments.
A Practical Guide to Child Nutrition 3rd Edition (E-book) by
This book covers the theoretical and applied aspects of child nutrition. It is written in a clear and concise style and includes activities and assignments.
Health for All Children. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
The foundations of health and wellbeing are laid down in pregnancy and the early years. Health for all Children takes a life course approach to child health, starting in pregnancy and extending to the age of seven to include transition into school, and to cover the foundation years in education. This new edition summarizes the evidence supporting preventive health care and health promotion; providing an effective, community-based response to the needs offamilies and children. Each chapter summarizes evidence of effectiveness in the topic area, in health promotion, and in universal and selective interventions. The fifth edition starts inpregnancy and runs until age seven taking into account Government policies and different models of delivery of the child health programme. Evidence from all over the world is critically appraised and referenced to UK policy and practice. Health for all Children summarizes the evidence about 'why' and 'what works' in health promotion and health surveillance with children and families, providing guidance on how to implement and quality assure a programme, and thecompetencies needed. Each chapter includes 'learning links' to online training materials and e-learning for health, or to resources freely available to practitioners.This established,evidence-based book continues to be essential reading for all health professionals who work with children. It will also provide vital background knowledge for those charged with the responsibility of planning, commissioning, and monitoring child health.
Typical and Atypical Development: from conception to adolescence. (Print copy) by
Martin Herbert's latest book provides an interesting and informative account of the child's journey from the womb to the world outside, through childhood and into adolescence. It is based on the belief that it is vital for those training to work with children who have problems to understand what is typical or atypical in children's development. Herbert deliberately links developmental and clinical psychology approaches in order to help readers connect their theoretical understanding of the physical and psychological problems of childhood with the practicalities of assessment, rehabilitation and treatment. 'Although many have attempted to write a developmentally based book on child and adolescent behavior problems, few have achieved this lofty and elusive goal. Professor Herbert does so, however. He nicely bridges the gap or, some would say, chasm between developmental psychology, educational psychology, and clinical child and adolescent psychology.' Thomas H. Ollendick, PhD, University Distinguished Professor, Virginia Tech
The development of children. 8th edn. (Print copy) by 
Health Studies: an introduction. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume. Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies. Highlights of this third edition include: * A whole new chapter on Geography and health: it explores the relationship between people's health and the natural and built environments * New example features in every chapter which apply each discipline to contemporary health issues- from the increase in obesity to the impact of changing social and welfare policies- along with bullet points that highlight the latest research in the field * A complete update on both the design and layout ensures an even more navigable and enjoyable read for current students, along with new contributions from experts from across the globe. Designed to engage readers and assist learning, each chapter features a Case Study on food, diet and obesity as a contemporary health issue; Questions for discussion, reading and reflection; Thinking about to enable the reader to use their experience to understand and apply concepts; Examples to illustrate concepts, methodologies and explore contemporary issues and Connections which make clear links to other chapters.
Understanding Children's Development. 6th edn. (Print copy) by
Understanding Children's Development is the UK's best-selling developmental psychology textbook and has been widely acclaimed for its international coverage and rigorous research-based approach. This dynamic text emphasizes the practical and applied implications of developmental research. It begins by introducing the ways in which psychologists study developmental processes before going on to consider all major aspects of development from conception through to adolescence. New to the 6th Edition: Increased coverage in many areas, including ethics; children's rights; participatory research methods; three models of human plasticity; breastfeeding and cognitive development; fostering; non-resident or absent fathers; parenting styles in China; effects of domestic violence on children; physical punishment, and child maltreatment; the development and fostering of emotional intelligence; homophobic bullying and cyberbullying; and developing intercultural competence through education. There are entirely new sections on immigration, acculturation, and friendships in multicultural settings; disruptive behaviour and oppositional defiant disorder; sexting; and adolescent bedtimes. The Adolescence chapter has been extensively revised, covering work on the social brain, insights from neuroscience, evolutionary perspectives on risk-taking and peer relationships, romantic development, and use of mobile phones and the internet.
Young Children's Health and Well-Being (Print copy) by
The true wealth of a nation can be measured by the health of its youngest citizens and in the twenty-first century, children's health and well-being is largely determined by social, environmental and economic influences. This book explores how factors such as parent-child relationships, family networks and social support, housing, poverty and the safety of the environment impact on children's early experiences and have consequences for their later health and well-being. Topics include: Promoting infant mental health Family transitions Poverty, relative poverty and health inequalities Growth and nutrition Young children under stress Child public health Young children's involvement in health Research with young children and families Underpinned by the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and an ecological systems framework, this book takes difference and diversity into account to celebrate the rights of every individual child. Young Children's Health and Well-Being is a comprehensive health text for students of early childhood. It is also important reading for student teachers, community practitioner nurses, social work students and others who work with young children and their families.
Young Children's Health and Well-Being. (E-book) by
The true wealth of a nation can be measured by the health of its youngest citizens and in the twenty-first century, children's health and well-being is largely determined by social, environmental and economic influences. This book explores how factors such as parent-child relationships, family networks and social support, housing, poverty and the safety of the environment impact on children's early experiences and have consequences for their later health and well-being. Topics include: Promoting infant mental health Family transitions Poverty, relative poverty and health inequalities Growth and nutrition Young children under stress Child public health Young children's involvement in health Research with young children and families Underpinned by the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and an ecological systems framework, this book takes difference and diversity into account to celebrate the rights of every individual child. Young Children's Health and Well-Being is a comprehensive health text for students of early childhood. It is also important reading for student teachers, community practitioner nurses, social work students and others who work with young children and their families.
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
British Medical Journal (BMJ) – Available online via Summon
British Journal of Midwifery - Available online via Summon
Children in Society – Available online via Summon
International Journal of Paediatrics
Journal of Child Health Care – Available online via Summon
Journal of Health Visiting
Social Policy. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
What is social policy, and why are welfare systems important? How have they been affected by the global financial crisis?The fourth edition of this well-respected textbook provides an excellent introduction to social policy in the twenty-first century. Expert contributors examine the development, delivery, and implications of welfare, as well as the social and economic context by which it is shaped. With numeroushelpful learning features and an attractive two-colour text design it is an ideal starting point for students new to the subject, and for those looking to take their learning further. The fourth edition includes three new chapters on the history and development of social policy, making social policy in a global context, and how to research and write about social policy. It is up-to-date with the coalition government's social policy agenda, and offers increased coverage of theimportant issues of equality, gender, ethnicity, migration, globalization and sustainability.Social Policy is also supported by an accompanying Online Resource Centre with the following features:- Updates on recent developments in the field- Searchable glossary- Web links
Human Growth and Development. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Written for students training for careers in the helping professions, this Fourth Edition covers all the essential topics central to understanding people whether they are clients, service users, patients or pupils. Following the shape of a human life, beginning with birth and ending with death, it combines theoretical concepts and reflective learning to help your students develop an understanding of what makes us grow and change over our lives.The NEW Online Case Study Resource - Tangled WebsNow you and your students can explore key issues and themes raised in the book and develop the skill of linking theory to practice with free access to a new online case study resource. By following the lives of people living in the fictional London Borough of Bexford, this series of interlinked and extended case studies will allow your students to explore complex situations, much as they might do as practitioners in their working lives, and consider what ideas about Human Growth and Development might inform their thinking and practice.
Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Awarded first place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Maternal-Child Health/Prenatal Nursing/ Childbirth category! Learn to provide the best prenatal, intrapartum, postpartum, and neonatal care possible. Maternal, Fetal, & Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective, 5th Edition includes expert insight and clinically relevant coverage of the physiologic changes that occur throughout all major periods of the perinatal experience. This classic reference gives you a solid foundation for assessment and therapeutic interventions, featuring an emphasis on the evolving interrelationships between mother, fetus, and neonate and adaptations of preterm and term infants to the extrauterine environment. Solid coverage of the physiologic bases for assessment and therapeutic interventions make this an ideal resource for maternity, neonatal, women's health, or midwifery programs. Synthesis of the latest research studies and evidence-based practice provides vital data on normal physiologic changes during the antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods; anatomic and functional development of the fetus; and developmental physiology of preterm and term neonates. Coverage of pathophysiology and interventions for the pregnant woman, fetus, and newborn for selected abnormal events gives you a solid understanding of physiologic adaptations and developmental physiology relating to major body systems and metabolic processes. Pharmacology tables offer quick access to key pharmacology information and drug effects with clinical examples. NEW! Thoroughly updated content addresses the very latest practice issues and provides the basis for understanding physiologic adaptations in pregnant women, infants, and children. NEW! Expanded coverage of maternal, fetal, neonatal, and pediatric physiology. NEW! Soft cover and added color provide a contemporary look and feel.
The Well-Being of Children in the UK. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Now in its fourth edition, this classic assessment of the state of child well being in the United Kingdom brings this vital and highly topical issue up to date. Drawing on surveys and robust empirical analysis across the United Kingdom, and including intranational and international comparisons, this edition reviews the latest evidence, examining the impact of the economic crisis and austerity measures since 2008 on children's lives. Edited by a highly regarded expert in the field, the fourth edition follows the same structure as previous installments, with each chapter covering a different domain of child well being, from health to housing and education, making this an excellent source book for researchers, policy makers, practitioners, and students alike.
The Sociology of Healthcare : a reader for healthcare professionals. (Print copy). by
A comprehensive collection of classic and contemporary readings in the sociology of health. The Sociology of Healthcare will stimulate debate, reflexive practice and critical thinking in applied sociology and is aimed at the teaching and learning needs of both lecturers and students.
Children in Society: contemporary theory, policy & practice. (Print copy) by
This reader provides a critical and comprehensive account of the theoretical and practical issues raised in working with children and families. It draws on debates from a range of disciplines to shed light on different perspectives, forms of practice and dimensions of policy. Its strong applied focus allows it to address a rich variety of issues of concern to professionals working with children in a range of settings. The contributing authors consist of leading academics in the field as well as those with first-hand knowledge and experience; all write in a clear and engaging style.
Children's Health and Children's Rights (E-book) by
This collection offers a series of essays highlighting many of the most controversial of contemporary issues relating to children, medicine and health care including the participation rights of children, genetic testing, male circumcision, organ donation, gender reassignment, the rights of autistic children, anorexia nervosa. Essays are written by a range of leading scholars across a range of disciplines. A number of the essays in this collection were previously published in the International Journal of Children's Rights.
Reproduction and society: interdisciplinary readings. (Print copy) by
A collection of essays, framed with original introductions, Reproduction and Society: Interdisciplinary Readings helps students to think critically about reproduction as a social phenomenon. Divided into six rich and varied sections, this book offers students and instructors a broad overview of the social meanings of reproduction and offers opportunities to explore significant questions of how resources are allocated, individuals are regulated, and how very much is at stake as people and communities aim to determine their own family size and reproductive experiences. This is an ideal core text for courses on reproduction, sexuality, gender, the family, and public health.
A child's world: infancy through adolescence. 13th edn. (Print copy) by 
Biology of Child Health: a reader in development & assessment. (Print copy) by
All health care professionals involved in the care of children, well or sick, need an understanding of the biological processes underpinning child development. This text presents information covering many of the key aspects of the biology of child health from conception to adolescence. Explicit links are made between physiological development and the assessment of the child's health. This important text is a key resource for all students and professionals working in the area.
Nutrition and Mental Performance: a lifespan perspective. (Print copy) by
Ideal for psychology, food science and nutrition students at a variety of levels, this text provides a unique lifespan perspective to guide students through nutrition and cognitive performance. With contributions from leading academics and professionals, it is an accessible and comprehensive guide to the connection between psychology and nutrition.
Health Promotion: a psychosocial approach. (Print copy) by
"Stephens' important and timely book provides an urgently needed and insightful synthesis of the previously fragmented field of community health psychology. A wide range of case material from both rich and poor countries is framed within a skilfully articulated set of debates around core issues of theory, practice, research and ethics. This text should be compulsory reading for all practitioners and students of health promotion." Professor Catherine Campbell, Health, Community and Development Group, London School of Economics Can the health of individuals be improved through community health programmes? How can community health promotion programmes be more effective? How is health awareness measured and evaluated? In recent years, health promoters have focused their attention not just on individual lifestyle change, but on daily social and physical conditions that surround the individual. They are now looking towards lifestyle change based on community or socially-based interventions. This book argues for the importance of theoretical explanations that inform investigations of the social context of daily life, the social relations that affect opportunities for healthy lives, and the needs of communities. Examining theories from a critical and values oriented perspective, it looks at current theories of health and health promotion, and discusses why health inequalities exist. The book includes a practical grounding, using examples of community health promotion practice, such as community arts and local community models, based on material and research from Britain, New Zealand, Canada, the USA and South America. The media's role in health promotion is also investigated, drawing on current media theory and examining media representation and the public's interpretative response. Issues surrounding the evaluation of health promotion programmes are also discussed. Health Promotion: A Psychosocial Approach provides a critical and theoretical basis for practice in social and community approaches to health promotion. It is key reading for postgraduate students of health psychology or community psychology, as well as qualified practitioners in public health areas who are developing theory based community programmes.
Health Promotion: a psychosocial approach. (E-book). by
"Stephens' important and timely book provides an urgently needed and insightful synthesis of the previously fragmented field of community health psychology. A wide range of case material from both rich and poor countries is framed within a skilfully articulated set of debates around core issues of theory, practice, research and ethics. This text should be compulsory reading for all practitioners and students of health promotion." Professor Catherine Campbell, Health, Community and Development Group, London School of Economics Can the health of individuals be improved through community health programmes? How can community health promotion programmes be more effective? How is health awareness measured and evaluated? In recent years, health promoters have focused their attention not just on individual lifestyle change, but on daily social and physical conditions that surround the individual. They are now looking towards lifestyle change based on community or socially-based interventions. This book argues for the importance of theoretical explanations that inform investigations of the social context of daily life, the social relations that affect opportunities for healthy lives, and the needs of communities. Examining theories from a critical and values oriented perspective, it looks at current theories of health and health promotion, and discusses why health inequalities exist. The book includes a practical grounding, using examples of community health promotion practice, such as community arts and local community models, based on material and research from Britain, New Zealand, Canada, the USA and South America. The media's role in health promotion is also investigated, drawing on current media theory and examining media representation and the public's interpretative response. Issues surrounding the evaluation of health promotion programmes are also discussed. Health Promotion: A Psychosocial Approach provides a critical and theoretical basis for practice in social and community approaches to health promotion. It is key reading for postgraduate students of health psychology or community psychology, as well as qualified practitioners in public health areas who are developing theory based community programmes.
From Public Health to Wellbeing: the new driveer for policy & action (Print copy) by
There has never been more awareness of the public health agenda, as policy-makers stress the importance of 'wellbeing'to the general public. But how can wellbeing be defined and measured? Should the promotion of wellbeing lie at the heart of all policy and legislation? Charting the history and evolution of the public health agenda, this insightful reader argues the place of wellbeing in local and national strategy. It identifies some of the critical events that have influenced the development of public health systems, and looks at the challenges for policy- makers and professionals in the formulation and delivery of effective strategies for the future. With contributions from academics and practitioners working within the public, voluntary and private sectors, the book explores the challenges of defining and promoting wellbeing: across the lifespan, from childhood and youth to older age through a range of approaches, such as town planning and partnership working within a variety of settings, including the workplace, the community and the National Health Service. Grounded with grassroots examples of local strategy in action, From Public Health to Wellbeing offers fresh insights into the promotion of wellbeing in thetwenty-first century. It is a valuable resource for students of public health, health promotion, the social sciences and social policy, as well as for any practitioner supporting health promotion within the public, private or voluntary sector.
Health Studies: an introduction. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume. Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies. Highlights of this third edition include: * A whole new chapter on Geography and health: it explores the relationship between people's health and the natural and built environments * New example features in every chapter which apply each discipline to contemporary health issues- from the increase in obesity to the impact of changing social and welfare policies- along with bullet points that highlight the latest research in the field * A complete update on both the design and layout ensures an even more navigable and enjoyable read for current students, along with new contributions from experts from across the globe. Designed to engage readers and assist learning, each chapter features a Case Study on food, diet and obesity as a contemporary health issue; Questions for discussion, reading and reflection; Thinking about to enable the reader to use their experience to understand and apply concepts; Examples to illustrate concepts, methodologies and explore contemporary issues and Connections which make clear links to other chapters.
Health studies: an introduction. 3rd edn. (E-book) by 
Public health ethics and Practice (E-book) by
Ethical dilemmas are not new in the area of health care and policy making, but in recent years, their frequency and diversity have grown considerably. All health professionals now have to consider the ethical implications of an increasing array of treatments, interventions and health promotion activities on an almost daily basis. This goes hand in hand with increasing medical knowledge, and the growth of new and innovative medical technologies and pharmaceuticals. In addition, the same technology and knowledge is increasing professional and public awareness of new potential public health threats (e.g. pandemic influenza). At the level of public policy, concerns over the rising costs of health care have led to a more explicit focus on 'health promotion', and the surveillance of both 'patients' and the so-called 'worried well'. Health professionals and policy makers also have to consider the implications of managing these risks, for example restricting individual liberty through enforced quarantine (in the wake of SARS and more recently swine flu) and the more general distribution of harms and benefits. Balancing the rights and responsibilities of individuals and wider populations is becoming more complex and problematic. This book will play a key role in opening out a discussion of public health ethics. It examines the principles and values that support an ethical approach to public health practice and provides examples of some of the complex areas which those practising, analysing and planning the health of populations have to navigate. It will therefore be essential reading for current practitioners, those involved in public health research and a valuable aid for anyone interested in examining the tensions within and the development of public health.
Journals
British Medical Journal (BMJ) – Available online via Summon
British Journal of Midwifery - Available online via Summon
Children in Society – Available online via Summon
International Journal of Paediatrics
Journal of Child Health Care – Available online via Summon
Journal of Health Visiting
Websites
Children’s Health: https://www.gov.uk/government/policies/children-s-health
Healthy Child Programme: https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/167998/Health
NICE: https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance
Rapid review of the Healthy Child programme:
https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/429740/15052
