Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Child, Family, School, Community : socializationa and support. 10th edn. (Print copy) by The best-selling CHILD, FAMILY, SCHOOL, COMMUNITY: SOCIALIZATION AND SUPPORT, now in its Tenth Edition, offers an excellent introduction to socialization that is grounded in a powerful conceptual framework-Urie Bronfenbrenner's Bioecological Model of Human Development. Examining how the school, family, and community influence children's socialization, this book addresses complex issues in a clear, comprehensive fashion. An enjoyable read, it's packed with meaningful, timely examples and learning aids that ensure you gain a solid understanding of chapter concepts. A sensitive presentation of diversity issues includes matters related to culture, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status and special needs. Updated throughout, this edition features a strong emphasis on NAEYC and NASW standards as well as a new neuroscience feature called "Brain Briefs."
Call Number: 305.231 BER
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Child, Family, School, Community: socialization and support. 10th edn. (E-book) by The best-selling CHILD, FAMILY, SCHOOL, COMMUNITY: SOCIALIZATION AND SUPPORT, now in its Tenth Edition, offers an excellent introduction to socialization that is grounded in a powerful conceptual framework-Urie Bronfenbrenner's Bioecological Model of Human Development. Examining how the school, family, and community influence children's socialization, this book addresses complex issues in a clear, comprehensive fashion. An enjoyable read, it's packed with meaningful, timely examples and learning aids that ensure you gain a solid understanding of chapter concepts. A sensitive presentation of diversity issues includes matters related to culture, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status and special needs. Updated throughout, this edition features a strong emphasis on NAEYC and NASW standards as well as a new neuroscience feature called "Brain Briefs."
Publication Date: 2015
Developmental Social Psychology: from infancy to old age. (Print copy) by This book is the first to synthesise this exciting new area for undergraduates. Taking a topic-based approach, it emphasises the social contexts of development and the developmental aspects of social reasoning and social behaviour.
Call Number: 301.1 DUR
Publication Date: 1995
An Introduction to Social Psychology. 6rh edn. (Print copy) by For over 25 years An Introduction to Social Psychology has been combining traditional academic rigor with a contemporary level of cohesion, accessibility, pedagogy and instructor support to provide a definitive guide to the engaging and ever-evolving field of social psychology. This sixth edition, completely revised and updated to reflect current issues and underlying theory in the field, has been specially designed to meet the needs of students at all levels, with contributions written by leading psychologists, each an acknowledged expert in the topics covered in a given chapter. The text benefits hugely from an updated range of innovative pedagogical features intended to catch the imagination, combined with a rigorous editorial approach, which results in a cohesive and uniform style accessible to all. Each chapter addresses both major themes and key studies, showing how the relevant field of research has developed over time and linking classic and contemporary perspectives.
Call Number: 302
Publication Date: 2016-08-22
Social Psychology Matters. (Print copy) by Social Psychology Matters explores the significance of social psychology in the twenty-first century and the important contribution it can and does make to understanding ourselves and others in today's world. This book is designed to help the reader navigate the complex and ever-changing nature of the discipline and gain an overview of the key concepts, methods and theories. The authors adopt a broad approach to trace the roots and legacies of social psychology with a keen eye to the future. Each chapter provides an in-depth look at a social psychological topic of significance, ranging from self and conflict to families and embodiment. Four theoretical perspectives - cognitive social, discursive psychological, phenomenological and social psychoanalytic - enable students to critically analyse social psychological research. These perspectives are interpreted through the interrogative themes of: Individual-society dualism Agency-structure dualism Situated knowledges Power relations This stimulating and accessible text uses real-life experience to demonstrate why social psychology matters and how our understanding of these topics can be continually enhanced and constructively applied.
Call Number: 302
Publication Date: 2006
Psychological Development and Early Childhood (Print copy) by Psychological Development and Early Childhood is a broad and accessible introduction to theory and research, presenting integrated research-based accounts of development in key areas of early childhood. One of a series of four books which form part of the Open University course Child Development. A focus on modern developmental theories is complemented by detailed consideration of models of developmental processes. A theme that runs through the book is a concern with the ways in which biological, social and cultural influences interact in development.
Call Number: 155.4 OAT
Publication Date: 2005
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development. 2nd edn. (Print copy). by The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development, Second Edition presents an authoritative and up-to-date overview of research and theory concerning a child's social development from pre-school age to the onset of adolescence. Presents the most up-to-date research and theories on childhood social development Features chapters by an international cast of leaders in their fields Includes comprehensive coverage of a range of disciplinary perspectives Offers all new chapters on children and the environment, cultural influences, history of childhood, interventions, and neuro-psychological perspectives Represents an essential resource for students and researchers of childhood social development
Call Number: 155.413 SMI
Publication Date: 2011
Understanding Critical Social Psychology. by `This is a thoughtful, honest and accessible text which I would certainly recommend to students. The chapter ordering is excellent and should take the student through a logical progression from the more established to the more contemporary approaches in social psychology' - Ian Hodges, Westminster University `It is written in a beautifully clear, engaging and conversational style which will make the book accessible and appealing to those encountering critical ideas for the first time.... Students will find the book both interesting and easy to read, and their lecturers will find it a valuable teaching resource. I will certainly be recommending it to my second and third year undergraduates' - Viv Burr, University of Huddersfield Understanding Critical Social Psychology is an exciting new textbook providing a comprehensive and reader-friendly approach to the theories and methods surrounding Critical Social Psychology. For students taking a course in Critical Social Psychology, this book combines a critical examination of the traditional philosophies, practices and topics with an emphasis on introducing innovative and contemporary developments in social psychological research. In this way, Tuffin integrates newer insights with established modes of thinking. Key Features of this book include: " Student-friendly structure - contains numerous features suitable for undergraduate course use such as section summaries, further reading and a tutorial which answers students' questions about critical social psychology. " Broad framework - Positions newer insights in relation to the historical, theoretical and ideological roots of social psychology. Ideal for students taking a Critical Social Psychology module having already studied a mainstream course. " Applied focus - Understanding Critical Social Psychology tackles key themes in the discipline i.e. prejudice, politics, identity and emotions from critical perspectives. Written in a clear and accessible style, with illustrative data, detailed chapter summaries and key readings at the end of each section, it will be welcomed by undergraduates seeking to develop their understanding of critical social psychology.
Call Number: 302
Publication Date: 2004
Understanding Critical Social Psychology. (E-BOOK) by `This is a thoughtful, honest and accessible text which I would certainly recommend to students. The chapter ordering is excellent and should take the student through a logical progression from the more established to the more contemporary approaches in social psychology' - Ian Hodges, Westminster University `It is written in a beautifully clear, engaging and conversational style which will make the book accessible and appealing to those encountering critical ideas for the first time.... Students will find the book both interesting and easy to read, and their lecturers will find it a valuable teaching resource. I will certainly be recommending it to my second and third year undergraduates' - Viv Burr, University of Huddersfield Understanding Critical Social Psychology is an exciting new textbook providing a comprehensive and reader-friendly approach to the theories and methods surrounding Critical Social Psychology. For students taking a course in Critical Social Psychology, this book combines a critical examination of the traditional philosophies, practices and topics with an emphasis on introducing innovative and contemporary developments in social psychological research. In this way, Tuffin integrates newer insights with established modes of thinking. Key Features of this book include: " Student-friendly structure - contains numerous features suitable for undergraduate course use such as section summaries, further reading and a tutorial which answers students' questions about critical social psychology. " Broad framework - Positions newer insights in relation to the historical, theoretical and ideological roots of social psychology. Ideal for students taking a Critical Social Psychology module having already studied a mainstream course. " Applied focus - Understanding Critical Social Psychology tackles key themes in the discipline i.e. prejudice, politics, identity and emotions from critical perspectives. Written in a clear and accessible style, with illustrative data, detailed chapter summaries and key readings at the end of each section, it will be welcomed by undergraduates seeking to develop their understanding of critical social psychology.
Publication Date: 2005
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Click on the A-Z list to check for online versions of these journals
British Journal of Developmental Psychology
British Journal of Social Psychology
Children and Society
Essential Social Psychology. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by From aggression to altruism, prejudice to persuasion, Essential Social Psychology 3e introduces students to the discoveries and debates that define social psychology today. It covers both classic and cutting edge research studies and provides plenty of real life examples and illustrations to help students to develop a good understanding of the subject whilst building the confidence to apply this knowledge successfully in assignments and exams. An extensive range of learning aids including a glossary, summary sections and memory maps - combined with an array of features on the student section of the companion website - will help reinforce this learning and check retention at specific milestones throughout the course. New to the third edition: A new full-colour design Two brand new chapters on Applied Social Psychology and Social Psychological Methods Coverage of some developing research perspectives including social neuroscience and evolutionary psychology New 'Back to the Real World' textboxes which situate academic findings in the context of the world around you An enhanced SAGE edge(tm) companion website (study.sagepub.com/crispandturner3e) with a suite of features to enhance your learning experience.
Call Number: 302 CRI
Publication Date: 2014
Children's Friendships: the beginning of intimacy. (Print copy) by Drawing on evidence from studies on both sides of the Atlantic, this beautifully written book from Judy Dunn, the leading international authority on childhood development, considers the nature and significance of children's early friendships. accessible and comprehensive book on friendship, beautifully written by a world authority; features a foreword by Jerome Bruner, one of the most influential psychologists alive today; stresses the importance of friendships to young children and considers the implications of friendship for our understanding of children's development more generally; draws out the practical implications for parents, teachers and those who care for children; considers how to help children with friendship difficulties and what to do about 'trouble-making' friendships and bullying; latest addition to the Understanding Children's Worlds series.
Call Number: 302.34
Publication Date: 2004
Human Relationships. 4th edn. (E-book) by The Fourth Edition of this highly successful textbook provides a unique and comprehensive introduction to the study and understanding of human relationships. Fresh insights from family studies, developmental psychology, occupational and organizational psychology also combine to bring new perspectives to this thorough survey of the field. Thoroughly updated, with new chapters on: relating difficulty; "small media" technology and relationships, and practical applications, the Fourth Edition offers a fully up-to-date and authoritative review of the field.
Publication Date: 2007
Social Psychology and Everyday Life. (Print copy) by Offering a fresh, innovative approach, this international textbook encourages students to consider how social psychology can inform their understanding of the social world around them. Illustrative scenarios based on realistic everyday events, from shopping in a supermarket to taking a taxi, highlight just how relevant this subject is to tackling the issues that can arise in a diverse, multicultural society. By integrating core social psychology theories and concepts with more critical perspectives, Social Psychology and Everyday Life provides a valuable, broad, coherent and stimulating introduction that is suitable for all students interested in social psychology. The book also situates social psychology within the broader social sciences, and in particular scholarship on media, place, health, justice, indigeneity, immigration, and social change.
Call Number: 302 HOD
Publication Date: 2010
Children's Cultural Worlds. (Print copy) by BRAND NEW SERIES - CHILDHOOD Childhood is a brand new series of textbooks, co-published with The Open University which represents a coherent and integrated treatment of a wide range of topics and approaches, which will have a relevance to courses in childhood studies; sociology; psychology; anthropology and cultural studies as well as education and social policy. Each volume contains original illustrations, case studies and examples collected as part of OU/BBC filming in the USA, Bangladesh and South Africa. The third volume, Children's Cultural Worlds looks at the distinctiveness of children's cultural worlds by exploring the everyday activities of young children through to teenagers. Topics include friendships and the significance of play, how children use language to construct relationships and identities, the role of print literature, other media and information technology in children's lives, and their growing power as consumers. Features of each volume include: * An interactive text * Carefully-selected case studies and readings * Attractive layout and colour design throughout * A high level of illustration * Clear and 'student-friendly' style
Call Number: 305.23 KEH
Publication Date: 2003
Critical Readings in Social Psychology. (Print copy) by "Critical Readings in Social Psychology" brings a fresh approach to the study of key topics in social psychology by contrasting classic and contemporary readings in core social psychological areas. Each chapter author presents contrasting approaches to a particular topic through the inclusion of two or three extracts from previously published texts that have been influential in shaping social psychological ideas. These extracts are supported by the author's commentary, which illuminates the part that debate and criticism play in the ways that social psychology continues to change and develop. The result is a clear and stimulating collection on seven key topics in social psychology: Close relationships Attitudes Attribution Intragroup processes Intergroup processes Conformity Individual differences A combination of textbook and reader, this book is designed specifically for social psychology students. It also provides an accessible set of teaching materials for coverage of the major topics in contemporary social psychology detailed in the British Psychological Society curriculum guidelines.
Call Number: 302 LAN
Publication Date: 2006
Sibling Relationships: theory and issues for practice. (Print copy) by The impact of sibling relationships on how people develop has been dramatically under-emphasised in the literature on child development. Drawing together new and established research, this accessible text shows that these relationships are crucial to professionals' under-standing of the children and the families they work with. Sibling Relationships offers a theoretically grounded and culturally sensitive account of the many complexities of sibling relationships, emphasising the significance of these for practice and the ways in which the effectiveness of work with children and families can be enhanced by promoting positive connections between brothers and sisters. It examines a range of adverse circumstances for children and families - substance abuse, domestic violence, loss, disability and mental illness - considering how sibling relationships are affected by these circumstances, and how relationships with siblings might help to promote resilience in children. Practice notes provide examples of how sibling relationships can become an important focus in the work of professionals. This is the first book to link knowledge of sibling relationships to the practice of working with families. It will be important reading for anyone interested in children and families, including students and professionals in the areas of social work, counselling, applied social studies and childhood studies.
Call Number: 306.875
Publication Date: 2004
The Material Child: growing up in a consumer culture. (Print copy) by Children today are growing up in an increasingly commercialised world. But should we see them as victims of manipulative marketing, or as competent participants in consumer culture? The Material Child provides a comprehensive critical overview of debates about children's changing engagement with the commercial market. It moves from broad overviews of the theory and history of children's consumption to insightful case studies of key areas such as obesity, sexualisation, children's broadcasting and education. In the process, it challenges much of the received wisdom about the effects of advertising and marketing, arguing for a more balanced account that locates children's consumption within a broader analysis of social relationships, for example within the family and the peer group. While refuting the popular view of children as incompetent and vulnerable consumers that is adopted by many campaigners, it also rejects the easy celebration of consumption as an expression of children's power and autonomy. Written by one of the leading international scholars in the field, The Material Child will be of interest to students, researchers and policy-makers, as well as parents, teachers and others who work directly with children.
Call Number: 306.3 BUC
Publication Date: 2011-10-10
Childhood and Consumer Culture. (E-book) by In recent years children have become an increasingly important consumer market, and there is growing concern about the 'commercialisation' of childhood. This book sheds light on these debates, offering new empirical data and challenging critical perspectives on children's engagement with consumer culture from a wide range of international settings.
Publication Date: 2010
Children, Media and Culture. (E-book) by "Children, Media and Culture seeks to redefine the discipline's domain by including classical art, fairy tales, and literature in the research purview along with media such as television, gaming, and social networking. Maire Messenger Davies continues to offer an original voice in the scholarship of media and children." Professor Dafna Lemish, Editor, Journal of Children and Media "An ambitious and quite helpful synthesis of scholarly research, policy reports, professional opinion and personal impressions on what it has meant to be represented as a child in relation to different cultural and historical contexts and media forms up to the present day... I commend the author for the lively and clear, yet scholarly and eloquent quality of her prose. Would that more academics were also trained appreciators of literature and former journalists!" Mark Evan Nelson, Assistant Professor in English Language and Literature at the NationalInstitute of Education, Singapore Childhood and children's culture are regularly in the forefront of debates about how society is changing - often, it is argued, for the worse. This book addresses the continuing concerns around media 'effects' and critically examines the view that technology has dramatically changed modern children's lives.This book engages with and seeks to broaden the public debate about the role of popular media in children's lives. It considers how public anxieties regarding the harmful influences of the media are heightened at times of rapid technological change. This change is most visible in the appearance of new media technology - currently including digital television; the Internet; computer games, mobile phones and i-pods, but also, in the past, print material, films, radio and broadcast television, when they were new. Written in a lively and accessible style, the book discusses various genres, including television and the Internet, children's books, fairy tales, children in art, playground games, and film. Case studies include Disney, Harry Potter; Teletubbies, Sesame Street, Cbeebies and The Secret Garden. Essential reading for media students, this book situates the study of childhood and the media within a framework of different disciplines, including historical, sociological, psychological and political approaches.
Publication Date: 2010
Consumer Culture, Identity and Well-Being: the search for the 'good life' and the 'body perfect' (Print copy) by Advertising, materialism and consumption are central aspects of contemporary Western culture. We are bombarded with idealised images of the perfect body, desirable consumer goods, and affluent lifestyles, yet psychology is only just beginning to take account of the profound influence these consumer culture ideals have on individuals¿ sense of identity and worth. Consumer Culture, Identity, and Well-Being documents the negative psychological impact consumer culture can have on how individuals view themselves and on their emotional welfare. It looks at the social psychological dimensions of having, buying and wanting material goods, as well as the pursuit of media-hyped appearance ideals. In particular, it focuses on: The purchasing of material goods as a means of expressing and seeking identity, and the negative consequences of this Psychological buying motivations in conventional buying environments and on the Internet The unrealistic socio-cultural beauty ideals embodied by idealized models. Throughout, different approaches from social psychology are integrated, such as self-completion, self-discrepancy and value theory, to create a comprehensive theoretical framework for understanding the impact of internalising core consumer culture ideals on how individuals see themselves and the implications this has for their psychological and physical health. Consumer Culture, Identity, and Well-Being is of interest to anybody who wants to find out more about the psychological effects of living in modern consumer societies on children, adolescents, and adults. More specifically, it will be of interest to students and researchers in social psychology, sociology, media studies, communication and other social sciences, as well as to psychologists, health workers, and practitioners interested in the topics of identity, consumption pathologies, body image, and body-related behaviours.
Call Number: 306.3 DIT
Publication Date: 2010
Children, Adolescents, and Media Violence: a critcal look at the research. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This revised text provides updates that reflect new findings in the field of media violence research during childhood and adolescence. Throughout the book, special attention is paid to evaluating the role of developmental processes and to stressing the importance of methodology in understanding media violence research. Findings have been divided into two main areas: aggressive behavior and aggression-related constructs (e.g., emotions, cognitions, arousal) to help clarify media violence-related effects on youth.
Call Number: 302.23 KIR
Publication Date: 2011
Children and Media: a global perspective. (Print copy) by Taking a global and interdisciplinary approach, Children and Media explores the role of modern media, including the internet, television, mobile media and video games, in the development of children, adolescents, and childhood. Primer to global issues and core research into children and the media integrating work from around the world Comprehensive integration of work that bridges disciplines, theoretical and research traditions and methods Covers both critical/qualitative and quantitative approaches to the topic
Call Number: 302.23 LEM
Publication Date: 2015-03-02
British Journal of Developmental Psychology – Available via http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/friendly.php?s=a-z-ejournals
British Journal of Social Psychology - Available via http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/friendly.php?s=a-z-ejournals
Children and Society - Available via http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/friendly.php?s=a-z-ejournals
The Psychologist http://www.thepsychologist.org.uk/