Childhoods in Context 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Childhoods in Context offers a critical exploration of childhood, drawing attention to the physical and social contexts of children's lives. Through accounts of home and family, school, public spaces, and work, the contributors explore three key arguments: childhood is always located somewhere--either in a place designed for children or territories that children develop for themselves; childhood is experienced through objects, people, places, and everyday routines; and childhood and adult identities are relational--understandings of childhood are dependent on how adulthood is viewed. Raising important questions about methodological approaches to understanding childhoods in context, this book provides a framework for investigating wider questions about childhood, including the power relationships between adults and children and the influence of gender and inequality.
Spaces for Young Children: a practical guide to planning, designing and building the perfect space. (E-book) by
Many childcare practitioners understand the importance of architecture in ensuring good provision for young children and their families. Whether making minor modifications to an existing facility, embarking on major improvements, or a new construction, this book will empower early years professionals to work with building professionals to create the best space for young children. It addresses the big things, such as efficient heating and ventilation, but more importantly suggests the smaller features that can provide an educationally stimulating environment. Spaces for Young Children looks at:#65533; why architecture is important#65533; a history of childcare environments#65533; designing space for young children#65533; details that enhance play#65533; risk and challenge within a safe environment#65533; the importance of outdoor play#65533; the process of design, procurement and construction.Good architecture combines the practical with a sense of delight. A building can help to make children's experience of their early years care secure and inspiring. Drawing on experience from the UK and Europe, this second edition aims to ensure that advances in children's architecture will be well informed. It has been revised throughout and includes an overview of legal compliance, consulting with children, building for communities, local involvement and achieving high quality builds with small budgets.
Spaces for Young Children: practical guide to planning, designing, and building the perfect space (Print copy) by
Many childcare practitioners understand the importance of architecture in ensuring good provision for young children and their families. Whether making minor modifications to an existing facility, embarking on major improvements, or a new construction, this book will empower early years professionals to work with building professionals to create the best space for young children. It addresses the big things, such as efficient heating and ventilation, but more importantly suggests the smaller features that can provide an educationally stimulating environment. Spaces for Young Children looks at: · why architecture is important · a history of childcare environments · designing space for young children · details that enhance play · risk and challenge within a safe environment · the importance of outdoor play · the process of design, procurement and construction. Good architecture combines the practical with a sense of delight. A building can help to make children's experience of their early years care secure and inspiring. Drawing on experience from the UK and Europe, this second edition aims to ensure that advances in children's architecture will be well informed. It has been revised throughout and includes an overview of legal compliance, consulting with children, building for communities, local involvement and achieving high quality builds with small budgets.
Children and Young People's Spaces: developing practice.(Print copy) by
This reader takes debates about children's services forward by drawing on ideas based in social pedagogy and arguing that the concept of 'space' is crucial to relationships and practices with children and young people. It will stimulate students to question and rethink, and practitioners to innovate and challenge mainstream thinking.
Designing for Play. (Print copy) by
Architects, landscape designers, builders, gardeners and teachers have all at some time been called upon to design a play area. Unfortunately, this diversity has not resulted in a similar diversity of design solutions for this very problematic task. Despite a proliferation of 'how to' books on this subject, playgrounds have remained virtually the same throughout the world since their creation over a century ago. This is not a 'how to' design book. Instead, based on thirty years' experience as a specialist play area designer, Barbara Hendricks details a radically new approach, applying cutting-edge thinking from child development and child psychology to find innovative design solutions, challenging the established notions of play provision. Covering key sociological, public policy, environmental and design issues, this book provides designers with an exploration of and guide to, designing from a 'child's eye' view of the world. Beautifully crafted and copiously illustrated with numerous examples of recently designed playgrounds, this book is not only stimulating and informative, but fun to read and seriously playful in itself. This second edition brings the text up to date from 2001 to 2010 with added discussion about new ideas for play area designs and what has not worked in the past decade.
Children's Geographies: playing, living, learning. (Print copy) by
Children's Geographies is an overview of a rapidly expanding area of cutting edge research. Drawing on original research and extensive case studies in Europe, North and South America, Africa and Asia, the book analyses children's experiences of playing, living and learning. The diverse case studies range from an historical analysis of gender relationss in nineteenth century North American playgrounds through to children's experiences of after school care in contemporary Britain, to street cultures amongst homeless children in Indonesia at the end of the twentieth century. Threaded through this empirical diversity, is a common engagement with current debates about the nature of childhood. The individual chapters draw on contemporary sociological understandings of children's competence as social actors. In so doing they not only illustrate the importance of such an approach to our understandings of children's geographies, they also contribute to current debates about spatiality in the social studies of childhood.
Geographies of Children, Youth and Families. (Print copy) by
This edited collection brings together international experts from the vibrant and growing field of geographies of children, youth and families. Designed as an introduction to the topic, this book provides an overview of current conceptual and theoretical debates surrounding geographies of children, youth and families, and gives a wide range of examples of cutting-edge research from a variety of national contexts across the globe. The theme of ¿disentangling the socio-spatial contexts of young people and/or their families¿ advances debates in the field by emphasising the context of young people¿s social agency. Geographies of Children, Youth and Families is an invaluable course text for undergraduate and postgraduate students of geography and the social sciences, as well as being of interest to students and practitioners of education, youth work, social policy, and social work.
Children and the Internet. (Print copy) by
Is the internet really transforming children and young people?s lives? Is the so-called ?digital generation? genuinely benefiting from exciting new opportunities? And, worryingly, facing new risks? This major new book by a leading researcher addresses these pressing questions. It deliberately avoids a techno-celebratory approach and, instead, interprets children?s everyday practices of internet use in relation to the complex and changing historical and cultural conditions of childhood in late modernity. Uniquely, Children and the Internet reveals the complex dynamic between online opportunities and online risks, exploring this in relation to much debated issues such as: Digital in/exclusion Learning and literacy Peer networking and privacy Civic participation Risk and harm Drawing on current theories of identity, development, education and participation, this book includes a refreshingly critical account of the challenging realities undermining the great expectations held out for the internet - from governments, teachers, parents and children themselves. It concludes with a forward-looking framework for policy and regulation designed to advance children?s rights to expression, connection and play online as well as offline.
Children and the Internet. (E-book) by
Is the internet really transforming children and young people's lives? Is the so-called 'digital generation' genuinely benefiting from exciting new opportunities? And, worryingly, facing new risks? This major new book by a leading researcher addresses these pressing questions. It deliberately avoids a techno-celebratory approach and, instead, interprets children's everyday practices of internet use in relation to the complex and changing historical and cultural conditions of childhood in late modernity. Uniquely, Children and the Internet reveals the complex dynamic between online opportunities and online risks, exploring this in relation to much debated issues such as: #65533; Digital in/exclusion #65533; Learning and literacy #65533; Peer networking and privacy #65533; Civic participation #65533; Risk and harm Drawing on current theories of identity, development, education and participation, this book includes a refreshingly critical account of the challenging realities undermining the great expectations held out for the internet - from governments, teachers, parents and children themselves. It concludes with a forward-looking framework for policy and regulation designed to advance children's rights to expression, connection and play online as well as offline.
Children and Young People's Worlds. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This textbook for advanced and post graduate students sets out the contexts of children's and young people's lives and encourages students to explore their complexities and contexts. The new edition has been substantially updated to discuss and analyse new topics and issues that have emerged over the last ten years, including: developments in the way that children and young people's lives have been theorized and understood; their engagement in all aspects of contemporary cultures including the spiritual as well as the digital; the impact of recent political, economic, and social change. Drawing on insights from psychology, cultural studies, sociology, anthropology, geography and education, each chapter challenges students' assumptions and examines crucial issues in the field, such as participation, race, rights, law, transnational childhoods and sexuality. These different perspectives, drawing on different bodies of work, form a holistic picture of the multi-faceted lives of children and young people today.
Understanding early childhood: issues and controversies. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by 
Early childhood studies: a multidisciplinary and holistic approach. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Early Childhood Studies. 3rd edn. (E-book) by
A new edition of the ground-breaking, popular and well-respected textbook that supports the study of early childhood from an holistic and multi-disciplinary perspective. The book uniquely balances the need for professionals and students to understand theory, research and policy in relation to young children's lives, giving you the ability to take an in-depth and analytical approach to understanding key early childhood issues and concepts based on children's rights. - Takes a multi-disciplinary approach to Early Childhood Studies, including sociology, health, psychology, genetics and social work. - Fully up-to-date with legislation, policy and research development. - Includes guidance on the skills required to successfully study early childhood at degree level. - Provides suggestions for further reading to extend the reader's knowledge and understanding of key topics. The book draws on practical examples to promote a deeper and critical discussion about working with young children and their families and particularly the ways in which early years professionals must embrace partnership working and collaboration.
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Childhoods in Context 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Childhoods in Context offers a critical exploration of childhood, drawing attention to the physical and social contexts of children's lives. Through accounts of home and family, school, public spaces, and work, the contributors explore three key arguments: childhood is always located somewhere--either in a place designed for children or territories that children develop for themselves; childhood is experienced through objects, people, places, and everyday routines; and childhood and adult identities are relational--understandings of childhood are dependent on how adulthood is viewed. Raising important questions about methodological approaches to understanding childhoods in context, this book provides a framework for investigating wider questions about childhood, including the power relationships between adults and children and the influence of gender and inequality.
Children and Young People's Spaces: developing practice.(Print copy) by
This reader takes debates about children's services forward by drawing on ideas based in social pedagogy and arguing that the concept of 'space' is crucial to relationships and practices with children and young people. It will stimulate students to question and rethink, and practitioners to innovate and challenge mainstream thinking.
No fear: growing up in a risk averse society. (Print copy) by 
Local Childhoods, Global Issues. (Print copy) by
Although the current plight of children in many parts of the world can leave us with a grim outlook on the future, there are still many positive indicators of a better future for all. Local Childhoods, Global Issues is an interdisciplinary textbook that examines children's lives across the world, exploring the great differences--and similarities--between childhood experiences across different cultural contexts. The contributors consider the problems caused by poverty, social inequality, ill health, and violence, but they emphasize that these are challenges for children everywhere--not just those in the poorer countries of the world. They look at how children use their own resources and coping strategies and the sense of agency that results, arguing that in fact very few children are passive victims helplessly awaiting rescue. The contributors prominently feature interviews that highlight the direct perspectives of children themselves.
Childhood in a Global Perspective (Print copy) by
The second edition of this compelling and popular book offers a unique global perspective on children's lives throughout the world. It shows how the notion of childhood is being radically re-shaped, in part as a consequence of globalization. Taking an engaging historical and comparative approach, the book explores social issues such as how children are constituted as raced, classed and gendered subjects; how children's involvement in war is connected to the globalization of capitalism and organized crime; and how school and work operate as sites for the governing of childhood. The book discusses wide-ranging topics including children's rights, the family, children and war, child labour and young people's activism around the globe. In addition to updated literature throughout, the revised edition includes new chapters on migration and trafficking, and the role of play. The book will continue to be of great value to students and scholars in the fields of sociology, geography, social policy and development studies. It will also be a valuable companion to practitioners of international development and social work, as well as to anyone interested in childhood in the contemporary world.
Children and Young People's Worlds. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This textbook for advanced and post graduate students sets out the contexts of children's and young people's lives and encourages students to explore their complexities and contexts. The new edition has been substantially updated to discuss and analyse new topics and issues that have emerged over the last ten years, including: developments in the way that children and young people's lives have been theorized and understood; their engagement in all aspects of contemporary cultures including the spiritual as well as the digital; the impact of recent political, economic, and social change. Drawing on insights from psychology, cultural studies, sociology, anthropology, geography and education, each chapter challenges students' assumptions and examines crucial issues in the field, such as participation, race, rights, law, transnational childhoods and sexuality. These different perspectives, drawing on different bodies of work, form a holistic picture of the multi-faceted lives of children and young people today.
Journals
Childhood
Children and Society - Available online via - http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/friendly.php?s=a-z-ejournals
Children’s Geographies - Available online via - http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/friendly.php?s=a-z-ejournals
Sociology - Available online via - http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/friendly.php?s=a-z-ejournals
Essential weekly readings will be made available to students on Learn under module content and will be updated each year.
Archambault, J. (2012) 'It can be good there too': home and continuity in refugee children's narratives of settlement', Children's Geographies 10(1), pp. 35-48. (Available via University of Suffolk Summon)
Christensen, P.H. (2000) 'Childhood and the cultural construction of vulnerable bodies', in Prout, A. (ed.) The body, childhood and society. Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan. pp. 38 – 59.
Christensen, P., James, A. and Jenks, C. (2000) ‘Home and movement: children constructing family time’, in Holloway, S. and Valentine, G. (eds.) Children’s geographies: playing, living, learning. pp.120 – 134
Dobson, M. (2009) 'Unpacking children in migration research', Children's Geographies. 7(3), pp.355-360. (Available via University of Suffolk Summon).
Hopkins, P., and Hill, M. (2008) 'Pre flight experiences and migration stories: the accounts of unaccompanied asylum seeking children', Children's Geographies 6(3), pp. 257-268.
Gallacher, L. (2006) 'The terrible twos: gaining control in the nursery?',Children's Geographies, 3(2), pp. 243-264.
Leonard, M. (2005) 'Children, childhood and social capital: exploring the links', Sociology 39(4), pp. 605-622. Available via Summon.
Moss, S. (2012) Natural childhood report. No place: The National Trust. Available at: https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/documents/read-our-natural-childhood-report.pdf
Pike, J. (2008) 'Foucault, space and primary school dining rooms', Children's Geographies, 6(4), pp.413-422. Available via Summon.
Prosser, J. and Loxley, A. (2008) Introducing visual methods', ESRC NCRM review paper. Southampton: National Centre for Research Methods (NCRM).Available at: http://eprints.ncrm.ac.uk/420/1/MethodsReviewPaperNCRM-010.pdf.
Ross, N. (2007) 'My journey to school: foregrounding the meaning of school journeys and children's engagements and interactions in their everyday localities’, Children's Geographies, 5(4), pp. 373-391.
Yantzi, N.M., Young, N.L. and Mckeever, P. (2010) 'The suitability of school playgrounds for physically disabled children', Children's Geographies, 8(1), pp.65-78.
