The Study Skills Handbook. 5th end. (Print copy) by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Research Methods in Early Childhood: an introductory guide. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by 
Introducing Research Methodology : thinking your way through your research project. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Offering an encyclopedic introduction to research, this book shows students how to think about every stage of their project and equips them with the tools they need to understand different research processes. Packed with examples showing the diversity of research, this third edition provides hands-on guidance to help students: Develop key academic skills like critical thinking, effective writing and building an argument Confidently interpret findings, assess arguments and understand the wider impact of their research Understand the challenges and opportunities involved in working with new types of data like social media and online data Supported by a dynamic new website with downloadable templates, case studies, dos and don'ts videos and more, this practical book prepares students for not just getting to grips with methodological concepts, but being ready to apply them.
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Social research methods 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
The good study guide (Print copy) by 
Good Essay Writing. 5th edn. by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy here. Writing good essays is one of the most challenging aspects of studying in the social sciences. This simple guide provides you with proven approaches and techniques to help turn you into a well-oiled, essay writing machine. Good Essay Writing demonstrates how to think critically and formulate your argument as well as offering water-tight structuring tips, referencing advice and a word on those all too familiar common worries - all brought to life through real student examples from a range of subjects. Now in its fifth edition, this fresh update contains: New essay examples are analysed and discussed, so you have a clear understanding of what makes a good essay A new chapter on essay writing skills and other forms of social science writing, helping you transfer the skills you learn to different types of written assessments A new Companion Website providing additional exercises and examples, helping you practice and apply the skills. This practical guide is an absolute must for everybody wanting - or needing - to brush up on their essay writing skills and boost their grades. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Critical Thinking Skills 3rd edn. (Print copy) by 
The good research guide: for small-scale social research projects. 6th edn. (Print copy) by 
Statistics Explained. 3rd edn. (E-book) by
Statistics Explained is an accessible introduction to statistical concepts and ideas. It makes few assumptions about the reader#65533;s statistical knowledge, carefully explaining each step of the analysis and the logic behind it. The book: provides a clear explanation of statistical analysis and the key statistical tests employed in analysing research data gives accessible explanations of how and why statistical tests are used includes a wide range of practical, easy-to-understand worked examples. Building on the international success of earlier editions, this fully updated revision includes developments in statistical analysis, with new sections explaining concepts such as bootstrapping and structural equation modelling. A new chapter - #65533;Samples and Statistical Inference#65533; - explains how data can be analysed in detail to examine its suitability for certain statistical tests. The friendly and straightforward style of the text makes it accessible to all those new to statistics, as well as more experienced students requiring a concise guide. It is suitable for students and new researchers in disciplines including Psychology, Education, Sociology, Sports Science, Nursing, Communication, and Media and Business Studies. Presented in full colour and with an updated, reader-friendly layout, this new edition also comes with a companion website featuring supplementary resources for students. Unobtrusive cross-referencing makes it the ideal companion to Perry R. Hinton#65533;s SPSS Explained, also published by Routledge. Perry R. Hinton has many years of experience in teaching statistics to students from a wide range of disciplines and his understanding of the problems students face forms the basis of this book.
Statistics Explained. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Statistics Explained is an accessible introduction to statistical concepts and ideas. It makes few assumptions about the reader#65533;s statistical knowledge, carefully explaining each step of the analysis and the logic behind it. The book: provides a clear explanation of statistical analysis and the key statistical tests employed in analysing research data gives accessible explanations of how and why statistical tests are used includes a wide range of practical, easy-to-understand worked examples. Building on the international success of earlier editions, this fully updated revision includes developments in statistical analysis, with new sections explaining concepts such as bootstrapping and structural equation modelling. A new chapter - #65533;Samples and Statistical Inference#65533; - explains how data can be analysed in detail to examine its suitability for certain statistical tests. The friendly and straightforward style of the text makes it accessible to all those new to statistics, as well as more experienced students requiring a concise guide. It is suitable for students and new researchers in disciplines including Psychology, Education, Sociology, Sports Science, Nursing, Communication, and Media and Business Studies. Presented in full colour and with an updated, reader-friendly layout, this new edition also comes with a companion website featuring supplementary resources for students. Unobtrusive cross-referencing makes it the ideal companion to Perry R. Hinton#65533;s SPSS Explained, also published by Routledge. Perry R. Hinton has many years of experience in teaching statistics to students from a wide range of disciplines and his understanding of the problems students face forms the basis of this book.
