Child Development. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Focusing on the earliest years (0-8), the new edition of this bestselling textbook continues to provide a comprehensive overview of the research, theory, and current practice in the field of child development. The new edition is fully up to date with current policy and legislation and now includes; · New 'Research boxes' in each chapter helping students link theory to practice · Increased coverage on children's social and emotional development · A brand new companion website including a selection of free SAGE Journal articles, annotated further readings, weblinks and useful online materials.
Developmental Psychology., 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
What does it mean to say that one child is more intelligent than another? Does it really make a difference if we talk to babies even though they can't understand us? What makes children with the same parents have different characters? At what age are children likely to become involved in cyberbullying? Developmental Psychology 2nd edition provides a clear and lively coverage of the main topics and concepts required by the British Psychological Society (BPS). The book takes a broadly topical organisation addressing the social and cognitive strands of development, providing an intuitive pathway through the core topics, and a final section which focuses on the clinical and applied aspects of the subject. This second edition include updated and expanded coverage of play, motor development, genetics and research methods
Fundamentals of Developmental Psychology. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition of the highly successful Fundamentals of Development: The Psychology of Childhood has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the exciting new findings in the thriving area of developmental psychology. The book addresses a number of fascinating questions including: Are children born good or bad? What do children understand about the mind? What roles do nature and nurture play in child development? As in the previous edition, the book follows a thematic approach and outlines the main areas of developmental psychology, including classic theories and studies, and offers a broad overview of contemporary research in the field.nbsp; Each chapter addresses a key topic - such as theory of mind, attachment, and moral development -nbsp;and is self-contained and comprehensive in its coverage. New chapters in this edition include a detailed look at methods in developmental psychology, an overview of developmental disorders, and an introduction to the burgeoning area of numerical development. The book is student-friendly, with all topics described in straightforward language, illustrated in full colour, and organized as standalone chapters. The text will make an excellent companion to introductory courses on developmental psychology, and for instructors there are high-quality lecture slides, and a bank of multiple choice questions. The text is written to be bothnbsp;accessible and comprehensive, and to provide an engaging overview for students and professionals who have little or no background in this area.
Fundamentals of Developmental Psychology. 2nd edn. (E-book) by
This new edition of the highly successful Fundamentals of Development: The Psychology of Childhood has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the exciting new findings in the thriving area of developmental psychology. The book addresses a number of fascinating questions including: Are children born good or bad? What do children understand about the mind? What roles do nature and nurture play in child development? As in the previous edition, the book follows a thematic approach and outlines the main areas of developmental psychology, including classic theories and studies, and offers a broad overview of contemporary research in the field.nbsp; Each chapter addresses a key topic - such as theory of mind, attachment, and moral development -nbsp;and is self-contained and comprehensive in its coverage. New chapters in this edition include a detailed look at methods in developmental psychology, an overview of developmental disorders, and an introduction to the burgeoning area of numerical development. The book is student-friendly, with all topics described in straightforward language, illustrated in full colour, and organized as standalone chapters. The text will make an excellent companion to introductory courses on developmental psychology, and for instructors there are high-quality lecture slides, and a bank of multiple choice questions. The text is written to be bothnbsp;accessible and comprehensive, and to provide an engaging overview for students and professionals who have little or no background in this area.
An Introduction to Developmental Psychology. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
A representative and authoritative 'state of the art' account of human development from conception to adolescence. Written at an easy-to-comprehend level by an international team of respected researchers, conveying their knowledge with enthusiasm and skill. Full supporting materials - chapter overviews, discussion questions, suggestions for further reading, and glossary. Chapters covering applied issues in developmental psychology
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
The Wiley-Blackwell handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This definitive volume is the result of collaboration by top scholars in the field of children′s cognition. New edition offers an up-to-date overview of all the major areas of importance in the field, and includes new data from cognitive neuroscience and new chapters on social cognitive development and language Provides state-of-the-art summaries of current research by international specialists in different areas of cognitive development Spans aspects of cognitive development from infancy to the onset of adolescence Includes chapters on symbolic reasoning, pretend play, spatial development, abnormal cognitive development and current theoretical perspectives
An Introduction to Child Development. 3rd edn.(Print copy) by
An Introduction to Child Development, Third Edition provides undergraduate students in psychology and other disciplines with a comprehensive survey of the main areas of child development, from infancy through to adolescence, in a readily accessible format. It equips students with an appreciation of the critical issues, while providing balanced coverage of topics that represent both classic and cutting edge work in this vast and fascinating field.The new edition has been fully updated and features: Topical research examples from current literature in psychology, education, nursing and medicine including new material on fetal learning and the role of play New and expanded sections covering key contemporary issues in cognitive, emotional and social development New features such as ′Points for Reflection′ boxes, designed to encourage the reader to reflect more deeply on the subject matter Access to an enhanced SAGE Edge companion website which features online readings, Powerpoint Slides, 'Test Yourself' questions and much more (https://edge.sagepub.com/keenan3e). This textbook is essential reading for undergraduate students taking an introductory course in child development or developmental psychology and provides a clear and accessible foundation for essays, assignments and other projects.
Child Development: an active learning approach. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This innovative text engages students by demonstrating the wide range of real-world applications of psychological research to child development. In particular, the distinctive 'active learning' features incorporated throughout the book foster a dynamic and personal learning process for students. The authors cover the latest topics shaping the field of child development - including a focus on neuroscience, diversity and culture - without losing the interest of undergraduate students. The pedagogical features in this text and the accompanying ancillaries package help students discover the excitement of studying child development, enhance their learning, and equip them with tools they can use long after the class ends. This text is geared towards undergraduate courses in child development, child psychology, and developmental psychology.
The development of children. 8th edn. (Print copy) by 
Psychological Development and Early Childhood (Print copy) by
Psychological Development and Early Childhood is a broad and accessible introduction to theory and research, presenting integrated research-based accounts of development in key areas of early childhood. One of a series of four books which form part of the Open University course Child Development. A focus on modern developmental theories is complemented by detailed consideration of models of developmental processes. A theme that runs through the book is a concern with the ways in which biological, social and cultural influences interact in development.
Introducing Child Psychology. (Print copy) by
Introducing Child Psychology is for all those who want to find out what psychology can tell us about the nature and development of children. A non-technical introduction for all those who want to find out what psychology can tell us about the nature and development of children. Presents the major topics of child development investigated by psychologists. Pays particular attention to the most recent research findings. Consistently relates psychological knowledge to practical situations, showing what psychology has to offer in real life situations involving children. Learning is supported by study boxes, summaries, definitions and suggestions for further reading.
Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology. (Print copy) by
Perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology and arranged thematically in sections corresponding to chapter headings usually found in textbooks, this book is ideal for students wanting an accessible book to enrich their learning experience. Key Features: - Provides an overview of the place of each concept in Developmental Psychology under three headings, namely its meaning, origins and current usage. - Concepts are grouped into sections corresponding to the main themes usually covered in teaching. - Relevant concepts in the book are emboldened and linked by listing at the end of each concept - Guidance is provided to further reading on each of the concepts discussed. The book will be centrally important to undergraduate students who need to learn the language used by developmental psychologists in describing their studies, but will also help more advanced readers in checking their ideas regarding the nature and uSAGE of particular concepts.
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development. 2nd edn. (Print copy). by
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development, Second Edition presents an authoritative and up-to-date overview of research and theory concerning a child's social development from pre-school age to the onset of adolescence. Presents the most up-to-date research and theories on childhood social development Features chapters by an international cast of leaders in their fields Includes comprehensive coverage of a range of disciplinary perspectives Offers all new chapters on children and the environment, cultural influences, history of childhood, interventions, and neuro-psychological perspectives Represents an essential resource for students and researchers of childhood social development
Understanding Children's Development. 6th edn. (Print copy). by
Understanding Children's Development is the UK's best-selling developmental psychology textbook and has been widely acclaimed for its international coverage and rigorous research-based approach. This dynamic text emphasizes the practical and applied implications of developmental research. It begins by introducing the ways in which psychologists study developmental processes before going on to consider all major aspects of development from conception through to adolescence. New to the 6th Edition: Increased coverage in many areas, including ethics; children's rights; participatory research methods; three models of human plasticity; breastfeeding and cognitive development; fostering; non-resident or absent fathers; parenting styles in China; effects of domestic violence on children; physical punishment, and child maltreatment; the development and fostering of emotional intelligence; homophobic bullying and cyberbullying; and developing intercultural competence through education. There are entirely new sections on immigration, acculturation, and friendships in multicultural settings; disruptive behaviour and oppositional defiant disorder; sexting; and adolescent bedtimes. The Adolescence chapter has been extensively revised, covering work on the social brain, insights from neuroscience, evolutionary perspectives on risk-taking and peer relationships, romantic development, and use of mobile phones and the internet.
Developmental Psychology and Early Chil1dhood Education (ONLINE) by
The importance of high quality early childhood education is now universally recognized, and this quality crucially depends upon the practitioners who work with our young children, and their deep understanding of how children develop and learn. This book makes a vital contribution to this understanding, providing authoritative reviews of key areas of research in developmental psychology, and demonstrating how these can inform practice in early years educational settings. The book's major theme is the fundamental importance of young children developing as independent, self-regulating learners. It illustrates how good practice is based on four key principles which support and encourage this central aspect of development:Secure attachment and emotional warmthFeelings of control and agencyCognitive challenge, adults supporting learning and learning from one anotherArticulation about learning, and opportunities for self-expressionEach chapter includes:Typical and significant questions which arise in practice related to that area of developmentAn up-to-date review of key research, including insights from observational and experimental work with young children, from evolutionary psychology, and from neuroscientific studies of the developing brainPractical exercises intended to deepen understanding and to inform practiceQuestions for discussionRecommended further readingThis book provides an invaluable resource for early years students and practitioners, by summarizing new research findings and demonstrating how they can be translated into excellent early years practice.
Developmental Psychology and Early Childhood Education: a guide for students and practitioners. (Print copy) by
This book provides authoritative reviews of key areas of research in developmental psychology and demonstrates how these can inform practice in early years educational settings. The major theme is the fundamental importance of young children developing as independent, self-regulating learners. It illustrates how good practice is based on four key principles which support and encourage this central aspect of development: Secure attachment and emotional warmth Feelings of control and agency Cognitive challenge, adults supporting learning and learning from one another Articulation about learning, and opportunities for self-expression This book provides an invaluable resource for early years students and practitioners, by summarizing new research findings and demonstrating how they can be translated into excellent early years practice.
Developmental Psychology. (Print copy) by
This revision guide provides concise coverage of the central topics within Developmental Psychology, presented within a framework designed to help you focus on assessment and exams. The guide is organised broadly chronologically, but with a topical focus in tune with the majority of courses. Sample questions, assessment advice and exam tips drive the organisation within chapters so you are able to grasp and marshal your thoughts towards revision of the main topics. Features focused on critical thinking, practical applications and key research will offer additional pointers for you in you revision process and exam preparation. A companion website provides supporting resources for self testing, exam practice, answers to questions in the book, and links to further resources.
Developmental Psychology in Action. (E-book) by
Developmental Psychology in Action looks at how psychologists contribute to the development and well-being of children in practical ways. The role of psychologists and psychological theory is considered with respect to specific topics which focus on child development in the context of social, educational and clinical issues. The chapters are authored by active researchers and practitioners in each field. Each chapter provides an introduction to the topic under discussion and aims to stimulate reflection and evaluation. This is the final book in a series of four which form part of the Open University course Child Development. The series provides a detailed and thorough undergraduate-level introduction to the central concepts, theories, current issues and research evidence in developmental psychology. Developmental Psychology in Action is a course text for the Open University course ED209 Child Development.
Further Reading
Journals/Periodicals
British Journal of Developmental Psychology – Available online via Summon
Child Development - Available online via Summon
Child Education
Early Years - Available online via Summon
Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry - Available online via Summon
The Psychologist - Available online via Summon
Websites
www.bps.org.uk (British Psychological Society – “The Psychologist” can be accessed online)
www.education.gov.uk (includes link to research and to national curricula)
http://www.bera.ac.uk/ (British Educational Research Association)
http://www.tactyc.org.uk/ (Association for the Professional Development of Early Years Educators)
