Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Child Development: theories and critical perspectives. (E-book) by Child Development: Theories and Critical Perspectives provides an engaging and perceptive overview of both well-established and recent theories in child and adolescent psychology. This unique summary of traditional scientific perspectives alongside critical post-modern thinking will provide readers with a sense of the historical development of different schools of thought. The authors also place theories of child development in philosophical and cultural contexts, explore links between them, and consider the implications of theory for practice in the light of the latest thinking and developments in implementation and translational science. Early chapters cover mainstream theories such as those of Piaget, Skinner, Freud, Maccoby and Vygotsky, whilst later chapters present interesting lesser-known theorists such as Sergei Rubinstein, and more recent influential theorists such as Esther Thelen. The book also addresses lifespan perspectives and systems theory, and describes the latest thinking in areas ranging from evolutionary theory and epigenetics, to feminism, the voice of the child and Indigenous theories. The new edition of Child Development has been extensively revised to include considerable recent advances in the field. As with the previous edition, the book has been written with the student in mind, and includes a number of useful pedagogical features including further reading, discussion questions, activities, and websites of interest. Child Development: Theories and Critical Perspectives will be essential reading for students on advanced courses in developmental psychology, education, social work and social policy, and the lucid style will also make it accessible to readers with little or no background in psychology.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2015-05-21
Learning Through Child Observation, 3rd edn. (E-book) by This fully updated third edition of Learning Through Child Observation is a handbook for professionals working in, or students preparing to work in, children's services. This accessible text examines the value of observation, its use in assessment and the practical aspects and methods of observational study. The authors focus on the importance of fully recognising the child's developmental and emotional state when intervening, and the need to see children 'holistically' and as unique individuals within the wider context of the family and community. This new edition reflects updates to policy and practice and further develops the critical perspective on contemporary thinking about childhood and observational methods. This edition has also expanded its focus to include observation of primary-aged children. A popular text, it will appeal to students and professionals in all children's services, whether in pre-school, schools, social care, mental health or health settings.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Observing Assessing and Planning for Children in Early Years (E-book) by This introductory text shows how, by observing children knowledgeably, practitioners can plan for and assess the young children in their care much more effectively. Observation as a 'tool for learning' has long been considered to be one of the most beneficial ways of teaching the very young, and this book introduces the work of people who have become famous for their skills as observers, exploring the theories behind their work and how this can be related to the day-to-day nursery environment. Sandra Smidt uses case studies throughout to explain in detail how young children's development can be matched to their exact needs and interests, creating a more positive learning experience for all.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2005-04-26
Child Observation: a guide for students of early childhood. 4th edn. (Print copy) by This is a key text that enables students to appreciate and understand the central role of observation in understanding, planning for and educating early years children. It explores the theoretical background to child observation and links it back to practice. Recent important research in the field of child observation is highlighted and ethical implications of research in early childhood are considered. This is essential for all those studying for degrees and foundation degrees in early childhood, early years and related disciplines and for Early Years Teacher candidates. Updated in line with recent policy and legislation changes A new chapter on observation documentation in the multi-modal age Includes new material and case studies that explores the essential elements of child observation across the world Research chapter re-written to make it more accessible for all students More case studies throughout linking theory to practice.
Call Number: 372.21PAL
Publication Date: 2019-11-02
Child Development. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Focusing on the earliest years (0-8), the new edition of this bestselling textbook continues to provide a comprehensive overview of the research, theory, and current practice in the field of child development. The new edition is fully up to date with current policy and legislation and now includes; · New 'Research boxes' in each chapter helping students link theory to practice · Increased coverage on children's social and emotional development · A brand new companion website including a selection of free SAGE Journal articles, annotated further readings, weblinks and useful online materials.
Call Number: 305.231 CRO
Publication Date: 2017
Learning Theories for Early Years Practice. (Print copy) by Understanding and applying learning theories is crucial to the transition from study or training, to practice in a real-world setting. This new textbook will prepare the reader by demonstrating how key learning theories pan out in practice, with the aid of photographs, examples and clear explanations. Divided into three main sections, Early Influences, Modern Influences, and Challenges for Theorists in a Changing World, this author identifies the key theorists in early childhood, past and present, before linking them to the main issues and developments that face early years practitioners today. An explanation of each key theorist is guided by a clear structure, including: links to other theorists strengths and weaknesses of the theory the theory in practice Packed full of case studies, activities, points for discussion, extended and recommended reading, this is a fantastic resource for students and teachers who want to build a strong foundation in learning theories, to enable them to support the young children in their care as effectively as possible.
Call Number: 372.21
Publication Date: 2018
Foundations of Early Childhood: principles and practice. (Print copy) by ′This text will be an invaluable addition to the reading of students and tutors alike. It has been written thoughtfully for students embarking on university courses that study aspects of early childhood education. The introductory chapters give the reader a sense of the thinking and reflection that is helpful for them at the beginning of their studies and a clear focus on the rights of our youngest children roots the text in a sound pedagogical frame. The later chapters broaden the argument and feel very relevant to the current context in their explorations of the policy and practice of EYFS. I would strongly recommend this text.′-Jo Albin-Clark, Senior Lecturer in Early Years Education, Edge Hill University This book introduces all the most important aspects of early years care and education, and will help you develop the key skills needed to study at degree level. Each chapter introduces major concepts and theories which allow you to explore the foundations of key early childhood issues and apply them in practice. Topics include: Children's rights The Early Years curriculum How children learn and develop Health and well-being As well as looking at important aspects of study such as: How to search primary sources, such as policy documents and journals How to use your personal experience in studying How to develop critical reading and writing skills With specific learning features designed for different levels of study, this book will be invaluable to students studying at levels 4 and 5 of early childhood degrees and foundation degrees, with features designed to support students as they make the transition to honours level study.Digital resources for extra support!Check out the companion website for additional material including: interactive glossary flashcards journal tasks web links to more handy online resources
Call Number: 372.21 MUK
Publication Date: 2014
The Early Years Foundation Stage: theory and practice. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by The new edition of this bestselling textbook continues to provide comprehensive coverage of the revised Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum, and is the ideal companion for anyone undertaking any Early Years or Early Childhood Studies course, or those working towards Early Years Teacher Status (EYTS). The third edition now includes new chapters on; · International Perspectives on Early childhood Education and Care · The Issue of Professionalism · Pedagogical Documentation · Using the Outdoor Environments in Early childhood Pedagogy · The Role of Digital Technologies in the Early Years This book further supports your study with outstanding learning features including; · A Companion Website with weblinks, free SAGE journal articles, extended case studies and annotated further readings. Click here to access. · Chapter Roadmaps to identify what each chapter will cover at-a-glance. · Case Studies in each chapter to help you link theory to practice · 'Reflection Points', 'Reflective Tasks' and 'Points for Discussion', to help you critically reflect on how the chapter can be applied to your personal and professional development. · Further Readings directing you to external resources to help deepen your understanding Ioanna Palaiologou will be discussing key ideas from The Early Years Foundation Stage in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
Call Number: 372.21
Publication Date: 2016
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Children and Young People Now – Available online via Summon
Early Years - Available online via Summon
Nursery World – Available online via LEARN & WSC username and password
Early Childhood: a guide for students. 2nd edn. (Print copy). by This engaging text provides a comprehensive introduction to the field of early childhood. Written and edited by experts in the field, the book clearly explains theory through illustrations of good practice, with case studies, reflective exercises and suggestions for further reading. Each chapter has been revised with an emphasis on encouraging reflective practice and there are new chapters on: Personal, social, and emotional development Early Years Professional Status (EYPS) Health and safeguarding children
Call Number: 372.21 BRU
Publication Date: 2010
From Birth to Sixteen years: children's health, social, emotional and cognitive development. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This new edition of From Birth to Sixteenoutlines children's physical, social, emotional and cognitive development from infancy through to adolescence. In both its practical application of research and its contribution to the assessment of child development, this text provides essential reading for students and practitioners in nursing, health visiting, play work, youth work, early years education, teaching, social work and occupational therapy. This innovative and broad-ranging text is accessible and engaging, with case studies, tables, and references to relevant studies making links to professional practice throughout. Taking into account the diversity of ways in which children develop - including considerations of gender, ethnicity, social background, disability and resilience - it presents developmental models for the years from birth to sixteen under each of the following themes: children's rights and responsibilities relationships in the family relationships in day care, at school and with the peer group language and communication children and the media health and physical development mental health. This fully updated new edition offers additional content on topics such as attachment theory, the neuroscience of the brain, sleep patterns, multi-lingualism in childhood, disability, making the transition to young adulthood, and impact of war and other forms of adversity on emotional health and well-being. A companion website offers additional teaching and learning resources for students and lecturers. From the foundations of the subject through to its application in practice, From Birth to Sixteen provides an indispensable companion for those studying child development or working with children. bilities relationships in the family relationships in day care, at school and with the peer group language and communication children and the media health and physical development mental health. This fully updated new edition offers additional content on topics such as attachment theory, the neuroscience of the brain, sleep patterns, multi-lingualism in childhood, disability, making the transition to young adulthood, and impact of war and other forms of adversity on emotional health and well-being. A companion website offers additional teaching and learning resources for students and lecturers. From the foundations of the subject through to its application in practice, From Birth to Sixteen provides an indispensable companion for those studying child development or working with children. ations of the subject through to its application in practice, From Birth to Sixteen provides an indispensable companion for those studying child development or working with children.
Call Number: 305.23
Publication Date: 2019
Early Childhood Studies: a student's guide. (Print copy) by "Underpinned by ecological theories of development concerned with children, families and communities, this book provides the reader with philosophical, economic and sociological insights and with the latest thinking emerging from post-humanism. In so doing, it provides tools that enable students to research childhood, to understand the complexities of often seemingly simple matters and to navigate critically ever-changing policy and practice in early childhood. Its breadth, depth and currency cannot fail to impress." - Ian Barron, Professor of Early Childhood Studies, Manchester Metropolitan University Student focused and designed to support critical thinking, this brand new textbook is mapped to early childhood degrees and is designed to cover the breadth and depth of content across the course. Focused on seeing children in the context of the world they live in, it provides students with a range of perspectives and insights to help them understand the complexities of early childhood, develop their own critical ideas and apply theory to practice. A range of features in the book and resources online help students:Get to grips with the basic with:Spotlights on people, policy and practice An extensive Glossary in the book along with online Flashcards Learn from others with:Video insights from academics and practitioners Student perspectives at the start of each chapter Prepare for Assignments with:Further reading resources in the book and online to enable wider reading Spotlights on research and reflection points to develop critical thinking skills Relate to practice with:Case study scenarios of real-life settings Action point activities to put theory into practice
Call Number: 305.23
Publication Date: 2018-12-29
Excellence of Play. 4th edn. (Print copy) by The Excellence of Play highlights the importance of play as a tool for learning and teaching, for children and practitioners.
Call Number: 372.21 MOY
Publication Date: 2015
The Early Years Handbook for students and practitioners: an essential guide for the foundation degree and levels 4 & 5. (Print copy) by The Early Years Handbook for Students and Practitioners is a comprehensive and accessible course text for all students studying at levels 4 and 5, including on Foundation Degrees and Early Childhood Studies degrees. Designed and written by the Chair of the SEFDEY (Sector-Endorsed Foundation Degree in Early Years) Network and a team of expert contributors, this book covers the essential skills, knowledge and understanding you need to become an inspiring and effective early years practitioner. Divided into four parts: The Student-Practitioner-Professional; The Learning and Development of Children 0-5; The Child, Family and Society; and The Senior Practitioner-Professional, the book covers all aspects of working with young children and engages you with theory that is explicitly linked to your practice. Throughout there is a strong emphasis on supporting your transition to undergraduate study, developing your academic skills and encouraging you to be an active learner. In every chapter, the book seeks to help you develop your professional identity and features: Activities to help you to reflect on your own practice ¿Provocations¿ to promote discussion and debate Case study examples and photographs to illustrate key points ¿From Research to Practice¿ boxes outlining key research in the field and implications for practice. The book is supported by a companion website featuring, for students, links to useful websites and video material, and an interactive flashcard glossary. Online support for lecturers includes ideas for tasks and activities to use in class and the diagrams and images in the book available to download.
Call Number: 372.1102
Publication Date: 2016
Understanding Schemas and Emotion in Early Childhood (Print copy). by This book makes explicit connections between young children's spontaneous repeated actions, and their representations of their emotional worlds. Drawing on the literature on schemas, attachment theory and family contexts, the author takes schema theory into the territory of the emotions, making it relevant to the social and emotional development strand in early childhood education. Based on research carried out alongside children, parents, workers and co-researchers at the world-famous Pen Green Nursery, and using case studies of a small number of individual children, the author shows new links between cognition and affect. The book includes a brief summary of a method of Child Study, using video and reflections on video sequences. This book will be of interest to students and practitioners on Early Childhood undergraduate and postgraduate courses, as well as those taking modules on schema theory.
Call Number: 155.4 ARN
Publication Date: 2010
Essentials of Literacy from 0-7: a whole-child approach to communication, language and literacy. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Children flourish in their development and learning when practitioners and parents work together. Childrens' development and learning are further enhanced when interconnected knowledge and understanding work together. In this new edition the authors guide readers in understanding of child development. They highlight the need for those who work with young children to become reflective practitioners. Through a focus on the introduction of nursery rhymes, finger rhymes, action songs and poetry cards, the authors provide a gentle, child-friendly way to develop literacy 0-7. Thoroughly revised and updated, this book includes: - Case studies and examples - Discussion of the primary framework - Inclusion of schools as an educational setting - Age-appropriate activities - Further reading suggestions at the end of each chapter This book is useful for teachers, practitioners, teaching assistants and childminders and for anyone working with children from birth to seven years in nursery and primary schools, children's centres, foundation units, and at home. Tina Bruce is an Honorary visiting professor in Early Childhood at Roehampton University. Jenny Spratt is Head of EYFS and Children's Centre Services for Peterborough Local Authority
Call Number: 372.6 BRU
Publication Date: 2011
Treasure Baskets and Beyond: realizing the potential of sensory rich play. (Print copy) by "This accomplished book represents an impressive and important extension of previous writing in the field and is sure to expand practitioners' understanding of the fascinating medium that is the treasure basket." Janet Moyles, Professor Emeritus, Anglia Ruskin University, UK Watching a child play with a Treasure Basket can give a powerful insight into the wonder of children's minds; their developmental levels, interests, likes and dislikes; repeated patterns of behaviour; and even glimpses of a child's personality. This book draws extensively upon observations of children's play as well as contemporary and original research in neuroscience and sensory play, to offer fresh insights into the use and benefits of Treasure Baskets and sensory-rich play. The book demonstrates how babies through to primary school children, including those with special educational needs, can derive rich and meaningful hands-on learning from sensory-rich objects and the wider application of sensory play. Key features of the book: Discovering how sensory play presents opportunities for problem solving and meaning making as well as developing creativity and imagination Understanding the benefits and potential of sensory-rich play and its powerful effect upon brain development and memory Learning about the role of the adult in supporting and maximising sensory-rich play Gaining insights from a range of case studies and activities If you have already witnessed deeply absorbing Treasure Basket play in action and marvelled at children's fascination and focus, then this book helps explain something of the 'behind the scenes' processes in action. For those who have not yet encountered this deceptively complex play, this book whets the appetite, giving a taste of what Treasure Baskets and sensory-rich play have to offer. This timely and empowering book is written for practitioners and students working with babies through to primary-aged children.
Call Number: 372.21 GAS
Publication Date: 2012
Supporting Early Mathematical Development: practical approaches to play-based learning. (Print copy) by Supporting Early Mathematical Development is an essential text for current Early Years practitioners and students, offering an excellent blend of theory and practice that will enable you to provide successful mathematical education for children from birth to eight years old. Charting the delivery of mathematical development in Playgroups, Children's Centres, Nurseries and Primary Schools, it forges links between current practice and fundamental Early Years principles and makes suggestions for creating effective pedagogies in maths teaching. Promoting mathematical development through play-based learning, this book presents: a wealth of practical multi-sensory teaching strategies instructional methodologies activity ideas incorporating play, books, songs, cookery and the outdoors examples of children's work advice on translating theory into practice questions for reflective practice. Throughout the book, Caroline McGrath breaks down the complexity of teaching and learning mathematics into simple steps and guides readers through possible gaps in their knowledge, bringing fresh enthusiasm to teaching mathematics. This is an invaluable resource for practitioners and trainee teachers wishing to strengthen their mathematical teaching and professional practice, or for students on a wide range of Early Years courses.
Call Number: 372.7 MCG
Publication Date: 2010
Mathematics in Early Years Education. 4th edn. by This fourth edition of the best-selling Mathematics in Early Years Education provides an accessible introduction to the teaching of mathematics in the early years. Covering all areas of mathematics#65533; number and counting, calculation, pattern, shape, measures and data handling #65533; it provides a wide range of practical activities and guidance on how to support young children#65533;s mathematical development. There is also guidance on managing the transition to KS1 and a strong emphasis throughout on creating home links and working in partnership with parents. This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate the latest research and thinking in this area and includes: why mathematics is important as a way of making sense of the world how attitudes to mathematics can influence teaching and learning how children learn mathematics and what they are capable of learning how technology can support maths teaching maths phobia and the impact society has on maths teaching material on sorting, matching and handling data the importance of educating about finance in today#65533;s world ideas for observation and questioning to assess children#65533;s understanding examples of planned activities suggestions for language development assessment criteria. This textbook is ideal for those training to be teachers through an undergraduate or PGCE route, those training for Early Years Professional Status and those studying early childhood on foundation or honours degrees as well as parents looking to explore how their young children learn mathematics. This will be an essential text for any Early Years practitioner looking to make mathematics interesting, exciting and engaging in their classroom.
Call Number: 372.7044 MON
Publication Date: 2017
Thinking about Play: developing a reflective approach. (Print book) by "Thinking about Play... cleverly brings together research-based chapters from experienced Early Years practitioners and academics who provide knowledge the field desperately needs to ensure young children can engage in play - laying their own meaningful foundations for their later education." Tricia David, Emeritus Professor of Education, Canterbury Christ Church University, UK "This book provides an excellect collection of chapters which encourages early years practitioners to really get to grips with their own perceptions about, understanding of and beliefs in relation to play in early education settings. In so doing, they will also be well-supported in getting to grips with decisions to change and develop their playful practices for the benefit and pleasure both of children and of themselves. Janet Moyles has brought together a good number of well-respected writers in the field in a highly accessible and informative book. Professor Pat Broadhead, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK This edited collection brings together play and reflective practice and supports practitioners in reflecting more deeply on the play provision they make for young children. This involves analysing and evaluating what makes quality play and learning experiences by considering how current research might impact on practice. Key features: Introduces the concept of 'playful pedagogies' and explains how it relates to practice Each chapter starts with an abstract so that readers can dip into issues of particular interest and concern Includes questions and follow-up ideas that can be used for CPD experiences and training This important book supports early years students and practitioners in developing their own thinking, ideologies and pedagogies. Contributors: Deborah Albon, Pat Beckley, Avril Brock, Stephanie Collins, Jane George, Jane Gibbs, Justine Howard, Pam Jarvis, Karen McInnes, Kevin Kelman, Linda Lauchlan, Paulette Luff, Estelle Martin, Theodora Papatheodorou, Marie Sprawling, Lynsey Thomas, Pauline Trudell, Rebecca Webster, Bryonie Williams, Maulfry Worthington
Call Number: 305.23 MOY
Publication Date: 2010
Introducing Bruner: a guide for practitioner and students in early years education. (Print copy) by Sandra Smidt takes the reader on a journey through the key concepts of Jerome Bruner, a significant figure in the field of early education whose work has spanned almost a century. His wide-ranging and innovative principles of early learning and teaching are unpicked here using everyday language and the links between his ideas and those of other key thinkers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries are revealed. Introducing Bruneris the companion volume to Introducing Vygotskyand is an invaluable work for anyone involved with children in the early years. The introduction of Bruner's key concepts is followed by discussion of the implications of these for teaching and learning. This accessible text is illustrated throughout with examples drawn from real-life early years settings and the concepts discussed include: how children acquire language how children come to make sense of their world through narrative the significance of play to learning the importance of culture and context the role of memory what should children be taught: the spiral curriculum how should children be taught: scaffolding and interaction. The book also looks, crucially, at what those working or involved with young children can learn from Bruner, and includes a helpful glossary of terminology. This fascinating insight in to the life and work of a key figure in early years education is essential reading for anyone concerned with the learning and development of young children.
Call Number: 372.2101 SMI
Publication Date: 2011
Playing to Learn: the role of play in the early years. (Print copy) by Sandra Smidt sets out to explain what play is and why it is so important as one of the key ways of learning, particularly - but not solely - for young children. She argues that all play is purposeful, and can only truly considered to be play when the child has chosen what to do, where and how to do it. Using case studies drawn from all over the world, Smidt challenges some of the prevailing myths relating to play and pays close attention to what it is that early years professionals need to do to interpet the play, understand its purpose for the child and sometimes extend it. Attention is paid to the close links that play has with creativity, and the author also highlights the importance of being able to explain to colleagues, parents and even those in government, why play matters so much in terms of learning and development. This book will be of interest to anyone involved in early years#65533; education.
Call Number: 305.23 SMI
Publication Date: 2010
Introducing Vygotsky: a guide for practitioners and students in early years education (Print copy) by Sandra Smidt takes the reader on a journey through the key concepts of Lev Vygotsky, one of the twentieth century's most influential theorists in the field of early education. His ground-breaking principles of early learning and teaching are unpicked here using every-day language, and critical links between his fascinating ideas are revealed. Introducing Vygotskyis an invaluable companion for anyone involved with children in the early years. The introduction of Vygotsky's key concepts is followed by discussion of the implications of these for teaching and learning. Each chapter also includes a useful glossary of terms. This accessible text is illustrated throughout with examples drawn from real-life early years settings and the concepts discussed include: mediation and memory culture and cultural tools mental functions language, concepts and thinking activity theory play and meaning. Essential reading for all those interested in or working with children, Introducing Vygotskyemphasises the social nature of learning and examines the importance of issues such as culture, history, language, and symbols in learning.
Call Number: 372.21 SMI
Publication Date: 2009