Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Methods in Early Childhood. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by The Third Edition of Research Methods in Early Childhood provides a clear and comprehensive guide to the different types of research methods, with a particular focus on how these methods can be used in early childhood. Known for its supportive writing style, this best-selling text follows a linear and progressive structure that logically helps students work effectively through their course. Using examples, case studies, and reflection points, the book then expertly illustrates how to translate theory into practice. Penny Mukherji and Deborah Albon will be discussing ideas from Research Methods in Early Childhood in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
Call Number: 305.2307 MUK
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Understanding Research in Early Education : the relevance for future of lessons from the past. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by In this newly revised edition of Understanding Research in Early Education, Margaret Clark demonstrates the continuing relevance of research in the homes of young children and in preschool units. Through rigorous yet understandable language, the text stresses the importance of research, acknowledging how easy it can be, amidst the change and flood of documents on early education and care, to overlook the insights to be gained from past research. The author draws on her own studies, and those of others, to illustrate how to avoid common pitfalls, ask the right questions to inform students¿ research projects, and critically apply findings in the classroom or nursery. The book is one of the few texts for students to bring research alive, analysing key research to consider its limitations and the extent to which results are relevant to policy and practice. Without requiring any prior expertise in research and research methodologies, the third edition will prove invaluable for undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses in early years¿ education, and practitioners undertaking continuing professional development. New content includes: fully revised chapters, an updated reference list, and a new chapter discussing current research on baseline assessment.
Call Number: 305.23 CLA
Publication Date: 2017
Social Research Methods 5th edn. (Print Copy) by This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2016-02-03
Understanding Research with Children and Young People. (Print copy) by How do views about children shape research concerned with their lives? What different forms can research with children take? What ethical issues does it involve? How does it impact on policy and practice, and on the lives of children themselves? This book helps you to understand how research is designed and carried out to explore questions about the lives of children and young people. It tackles the methodological, practical and ethical challenges involved, and features examples of actual research that illustrate: Different strategies for carrying out research Common challenges that arise in the research process Varying modes of engagement that researchers can adopt with participants and audiences; and The impact that research can have on future studies, policy and practice.
Call Number: 305.23072
Publication Date: 2013
Introduction to Social Research: quantitative and qualitative approaches. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by In the new edition of Introduction to Social Research, Keith Punch takes a fresh look at the entire research process, from formulating a research question to writing up your research. Covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods, the book focuses on matching research questions to appropriate methods. Offering concise, balanced coverage, this book clearly explains the underlying principles of social research and shows you how to put this understanding into practice. The third edition includes: A new chapter on literature searching and reviewing Expanded coverage of ethics A new section on using the internet in research A range of additional student learning features A brand new companion website including full-text journal articles, additional case studies and video tutorials. Using a range of examples from student research and published work, the book is an ideal introduction for any social science student taking a research methods course or embarking on their own undergraduate or postgraduate research project. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 300.72 PUN
Publication Date: 2013
Doing Ethical Research with Children. (Print copy) by "Doing Ethical Research with Children is an invaluable resource for all student and practitioner-researchers who wish to honour children as active agents and significant voices in research. The book guides the reader through the processes of ethical research with (not on!) children, positioning the child as competent and capable. It includes practical guidance and examples of research so that issues that may emerge during a research project can be anticipated. My advice is - do not embark on an Early Years research project before reading it!" Lyn Trodd, Chair of the National Sector-Endorsed Foundation Degree in Early Years Network (SEFDEY), University of Hertfordshire, UK "Doing Ethical Research with Children provides an invaluable guide to understanding and managing the ethical implications of research projects with children. The highly accessible format includes useful case-study examples, questions and checklists and the four-phased approach supports the reader to reflect on ethical considerations at every stage of the research process. This book is a welcome and essential resource that positions ethical perspectives at the heart of research activity with children." Shirley Allen, Senior Lecturer Early Childhood Studies, Middlesex University, UK "This is an admirably clear and well-structured book that will be invaluable for anyone serious about research with children. The authors write from long experience, and provide a very helpful 'step by step' guide that is always underpinned by deeply principled, insightful considerations that exemplify good practice and respect for children. The use of real examples along with the authors' questions, invite the reader to reflect on their own thinking and actions, and the extensive checklists and sample documentation provide clear guidance that will be a valuable support for students and their supervisors, researchers, and practitioners alike. I look forward to making good use of this book in my own work and in my work with students of early childhood." Sue Robson, Principal Lecturer, Subject Leader for Early Childhood Studies University of Roehampton, London, UK This book provides a step-by-step guide to approaching your research project and will support you in developing, conducting and disseminating research relating to children and childhood with an ethical imperative. Doing Ethical Research with Children will help you focus and identify many of the key issues surrounding research with children. The book presents an overview of both contemporary and traditional perspectives relating to child related research practices. The authors combine relevant theoretical and practical information, offering a guide to the essential elements for conducting ethical research with children. You are prompted to consider and systematically address these elements, with the help of: Real world 'points to ponder', offering unique insights 'Over to you' reflection activities Case studies considering ethical dilemmas Written specifically as a guide and reflection tool for beginning researchers studying early years and childhood, the book follows the research journey from conceptualisation to dissemination and looks at the unique considerations for research involving children.
Call Number: 305.23072
Publication Date: 2012
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Some of these journals are available via the A-Z list of online journals
Children and Society
Journal of Social Policy
Critical Social Policy
Researching Children's Experience: methods and approaches. (Print copy) by `Strongly recommended as it provides a very useful overview of a range of methods, mainly textual, for exploring children's experiences. These accounts are placed well in the broader conceptual frameworks concerning both methodologies and ethical considerations' - Educational Review How should the researcher approach the sensitive subject of the child? What are the ethical issues involved in researching children's experiences? In essays written by a collection of key, international authors, Researching Children's Experience addresses these questions, and examines up-to-date methodological and conceptual approaches to researching children. This book is a practical, comprehensive and interdisciplinary guide for advanced students and researchers, exploring a range of studies, and the theoretical and ethical motivations behind them. The book is divided into three coherent sections: - Conceptual, methodological and ethical issues in researching children's experiences. - Methods for conducting research with children. - The generation and analysis of text. Researching Children's Experience provides examples of how researchers from a variety of social science perspectives have set about carrying out research into children's experience. Useful to students embarking on a research project, and to experienced researchers wishing to explore new methods, Greene and Hogan's book is an essential addition to anyone doing research on children. It will be especially useful to those in developmental psychology, education, nursing and other disciplines interested in studying children's experience.
Call Number: 305.23072 GRE
Publication Date: 2005
Doing Research with Children: a practical guide. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by This Third Edition of Doing Research with Children is practical introduction to the process of designing, doing and writing up research with children and young people. At the centre is a commitment to engaging with children and young people as active research participants rather than as passive subjects. In the new edition, you'll find up to date information on the fast-changing political and ethical debates around research with children and young people as well as guidance on how to carry out research yourself. Divided into three sections, the new edition covers: -the main theories and approaches of research with children and young people -expanded guidance on research ethics -techniques for conducting both qualitative and quantitative research -more on analysing your research -a brand new chapter on communicating your research findings. This is a must-have guide for students and practitioners who are engaging in research with children and young people. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 305.23072 MAC
Publication Date: 2012
The Reality of Research with Children and Young People. (print copy) by The Reality of Research with Children and Young People illustrates the process of carrying out research through thirteen `research stories'. Each story includes a piece of published research, accompanied by a commentary from the author of the research explaining: #65533; the origins of the research #65533; how research questions were formed #65533; factors influencing the choice of methodology and data collection techniques #65533; problems that arose and how these were dealt with #65533; personal reflections on the project. The research examples included in this volume have been carefully selected to demonstrate the reality of researching with children from pre-school age to late adolescence. They reflect the different traditions and variety of methods of collecting data, including interview, evaluation, ethnography, experiment, survey, case study, questionnaire, longitudinal, and standardised assessment. The Reality of Research with Children Young People provides valuable insights into the process of research for students and professionals in a range of fields including education, health, welfare, childhood and youth Studies, psychology and sociology. The book was developed to accompany The Open University Course, Research with Children and Young People (EK310).
Call Number: 305.23072
Publication Date: 2003
Doing Quantitative Research in education with SPSS. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This accessible and authoritative introduction is essential for education students and researchers needing to use quantitative methods for the first time. Using datasets from real-life educational research and avoiding the use of mathematical formulae, the author guides students through the essential techniques that they will need to know, explaining each procedure using the latest version of SPSS. The datasets can also be downloaded from the book's website, enabling students to practice the techniques for themselves. This revised and updated second edition now also includes more advanced methods such as log linear analysis, logistic regression, and canonical correlation. Written specifically for those with no prior experience of quantitative research, this book is ideal for education students and researchers in this field.
Call Number: 370.72 MUI
Publication Date: 2010
Doing Your Early Years Research Project: a step by step guide. 4th edn. (Print copy) by This bestselling guide to undertaking your Early Years research project takes the reader on a practical step-by-step journey. Breaking down each section into accessible and digestible topics, and accompanied by a multitude of practical examples, case studies, research summaries and key points, the author brings this process to life. The updated and revised fourth edition includes: Useful additional resources at the end of each chapter Extended material on the child's voice within research Signposted glossary terms throughout the text Updated website materials for further study From learning how to structure and organise your project, through to the final presentation and written report of your findings, this is the essential guide and companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students throughout their early childhood and social science courses. Guy Roberts-Holmes will be discussing key ideas in Doing Your Early Years Research Project, a SAGE Masterclass for early years students and practitioners in collaboration with Kathy Brodie. Find out more here.
Call Number: 305.23 ROB
Publication Date: 2018-04-28
Real World Research. 4th edn. (Print copy). by Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs.
Call Number: 300.72 ROB
Publication Date: 2016
Social Research. 4th edn. (Print copy) by From question development and research design to data collection and statistical analysis, this text guides the reader through every aspect of social research. Encouraging a critical approach in each chapter, this 4th edition includes enhanced coverage of internet sampling, mixed methods, conversation analysis and feminist research.
Call Number: 300.72 SAR
Publication Date: 2012
Qualitative Research. 4th edn. (Print copy) by A who's who of methodologists, this book introduces students to the big picture of qualitative research, teaching both the 'why' and the 'how to' of getting started, selecting a method and conducting research and data analysis. With practical tips, summaries, exercises and further reading, each chapter is like a masterclass from a leading scholar in qualitative research. New to the fourth edition: A streamlined structure to guide readers step-by-step through the research process Substantial new section with 4 chapters on how to collect and analyse online data A new chapter on reflexive ethnography More hands-on advice on how to conduct research at every stage, making this a perfect field handbook Updated reading lists provide a go-to guide to the literature and help improve citations The most comprehensive qualitative research book available, this is the perfect all-in-one companion for any student embarking on a qualitative research course or project.
Call Number: 300.72 SIL
Publication Date: 2016-06-16
Interpreting Qualitative Data: a guide to the principles of qualitative research. 5th edn. (Print copy). by In this fifth edition of his field-defining text, David Silverman, a true guru of qualitative research, walks the reader through the basics of gathering and analyzing qualitative data. The book offers beginners unrivalled hands-on guidance to help them get the best out of a research methods course or research project. New to the fifth edition: A streamlined structure to aid navigation and guide readers smoothly through the research process. A new chapter on generalizing from case-study research which addresses the perennial issue of 'how many cases do you need?' New material on doing qualitative research online and the ethics of internet research. Additional sections covering organizational documents and documents of everyday life, including blogs and diaries. Many more recent case study examples drawn from a broad range of disciplines including business, education, social work and geography as well as health studies. A new and improved companion website, full of additional resources for students and lecturers. This is the perfect companion for all those new to qualitative research. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 300.72 SIL
Publication Date: 2015