Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Early Childhood Studies. 4th edn. (Print copy) by For students of Early Childhood Studies, questions are as important as answers. What is childhood? Is childhood the same in all cultures?How do children grow and develop?What space do we make for children in our society?How do adults approach risk and what does this mean for children? Can children's play be planned by adults? Early Childhood Studies tackles these questions and more. It explores the why, how and what of studying and working with young children and their families, considering how a range of theories can help us to identify useful questions.This is a comprehensive, up-to-date, challenging and accessible core text for the Early Childhood Studies course. Throughout, key theories and research findings are highlighted and explored to help link theory and practice. It covers the important themes of child development, communication, wellbeing, observation, working with parents, inclusive practice, leadership and research. This fourth edition has been fully updated throughout and includes new chapters on children and risk, inclusive learning environments, play and adults′ concepts of childhood.
Call Number: 305.23 PAR
Publication Date: 2015-08-05
Advanced Work-Based Practice in the Early Years.(Print copy) by Inspired by the first-hand experiences of those studying early childhood education and care, this book supports students as they gain advanced knowledge and skills, and embark on the journey from inexperienced student to graduate professional. Bringing together advanced theory, links to research, and illustrative case studies, Advanced Work-based Practice in the Early Years enables students to consolidate learning by applying theory to practice and identifying the skills, knowledge and personal traits which will help them succeed as a graduate practitioner. Chapters address a wealth of topical issues relating to both the development of the child and the student's own professional development. Areas of focus include ethical practice, safeguarding and child protection, the voice of the child, the role of the mentor, observation, assessment and the social and cultural factors which may impact on a child's development. Including reflective activities, practical tips, and examples of student experience throughout, this is an essential text for all early years students as they make the transition from academic study to professional practice.
Call Number: 372.21 MCM
Publication Date: 2018-08-08
Alternative Narratives in Early Childhood : an introduction for students and practitioners (contesting early childhood). (Print copy) by Challenging dominant discourses in the field of early childhood education, this book provides an accessible introduction to some of the alternative narratives and diverse perspectives that are increasingly to be heard in this field, as well as discussing the importance of paradigm, politics and ethics. Peter Moss draws on material published in the groundbreaking Contesting Early Childhood series to introduce readers to thinking that questions the mainstream approach to early childhood education and to offer rich examples to illustrate how this thinking is being put to work in practice. Key topics addressed include: dominant discourses in today¿s early childhood education ¿ and what is meant by ¿dominant discourse¿ why politics and ethics are the starting points for early childhood education Reggio Emilia as an example of an alternative narrative the relevance to early childhood education of thinkers such as Michel Foucault and Gilles Deleuze and of theoretical positions such as posthumanism. An enlightening read for students and practitioners, as well as policymakers, academics and parents, this book is intended for anyone who wants to think more about early childhood education and delve deeper into new perspectives and debates in this field.
Call Number: 372.21 MOS
Publication Date: 2018-07-20
Reflective Practice and Early Years Professionalism. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Reflective Practice and Early Years Professionalism will help students and practioners to meet the EYFS requirement for all child care providers to engage with improving practice on an ongoing basis. This is a jargon-free guide for those studying for Early Years Foundation Degrees, EarlyChildhood Studies Degrees, and S/NVQ Levels 3 and 4 in Childcare Learning and Development. Jennie Lindon explains what Reflective Practice is, and how it can be applied in Early Years settings, in a straightforward way that helps students understand the links between their learning and practice.The book is also packed with features to help readers explore and develop their own reflective practice: * 'What does it mean?' features explain concepts and technical terms in depth* Suggestions for practical activities and research projects* Scenarios and case studies to help situate theory in practical settingsAnyone pursuing Early Years Professional Status will find this an invaluable resource, whilst experienced practitioners in the whole range of early years settings will find it supports continuing professional development.
Call Number: 372.21 LIN
Publication Date: 2010
The Early Years Handbook for students and practitioners: an essential guide for the foundation degree and levels 4 & 5. (Print copy) by The Early Years Handbook for Students and Practitioners is a comprehensive and accessible course text for all students studying at levels 4 and 5, including on Foundation Degrees and Early Childhood Studies degrees. Designed and written by the Chair of the SEFDEY (Sector-Endorsed Foundation Degree in Early Years) Network and a team of expert contributors, this book covers the essential skills, knowledge and understanding you need to become an inspiring and effective early years practitioner. Divided into four parts: The Student-Practitioner-Professional; The Learning and Development of Children 0-5; The Child, Family and Society; and The Senior Practitioner-Professional, the book covers all aspects of working with young children and engages you with theory that is explicitly linked to your practice. Throughout there is a strong emphasis on supporting your transition to undergraduate study, developing your academic skills and encouraging you to be an active learner. In every chapter, the book seeks to help you develop your professional identity and features: Activities to help you to reflect on your own practice ¿Provocations¿ to promote discussion and debate Case study examples and photographs to illustrate key points ¿From Research to Practice¿ boxes outlining key research in the field and implications for practice. The book is supported by a companion website featuring, for students, links to useful websites and video material, and an interactive flashcard glossary. Online support for lecturers includes ideas for tasks and activities to use in class and the diagrams and images in the book available to download.
Call Number: 372.1102
Publication Date: 2016
Men in Early Years Settings : building a mixed gender workforce. (Print copy) by Silver Award Winner at the Nursery World Equipment & Resources Awards 2019 This book explores the role of male professionals in early years settings and provides guidance for early years practitioners, managers and policy makers on building a more mixed-gender workforce by successfully attracting, recruiting, retaining and developing men in their teams. Men make up less than 2% of the early years workforce in England. This book considers the reasons for the current situation, asks whether there is a case for change and suggests ways of achieving a more mixed-gender early years workforce. The voices of male and female practitioners, providers and parents help to illustrate the barriers to men entering and successfully working in the sector, whilst also suggesting ways these barriers can be broken down.
Call Number: 372.11 WRI
Publication Date: 2018-11-21