The Sociology of Childhood. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
William A. Corsaro's groundbreaking text, The Sociology of Childhood, discusses children and childhood from a sociological perspective. Corsaro provides in-depth coverage of the social theories of childhood, the peer cultures and social issues of children and youth, children and childhood within the frameworks of culture and history, and social problems and the future of childhood. The Fifth Edition has been thoroughly updated to incorporate the latest research and the most pertinent information so readers can engage in powerful discussions on a wide array of topics.
Theorizing Childhood (Print copy) by
In recent years there has been a rapid growth of interest in the sociological study of childhood. This new book draws together the major developments in the field. In particular, the book discusses contemporary sociological and anthropological research in order to develop key links between the study of childhood and social theory, exposing its historical, political and cultural dimensions.
Childhood. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
In this book Chris Jenks looks at what the ways in which we construct our image of childhood can tell us about ourselves. After a general discussion of the social construction of childhood, the book is structured around three examples of the way the image of the child is played out in society: the history of childhood from medieval times through the enlightenment 'discovery' of childhood to the present the mythology and reality of child abuse and society's response to it the 'death' of childhood in cases such as the James Bulger murder in which the child itself becomes the perpetrator of evil. Part of the highly successful Key Ideasseries, this book gives students a concise, provocative insight into some of the controlling concepts of our culture.
An introduction to childhood studies. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by 
The Social Study of Childhood (Print copy) by
Historically, children were often understood in relation to their development towards adulthood, but the 'new paradigm' of childhood studies has since shown how they should be taken more seriously as active participants in their own lives. Studying childhood is not just a question of research on children, but increasingly a practice of research with them. With this 'new paradigm' having now come of age, Sally McNamee offers a comprehensive overview of the current state of childhood studies and its history. Taking a thematic approach, she looks at how issues such as rights and citizenship, the state, the family, school, work, leisure, health and globalisation shape and are shaped by children. The Social Study of Childhood is an accessible introduction for students from a variety of disciplinary backgrounds such as childhood studies, sociology, psychology, social work and education. With reflection points for discussion and suggestions for further reading at the end of each chapter, it is an engaging and stimulating account of how and why children's voices deserve to be heard in today's world.
Childhood in Society for the Early Years. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Childhood can only be understood in relation to the multitude of social factors which surround it. This book is written for students doing degrees and foundation degrees in Early Years, Early Childhood Studies and related disciplines. It offers an introduction to the study of childhood and the different contexts within which childhood exists. The text encourages you to re-think childhood, exploring childhood from different contexts - from the child within the family, to the global perspective and the child′s own perspective. It enables you to begin to understand childhood in relation to society and to develop the skills to look at childhood from a critical standpoint.This Third Edition includes a new chapter on ′The Evolution of Early Years Provision′ adding essential context to the current situation. It has been updated in line with recent changes in the Early Years sector and includes some critical examination of the new Baseline Assessment.
This link will take you to your subject guide.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Children and Young People's Cultural Worlds 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Growing up in an increasingly media-saturated, commercial, and globalized world, children and young people in contemporary society encounter and must creatively adapt to a range of cultural phenomena. Offering a critical introduction to childhood in the digital age, Children and Young People's Cultural Worlds challenges common concepts and concerns about childhood innocence held by many adults. It examines the diversity of childhood experiences and relationships--the distinctiveness of children's worlds--and explores topics such as the consequences of age and the experience of living in different cultural contexts. Utilizing contributions from scholars in a variety of different fields, it is interdisciplinary and international in scope. Including resources for teachers and students such as learning outcomes, activities, and additional readings and commentary, this well-written and beautifully presented book will be a valuable resource to anyone interested in new perspectives on childhood in the digital age.
Children and Childhood in Western Society Since 1500. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This book investigates the relationship between ideas about childhood and the actual experience of being a child, and assesses how it has changed over the span of five hundred years. Hugh Cunningham tells an engaging story of the development of ideas about childhood from the Renaissance to the present, including Locke, Rosseau, Wordsworth and Freud, revealing considerable differences in the way western societites have understood and valued childhood over time. His survey of parent/child relationships uncovers evidence of parental love, care and, in the frequent cases of child death, grief throughout the period, concluding that there was as much continuity as change in the actual relations of children and adults across these five centuries. For undergraduate courses in History of the Family, European Social History, History of Children and Gender History.
The New Handbook of Children's Rights (Print copy) by
The new edition of this well established handbook provides up-to-date information on a topic of increasing importance across a range of disciplines and practices. It covers: * the debate concerning children's rights and developments in rights provision over the last twenty years * the impact of recent British legislation on children's rights in key areas such as education, social and welfare services and criminal justice * the key provisions of the UN Convention and Human Rights Act * recent policy proposals and initiatives in the British setting intended to establish and promote rights for children and young people * the rights claims of particular groups of children, for example children who are carers or children who are disabled * children's claims for particular rights such as the right to space, to sex education and citizenship * the ways in which the voices of children and young people are or might be articulated more clearly in policy debates and other arenas * issues and developments in Europe, Scandinavia and China. The New Handbook of Children's Rights offers a comprehensive and radical appraisal of the field which will be invaluable to students and professionals alike.
Constructing and Reconstructing Childhood. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
When the first edition of this seminal work appeared in 1990, the sociology of childhood was only just beginning to emerge as a distinct sub-discipline. Drawing together strands of existing sociological writing about childhood and shaping them into a new paradigm, the original edition of this Routledge Classic offered a potent blend of ideas that informed, even inspired, many empirical studies of children's lives because it provided a unique lens through which to think about childhood. Featuring a collection of articles which summarised the developments in the study of 　childhood across the social sciences, including history, psychology, sociology, anthropology, feminist and developmental studies, scholars and professionals from developed and developing countries world-wide shared their knowledge of having worked and of working with children. Now with a new introduction from the editors to contextualise it into the 21st century, this truly ground-breaking text which helped establish childhood studies as a distinctive field of enquiry is being republished. 　
Understanding Childhood: a cross disciplinary approach. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Nationally and globally, childhood has become a crucial topic of sociopolitical debates and policy initiatives. Understanding Childhood offers a fresh look at how childhood has changed in recent years. It reveals how children's needs and experiences have achieved a new visibility in wider social and political discourse. Despite the privileges afforded to children in the West, the typical childhood experience there is no longer seen as an ideal model for other parts of the globe. Recent reports and policy concerns suggest that growing up in the West may be marked by the commercialization of childhood, which can lead to unhappiness, poor health, loss of innocence, and a general lack of well-being. The contributors here introduce readers to the cross-disciplinary field of childhood studies and offer an exciting and unique exploration of childhood as a concept, in the process engaging with a range of contemporary issues that shape our ideas of childhood both as an ideal and as a lived experience. Exploring childhood from a variety of research perspectives and traditions, Understanding Childhood also serves as a powerful introduction to careers in childhood service.
Local Childhoods, Global Issues. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Although the current plight of children in many parts of the world can leave us with a grim outlook on the future, there are still many positive indicators of a better future for all. Local Childhoods, Global Issues is an interdisciplinary textbook that examines children's lives across the world, exploring the great differences--and similarities--between childhood experiences across different cultural contexts. The contributors consider the problems caused by poverty, social inequality, ill health, and violence, but they emphasize that these are challenges for children everywhere--not just those in the poorer countries of the world. They look at how children use their own resources and coping strategies and the sense of agency that results, arguing that in fact very few children are passive victims helplessly awaiting rescue. The contributors prominently feature interviews that highlight the direct perspectives of children themselves.
Studies in Modern Childhood (E-book) by
In this timely study, high profile researchers contribute to the burgeoning field of the social studies of childhood with original and often surprising perspectives and approaches. They demonstrate that far from being esoteric or negligible, childhood is part and parcel of the social fabric in both poor and affluent countries. With chapters on children's agency in small worlds and childhood's placement in large scale relationships, the book shows not only the variety of childhood(s), but also suggests that much is common in a generational context.
Early childhood studies: a multidisciplinary and holistic approach. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by 
A Universal Child? (Print copy) by
Addressing questions about the cultural specificity of childhood, the complementary value of psychological, biological and social understandings of children, and the impact of policy and law on how children are dealt with and perceived, this will be a core text for many courses related to childhood studies.
Childhood and Society. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
The new edition of this established core textbook continues to give an insightful, authoritative and accessible overview of competing theoretical positions on the sociological study of childhood. The book explores the ways these theories inform key themes, including education, work, identity and agency. The study of childhood has taken on an increasingly global focus in recent years, honing in on how issues of rights, protection and development shape the lives of children and those around them at political, social and institutional levels across the world. As a result, this book guides students through the theories and research on childhood in both local and global contexts. Author Michael Wyness clearly illustrates how a study of childhood can inform sociological thinking on social crises, changes and problems such as globalisation, criminality and disruption of the social order. Written for students exploring childhood from a sociological perspective, this is the essential introduction to the topic.
Childhood, Culture and Society. (Print copy) by
This book is not available as a print inspection copy. To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative. ′Written with clarity and thoroughly argued, Wyness confirms his place as one of the key authors within contemporary social science writing on children and childhood. A formidable exploration of the nature of contemporary childhood in globally disparate regions.′ - Pia Christensen, Professor of Anthropology and Childhood Studies, University of Leeds, UKNever shying away from the most pressing topics in the field, this book provides a multifaceted and extensive analysis of the study of children and childhood.Linking key concepts, themes and problems together, the text offers an interdisciplinary approach with its topical and timely case studies and illustrations which illuminate the latest research in the field. Key features include: A number of international case studies including children and military conflict, child migrants, children and networking sites, child trafficking, and children as consumers Questions which help you to make connections between topics and get you reflecting on your own childhood Engaging learning features including chapter aims, boxed sections, summaries and further reading suggestions
Constructing Childhood: theory, policy and social practice. (Print copy) by
This text provides a critical analysis of the social construction of childhood and children's agency. Through an interdisciplinary synthesis combining social theory, social policy and the empirical findings of social science research, it bridges the current gap between theory and practice, offering an incisive theoretical account of childhood that is grounded in substantive areas of children's lives such as health, education, crime and the family. This furthers understanding of the impact of policy on children's everyday lives and social experiences.
The Palgrave Handbook of Childhood Studies (E-book) by
A landmark publication in the field, this state of the art reference work, with contributions from leading thinkers across a range of disciplines, is an essential guide to the study of children and childhood, and sets out future research agendas for the subject.
