Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Continuing Professional Development


e-PASSPoRT is our continuing professional development (CPD) pathway. It is undertaken by staff who have more than three years of experience teaching in a higher education context wishing to gain recognition of their experience and understanding and ro gain awards of Associate Fellow, Fellow or Senior Fellow. 

Application for HEA Fellowships in the CPD pathway are by written submission. 

Further information can be found in: 

The University of Suffolk’s e-PASSPoRT pathway is a continuing professional development (CPD) route to awards of HEA Fellowships. e-PASSPoRT is fully aligned and shaped around the UK Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF), in order for University staff to gain professional recognition of their teaching and/or support of learning by the Higher Education Academy (HEA).

Depending upon your role, expertise and experience, the e-PASSPoRT pathway offers you the opportunity to gain recognition as an Associate Fellow, a Fellow or a Senior Fellow of the HEA (Descriptor 1, 2 and 3 of the UK PSF respectively). If you wish to apply for Principal Fellowship (Descriptor 4), you must apply directly to the HEA.

Staff seeking professional recognition for their teaching and/or support of students’ learning via e-PASSPoRT, do this by making a written submission. Submission proformas help you to build your application, enabling you to critically reflect upon your academic practice across the dimensions of practice of the UKPSF and aligned to the statements for the relevant Descriptor (D1, D2 or D3). Each written submission should include two references: both of which must come from an already recognised colleague, i.e. a colleague with HEA recognition at least at the category for which you are applying.  

PASSPoRT awareness events and webinars are held periodically to assist you in building your application and selecting relevant evidence for your application. We also offer writing sessions for each category of Fellowship, and in which applicants can discuss collaboratively on their application. We have also produced a guidance document on questions to ask yourself and evidence to gather.

You are strongly encouraged to seek the support of a Mentor while preparing your application. We maintain a Register of HEA Fellows who can act as Mentors. The Mentor can provide you with individual support and guidance (see e-PASSPoRT Mentor Guide for more information).

Submissions for D1-D3 are made via the portal in the e-PASSPoRT area of Brightspace. Submissions are reviewed by selected and trained reviewers who hold their own relevant category of Fellowship. Reviewers report on their assessment of submissions which are considered by the e-PASSPoRT panel.

Panels meet three times each academic year. The Panel is made up of reviewers but always includes the PASSPoRT External Reviewer. Panel members are Fellows, Senior Fellows or Principal Fellows of the HEA. The panel will confirm on a decision regarding whether an application is accepted for award, or referred. Further information on the role and responsibilities of the panel are available in the Terms of Reference.

We encourage you to notify the PASSPoRT Administrator once you are preparing an application. We can alert you to submission deadlines. Notification of intent also helps enables us to provisionally allocate you to an appropriate panel meeting. Your expression of interest does not commit you to this panel and you will be contacted nearer the panel closing deadline to confirm your intention to submit. Panel meetings are held triannually across the academic year.

If you are looking for a Quick Guide to Applying for Fellowship follow this link.

If you are looking for a Quick Guide to Applying for Senior Fellowship follow this link

Further information on e-PASSPoRT is available in the e-PASSPoRT Handbook or from the PASSPoRT Lead, Dr Javiera Atenas:

To gain access to the ePASSPoRT Brightspace area please complete the form below: