You should purchase this book
Criminology, 3rd edn by
Comprehensive and accessible, Tim Newburn’s bestselling Criminology provides an introduction to the fundamental themes, concepts, theories, methods and events that underpin the subject and form the basis for all undergraduate degree courses and modules in Criminology and Criminal Justice. This third edition includes: A new chapter on politics, reflecting the ever increasing coverage of political influence and decision making on criminology courses New and updated crime data and analysis of trends, plus new content on recent events such as the Volkswagen scandal, the latest developments on historic child abuse, as well as extended coverage throughout of the English riots A fully revised and updated companion website, including exam, review and multiple choice questions, a live Twitter feed from the author providing links to media and academic coverage of events related to the concepts covered in the book, together with links to a dedicated textbook Facebook page Fully updated to reflect recent developments in the field and extensively illustrated, this authoritative text, written by a leading criminologist and experienced lecturer, is essential reading for all students of Criminology and related fields.
Criminology: A Sociological Introduction, 4th edn by
Comprehensive, critical and accessible, Criminology: A Sociological Introduction offers an authoritative overview of the study of criminology, from early theoretical perspectives to pressing contemporary issues such as the globalisation of crime, crimes against the environment, terrorism and cybercrime. Authored by an internationally renowned and experienced group of authors in the Department of Sociology at the University of Essex, this is a truly international criminology text that delves into areas that other texts may only reference. It includes substantive chapters on the following topics: * Histories of crime; * Theoretical approaches to crime and the issue of social change; * Victims and victimisation; * Crime, emotion and social psychology; * Drugs, alcohol, health and crime; * Criminal justice and the sociology of punishment; * Green criminology; * Crime and the media; * Terrorism, state crime and human rights. The new edition fuses global perspectives in criminology from the contexts of post-Brexit Britain and America in the age of Trump, and from the Global South. It contains new chapters on cybercrime; crimes of the powerful; organised crime; life-course approaches to understanding delinquency and desistance; and futures of crime, control and criminology. Each chapter includes a series of critical thinking questions, suggestions for further study and a list of useful websites and resources. The book also contains a glossary of the criminological terms and concepts used in the book. It is the perfect text for students looking for a broad, critical and international introduction to criminology, and it is essential reading for those looking to expand their 'criminological imagination'.
Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology by
Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology brings the history of criminological thought alive through a collection of fascinating life stories. The book covers a range of historical and contemporary thinkers from around the world, offering a stimulating combination of biographical fact with historical and cultural context. A rich mix of life-and-times detail and theoretical reflection is designed to generate further discussion on some of the key contributions that have shaped the field of criminology. Featured profiles include: Cesare Beccaria Nils Christie Albert Cohen Carol Smart W. E. B. DuBois John Braithwaite. Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology is an accessible and informative guide that includes helpful cross-referencing and suggestions for further reading. It is of value to all students of criminology and of interest to those in related disciplines, such as sociology and criminal justice.
Key Readings in Criminology by
Key Readings in Criminology provides a comprehensive single-volume collection of readings in criminology. It provides students with convenient access to a broad range of excerpts (over 150 readings) from original criminological texts and key articles, and is designed to be used either as a stand-alone text or in conjunction with the same author's textbook, Criminology. This volume can be used in a number of ways in support of the study of criminology: as a source of both 'key' and supplementary reading for lectures; as the basis for organized reading in advance of seminars and tutorials; as the basis for classroom discussion and analysis; as a broad source of reading for exam revision; in addition it provides students with access to a broad range of materials with which to follow up their reading of their main textbook; it includes readings that include more recent summaries of particularly important criminological issues, as well as excerpts from criminological classics; it also introduces students not only to criminological argument and debate, but also encourages them to read primary as well as secondary or summary sources.
Textbook on Criminology by
Textbook on Criminology offers an engaging and wide-ranging account of crime and criminology, addressing the theoretical, practical, and political aspects of the subject. The clarity of approach makes it an ideal text for students wishing to gain a firm grasp of the fundamental issues, together with an appreciation of some of the complexities surrounding the study of criminology. The author deals with the major questions of criminology, such as 'how do you define a crime?', 'why do people become criminals?', and 'how should we deal with criminals?'. Each question is studied from an objective and academic viewpoint and encourages greater social, political, and philosophical awareness of crime, criminals, and society's response to them. The text also maps out the changes in crime control and society's expectations in relation to crime control. For example, students willfind the insightful chapter on terrorism and state violence to be of particular interest and relevance; established criminological theories are applied, and the author addresses issues such as political responses to terrorism and the reasons why people become terrorists. The text is ideal both for students studying towards a degree in criminology, and students opting to study criminology as part of another subject, such as law.
Introductory Criminology by
Introductory Criminology: The Study of Risky Situations takes a unique and intuitive approach to teaching and learning criminology. Avoiding the fragmentation of ideas commonly found in criminology textbooks, Marcus Felson and Mary A. Eckert develop a more practical, readable structure that engages the reader and enhances their understanding of the material. Their descriptive categories, simultaneously broad and realistic, serve better than the usual philosophical categories, such as "positivism" and "classicalism," to stimulate students' interest and critical thinking. Short chapters, each broken into 5-7 sections, describe situations in which crime is most likely to happen, and explain why they are risky and what society can and can't do about crime. They create a framework to organize ideas and facts, and then link these categories to the leading theories developed by criminologists over the last 100 years. With this narrative to guide them, students remember the material beyond the final exam. This fresh new text was created by two professors to address the main points they encounter in teaching their own criminology courses. Problems solved include: reluctant readers, aversion to abstract thinking, fear of theory, and boredom with laundry lists of disconnected ideas. Felson, a leader in criminology theory with a global reputation for innovative thinking, and Eckert, an experienced criminal justice researcher, are uniquely qualified to reframe criminology in a unified arc. By design, they offer abstractions that are useful and not overbearing; their prose is readable, and their concepts are easy to comprehend and remember. This new textbook challenges instructors to re-engage with theory and present the essence of criminological thought for adult learners, coaching students to grasp the concept before any label is attached and allowing them to emerge with deeper understanding of what each theory means and offers. Lean, with no filler or fluff like stock photos, Introductory Criminology includes the authors' graphics to crystallize and expand concepts from the text.
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology by
With contributions from over 60 leading experts in the field, The Oxford Handbook of Criminology is the definitive guide to the discipline providing an authoritative and outstanding collection of chapters on the key topics studied on criminology courses. The Handbook has shaped the study of criminology for over two decades and, with this new edition, continues to be indispensable to students, academics, and professionals alike. Each chapter details relevant theory, recent research, policy developments, and current debates. Extensive references aid further research. Extensively revised, the sixth edition has been expanded to include all the major topics and significant new issues such as zemiology; green criminology; domestic violence; prostitution and sex work; penal populism; and the significance of globalization for criminology. The Oxford Handbook of Criminology is accompanied by a suite of online resources providing additional teaching and learning materials for both students and lecturers. This includes selected chapters from previous editions, essay questions for each chapter, web links to aid further research, and guidance on how to answer essay questions.