Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Policing reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Policing by This lively and comprehensive text combines an overview of the historical development of policing in the UK, with discussion of current debates and practice. It provides a global and comparative context, in order to shed light on contemporary issues. The book equips students with an in-depth understanding of the challenges and complexities of modern policing, including: " the relationship between the police and other criminal justice agencies " styles and approaches in practice " how to police political violence " diversity and the police " police accountability Featuring chapter summaries, case studies, study questions, an expansive glossary and a date chart listing significant events, the book is easy to use and helps students to reflect upon key themes. It is essential reading for criminology, criminal justice and policing undergraduates.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Policing by A comprehensive introduction to policing in England and Wales, providing you with an in-depth understanding of the challenges and complexities of modern policing and an increased awareness of the history and development of the profession. This second edition covers the most pressing debates and issues associated with contemporary policing and examines a range of key topics such as methods of policing, diversity and the police, police accountability, and much more. The new edition includes: A new chapter on women in policing Expanded content on diversity issues within the police service An account of the changes to transnational policing as a result of Brexit Reflections on the use of social media by police Advice for those wanting to embark on a career in the field. Written in an introductory way that is ideal for any policing, criminology, or criminal justice student new to police studies.
Call Number: 363.230941 JOY
Publication Date: 2021
The Politics of the Police by The fifth edition of the popular and highly acclaimed The Politics of the Police has been completely revised, expanded, and updated to take in recent changes in the law, policy, and organization of policing. Benjamin Bowling, Robert Reiner, and James Sheptycki, regarded as leading figures in the field, draw upon the findings of police research to provide readers with a stimulating and insightful discussion of the debates and controversies that surround the police, and analyse the proposals for reform. Covering a wide range of empirical and theoretical issues, this book is transnational in scope and reflects the growing diversity of policing forms in today's globalized world.
Call Number: 363.20941 BOW
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Policing by This new edition of the Handbook of Policingupdates and expands the highly successful first edition, and now includes a completely new chapter on policing and forensics. It provides a comprehensive, but highly readable overview of policing in the UK, and is an essential reference point, combining the expertise of leading academic experts on policing and policing practitioners themselves.
Call Number: 363.2 NEW
Publication Date: 2008
Policing by Bringing together a range of leading social scientists and criminologists, this volume explores a number of key themes raised by the work of Robert Reiner. Arguably the leading policing scholar of his generation, Reiner's work over some 40 years has ranged broadly in this field, taking in the study of police history, culture, organisation, elites and relationships with the media. Always carefully situated within an analysis of the changing socio-political circumstances of policing and crime control, Robert Reiner's scholarship has been path-breaking in its impact.The 13 original essays in this volume are testament to Reiner's influence. Although reflecting the primarily British bent within his work, the essays also draw on contributors from Australia, Europe, South Africa and the United States to explore some of the leading debates of the moment. These include, but are not limited to, the impact of neo-liberalism on crime control and the challenges for modern social democracy; police culture, equality and political economy; new media and the future of policing; youth, policing and democracy, and the challenges and possibilities posed by globalisation in the fields of policing and security.
Call Number: 363.2 NEW + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Introduction to Policing by ′Introduction to Policing is the "go to" text on the topic for readers keen to understand past, current and future trends in policing in England and Wales. Accessible to read yet academic in content, the text provides an excellent starting point for any reader no matter what level of previous knowledge they may possess.′- John Lamb, Lecturer at Birmingham City University Delving into the real issues of policing, and fully updated to cover recent changes in the field, the acclaimed Introduction to Policing, Third Edition is the introduction to your Police Studies course. As well as providing students with an account of the history of the police, Michael Rowe addresses the most current topics and provides all the tools needed to successfully take a critical view of policing. The third edition includes: Significant discussion of Police and Crime Commissioners, the impact of austerity, and ways in which technology will continue to shape policing in the 21st century Accompanying online resources, including web links, expanded case studies and links to free journal articles Helpful learning features including key terms, learning objectives, summaries, self-check questions, annotated further reading and a glossary
Call Number: 363.2 ROW
Publication Date: 2018
Criminal Justice by What does it mean to be 'under arrest'? Who can limit police powers, and why do miscarriages of justice occur? The fourth edition of Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, as well as thought-provoking insights into how it mightbe altered and improved. Tracing the procedures surrounding the apprehension, investigation and trial of suspected offenders, this book is the ideal companion for law and criminology students alike. As the authors combine the relevant legislation with fresh research findings and policy initiatives,the resulting text is a fascinating blend of socio-legal analysis.Whilst retaining its authoritative treatment of the issues at the heart of criminal justice, the fourth edition has been fully updated with recent developments, including recent terrorism legislation and the Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill. Students are aided by the addition of chaptersummaries and further reading lists, while a new Online Resource Centre directs them to related cases and current events, successfully highlighting the importance and ever-changing nature of the subject.Online Resource Centre* Updates* Web links
Call Number: 364 SAN
Publication Date: 2010
The End of Policing by LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER The problem is not overpolicing, it is policing itself. Why we need to defund the police and how we get there. Recent weeks have seen an explosion of protest against police brutality and repression. Among activists, journalists and politicians, the conversation about how to respond and improve policing has focused on accountability, diversity, training, and community relations. Unfortunately, these reforms will not produce results, either alone or in combination. The core of the problem must be addressed: the nature of modern policing itself. This book attempts to spark public discussion by revealing the tainted origins of modern policing as a tool of social control. It shows how the expansion of police authority is inconsistent with community empowerment, social justice-- even public safety. Drawing on groundbreaking research from across the world, and covering virtually every area in the increasingly broad range of police work, Alex Vitale demonstrates how law enforcement has come to exacerbate the very problems it is supposed to solve. In contrast, there are places where the robust implementation of policing alternatives--such as legalization, restorative justice, and harm reduction--has led to a decrease in crime, spending, and injustice. The best solution to bad policing may be an end to policing.
Call Number: 363.20973 VIT
Publication Date: 2018-08-28