Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence, 5th edn by
A comprehensive and accessible fourth edition of a market leading text on personality, individual differences and intelligence that offers up-to-date research and a wealth of pedagogical features. The fourth edition of the marketing leading Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence continues to offer a comprehensive, accessible and thoroughly up to date introduction to this fascinating field. A thoughtfully developed pedagogical approach guides you from the foundations to the more advanced topics, employing a range of features to encourage reflection, critical thinking and thereby a deeper understanding.
European Journal of Personality
Frontiers in Psychology
Intelligence
Journal of Individual Differences
Journal of Personality Assessment
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
Journal of Personality
Journal of Research in Personality
Learning and Individual Differences
Personality and Individual Differences
Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin
Personality and Social Psychology Review
Psychological Assessment
Psychological Inquiry
Psychological Reports
Psychological Science
Social Psychological and Personality Science
Please engage with the vast array of contemporary articles available through Discovery.
By 'contemporary' we are referring to resources that are between 3-5 years old. It is acceptable to use older resources e.g. an original work, but it is essential at Level 6 to ensure that you bring thinking up-to-date by using contemporary research articles in critique.
The American Psychological Association (APA) has various divisions and useful resources for students and practitioners. The website provides resources such as writing style and ethical guidelines, links to publications and journals. (www.apa.org)
The British Psychological Society (BPS) has various sections providing resources such as the BPS Research Digest, links to journals, publications and ethical guidelines. (www.bps.org.uk)
Personality and Individual Differences by
Personality and Individual Differences is a state-of-the-art undergraduate textbook that covers the salient and recent literature on personality, intellectual ability, motivation, and other individual differences such as creativity, emotional intelligence, leadership, and vocational interests. As well as introducing all topics relating to individual differences this book examines and discusses many important underlying issues, such as the psychometric approach to latent variables, validity, reliability, and correlations between constructs. An essential textbook for first-time as well as more advanced students of the discipline, Personality and Individual Differences provides grounding in all the major aspects of differential psychology. Accompanying website featuring instructor material, further web resources and electronic versions of chapters Covers BPS syllabus for differential psychology Written by a rising star in the field of individual differences New full colour page design More real-life (and informal) examples 20% more figures and tables to use as study-tools and summaries Expanded sections on validity, temperament, creativity and hot intelligence New material on protective and non-psychometric tests
Personnel Selection by
This is a fully updated edition of Personnel Selection, a seminal text on the psychometric approach to personnel selection by a noted expert in the field. Focuses on cutting-edge topics including the influence of social networking sites, adverse impact, age differences and stereotypes, distribution of work performance, and the problems of selecting new employees using research based on incumbent employees Questions established beliefs in the field, especially issues that have been characterized as "not a problem," such as differential validity, over-reliance on self-report, and "faking good" Contains expanded discussion of research and practice in the US and internationally, while maintaining the definitive coverage of UK and European selection approaches Provides comprehensive yet accessible information for professionals and students, as well as helpful pedagogical tools (technical and statistical boxes, simplified figures and tables, research agenda boxes, key point summaries, and key references)
Individual Differences and Personality by
Individual Differences and Personalityprovides a student-friendly introduction to both classic and cutting-edge research into personality, mood, motivation, and intelligence, and their applications in psychology, and in fields such as health, education, and sporting achievement. Including a new chapter on "toxic" personality traits, and an additional chapter on applications in real-life settings, this fourth edition has been thoroughly updated and uniquely covers the necessary psychometric methodology needed to understand modern theories. It also develops deep processing and effective learning by encouraging a critical evaluation of both older and modern theories and methodologies, including the Dark Triad, emotional intelligence and psychopathy. Gardner's and hierarchical theories of intelligence, and modern theories of mood and motivation are discussed and evaluated, and the processes which cause people to differ in personality and intelligence are explored in detail. Six chapters provide a non-mathematical grounding in psychometric principles, such as factor analysis, reliability, validity, bias, test-construction and test-use. With self-assessment questions, further reading and a companion website including student and instructor resources, this is the ideal resource for anyone taking modules on personality and individual differences.
Introduction to Personality and Intelligence by
`The inclusion of the chapter on psychobiography and life narratives is also an innovative inclusion, as this chapter encourages readers to integrate all the previous material into their analysis of famous people, a technique that will without a doubt have students captivated... an excellent introductory text' - Australian Journal of Educational and Developmental Psychology `There is a wonderful balance and clarity in coverage of complex and contentious issues. Throughout, the tone is amiable...the writing engaging and clear" - Dr Robbie Sutton, University of Kent Nick Haslam's highly-anticipated new text is a thoroughly engaging introduction to the psychology of personality and, crucially, intelligence. Fully tailored to the British Psychological Society's guidelines regarding the teaching of individual differences, Introduction to Personality and Intelligence provides the perfect package for any first or second year undergraduate psychology student taking a course in this fascinating subject. Key features: - coverage of all core topics for a personality course - a whole section devoted to intelligence - includes mental disorders and cognitive approaches - focuses on major theoretical issues - presents a good range of applied theory chapters - packed with pedagogical features including: key concept boxes and a full glossary, illustrative case studies, and annotated further reading The author's writing style, use of pedagogy and incorporation of the latest empirical research findings makes Introduction to Personality and Intelligence an essential textbook for all psychology students on a personality or individual differences course. (The author's website can be accessed here)
IQ and Human Intelligence by
The question 'What is intelligence?' may seem simple to answer, but the study and measurement of human intelligence is one of the most controversial subjects in psychology. For much of its history, the focus has been on differences between people, on what it means for one person to be more intelligent than another, and how such differences might have arisen, obscuring efforts to understand the general nature of intelligence. These are obviously fundamental questions, still widely debated and misunderstood. New definitions of intelligence and new factors affecting intelligence are frequently being described, while psychometric testing is applied in most large industries. IQ and Human Intelligence provides a clear, authoritative overview of the main issues surrounding this fascinating area, including the development of IQ tests, the heritability of intelligence, theories of intelligence, environmental effects on IQ, factor analysis, relationship of cognitive psychology to measuring IQ, and intelligence in the social context. The clear, accessible style and numerous explanatory boxes make this the ideal text for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in psychology. Online Resource Centre The Online Resource Centre to accompany IQ and Human Intelligence features the following resources: For registered adopters of the text: - Figures from the book, available to download For students: - Hyperlinks to primary literature articles cited in the and 'Further Reading' sections of the book
Personality Traits by
Now in its third edition, this dynamic textbook analyses the traits fundamental to human personality: what they are, why they matter, their biological and social foundations, how they play out in human life and their consequences for cognition, stress and physical and mental health. The text also considers the applications of personality assessment in clinical, educational and occupational settings, providing the reader with a detailed understanding of the whole field of personality traits. This edition, now with improved student features, includes the latest research from behavioural genetics, neuroscience, social psychology and cognitive science, assesses the impact of new research techniques like brain imagery, and provides additional content on positive aspects of traits and practical uses of personality assessment. This is an essential textbook for students taking courses in personality and individual differences and also provides researchers and practitioners with a coherent, up-to-date survey of this significant area.
Personality: Theory and Research, 11th edn by 