Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Change Management: the people side of change. (Print copy) ON ORDER by
Publication Date: 2003
Leading Change. (Print copy) by The international bestseller--now with a new preface by author John Kotter. Millions worldwide have read and embraced John Kotter’s ideas on change management and leadership. From the ill-fated dot-com bubble to unprecedented M&A activity to scandal, greed, and ultimately, recession--we’ve learned that widespread and difficult change is no longer the exception. It’s the rule. Now with a new preface, this refreshed edition of the global bestseller Leading Change is more relevant than ever. John Kotter’s now-legendary eight-step process for managing change with positive results has become the foundation for leaders and organizations across the globe. By outlining the process every organization must go through to achieve its goals, and by identifying where and how even top performers derail during the change process, Kotter provides a practical resource for leaders and managers charged with making change initiatives work. Leading Change is widely recognized as his seminal work and is an important precursor to his newer ideas on acceleration published inHarvard Business Review. Needed more today than at any time in the past, this bestselling business book serves as both visionary guide and practical toolkit on how to approach the difficult yet crucial work of leading change in any type of organization. Reading this highly personal book is like spending a day with the world’s foremost expert on business leadership. You’re sure to walk away inspired--and armed with the tools you need to inspire others. Published by Harvard Business Review Press.
Call Number: 658.406 KOT
Publication Date: 2012
Rapid realignment: how to quickly integrate people, processes, and strategy for unbeatable performance. (Print copy) by The alignment tools you need to win in today's complex, fast-paced business world "In The Power of Alignment, Labovitz and Rosansky showed us that organizational alignment was essential for success. They helped us focus on mission accomplishment while driving out cost. In Rapid Realignment they show us again how great leaders are working alignment every day!" --ADMIRAL VERN CLARK, former Chief of U.S. Naval Operations "What are the enablers of business success? A clear plan, effective execution, and a willingness to adapt quickly are important, but the big enabler is talented, engaged, aligned people. Rapid Realignment makes the case in a compelling way and provides a toolkit for creating organizational alignment." --KEN FREEMAN, Dean, School of Management, Boston University, and former CEO of Quest Diagnostics "When it comes to integrating care across two organizations, alignment is critical to success." --DR. JAMES MANDELL, CEO, Children's Hospital Boston "Building on a set of core principles, Rapid Realignment provides a flexible and relevant toolset to help organizations quickly and effectively assess and make adjustments to direction."--FRANK H. SCHNEIDER, III, Executive Vice President, CFO and CIO, Jockey International, Inc. "Rapid Realignment gives managers the tools they need to navigate today's ever changing business climate." --JOHN PATRICK, CEO, Farmington Bank From the authors of the bestselling book The Power of Alignment When Vern Clark became the Chief of Naval Operations in 2001, he made alignment one of his top five goals for the Navy. He also made George Labovitz and Victor Rosansky's pioneering book, The Power of Alignment (1997), required reading for every admiral. Under Clark's leadership, the U.S. Navy underwent one of the greatest--and most successful--organizational transformations in its 200-year history. Now, Labovitz and Rosansky introduce the highly anticipated follow-up to their groundbreaking book: Rapid Realignment. The business world has changed dramatically since 1997. With the pace of technological, competitive, and social change increasing at an amazing rate, the difference between winning and losing today lies in a company's ability to adapt and stay focused. Rapid Realignment gives you the insights and tools you need to ensure that strategy, customers, processes, and people work seamlessly together in the service of customers and that they continually realign in the face of change. The authors provide everything you need to know about: Engaging employees at every level with the "Main Thing" of your business Linking strategy and organizational processes Bringing the customer voice inside your company through social media Using social media and digital technology to quickly identify points of misalignment at any level Creating the "Enterprise Effect" Case studies from a broad array of companies, including FedEx, Quest Diagnostics, the U.S. Navy, Dana Farber/Children's Hospital Cancer Center, Farmington Bank, and others clearly illustrate the authors' methods, demonstrating that they work in any industry. Rapid Realignment provides a practical blueprint for "wowing" customers and reaching peak organizational performance--no matter what today's turbulent world throws your way.
Call Number: 658.4092 LAB
Publication Date: 2012
Organization Culture and Leadership. 5th edn. (Print copy) by The book that defined the field, updated and expanded for today's organizations Organizational Culture and Leadership is the classic reference for managers and students seeking a deeper understanding of the inter-relationship of organizational culture dynamics and leadership. Author Edgar Schein is the 'father' of organizational culture, world-renowned for his expertise and research in the field; in this book, he analyzes and illustrates through cases the abstract concept of culture and shows its importance to the management of organizational change. This new fifth edition shows how culture has become a popular concept leading to a wide variety of research and implementation by various organizations and expands the focus on the role of national cultures in influencing culture dynamics, including some practical concepts for how to deal with international differences. Special emphasis is given to how the role of leadership varies with the age of the organization from founding, through mid-life to old age as the cultural issues vary at each stage. How culture change is managed at each stage and in different types of organizations is emphasized as a central concern of leader behavior.. This landmark book is considered the defining resource in the field. Drawing on a wide range of research, this fifth edition contains 25 percent new and revised material to provide the most relevant new concepts and perspectives alongside the basic culture model that has helped to define the field. Dig into assumptions and typologies to decipher organizational culture Learn how culture begins, thrives, or dies with leadership Manage cultural change effectively and appropriately Understand the leader's role in managing disparate groups The resurgence of interest in organizational culture has spurred an awakening in research, and new information is continuously coming to light. Outdated practices are being replaced by more effective methods, and the resulting shift affects organizations everywhere. Organizational Culture and Leadership is an essential resource for scholars, consultants and leaders seeking continuous improvement in the face of today's business realities.
Call Number: 302.35
Publication Date: 2016
Making Sense of Change Management. 4th edn (Print copy) by The definitive, bestselling text in the field of change management, Making Sense of Change Management provides a thorough overview of the subject for both students and professionals. Along with explaining the theory of change management, it comprehensively covers the models, tools, and techniques of successful change management so organizations can adapt to tough market conditions and succeed by changing their strategies, structures, boundaries, mindsets, leadership behaviours and of course their expectations of the people who work within them.This completely revised and updated 4th edition of Making Sense of Change Management includes more international examples and case studies, emerging new thinking and practice in the area of cultural change and a new chapter on the interrelationship with project management (PM) and change management. It also covers complexity models, agile approaches, and stakeholder management along with cultural sensitivity and what to do when cultures collide. Making Sense of Change Management remains essential reading for anyone who is currently part of, or leading, a change initiative.Online supporting resources include lecture slides, making this an ideal textbook for MBA or graduate students focusing on leading or managing change.
Call Number: 658.406
Publication Date: 2015
Managing Change: a critical perspective. (Print copy) by Managing Change: A Critical Perspective explores how and why change occurs in organizations and how the change process can be managed effectively. Complete with an appendix featuring twenty popular change management techniques, it is an ideal core textbook for change modules on HR and business degree programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. It offers a critical perspective, challenging the main assumptions and ensuring that the complexity of the subject is understood and appreciated. This fully updated 2nd edition of Managing Change: A Critical Perspective includes new chapters on perspectives, power and politics, ethics, agents and agency, HRM and evaluation. Its revised structure reflects strategic, group and individual change, and a revised final chapter evaluates the practice and theory of change management. Online supporting resources include annotated weblinks for students, an instructor's manual complete with commentary on questions and cases in the book and lecture slides and additional case studies for tutors.
Call Number: 658.406 HUG
Publication Date: 2010
The Theory and practice of change management. 5th edn (Print copy ) by A best-selling core adoptable textbook for undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA modules/courses in change management, and could also be used by practitioners (change agents). It is a theoretically grounded textbook with a strong practical orientation, discussing all of the key theories of organisational change and demonstrating how they can be used to devise and employ strategies to bring about change in an organisational setting. It takes a managerial approach, with means it is aligned with the way most change management modules are taught around the world. The defining feature of the book is its unique underpinning framework which is based on a process model of change, that is, a model that views change as a purposeful and constructed sequence of events (albeit with some flexibility along the way), rather than something chaotic and unmanageable. The book chapters follow this process model sequence right through from recognising the need for change to sustaining the change once implemented
Call Number: 658.406 HAY
Publication Date: 2017
The Theory and practice of change management. 4th edn. (Print copy) by Why are some organizations, such as Google, Toyota and Xerox, so successful, while others seem destined to fail? The answer lies in how they manage change. New technology and regulations, blurred organizational boundaries, and an increasingly globalized workforce present opportunities and threats that managers must address if organizations are to survive and prosper. John Hayes' best-selling textbook provides you with the skills you will need as a future manager or leader to identify the necessity for change and ensure its successful implementation. Its hands-on approach includes a number of 'change tools' that you can apply to various change scenarios, exercises which invite you to reflect on your experience of change in everyday life, and a host of case studies and examples based on real-life organizations worldwide. These practical features are underpinned by a theoretical framework presenting change as a flexible yet controlled sequence of activities. The fourth edition offers: - Two new chapters on process models of change and implementing change - A revised structure based on an updated theoretical framework focusing more on planning for change, individual and collective learning, leading and managing people issues - Brand new Managing change in practice features which link videos of experienced change practitioners discussing key topics to questions and exercises in the book - More international case studies and examples than ever. Visit www.palgrave.com/companion/hayes-change-management4 for access to voiced-over presentations on key topics, video interviews with change practitioners, additional case studies and much more.
Call Number: 658.406 HAY
Publication Date: 2014
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Leaders eat last: why some teams pull together and others don't (Print copy) by The New York Times bestseller by the acclaimed, bestselling author of Start With Why and Together is Better. Now with a new chapter on millennials in the workplace, based on Simon Sinek's viral video 'The Millennial Question' (180+ million views).Imagine a world where almost everyone wakes up inspired to go to work. This is not a crazy, idealised notion. In many successful organisations, great leaders are creating environments in which teams trust each other so deeply that they would put their lives on the line for each other. Yet other teams, no matter what incentives were offered, are doomed to infighting, fragmentation and failure. Why?Today's workplaces tend to be full of cynicism, paranoia and self-interest. But the best organisations foster trust and cooperation because their leaders build what Sinek calls a Circle of Safety. It separates the security inside the team from the challenges outside. Everyone feels they belong and all energies are devoted to facing the common enemy and seizing big opportunities.As in Start with Why, Sinek illustrates his ideas with fascinating true stories, from the military to manufacturing, from government to investment banking. He shows that leaders who are willing to eat last are rewarded with deeply loyal colleagues who will stop at nothing to advance their vision. It's amazing how well it works.'As refreshingly simple and easy to follow as it is thought-provoking' Management TodaySimon Sinek is the bestselling author of Start with Why, Leaders Eat Last and Together is Better which have helped organizations around the world inspire their people to reach new heights. He has presented his ideas to Fortune 100 companies and small startups; to non-profit organizations and members of Congress; to foreign ambassadors and the highest levels of the US military, among many others. His TED Talk based on Start with Why is the third most popular video of all time on TED.com, with more than 33 million views.
Call Number: 658.4092
Publication Date: 2017
What Got You Here Won't Get You There: How successful people become even more successful. (Print copy) ON ORDER by Your hard work is paying off. You are doing well in your field. But there is something standing between you and the next level of achievement. That something may just be one of your own annoying habits. Perhaps one small flaw - a behaviour you barely even recognise - is the only thing that's keeping you from where you want to be. It may be that the very characteristic that you believe got you where you are - like the drive to win at all costs - is what's holding you back. As this book explains, people often do well in spite of certain habits rather than because of them - and need a "to stop" list rather than one listing what "to do". Marshall Goldsmith's expertise is in helping global leaders overcome their unconscious annoying habits and become more successful. His one-on-one coaching comes with a six-figure price tag - but in this book you get his great advice for much less. Recently named as one of the world's five most-respected executive coaches by Forbes, he has worked with over 100 major CEOs and their management teams at the world's top businesses. His clients include corporations such as Goldman Sachs, Glaxo SmithKline, Johnson and Johnson and GE
Publication Date: 2013
Making Strategy. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here 'Demystifies strategy making while at the same time deepening our understanding of what the process entails. Their work is a marvellous guide for those striving to make sense of complexity' - Karl E. Weick, Rensis Likert Distinguished University Professor of Organizational Behavior and Psychology, University of Michigan 'This book is at the very cutting edge of strategic management theory and yet also of immense practical use. It is truly a rare and stunning achievement' - John M Bryson, McKnight Presidential Professor of Planning and Public Affairs, Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota 'Using this book enabled me to facilitate a multicultural team of seven managers so that they very quickly got to grips with the challenges and opportunities facing the organization and developed a realistic workable strategy, whilst at the same time building a real sense of team cohesion and the feeling that individuals had been listened to' - Alison Devine, Director, British Council, Taipai This lucid and highly-accessible text addresses the challenges of how to build a robust and implementable strategy. Strategy making is seen as something relevant to managers of departments, divisions, SME's, as well as the top management teams of public and for-profit organizations. Four key routes to creating a strategy are discussed. These routes, when taken together, provide a powerful means for agreeing a negotiated strategy, and comprise: strategic issue management, agreeing organizational purpose, competitiveness from the exploitation and protection of distinctiveness, and the strategic management of stakeholders. The designs have been used extensively, in a wide range of countries, by management teams in all types of organisations. Companion materials available here
Call Number: 658.4012 ACK
Publication Date: 2011
Management and organisational behaviour. 11th edn. (Print copy) by "This is a classic text that...is very comprehensive, well-structured and particularly well-designed from a learning perspective." Dr. Jean-Anne Stewart, Associate Professor, Henley Business School. "Management and Organisational Behaviour has provided an excellent source for students over many years...the author go out of their way to include additional research evidence/key frameworks and theories that are not covered in many of the other mainstream OB texts. This is a real benefit for those students who want to achieve beyond the basics." Dr. Nick Jackson, Senior Teaching Fellow, University of Leeds. "The book is well written and presented in a logical sequence that makes comprehension and understanding easier. The chapters consist of a series of small, succinct explanations and discussions around important concepts aided by extensive use of theory...The treatment of key concepts is expressed at a level students will find accessible." Dr. Colin Combe, Senior Lecturer, Glasgow Caledonian University. Now in its 11th edition Laurie Mullins's Management & Organisational Behaviour is the essential guide to OB for students today. Over half a million students have used this engaging and practically focused book as their introduction to the world of management and organisational behaviour, and it continues to evolve and improve to serve the needs of modern students.Using both theory and practical, real-world examples, the textbook considers how organisational performance can be improved through effective management of people. This unique approach to the subject enables students to relate Organisational Behaviour to Management in the broader social and cultural contexts.This fully updated new edition incorporates new content and a streamlined structure to deliver the best possible learning experience. Key features include: Expanded Personal Skills and Employability sections as well as 5 new end of chapter exercises and an end of book review to help you to develop your social and work-based skills in preparation for life after study. New and revised management and OB in action case studies help to place the theory of management and organisational behaviour in the context of everyday organisational practice. New and revised end of chapter case studies provide a deeper insight into a wide variety of organisations in the UK and around the world. New Academic Viewpoint features in each part links to relevant research for a deeper understanding of the topics discussed. Management and Organisational Behaviour will appeal to students at undergraduate level or on related professional courses, as well as to graduates and professionals aspiring to management positions. This bible of Organisational Behaviour is the perfect resource for students from all backgrounds - Management starts with Mullins!
Call Number: 658 MUL
Publication Date: 2016
Management and Organisational Behaviour (E-book) by "This is a classic text that...is very comprehensive, well-structured and particularly well-designed from a learning perspective." Dr. Jean-Anne Stewart, Associate Professor, Henley Business School. "Management and Organisational Behaviour has provided an excellent source for students over many years...the author go out of their way to include additional research evidence/key frameworks and theories that are not covered in many of the other mainstream OB texts. This is a real benefit for those students who want to achieve beyond the basics." Dr. Nick Jackson, Senior Teaching Fellow, University of Leeds. "The book is well written and presented in a logical sequence that makes comprehension and understanding easier. The chapters consist of a series of small, succinct explanations and discussions around important concepts aided by extensive use of theory...The treatment of key concepts is expressed at a level students will find accessible." Dr. Colin Combe, Senior Lecturer, Glasgow Caledonian University. Now in its 11th edition Laurie Mullins's Management & Organisational Behaviour is the essential guide to OB for students today. Over half a million students have used this engaging and practically focused book as their introduction to the world of management and organisational behaviour, and it continues to evolve and improve to serve the needs of modern students.Using both theory and practical, real-world examples, the textbook considers how organisational performance can be improved through effective management of people. This unique approach to the subject enables students to relate Organisational Behaviour to Management in the broader social and cultural contexts.This fully updated new edition incorporates new content and a streamlined structure to deliver the best possible learning experience. Key features include: Expanded Personal Skills and Employability sections as well as 5 new end of chapter exercises and an end of book review to help you to develop your social and work-based skills in preparation for life after study. New and revised management and OB in action case studies help to place the theory of management and organisational behaviour in the context of everyday organisational practice. New and revised end of chapter case studies provide a deeper insight into a wide variety of organisations in the UK and around the world. New Academic Viewpoint features in each part links to relevant research for a deeper understanding of the topics discussed. Management and Organisational Behaviour will appeal to students at undergraduate level or on related professional courses, as well as to graduates and professionals aspiring to management positions. This bible of Organisational Behaviour is the perfect resource for students from all backgrounds - Management starts with Mullins!
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016