Workshop processes, practices and materials. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Workshop Processes, Practices and Materials is an ideal introduction for entry level engineers and workshop technicians, as well as engineering university students with little or no practical experience. With detailed illustrations throughout and simple, clear language, this is a practical introduction to what can be a very complex subject. It has been significantly updated and revised to include new material on current Health and Safety legislation, gauging and digital measuring instruments, as well as modern measuring techniques such as laser scan micrometer, co-ordinate and visual measuring systems. A new chapter on an introduction to CNC milling and turning has been added. This book covers all standard workshop topics, including safe practices, measuring equipment, hand and machine tools, metal and plastics materials, joining methods including welding, presswork, primary forming, casting and moving loads, making it an indispensable handbook for use both in class and the workshop. Its broad coverage makes it a useful reference book for many different courses worldwide. Health and Safety chapter covers current best practice and has been checked by a certified health and safety examiner. Addition of modern measuring techniques using laser scan micrometer, co-ordinate and visual measuring systems. Addition of an introduction to CNC milling and turning.
Degarmo's materials and processes in manufacturing. 12th edn. (Print copy) by
Newly revised for its twelfth edition, DeGarmo's Materials and Processes in Manufacturing, 12th Edition continues to be a market-leading text on manufacturing and manufacturing processes courses for over fifty years. Authors J T. Black and Ron Kohser have continued this book's long and distinguished tradition of exceedingly clear presentation and highly practical approach to materials and processes, presenting mathematical models and analytical equations only when they enhance the basic understanding of the material. Updated to reflect all current practices, standards, and materials, the twelfth edition has new coverage of additive manufacturing, lean engineering, and processes related to ceramics, polymers, and plastics.
Materials Science and Engineering. 9th edn. (Print copy) by
Materials Science and Engineering, 9th Edition provides engineers with a strong understanding of the three primary types of materials and composites, as well as the relationships that exist between the structural elements of materials and their properties. The relationships among processing, structure, properties, and performance components for steels, glass-ceramics, polymer fibers, and silicon semiconductors are explored throughout the chapters.
Manufacturing processes for engineering materials. 6th edn. (Print copy) by
For undergraduate courses in Mechanical, Industrial, Metallurgical, and Materials Engineering Programs. For graduate courses in Manufacturing Science and Engineering. Manufacturing Processes for Engineering Materials addresses advances in all aspects of manufacturing, clearly presenting comprehensive, up-to-date, and balanced coverage of the fundamentals of materials and processes. With the Sixth Edition, you'll learn to properly assess the capabilities, limitations, and potential of manufacturing processes and their competitive aspects. The authors present information that motivates and challenges for understanding and developing an appreciation of the vital importance of manufacturing in the modern global economy. The numerous examples and case studies throughout the book help to develop a perspective on the real-world applications of the topics described in the book. As in previous editions, this text maintains the same number of chapters while continuing to emphasize the interdisciplinary nature of all manufacturing activities, including the complex interactions among materials, design, and manufacturing processes.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Introduction to Engineering Materials. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
An undergraduate text for engineers studying materials science, this book deals with the basic principles in a simple yet meaningful manner. Updated throughout and with new diagrams and photographs in this fourth edition, this continues to be a popular text with students and lecturers alike.
Technology of engineering materials by
A core text for first year modules in Engineering Materials and Technology, offering student-centred learning based in real-life engineering practice. A comprehensive materials technology text for first year engineering students, Technology of Engineering Materials provides all the essential information required for application in real-life engineering practice. In line with the philosophy of the IIE Core Textbook Series, a uniquely student-centred approach to the subject is given. The principles and practical considerations that underlie the informed selection of materials in mechanical and production engineering are introduced in an easily accessible format, through case studies, assignments and knowledge-check questions, all designed to aid student learning. Practical application of the subject within an engineering context is stressed throughout. This book is tailored to be used on a wide range of introductory courses at first degree and HND level. As with all texts in the IIE Core Textbook Series, an interactive style brings the subject to life with activities and case studies rather than pages of theory alone. Key numerical and statistical techniques are introduced through Maths in Action panels located within the main text. The content has been carefully matched to a variety of first year degree modules including IEng and other BSc / BEng Engineering and Technology courses. Lecturers will find the breadth of material covered gears the book towards a flexible style of use, which can be tailored to their syllabus. This essential text is part of the IIE textbook series from Butterworth Heinemann - textbooks to form the strong practical, business and academic foundations for the professional development of tomorrow's incorporated engineers. #65533;Content matched to requirements of a wide range of undergraduate modules within Engineering and Technology courses #65533;Practical text featuring worked examples, case studies, assignments and knowledge-check questions throughout. #65533;Breadth of coverage to enable tutors to tailor the book's use to suit their particular syllabus.
Manufacturing Processes and Materials. 4the edn. (Print copy) by
This book masterfully covers the basic processes and machinery used in the job shop, toolroom, or small manufacturing facility. At the same time, it describes advanced equipment and processes used in larger production environments. Questions and problems at the end of each chapter can be used as self-tests or assignments. An Instructor's Guide is available to tailor a more structured learning experience. Additional resources from SME, including the Fundamental Manufacturing Processes videotape series (selected by the Wisconsin Manufacturing Curriculum Consortium as "recommended resources" supporting the competency-based objectives of its Tech Span curriculum) can also be used to supplement the book's learning objectives. With 31 chapters, 45 tables, 586 illustrations, 141 equations and an extensive index, Manufacturing Processes & Materials is one of the most comprehensive texts available on this subject.
