Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Electric Power Systems by The definitive textbook for Power Systems students, providing a grounding in essential power system theory while also focusing on practical power engineering applications. Electric Power Systems has been an essential book in power systems engineering for over thirty years. Bringing the content firmly up-to-date whilst still retaining the flavour of Weedy's extremely popular original, this Fifth Edition has been revised by experts Nick Jenkins, Janaka Ekanayake and Goran Strbac. This wide-ranging text still covers all of the fundamental power systems subjects but is now expanded to cover increasingly important topics like climate change and renewable power generation. Updated material includes an analysis of today's markets and an examination of the current economic state of power generation. The physical limits of power systems equipment - currently being tested by the huge demand for power - is explored, and greater attention is paid to power electronics, voltage source and power system components, amongst a host of other updates and revisions. Supplies an updated chapter on power system economics and management issues and extended coverage of power system components. Also expanded information on power electronics and voltage source, including VSC HVDC and FACTS. Updated to take into account the challenges posed by different world markets, and pays greater attention to up-to-date renewable power generation methods such as wind power. Includes modernized presentation and greater use of examples to appeal to today's students, also retains the end of chapter questions to assist with the learning process. Also shows students how to apply calculation techniques.
Call Number: 621.319 WEE
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Hughes Electrical and Electronic Technology.12th edn.(Print Copy) by All engineers need to understand the fundamental principles of electrical and electronic technology. This best-selling text provides a clear and accessible introduction to the area, with balanced coverage of electrical, electronic, and power engineering.
Call Number: 621.3 HUG
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Power electronics : devices, circuits, and applications by For junior or senior undergraduate students in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.
This text covers the basics of emerging areas in power electronics and a broad range of topics such as power switching devices, conversion methods, analysis and techniques, and applications.
Its unique approach covers the characteristics of semiconductor devices first, then ...
discusses the applications of these devices for power conversions.
Four main applications are included: flexible ac transmissions (FACTs), static switches, power supplies, dc drives, and ac drives.
Call Number: ON ORDER
Publication Date: 14/10/2014
Smart Grid by Electric power systems worldwide face radical transformationwith the need to decarbonise electricity supply, replace ageingassets and harness new information and communication technologies(ICT). The Smart Grid uses advanced ICT to control next generationpower systems reliably and efficiently. This authoritative guidedemonstrates the importance of the Smart Grid and shows how ICTwill extend beyond transmission voltages to distribution networksand customer-level operation through Smart Meters and SmartHomes. Smart Grid Technology and Applications: Clearly unravels the evolving Smart Grid concept with extensiveillustrations and practical examples. Describes the spectrum of key enabling technologies requiredfor the realisation of the Smart Grid with worked examples toillustrate the applications. Enables readers to engage with the immediate development of thepower system and take part in the debate over the future SmartGrid. Introduces the constituent topics from first principles,assuming only a basic knowledge of mathematics, circuits and powersystems. Brings together the expertise of a highly experienced andinternational author team from the UK, Sri Lanka, China andJapan. Electrical, electronics and computer engineering researchers,practitioners and consultants working in inter-disciplinary SmartGrid RD&D will significantly enhance their knowledge throughthis reference. The tutorial style will greatly benefit final yearundergraduate and master?s students as the curriculumincreasing focuses on the breadth of technologies that contributeto Smart Grid realisation.
Call Number: ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2012-04-09
Subject Librarian at the University of Suffolk at West Suffolk College