Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications. Develop or refresh your mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements, and dip in for principles, data and calculations as needed to inform and evaluate your on-the-job decisions. Covering the full spectrum of common mechanical and machine components that act as building blocks in the design of mechanical devices, Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook also includes worked design scenarios and essential background on design methodology to help you get started with a problem and repeat selection processes with successful results time and time again. This practical handbook will make an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries and a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking engineering design modules and projects as part of broader mechanical, aerospace, automotive and manufacturing programs. Clear, concise text explains key component technology, with step-by-step procedures, fully worked design scenarios, component images and cross-sectional line drawings all incorporated for ease of understanding Provides essential data, equations and interactive ancillaries, including calculation spreadsheets, to inform decision making, design evaluation and incorporation of components into overall designs Design procedures and methods covered include references to national and international standards where appropriate
Call Number: 621.815
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Engineering Design Methods by Written in a clear and readable style by an experienced author of teaching texts, Engineering Design Methods is an integrated design textbook that presents specific methods within an overall strategy from concept to detail design. It also outlines the nature of design thinking, and sets it within broader contexts of product development and design process management. The book is much more than a manual of procedures; throughout, there is discussion and explication of the principles and practice of design. Building on the outstanding success of the previous three editions, this new edition cements the position of Engineering Design Methods at the forefront of engineering and industrial design as an essential text not only for students and lecturers but also for practitioners. The book promotes a flexible approach to the design process, and provides explicit, step-by-step advice on how to implement several separate design methods that have been shown to be of value in both education and practice. This revised fourth edition - promotes a flexible approach to the design process, provides explicit, step-by-step advice on how to implement several separate design methods that have been shown to be of value in both education and practice, contains new case studies and examples from industry that further broaden the scope of the book from engineering design into product design, includes a significant new chapter presenting user scenarios; a procedure for investigating potential product user wants and needs, that culminates in a design brief identifying an opportunity for developing a new product concept, features a book companion website with powerpoint slides for instructors. Reviewers' comments: "Engineering Design Methods... is a valuable contribution to the engineering design literature. The engineering design methods presented are those that are of practical significance and the book is a must for anyone wishing to raise the standard of their design work. The design methods are described clearly and succinctly, examples are used to illustrate principles and design strategies are presented that show how the methods are best employed". Professor Graham Thompson, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UMIST, UK "Professor Nigel Cross' treatment of Engineering Design is a singularly successful treatment for my courses because it is short and concise enough to be read by virtually all students. Furthermore, his interpretations are open enough to allow the inquiring mind to fill out the picture, incorporating and extending the ideas to fit the reflective designer's own needs." Professor Larry Leifer, Stanford Center for Design Reseach, Stanford University, USA "This book is an excellent book as a textbook for design methodology both for undergraduate and graduate level... Students will gain a firm foundation of design methods from problem definition to design evaluations from this book". Professor Kun-Pyo Lee, Department of Industrial Design, Korea Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
Call Number: 620.0042
Publication Date: 2008-05-19
Engineering Mechanics by SAVES YOUR STUDENT MONEY! SAVES YOUR STUDENTS MONEY! Provides a wide variety of high quality problems that are known for their accuracy, realism, applications, and variety. Students benefit from realistic applications that motivate their desire to learn and develop their problem solving skills. Sample Problems with a worked solution step appear throughout providing examples and reinforcing important concepts and idea in engineering mechanics Introductory Problems are simple, uncomplicated problems designed to help students gain confidence with a new topic. These appear in the problem sets following the Sample Problems. Representative Problems are more challenging than Introductory Problems but are of average difficulty and length. These appear in the problem sets following the Sample Problems. Computer-Oriented Problems are marked with an icon and appear in the end-of-chapter Review Problems. Review Problems appear at the end of chapter. Offers comprehensive coverage of how to draw free body diagrams. Through text discussion and assignable homework problems students will learn that drawing free body diagrams is the most important skill needed to learn how to solve mechanics problems. Meriam and Kraige teach students the appropriate techniques and then apply them consistently in solutions of mechanics problems. SI Units are covered. There are approximately two problems in SI units for every one in U.S. customary units. A tradition of excellence. Since 1952 this text has been a primary source for accuracy, rigor, clarity and a high standard of illustration in the coverage of mechanics theory.
Call Number: 620.103
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library