Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Electric Power Systems by The definitive textbook for Power Systems students, providing a grounding in essential power system theory while also focusing on practical power engineering applications. Electric Power Systems has been an essential book in power systems engineering for over thirty years. Bringing the content firmly up-to-date whilst still retaining the flavour of Weedy's extremely popular original, this Fifth Edition has been revised by experts Nick Jenkins, Janaka Ekanayake and Goran Strbac. This wide-ranging text still covers all of the fundamental power systems subjects but is now expanded to cover increasingly important topics like climate change and renewable power generation. Updated material includes an analysis of today's markets and an examination of the current economic state of power generation. The physical limits of power systems equipment - currently being tested by the huge demand for power - is explored, and greater attention is paid to power electronics, voltage source and power system components, amongst a host of other updates and revisions. Supplies an updated chapter on power system economics and management issues and extended coverage of power system components. Also expanded information on power electronics and voltage source, including VSC HVDC and FACTS. Updated to take into account the challenges posed by different world markets, and pays greater attention to up-to-date renewable power generation methods such as wind power. Includes modernized presentation and greater use of examples to appeal to today's students, also retains the end of chapter questions to assist with the learning process. Also shows students how to apply calculation techniques.
Call Number: 621.319 WEE
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Hughes Electrical and Electronic Technology by All engineers need to understand the fundamental principles of electrical and electronic technology. This best-selling text provides a clear and accessible introduction to the area, with balanced coverage of electrical, electronic, and power engineering.
Call Number: 621.3 HUG
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Power Electronics for Renewable Energy Systems, Transportation and Industrial Applications(Ebook) by Compiles current research into the analysis and design of power electronic converters for industrial applications and renewable energy systems, presenting modern and future applications of power electronics systems in the field of electrical vehicles With emphasis on the importance and long-term viability of Power Electronics for Renewable Energy this book brings together the state of the art knowledge and cutting-edge techniques in various stages of research. The topics included are not currently available for practicing professionals and aim to enable the reader to directly apply the knowledge gained to their designs. The book addresses the practical issues of current and future electric and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs), and focuses primarily on power electronics and motor drives based solutions for electric vehicle (EV) technologies. Propulsion system requirements and motor sizing for EVs is discussed, along with practical system sizing examples. Key EV battery technologies are explained as well as corresponding battery management issues. PHEV power system architectures and advanced power electronics intensive charging infrastructures for EVs and PHEVs are detailed. EV/PHEV interface with renewable energy is described, with practical examples. This book explores new topics for further research needed world-wide, and defines existing challenges, concerns, and selected problems that comply with international trends, standards, and programs for electric power conversion, distribution, and sustainable energy development. It will lead to the advancement of the current state-of-the art applications of power electronics for renewable energy, transportation, and industrial applications and will help add experience in the various industries and academia about the energy conversion technology and distributed energy sources. Combines state of the art global expertise to present the latest research on power electronics and its application in transportation, renewable energy and different industrial applications Offers an overview of existing technology and future trends, with discussion and analysis of different types of converters and control techniques (power converters, high performance power devices, power system, high performance control system and novel applications) Systematic explanation to provide researchers with enough background and understanding to go deeper in the topics covered in the book
Publication Date: 2014-06-02
Renewable Energy Resources. 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by Renewable Energy Resources is a numerate and quantitative text covering the full range of renewable energy technologies and their implementation worldwide. Energy supplies from renewables (such as from biofuels, solar heat, photovoltaics, wind, hydro, wave, tidal, geothermal, and ocean-thermal) are essential components of every nation's energy strategy, not least because of concerns for the local and global environment, for energy security and for sustainability. Thus in the years between the first and this third edition, most renewable energy technologies have grown from fledgling impact to significant importance because they make good sense, good policy and good business. This Third Editionnbsp;is extensively updated in light of these developments, while maintaining the book's emphasis on fundamentals, complemented by analysis of applications. Renewable energy helps secure national resources, mitigates pollution and climate change, and provides cost effective services. These benefits are analysed and illustrated with case studies and worked examples. The book recognises the importance of cost effectiveness and efficiency of end-use. Each chapter begins with fundamental scientific theory, and then considers applications, environmental impact and socio-economic aspects before concluding with Quick Questions for self-revision and Set Problems. The book includes Reviews of basic theory underlying renewable energy technologies, such as electrical power, fluid dynamics, heat transfer and solid-state physics. Common symbols and cross-referencing apply throughout; essential data are tabulated in appendices. An associatednbsp;eResource provides supplementary material on particular topics, plus a solutions guide to Set Problems. Renewable Energy Resources supports multi-disciplinary master degrees in science and engineering, and specialist modules in first degrees. Practising scientists and engineers who have not had a comprehensive training in renewable energy will find it a useful introductory text and a reference book.
Call Number: 333.794
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
This link will take you to your subject guide