A Transition to abstract mathematics. (Print copy) by
Constructing concise and correct proofs is one of the most challenging aspects of learning to work with advanced mathematics. Meeting this challenge is a defining moment for those considering a career in mathematics or related fields. A Transition to Abstract Mathematics teaches readers to construct proofs and communicate with the precision necessary for working with abstraction. It is based on two premises: composing clear and accurate mathematical arguments is critical in abstract mathematics, and that this skill requires development and support. Abstraction is the destination, not the starting point. Maddox methodically builds toward a thorough understanding of the proof process, demonstrating and encouraging mathematical thinking along the way. Skillful use of analogy clarifies abstract ideas. Clearly presented methods of mathematical precision provide an understanding of the nature of mathematics and its defining structure. After mastering the art of the proof process, the reader may pursue two independent paths. The latter parts are purposefully designed to rest on the foundation of the first, and climb quickly into analysis or algebra. Maddox addresses fundamental principles in these two areas, so that readers can apply their mathematical thinking and writing skills to these new concepts. From this exposure, readers experience the beauty of the mathematical landscape and further develop their ability to work with abstract ideas. Covers the full range of techniques used in proofs, including contrapositive, induction, and proof by contradiction Explains identification of techniques and how they are applied in the specific problem Illustrates how to read written proofs with many step by step examples Includes 20% more exercises than the first edition that are integrated into the material instead of end of chapter
Research Project success: the essential guide for science and engineering students. (Print copy) by
The undergraduate research project is almost universally treated as the culmination of all previous lecture, lab and tutorial work. The project allows for the development of individuality and confers ownership of a challenge possessing an originality that goes far beyond the communal legacy presented by age old lab scenarios. Central to this is the magical transition of the student from a consumer of knowledge to a producer, yet the journey is often both daunting and perplexing when considering where to start and how to reach the destination using the resources provided and in the allotted time. There are numerous books within the social sciences which provide students with guidance on how to conduct a "successful" project but few can be found in relation to the physical sciences. This can be ascribed to the fact that the former has a very similar structure and procedural methodology whereas the latter can possess a near fractal differentiation into a myriad of sub disciplines and specialisms thereby preventing the provision of a single, expansive catchall text. This book adapts some of the components and ethos of the Projects in Controlled Environments (PRinCE2) project management approach to physical science projects. This is the industry and government standard and was introduced to address the common causes of project failure ie. not delivering projects on time, within budget, within scope or to the right quality. It has rapidly emerged as an international standard and most graduates will doubtless encounter it upon moving outside academia and into the wider world. It is a concise, multilevel resource that provides guidance on the core components common to almost every project within the physical, engineering and life sciences (problem assessment and contextualisation, literature review practices, sources and citation, data presentation, reporting styles, data analysis and error etc). It standardises the delivery of the material but, more importantly, links the components together by outlining a coherent procedural road map that can highlight to the student "what to do", "when to do it" and "how to solve it" procedures. The content of the book is presented through case studies so as to enhance the relevance of the processes, presents examples of good practice and, in keeping with the toolbox approach, can be readily adapted and applied by the students. The book is an accessible reference guide for students, written in a light style, suitable for dipping in and out of as required and the "how to/when to/what if" examples are presented in an often humorous light. It includes flow charts to emphasize the project planning, dissertation components etc and charts to highlight presentation of data, analysis, interpretation and error.
Your Undergraduate Dissertation. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy here 'This is a refreshing and inspiring book, of equal value to both the anxious and the ambitious student' - Lucinda Becker, Department of English Literature, University of Reading In the second edition of this best-selling guide, Nicholas Walliman provides expert, step-by-step advice on managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. This book takes you through each stage of your dissertation, answering questions including: How do I choose an appropriate topic for my dissertation? How do I write a research proposal? What's a literature review, how do I conduct it and how do I write it up? How can I ensure I'm an ethical researcher? What methods of data collection are appropriate for my research question? Once I have collected my data, what do I do? What's the best structure for my dissertation? Full of examples from real student projects, interdisciplinary case studies and illustrated with cartoons to make you smile along the way, this book will tell you all you need to know to write a brilliant dissertation. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Dissertation skills for business and management students. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
A dissertation is often a crucial part of a Business and Management degree and can heavily influence the final mark. It can be extremely daunting: it requires a lengthy piece of writing and forms a major component for assessment. In fact, when faced with this task the first word that comes to mind for many students is simply ‘Help!’
This new and updated edition provides the necessary help, covering all the stages from the initial choice of subject through to the final writing.
Stephen Rayner joins Brian White in this excellent guide to dissertations, which is equally useful to both undergraduates and postgraduates. It includes support on all aspects of the dissertation, from the student-supervisor relationship to evaluation and analysis of data.
Writing Your Dissertation. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Gives you the tools to produce a first class dissertation This book gives you the confidence, tools and techniques to produce a first-class dissertation. It offers practical guidelines to planning realistic timetables and structuring every aspect of your work. Find out how to avoid common mistakes and the best way to present your work, and even how to assess your dissertation in the same way as a university or college tutor does.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
How to write technical reports. (Print copy) by
Technical Reports are usually written according to general standards, corporate - sign standards of the current university or company, logical rules and practical - periences. These rules are not known well enough among engineers. There are many books that give general advice in writing. This book is specialised in how to write Technical Reports and addresses not only engineers, but also natural sci- th tists, computer scientists, etc. It is based on the 6 edition published in 2008 by st Vieweg in German and is now published as 1 edition by Springer in English. Both authors of the German edition have long experience in educating en- neers at the University of Applied Sciences Hannover. They have held many l- tures where students had to write reports and took notes about all positive and negative examples that occurred in design reports, lab work reports, and in theses. Prof. Dr. Lutz Hering has worked for VOLKSWAGEN and DAIMLER and then changed to the University of Applied Sciences Hannover where he worked from 1974 until 2000. He held lectures on Technical Drawing, Construction and Design, CAD and Materials Science. Dr. Heike Hering worked nine years as a Technical Writer and was responsible for many CAD manuals in German and English. She is now employed at T#65533;V NORD Akademie, where she is responsible for E-Learning projects, technical documentation and software training and supervises students who are writing their theses. Prof. Dr. -Ing.
How to write technical reports: understandable structure, good design, convincing presentation (E-book) by 
Engineering Project Management. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Engineering Project Management provides a clear description of the aims of project management, based on best practice, and discusses the theory and practice in relation to multi-disciplinary engineering projects, both large and small, in the UK and overseas. The Third Edition takes account of the increase in joint ventures, project partnering, special project vehicles and other forms of collaborative working. The text has been extended to give more information on procurement, stakeholders and collaborative provision. For the first time this book now contains a chapter on the UK PRINCE2#65533; project management methodology providing a unique insight into this increasingly popular approach. The expertise of the authors gained from their promotion of effective project management through a combination of professional experience, research, consultancy, education and training should be beneficial to both students of project management and recently appointed or practising project managers. The material is appropriate to support Masters level teaching, MSc, MBA and MEng, either by universities or others, action or distance learning courses and self learning programmes. Also of interest Managing Risk in Construction Projects Second Edition Nigel J Smith, Tony Merna & Paul Jobling 978 14051 3012 7 Strategic Issues in Public-Private Partnerships Mirjam Bult-Spiering & Geert Dewulf 978 14051 3475 0 Cover illustrations courtesy of Getty Images Cover design by Andy Meaden
Researching and Writing a Dissertation. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Researching and Writing your Dissertation is an essential guide for students undertaking research projects as part of a postgraduate qualification in business or management. Seven accessible chapters guide the reader through the process from choosing a topic, to gathering and analysing data, and finally writing and presenting the results. This book is ideal for students who may not be taking a taught and assessed module in research methods, but are undertaking management research for the first time and will benefit from guidance on the process, from start to finish.
Researching Higher Education. (Print copy) by
"The first edition of Researching Higher Education has been a very helpful resource for those trying to make sense of the field of higher education. Malcolm Tight has accomplished a tour de force by updating and expanding that edition. This volume includes up-to-date analyses of recent higher education publications and thoughtful reflections on methodology and theory in higher education research. Requisite reading for novices to the field, but also for the experienced researchers trying to keep abreast of the developments in the field." Professor Jeroen Huisman, Director International Centre for Higher Education Management, School of Management, University of Bath, UK "The most comprehensive overview of research on higher education available, Researching Higher Education provides a multidisciplinary perspective of the field. This book will be valuable for students thinking about research as well as anyone wanting a perspective on research directions on higher education." Philip G. Altbach, Monan Professor of Higher Education, Director, Center for International Higher Education, Boston College, USA This authoritative book couples an overview of the principal current areas of research into higher education with a guide to the processes involved in undertaking such research. Comprehensively updated throughout, this new edition examines the current state of higher education research with brand new case studies and has been expanded to include North American work. The book also includes: Analysis of published research by topic, method, theory and level Detailed discussion of selected examples of published research Suggestions on under-researched topics Guidance on publication outlets Consideration is given to research design and questions, funding, progressing research projects, publication and dissemination. Researching Higher Education will be of value to students and academics researching the higher education experience as well as appealing to experienced researchers seeking an overview or insights into new areas and alternative methods.
