Principles of engineering thermodynamics. 8th edn. (Print copy) by
This text continues its tradition of setting the standard for teaching students how to be effective problem solvers. * Now in its eighth edition, this market-leading text emphasizes the authors collective teaching expertise as well as the signature methodologies that have taught entire generations of engineers worldwide. * Integrated throughout the text are real-world applications that emphasize the relevance of thermodynamics principles to some of the most critical problems and issues of today, including a wealth of coverage of topics related to energy and the environment, biomedical/bioengineering, and emerging technologies.
Fluid mechanics. 8th edn. (Print copy) by
The eighth edition of Fluid Mechanics offers students a clear and comprehensive presentation of the material that demonstrates the progression from physical concepts to engineering applications. The book helps students to see the practical importance of fluid mechanics fundamentals. The wide variety of topics gives instructors many options for their course and is a useful resource to students long after graduation. The problem-solving approach is presented at the start of the book and carefully integrated in all examples. Students can progress from general examples to those involving design, multiple steps, and computerusage.
Thermodynamics : an engineering approach. 8th edn. (Print copy) by
Thermodynamics, An Engineering Approach, eighth edition, covers the basic principles of thermodynamics while presenting a wealth of real-world engineering examples so students get a feel for how thermodynamics is applied in engineering practice. This text helps students develop an intuitive understanding by emphasizing the physics and physical arguments. Cengel and Boles explore the various facets of thermodynamics through careful explanations of concepts and use of numerous practical examples and figures, having students develop necessary skills to bridge the gap between knowledge and the confidence to properly apply their knowledge.
Thermodynamics is now presented in full, four-color design. The illustrations and photographs are now more realistic and offer increased understanding to the student. Some of the figures and photographs in the text are intended to serve as a means of emphasizing key concepts that would otherwise go unnoticed.
This edition includes over 500 new problems and a significant number of the existing problems are modified. An important change is the update of the R-134a tables to make property values consistent with those from the latest version of EES (Engineering Equasion Solver). All the solved examples and end-of-chapter problems dealing with R-134a are modified to reflect this change.
Heat and Mass Transfer. 5th ed. (Print copy) by
This text provides a complete coverage of the basic principles of heat transfer and a broad range of applications. Heat and Mass Transfer: Fundamentals and Applications by Yunus Çengel and Afshin Ghajar provide the perfect blend of fundamentals and applications. The text provides a highly intuitive and practical understanding of the material by emphasizing the physics and the underlying physical phenomena involved.
This text covers the standard topics of heat transfer with an emphasis on physics and real-world every day applications, while de-emphasizing the intimidating mathematical aspects. This approach is designed to take advantage of students' intuition, making the learning process easier and more engaging.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Applied data analysis and modeling for energy engineers and scientists (E-book) by
Applied Data Analysis and Modelling for Energy Engineers and Scientists fills an identified gap in engineering and science education and practice for both students and practitioners. It demonstrates how to apply concepts and methods learned in disparate courses such as mathematical modeling, probability,statistics, experimental design, regression, model building, optimization, risk analysis and decision-making to actual engineering processes and systems. The text provides a formal structure that offers a basic, broad and unified perspective,while imparting the knowledge, skills and confidence to work in data analysis and modeling. This volume uses numerous solved examples, published case studies from the author's own research, and well-conceived problems in order to enhance comprehension levels among readers and their understanding of the "processes"along with the tools.
