Metallurgy fundamentals. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Metallurgy Fundamentals provides the student with instruction on the basic properties, characteristics, and production of the major metal families. Clear, concise language and numerous illustrations make this an easy-to-understand text for an introductory course in metallurgy. Over 450 tables, diagrams, and photographs show both the theoretical and practical aspects of metallurgy.
Materials for Engineers and Technicians. 6th edn (Print copy) by
A comprehensive yet accessible introduction to materials engineering which provides a straightforward, readable approach to the subject. The sixth edition includes a new chapter on the selection of materials, an updated discussion of new materials, and a complete glossary of key terms used in materials engineering. This renowned text has provided many thousands of students with an easily accessible introduction to the wide ranging subject area of materials engineering and manufacturing processes for over forty years. It avoids the excessive jargon and mathematical complexity so often found in textbooks for this subject, retaining the practical down-to-earth approach for which the book is noted. The increased emphasis on the selection of materials reflects the increased emphasis on this aspect of materials engineering now seen within current vocational and university courses. In addition to meeting the requirements of vocational and undergraduate engineering syllabuses, this text will also provide a valuable desktop reference for professional engineers working in product design who require a quick source of information on materials and manufacturing processes.
Introduction to materials science for engineers. 8th edn. (Print copy) by
For a first course in Materials Sciences and Engineering taught in the departments of materials science, mechanical, civil and general engineering Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers provides balanced, current treatment of the full spectrum of engineering materials, covering all the physical properties, applications and relevant properties associated with engineering materials. It explores all of the major categories of materials while also offering detailed examinations of a wide range of new materials with high-tech applications. MasteringEngineering for Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers is a total learning package. This innovative online program emulates the instructor's office-hour environment, guiding students through engineering concepts from Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers with self-paced individualized coaching. Teaching and Learning Experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience-for you and your students. It provides: *Individualized Coaching with MasteringEngineering: MasteringEngineering emulates the instructor's office-hour environment using self-paced individualized coaching. *A Balanced Approach Designed for a First Course in Engineering Materials: This concise textbook covers concepts and applications of materials science for the beginning student. *Coverage of the Most Important Advances in Engineering Materials: Content is refreshed to provide the most up-to-date information for your course. *In-text Features that Reinforce Concepts: An assortment of case studies, examples, practice problems, and homework problems give students plenty of opportunities to develop their understanding. *Enhance Learning with Instructor Supplements: An Instructors Solution Manual and PowerPoint slides are available to expand on the topics presented in the text
Introduction to materials science for engineers. 8th edn. (E-book) by
For a first course in Materials Sciences and Engineering taught in the departments of materials science, mechanical, civil and general engineering Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers provides balanced, current treatment of the full spectrum of engineering materials, covering all the physical properties, applications and relevant properties associated with engineering materials. It explores all of the major categories of materials while also offering detailed examinations of a wide range of new materials with high-tech applications. MasteringEngineering for Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers is a total learning package. This innovative online program emulates the instructor's office-hour environment, guiding students through engineering concepts from Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers with self-paced individualized coaching. Teaching and Learning Experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience-for you and your students. It provides: *Individualized Coaching with MasteringEngineering: MasteringEngineering emulates the instructor's office-hour environment using self-paced individualized coaching. *A Balanced Approach Designed for a First Course in Engineering Materials: This concise textbook covers concepts and applications of materials science for the beginning student. *Coverage of the Most Important Advances in Engineering Materials: Content is refreshed to provide the most up-to-date information for your course. *In-text Features that Reinforce Concepts: An assortment of case studies, examples, practice problems, and homework problems give students plenty of opportunities to develop their understanding. *Enhance Learning with Instructor Supplements: An Instructors Solution Manual and PowerPoint slides are available to expand on the topics presented in the text
Engineering materials: properties and applications of metals and alloys. (Print copy) by
This compact and student-friendly book provides a thorough understanding of properties of metallic materials and explains the metallurgy of a large number of metals and alloys.<br><br>The text first exposes the reader to the structure-property correlation of materials, that form the basis for predicting their behaviour during manufacturing and other service conditions, and then discusses the factors governing the selection of a material for specific applications. It further introduces the various specifications/designations, (including AISI/SAE system) used for steels and the alloying elements. The text also gives detailed coverage on mechanical behaviour of other engineering metals including Al, Mg, Cu, Ni, Zn and Pb.<br><br>Profusely illustrated with graphs and tables, the book presents a large number of questions and answers framed on the pattern of the university examinations. It thus enables the students to format compact and to-the-point answers.<br><br>This book would be highly valued by students of metallurgical engineering and also those pursuing various other engineering as well as polytechnic courses, besides professionals who deal with selection of materials.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Physical metallurgy: principles and practice. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by 
Modern Physical Metallurgy. 8th edn (Print copy) by
Modern Physical Metallurgy describes, in a very readable form, the fundamental principles of physical metallurgy and the basic techniques for assessing microstructure. This book enables you to understand the properties and applications of metals and alloys at a deeper level than that provided in an introductory materials course. The eighth edition of this classic text has been updated to provide a balanced coverage of properties, characterization, phase transformations, crystal structure, and corrosion not available in other texts, and includes updated illustrations along with extensive new real-world examples and homework problems. Renowned coverage of metals and alloys from one of the world's leading metallurgy educators Covers new materials characterization techniques, including scanning tunneling microscopy (STM), atomic force microscopy (AFM), and nanoindentation Provides the most thorough coverage of characterization, mechanical properties, surface engineering and corrosion of any textbook in its field Includes new worked examples with real-world applications, case studies, extensive homework exercises, and a full online solutions manual and image bank
