Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A practical approach to quality control. 5th edn. (Print copy) by An introduction to the practical aspects of quality control, showing how suitable techniques can be identified and integrated into a cost-conscious system. The book should be of interest both to those in industry and students on technical courses.
Call Number: 658.562 CAP
Publication Date: 1988
Managing Quality. 6th edn. (Print copy) by An essential quality management resource for students and practitioners alike--now in its sixth edition This popular and highly successful text on Quality Management has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent developments in the field. New to the Sixth Edition is timely coverage of agile development, emerging markets, product research, evidence based decision-making, and quality control. Some of the material has been re-ordered and changes to terminology have been made to bring the book completely up to date. Contributions from new co-author David Bamford offer insights from a veteran teacher and practitioner. A popular resource for students, academics, and business practitioners alike Combines the latest information on quality management system series standards with up-to-date tools, techniques and quality systems Includes insights on quality, operations management, and strategic process improvement Highly relevant for professionals, particularly those involved with reacting to rapid developments in the global market The word "quality" has many definitions, dependent on context and situation. It is often over-used but always in-demand, and it can make or break a business. Quality management is becoming an increasingly vital factor in the success of a product or service, and it requires constant attention and a continuous drive to do better. Managing Quality is a comprehensive resource that helps you ensure - and sustain - high quality standards.
Call Number: 658.562 DAL
Publication Date: 2016
Kaizen: the key to Japan's competitive success (Print copy) by For the professional manager or student of management, a comprehensive handbook of 16 Kaizen management practices that can be put to work. KAIZEN uses more than 100 examples in action and contains 15 corporate case studies.
Call Number: 658.00952 IMA
Publication Date: 1990
The Toyota Way: 14 management principles from the world's greatest manufacturer. (Print copy) by How to speed up business processes, improve quality, and cut costs in any industry In factories around the world, Toyota consistently makes the highest-quality cars with the fewest defects of any competing manufacturer, while using fewer man-hours, less on-hand inventory, and half the floor space of its competitors. The Toyota Way is the first book for a general audience that explains the management principles and business philosophy behind Toyota's worldwide reputation for quality and reliability. Complete with profiles of organizations that have successfully adopted Toyota's principles, this book shows managers in every industry how to improve business processes by: Eliminating wasted time and resources Building quality into workplace systems Finding low-cost but reliable alternatives to expensive new technology Producing in small quantities Turning every employee into a qualitycontrol inspector
Call Number: 658.5 LIK
Publication Date: 2004
The Toyota Way: 14 management principles from the world's greatest manufacturer. (E-book) by How to speed up business processes, improve quality, and cut costs in any industry In factories around the world, Toyota consistently makes the highest-quality cars with the fewest defects of any competing manufacturer, while using fewer man-hours, less on-hand inventory, and half the floor space of its competitors. The Toyota Way is the first book for a general audience that explains the management principles and business philosophy behind Toyota's worldwide reputation for quality and reliability. Complete with profiles of organizations that have successfully adopted Toyota's principles, this book shows managers in every industry how to improve business processes by: Eliminating wasted time and resources Building quality into workplace systems Finding low-cost but reliable alternatives to expensive new technology Producing in small quantities Turning every employee into a qualitycontrol inspector
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2004
Statistical process control. 6th edn. (E-book) by Statistical Process Control (SPC) is a tool that measures and achieves quality control, providing managers from a wide range of industries with the ability to take appropriate actions for business success. Offering a complete instructional guide to SPC for professional quality managers and students alike, all the latest tools, techniques and philosophies behind process management and improvement are supported by the author's extensive consulting work with thousands of organisations worldwide. Fully updated to include real-life case studies, new research based on actual client work from an array of industries, a new chapter on process capability, and integration with the latest computer methods and Minitab software, the book also retains its valued textbook quality through clear learning objectives and end of chapter discussion questions. It will serve as a textbook for both student and practicing engineers, scientists, technologists and managers and for anyone wishing to understand or implement modern statistical process control techniques.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2007
Statistical quality control: a modern introduction. 7th edn. (Print copy) by The Seventh Edition of Statistical Quality Control provides a comprehensive treatment of the major aspects of using statistical methodology for quality control and improvement. Both traditional and modern methods are presented, including state-of-the-art techniques for statistical process monitoring and control and statistically designed experiments for process characterization, optimization, and process robustness studies.
The seventh edition continues to focus on DMAIC (define, measure, analyze, improve, and control--the problem-solving strategy of six sigma) including a chapter on the implementation process. Additionally, the text includes new examples, exercises, problems, and techniques. Statistical Quality Control is best suited for students in engineering, statistics, business and management science or students in undergraduate courses.
Call Number: 658.562 MON
Publication Date: 2013
Introduction to engineering statistics and Lean Sigma 2010. Statistical quality control and design of experiments and systems 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Lean production, has long been regarded as critical to business success in many industries. Over the last ten years, instruction in six sigma has been increasingly linked with learning about the elements of lean production. Introduction to Engineering Statistics and Lean Sigma builds on the success of its first edition (Introduction to Engineering Statistics and Six Sigma) to reflect the growing importance of the "lean sigma" hybrid. As well as providing detailed definitions and case studies of all six sigma methods, Introduction to Engineering Statistics and Lean Sigma forms one of few sources on the relationship between operations research techniques and lean sigma. Readers will be given the information necessary to determine which sigma methods to apply in which situation, and to predict why and when a particular method may not be effective. Methods covered include: * control charts and advanced control charts, * failure mode and effects analysis, * Taguchi methods, * gauge R&R, and * genetic algorithms. The second edition also greatly expands the discussion of Design For Six Sigma (DFSS), which is critical for many organizations that seek to deliver desirable products that work first time. It incorporates recently emerging formulations of DFSS from industry leaders and offers more introductory material on the design of experiments, and on two level and full factorial experiments, to help improve student intuition-building and retention. The emphasis on lean production, combined with recent methods relating to Design for Six Sigma (DFSS), makes Introduction to Engineering Statistics and Lean Sigma a practical, up-to-date resource for advanced students, educators, and practitioners.
Call Number: 519.5 ALL
Publication Date: 2014
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Cause and effect Lean: Lean operations, Six Sigma and supply chain essentials. (Print copy) by Previous editions of this guide were called Cause and Effect JIT and became the standard quick reference guide to Lean and JIT. Since then much has happened in Lean, Womack and Jones have articulated the five principles of Lean Thinking, Six Sigma has come into it's own, supply chain thinking has developed significantly, the concept of Kaizen and Kaizen blitz has moved forward, 5S is well established, and measurement has taken huge strides forward. The new edition incorporates these and other improvements, while still retaining the successful cause and effect diagram format. The aim remains to give readers a fast, yet full overview of lean operations. As before, the book is not intended to be a complete reference work on Lean operations but rather as a quick reference guide.
Call Number: 658.5 BIC
Publication Date: 2000
Managing Quality. 5th edn (E-book) by Managing Quality, Fifth Edition is an essential resource for students and practitioners alike. This popular and highly successful introduction to Quality Management has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent developments in the field Includes new chapters on Improvement Approaches, Six Sigma, and new challenges in Quality Management Combines the latest information on the ISO 9000 quality management system series standards with up-to-date tools, techniques and quality systems Material has been re-ordered and changes to terminology have been made to bring the book completely up to date Provides a popular resource for students, academics, and business practitioners alike
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2007
The Lean Six Sigma pocket toolbook: a quick reference guide to nearly 100 tools for improving process quality, speed, and complexity. (Print copy) by Vital tools for implementing Lean Six Sigma--what they are, how they work, and which to use The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook is today's most complete and results-based reference to the tools and concepts needed to understand, implement, and leverage Lean Six Sigma. The only guide that groups tools by purpose and use, this hands-on reference provides: Analyses of nearly 100 tools and methodologies--from DMAIC and Pull Systems to Control Charts and Pareto Charts Detailed explanations of each tool to help you know how, when, and why to use it for maximum efficacy Sections for each tool explaining how to create it, how to interpret what you find, and expert tips Lean Six Sigma is today's leading technique to maximize production efficiency and maintain control over each step in the managerial process. With The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook, you'll discover how to propel your organization to new levels of competitive success--one tool at a time.
Call Number: 658.5 GEO
Publication Date: 2004
Out of the Crisis:quality, productivity and competitive position. (Print copy) by This book looks at two of the central issues - quality control and productivity - facing industry (whether manufacturing or service industry) and considers the practical responses that management should take. Dr Deming has had a major role in establishing statistical techniques of quality control, and is widely recognised by the Japanese for his work in helping them achieve their enviable reputation for high quality goods. The book provides a full account of the author's fresh thinking on the primacy of improving quality, productivity, and competitive position, and of the key role of management in that achievement. It is not another manual of techniques, however - the emphasis throughout is to provide a better understanding of the causes of the distinct problems of industry in the United States, Britain, and elsewhere and how these problems can be resolved.
Call Number: 658.5 DEM
Publication Date: 1986
Beyond TQM (Print copy) by Presents a complete analysis regarding the strengths and weaknesses of Total Quality Management (TQM) and explores the opportunities and misconceptions that come with it. Features a diverse set of case studies which show TQM in action. A wealth of games and exercises enable readers to test and develop their understanding of this contemporary management philosophy.
Call Number: 658.562 FLO
Publication Date: 1993